Boneyard Vista RV Park

Featured
 
4.5 (201)
182173 2 19 1 141

User reviews

201 reviews
 
74%
 
18%
 
4%
 
2%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.8(201)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.7(201)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(201)
Value
 
4.5(201)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(201)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
201 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 ... »
Ordering
March 12, 2024
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We were told over the phone that there were three 30 amp site so we came into the park, only to find that none of those would accommodate our 40 ft motorhome. The rate has gone up for dry camping from 13 as stated here to $17 per night. And if you stay one minute past 10:00 a.m. leaving they charge you $39 fee not 34. For as many sites as they have, it's unfortunate that there are so many people who stay here for months at a time. Those of us that are just passing through get the short end of the stick.
Boneyard Vista RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
October 2023
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Second time staying here. Price went up, not too much of a fan on that. Sites easy to get into. I would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
14 May 2023
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice camp, very quiet. Wish it had wifi or cable but the OTA picked up plenty of channels to keep us busy during rain storms. This was our second visit in two years, I would return for a third.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
April 2023
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We really enjoyed this Famcamp. It is quite with large sites. The base is easy to navigate. Good water pressure and 50-amp service. Self-checking on Saturday was easy. The only negative is the change machine is still broken in the laundry room. Will definitely return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
October 2022 to April 2023
Overall rating
 
1.2
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
This is a first come, first served location. Reservations are not allowed. There is overflow dry camping at a cost which is where one waits for an opening. The reason for the low rating for me is that it is poorly kept up and office staff work periodically. There is a coin operated laundry room, but the change machine has been broken for months. About a third of the wash machines are also out of service and have been for months. What has really bothered me, however, has been the office personnel. ****** (derogatory personal comments removed) *******. The only thing that they were consistent about was patrolling the park to see if outgoing people had left by 10am. At 10;01, there is a 34 dollars late fee, which I had to pay because I was late leaving. I actually had to stay another day as weather prevented my departure, but I didn't get to the office between 9am and 10am to pay for another day. Then, the cost of the camp went up from 25 to 27 dollars with no improvement in the multiple potholed roads throughout the park an the laundry facilities. The camp is dry and dusty with terrible stickers that get drug into the RV on shoes. Last year, I stayed at a private RV park near Catalina State park for a few dollars more with better amenities and wonderful staff. If I ever pass this way again, that is where I'll go. I'll never come here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 3
February 2023
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
One of the best fam camps we've visited. Well laid out and more amenities than we've ever seen - especially appreciated the huge air compressor at the dump station. We spent three nights in overflow while passing through the area and found the dry camping area better laid out than some FHU sites at other installations. Large, beautiful exchange and commissary were icing on the cake. Our only complaint is the no reservations policy. They should at least allow travelers to call in the morning and reserve an available site with a cc.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
November 13-14, 2022
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Easy in and out. The office was closed when we arrived. Fellow campers said they hadn’t seen anyone for four days. Power pedestal was broken, water valve leaked from several places. Clean sites. A bit tight, but manageable. We won’t self register because we won’t leave credit card info in a box. We rolled right into a 50 amp spot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
October 24 - 31, 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a wonderful facility with full hookups and flat, level sites. The restroom/bath house was clean and well-maintained. The FamCamp staff was very nice and helpful. The base is close to nearly any store or service you might need within a few miles of the main gate. Both the commissary and the BX are large and well-stocked. There was no problem getting a site in late October as the FamCamp was only about 60% full when we arrived. I was stationed at Davis-Monthan 40 years ago so it was fun to see how things had changed. The communications facility I worked in is now an open field. Probably that's because it mostly contained an analog telephone switching center and switchboard that probably went the same way as telephone booths and fax machines. There is probably more computing power in my cell phone today than there was in the whole building back then, lol... Be sure to take the 30-mile scenic drive up Mount Lemmon to the Sawmill Run Restaurant. There are fantastic views getting there and back, and they have great burgers and sandwiches at reasonable prices!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
Oct 2022
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great stop for the area. Very easy to access with a 44ft 5th wheel. People there were quiet and friendly. Good power and water quality. I would recommend calling to see if they have space available during the snowbird season. My understanding is they do fill up quick.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
October 2022 to March 2023
(Updated: April 04, 2023)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a first come, first served location. Reservations are not allowed. There is overflow dry camping at a cost which is where one waits for an opening. The reason for the low rating for me is that it is poorly kept up and office staff work periodically. There is a coin operated laundry room, but the change machine has been broken for months. About a third of the wash machines are also out of service and have been for months. What has really bothered me, however, has been the office personnel. The young woman there, Saskia is her name I think, is a very foul human being. I absolutely hated anything I had to do in that office as she seemed angry that I was there, bothering her. The only thing that they were consistent about was patrolling the park to see if outgoing people had left by 10am. At 10;01, there is a 34 dollars late fee, which I had to pay because I was late leaving. I actually had to stay another day as weather prevented my departure, but I didn't get to the office between 9am and 10am to pay for another day. Then, the cost of the camp went up from 25 to 27 dollars with no improvement in the multiple potholed roads throughout the park an the laundry facilities. The camp is dry and dusty with terrible stickers that get drug into the RV on shoes. Last year, I stayed at a private RV park near Catalina State park for a few dollars more with better amenities and wonderful staff. If I ever pass this way again, that is where I'll go. I'll never come here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Feb-Mar 2022
(Updated: April 01, 2022)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
After reading all the comments, we had to post about our wonderful experience here at Davis Monthan AFB. We have stayed in A LOT of military FamCamp's and this, by far, is our most favorite. We are lucky enough to be able to fully boondock so we have been in the overflow area the entire time. There is a dump station and potable water in the main portion of the campground and it is easy to access and to use. As for wifi, we have our own so had no issues with the park not having wifi. Honestly, we've never been in a FamCamp that had useful wifi so its a surprise to us that people expect it. As for overflow, it is spacious and open and the ground is hard...after all, its Arizona and the caliche makes the ground like concrete...it's not a Davis Monthan thing, its an Arizona thing. Everyone in the overflow area (and there are very few of us here, a bit more on the weekend) are very polite and the ONLY time I have heard a generator running at night is when the temp got down into the 30's and I would expect you to want to be warm. Biggest advantage to the overflow is that is where the dog park is. It is pea gravel, clean and spacious, and made our stay here much better! Plus they allow pens outside your Rig as long as you are with your pets which also makes for an enjoyable stay when furry feet need to potty at night. Don't let the "no reservation" policy discourage you. There has ALWAYS been spots in the overflow and it's cold here at night so you won't need your AC to sleep. BEST FAMCAMP OF THEM ALL! We will definitely be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 14 1
February 2022
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
As far as the "real" campground goes, the facilities are good and it's easy access. Very tight spaces however. The way the AF has their reservation system in place is what I personally do not care for. You cannot make reservations and have to hang out in dry camping until you score a spot in the campground. The dry camping is terrible. It's a gravel lot with campers who rudely run generators all night and is located next to fuel tanks and the gate where the drone of young airmen's souped up engines can be heard pealing out of the nearby gate 24/7.
It's not quiet. It's not appealing, and we never saw office staff.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 2
2-3 MAR 22
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This RV park is in a great location and has everything you would need during your stay. No issues with my 5g T-mobile hotspot. My only concern is the fact the park takes no reservations. I understand that not all military RV parks are under the same command and have different rules, it doesn't make sense for the park not to take reservations. I can't manage my RV travels very well if I know I would like to stay in the Tucson area and have full hook ups for the kids and then have to go into overflow on a list for FHU and wait until someone leaves the park. This is not the way to run a business. That being said, the overflow area is very large, well marked out and level. Can't complain about the $11 a day. The restrooms/showers are close and while there is a city street adjacent to the overflow area, noise from the road was very minimal during our stay here mid-week. The commissary/exchange and other shops are a short drive away. The office staff was helpful and professional.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 10 0
Feb 12-22, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Beautifully laid-out, well-run and well-maintained. Only fly in the ointment is chronic trouble with the WiFi, going back at least a year. If you need WiFi, plan for now on providing your own. A couple of updates to the info posted here. First, the 3- & 5-month rates have gone up, currently $2250 & $3750, payable in full in advance. Also, the best way to GPS to here is to set your destination to Davis Monthan Main Gate or Visitor center; once thru the gate, take the first left; FamCamp office is perhaps a mile on your right. Finally, the auto hobby shop has a wash rack specifically designed to accommodate RVs & trailers, including dual hoses to allow washing the complete rig without having to reposition. Includes soap brush, high-pressure rinse, spot-free rinse, and a couple of other selections you'd find at most automated car washes. Very nice--if you're willing to WORK at it!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
Jan 2022
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
No reservations taken at this popular famcamp. Thus we landed in overflow for the two nights we stayed. Was told at check-in that wait list was long. Overflow area is large bare ground with rock dividers designating sites. Sites have a picnic table and are large with long pull thru. Was told at check-in if need to run generator during quiet hours that is permissible if needed to stay comfortable. Temp did get down into the upper 40’s in the morning but we were okay without running generator. Plenty of sites available in overflow. No wi-fi at this time, is under repair. In past have been able to get in to full hook-up site without delay but not this visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
October 19 to April 11, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is my first time here. 40’ toyhauler, f350 & my steel stallions 2 Harley Road King Specials. I’d say my only complaint is the camp WiFi only works in or near the camp office. The base facilities are great. Xchg, commissary, auto hobby shop, Stripes (Expresso deli), bowling alley and snack bar. Everything else is shut down due to C19. No chow hall. Beautiful walking paths. Cactus w beautiful flowers. Hummingbirds so bring ur feeders. Laundry facilities bathrooms showers are great. I don’t use the showers so I’m just speaking from observation. There’s even a doggy wash station. Tucson is small compared to Phoenix. Tucson downtown is 4 blocks of businesses. There is another 8 block business strip I think it’s 6th. Plenty of restaurants and one of the best Korean BBQ restaurants I’ve ever been. Taegukgi. Plenty of great Mexican food. But I’m really here for one thing & one thing only. Riding my Harleys in warm DRY WEATHER!! Peace. Ride often. Ride safe.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
March 12-17, 2021
(Updated: March 25, 2021)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This was our 2nd stay in 3 years. We were in space 96, next to a seemingly long termer on a corner. I have a modest 25 ft. Trailer and it took me a few minutes of jockeying back and forth to avoid the trees on both sides of the space for a small slide-out on one side and our awning on the other. It’s funny, while we were ‘inside the wire’, I saw other small trailers around us with hitch locks. Really? Great laundry room facilities. Management seems to be using Covid precautions as an excuse for limiting active management. I never talked to anyone with the office in the 5 nights we were there. I made it a point to arrive during business hours on a Friday and the office was closed with instructions on the front board with a list of available sites. I was to pick one and then draw a line through it, so no one could pick it again. While many of the guests are seasonal or short term, I saw a few RV residents who are there for the long haul. One site across the street from us had living room furniture, a refrigerator and a front loading washer in his space, and no he wasn’t active duty.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 3
January 2021
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
GOOD: - Location! Tucson is absolutely wonderful in the winter. - Bathrooms/showers/laundry are very clean. - Staff is friendly. BAD: - Spots are pretty small. - Wifi has been down for quite some time. - Some street noise from Wilmot Rd. - Reveille at 0700; Retreat at 1700; TAPS at 2200 (during the week); speaker is REALLY LOUD! - Golf course, base theater, and officer’s club have all been closed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan 22- 26, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We can see why people stay here 3 to 5 months. Didn't use any of the RV park's amenities/facilities during our stay; however a unique one we've never seen elsewhere was a coin operated doggie washing booth! Our site might have been an older one as it was kinda tight to the neighbors as well being at an odd entrance/exit angle. One thing to keep in mind if you use a map app to navigate to the park...it might lead you to a closed gate. The gate closest to the RV park is only open early morning/late afternoon. Yeah, we had snow while there, enough to stick to the ground and car.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
January 2021
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This famcamp is first come, first serve but they have plenty of sites, both FHU and overflow. All sites are clean and good size, some are 30 amp and some are 30/50 amp electric. The attractions of AMARC (aircraft boneyard) and Old Tucson Movie Studio are closed for Covid until further notice. A very nice location for winter weather avoidance with a nice office staff. We will stay here again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
201 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 ... »