Camp Grayling RV Park

Featured
 
3.3 (41)
68063 1 22 4 15

User reviews

41 reviews
 
17%
 
22%
 
46%
 
15%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.8(41)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.1(41)
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.8(41)
Value
 
3.7(41)
Overall Experience
 
3.3(41)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
41 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
26-29 May 2018
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This wasn't a bad place to stay as some of the reviews suggest. It's true there are a lot of full time campers here but thats common with base campgrounds so you have to expect that. There are short term camping spots and when they are available you can't beat the price for full hookups. Proximity to the lake is great and the base is very quiet. There is lot's of shade and the park manager was nice as were all the campers. The sites are gravel and mostly dirt so it can get a little muddy if it rains. The only thing I had an issue with is the sewer pipe being to high out of the ground. It's nearly impossible to get your hose on a downward angle, so your hose will not drain all the way from gravity, you have to help it. Overall great for the price but not a resort if you're expecting that. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
August 2021
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This campground is on a secure base, just inside the gate. This is actually a nice base with a beautiful lake, there is a base beach and a campground beach which is an easy walk. If you have a boat you can anchor it there. There are food trucks between the PX and enlisted club which makes for an easy meal. The sites are very close together, no gravel just sandy dirt that clings to everything when it rains. The ground was so soft our jacks and blocks sank into the ground. There is no maintenance at all. Backin only. The camp hosts are elderly and medically not up to the task. The reservation system is a joke. The bathhouse was painted and spruced up inside, the outside still needs a good pressure washing. But at $20 a night, FHU and free WiFi and cable the price can’t be beat.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
19-28 JUL 2009
(Updated: August 26, 2009)
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Concur with other reviewers who have noted that this park is somewhat run down. As usual, I was living out of my FW while training one of the MI ARNG units out in the maneuver area. Many of the MI ARNG units were up at Camp Grayling for their AT (a busy place in the summer), so during my stay the camp was fairly crowded. Sites are very close together (built before the advent of slides, I suspect) so larger trailers/FWs tend to be about 4 feet apart in many cases, and while it would not be accurate to describe this crowd of Guardsmen/campers as "raucus" - they are young and will obviously socialize during the evenings - so if your trailer is 4 feet away from their gathering place you may find the park a little noisy during peak AT periods (assuming you're trying to sleep as opposed to staying up and drinking beer with them...). Many of the sites are not level (laterally), which can cause substantial wash problems when it rains heavily (which it is bound to do). The "playground" appears to be a collection of 2 x 4's nailed together creatively, and the "renovated" bathroom had copious amounts of peeling paint and mold/mildew (I wouldn't even use it and I'm an old soldier...). Concur that while the manager-couple (retired MI ARNG member) are friendly, they are getting on in years and are essentially unable to keep up with the maintenance requirements, and the "Officer's Club" (great drinks/lousy food) has not put any money into the park in many, many years. Cell coverage is extremely weak in the park, and generally nonexistant once you enter the maneuver area to the west. I pulled in about 3 or 4 local digital channels with a standard roof antenna. Having said all that - it's the only game in town around here; it's inexpensive; had both 30 and 50A service and sewer; the park is heaviy wooded thus well shaded; Michigan is, of course, beautiful in the summer; and the lake (about a 2-min walk down a path) is beautiful and full of fish. There are a few great restaurants and an espresso shop in Grayling (my definition of civilization), and, finally, it's close to Mackinac Island, which should be on everybody's bucket list. If I come back up here to train another unit I suppose I'll stay here again. Strongly encourage you to call the park manager (989-344-6604) to confirm your reservation before you show up, as it appears the O-Club and the managers have some bureaucratic comms problems. I've posted a couple of phone pics so you can get an idea of how the park looks with trailers in it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
May 2015
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
PX and Clubs are fine. The campground is not well kept. Several trailers looked abandoned. Lake access was fine. I will continue to stay there when traveling that direction, my ratings are based on comparison to other facilities I have stayed at.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Summer 2018
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
2018 was our 2nd stay at Camp Grayling RV Park. The facility isn’t a U.S. military facility; it is a Michigan Army Nation Guard camp. As compared to 2017, the facility obviously hasn’t had any upgrades or care since the close of last season; perhaps due to funding or lack of concern. The bathrooms are in need of care and maintenance; often out of paper towels and toilet paper. All the sites, other than the big rig row are very “tight,” campers on adjoining sites will be less than 10 feet away. The electrical capacity is overmatched by the amount of draw during high temperature days and brownouts and/or low voltage can be normal. Also there is a very limited number of 50a sites. There are many trees which make parking large RVs a challenge and due to the crowding and lack of adequate parking facilities, getting out can be as challenging as getting in. Also, the abundance of trees keep vehicles coated with pollen and limbs (hopefully nothing large) falling on the RVs all the time when the wind blows. The park has no laundry facilities and there are none available on the camp. Grayling is about 5 miles away and has at least one laundromat. It is a great value for the “seasonal” camper, for the short to intermediate stay camper it is nothing to rave about. It serves its purpose of providing National Guard personnel a place to park their RVs while on summer camp drills; that seems the only imperative. The park hosts are cordial enough but poorly motivated to keep the camping areas maintained; the “it is what it is mentality prevails.” 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
25 July - 1 August 2013
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
After reading the comments about this campground, we didn't know what to expect. Wow, we where really happy we took the chance and visited this campground. We love it here, in fact we are staying an extra month. The camp hosts are great, and the people staying in the campground are great. You can get your mail while your visiting the campground. The sewer hookups are right where they should be in 90% of the campground. Wifi works great, over 50 channels with the free cable. A good monthly rate, and a great value. Yes this is no COMMISSARY. This is a Guard Base, most don't and it does not affect the campground. The local supermarket is maybe 10 minutes away. The town offers great bike riding, Disc Golf, Golf, Canoeing, hiking, and more. Remember this is a RV park that offers seasonal rates, so yes your going to have some full timers at the Campground. The ones I have meet are great people. So, give it a try if your in the area, I don't recommend a lot of RV Campgrounds, but I thought I needed to post about this one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
August 31, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed five nights over Labor Day weekend. Janie, Campground Manager, runs a clean and orderly camp. Shower house offered plenty of hot water and very clean. The value for full hookups and more is impressive. Minor drawback is that sites are close to each other but as with most military patrons, this is not a problem. Guests were super respectful and quiet. A small PX is about a mile away. The gym, also about a mile away, is fully furnished and almost new. We arrived a week after a major exercise so overall base was very quiet. We enjoyed the deer from our ebikes every night counting over 50 on many nights. Some guests appear to leave their rigs in the park for weekned/holiday use so again it’s a quiet place to enjoy your campsite fire.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
4-6 Aug 2020
Overall rating
 
2.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Stayed three nights, Off the beaten path. Nice secluded and wooded sites. Lots of Homesteaders and active duty or reserve duty personnel. Needs a good cleaning, hosts seemed like they've been there awhile also. No bathrooms or showers, nothing to do on base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 2019
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
This place needs a good house cleaning...full timers living in permanent trailers. Poor keeping of the grounds..roads are rough...Can't recommend it for anything. The base commander needs to be held accountable for such poor conditions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July, 2018
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Truly surprised that there were MANY MANY long-term campers there.... decks and fences built even! We found a place where our coach could level after trying three. Not well-maintained, loose connections, rickety picnic tables, tons of boats parked all over, and folks in and out at the boat ramp. Power seemed stable to us, but park was just a bit over 2/3 full. Paid $20 a night, 50-amp service. Dirt/gravel surfaces, dusty and trees contribute pollen. Very shady!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
July 4, 2012
(Updated: July 15, 2012)
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
We stayed there only one night. We arrived about 4pm. The campground host was not on duty but a note on the door indicated our space. It was a hot day/evening and there was no tree cover at our RV space. The space itself was sandy loam, not a paved space and very gritty. The bath house was dirty and the showers were very small and the floors very wet making it difficult to shower, dry off and change. We did not take advantage of any other amenities. This is run by the Camp Grayling Officer's Club and it was interesting to note that several of the RV spaces were occupied by the same people for dozens of years and have been made their own. One resident showed us "his" space that he has occupied each summer for the last 37 years. It was like a permanent homestead. The price was right, however, at $17 a night. I would only return if I needed a safe harbor for the night and I would not use their bath house.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
July 2013
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our second stay at Camp Grayling campground, run by the Officer's Club on this Mich. National Guard camp. We planned an overnight on our way to Canada, but ended up staying two due to truck AC problems. The managing couple bent over backwards helping us stay even though they were booked to capacity due to the 100th aniv. of the camp and associated celebrations. Arrived back on the 23rd and will stay through the 28rh. Although old, this park is an outstanding deal. Yes, the spots are close together, but it was laid out in the 60's. Yes, the sand gets pushed around by RVs, trucks and trailers, so you've got to level it out (but it's SAND, not dirt or gravel!). Full hook-ups, great wifi plus cable for $17 a night! Managing couple is outstanding. It isn't a KOA by any means, but is quiet, shaded, clean and has all the amenities - and we've stayed at KOAs that were worse than here!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Aug 2 2021
Overall rating
 
2.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This is the most poorly kept military campground that we have stayed in. The sites are very close together and are a sandy dirt unlevel surface. Some of the campers look like they haven't been moved or washed in years. The laundromat had a sign on it that states it is for active duty military only. There was a clean restroom / shower facility that looked like they had been remodeled. Plus there is a lake that is within walking distance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
9 sept 2011
(Updated: September 09, 2011)
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
not much good to say here. The Nat Guard should be ashamed of this facility. Dirt sites with well worn patches of grass here and there. Older...older facility. Sewer lines located on wrong side . Restrooms had peeling wall and floor paint although the to it's and sinks were clean. Showers had obvious black mold everywhere. It's obvious the Officers Club isn't minding the health and welfare of their personnel. This place needs a complete redo. The beach was very nice, so? A one stand for this place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
29 October 2011
(Updated: October 30, 2011)
Overall rating
 
1.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
my wife and i drove by the check out the site for 2012. we were both not impressed. the park was not well maintained. there doesn't seem to be much up keep to the park. doesn't support newer larger rv's. as stated in the previous review, sewer lines are on the wrong side. sites aren't clearly marked. the restrooms were not maintained. i love nature, but some of the tree need to be cut down. many of them block slide outs from opening fully. the ground is very uneven. in comparing this park to the one at camp perry, there is no comparison. camp perry lots are paved and level. up keep is on a constant basis. the office isn't maintained by the officers club. i don't know how the money aspect of camp perry is, but they seem to care about their rv park more than grayling. grayling needs major work. the officers club house that manages the rv park looks like a palace. i can see where the money goes. it's apparent that no officers stay there. i can safely say that we won't be staying there. which is a shame, because the location is excellent. the lake is a short walk away. this really could/can be a excellent site that could have a mile long waiting list to get on if someone would just fix it up. we are going to be working on the post next year, and had planned on bringing our 5th wheel. it would be to much of a headache to try to maneuver into.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Sept. 21, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Cleanlines/Hospitality is a 3 because the hospitality provided by Jamie and Dave was great and they made check in easy. Cleanliness is a 1 because when we walk out the door of our motor home there was my neighbors waste dump about 3 feet from my picnic table. That is just not acceptable. Amenities/Facilities are run down and to a point that it is time to upgrade. My mom always told me to finish on a positive note. It was nice to have full hook up and the shower facility was clean and refreshing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Aug 2012
(Updated: December 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
There are no 50 amp hookups. Everything was 20 & 30 amp. 50 amp would have been nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sept. 8th, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Arrived without a reservation but it was late in their season (they close in 2 weeks). Plenty of open sites. The hosts were very nice. Cable TV was nice to have and worked fine. Too many trees for us to get satellite TV. WiFi also worked "okay", but our Verizon was much faster. The campground is slightly rustic and in dire need of a good clean-up, maintrnance and enforcement of rules. They allow "seasonal" campers (about 5 months). Their sites all look trashy with decks, fences, extended sites into the forest, junk all over, etc. I don't object to the seasonal rates, but the campers should be required to keep their sites cleaned up. When the seasonal campers leave, some appear to leave their RV on site all winter. Many leave concrete blocks, pallets, and other junk on their site during the winter. The site we were assigned to had much of this junk in it. Sites should be cleaned out and empty for the next camper. I think the seasonal campers think they own that site. The bath house was recently painted and slightly renovated. But it's old and shows it's age. However, it was (mostly) clean. There is a laundromat available near the NCO Club on post. Very old, very dirty and not taken care of. But it was free and most of the machines worked (although very trashed). The lake with a small beach is a short walk from the campground. There's also a very small exchange on post, mainly stocked with items and snacks for the troops in training. Despite the negatives I've stated, it's a nice place to visit. The rates are perfect for what you're getting and it's location. Reservations are highly recommended for the summer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Aug 2014
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
There appears to be some type of campground up keep to be started. All campers had to be removed and nothing could be stored this season. Of course when someone is asked what upgrades are being made, no one seems to know. Base security says the only thing they were told is that some trees were going to be cut back. Which if someone has a satellite dish, this would be great because they can't be used right now. 50 amp hookups for the newer style trailers would be excellent because 30 amps are the highest rated hookups that the campground has. Certain upgrades would make this a sought after camping site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 2013
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
July 2013, This tacky sight has more than it’s share of problem common to RV Parks. 1. Very difficult to contact before arrival. 2. Undersized overlapping sights. 3. Unleveled soft sand sights. 4. Dysfunctional layout. 5. Sewer pipes high. 6. Waterlines in the dirt. 7. 30/20A Only. 8. Most of park unlit at night. 9. Homesteaders / Seasonal(s). 10. Boat and trailer storage in park. 11. Location too far to receive local channels.
12. Trees impede satellite usage. 13. No cable available. 14. No barbeques or fire rings. 15. Majority of the picnic tables are ready for the dumpster. Big rigs and toy haulers be warned. You will be better off doing without full hookups in one of Michigan’s State Parks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 5
41 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3