Beale AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.2 (67)
104159 1 12 1 52

User reviews

67 reviews
 
39%
 
49%
 
9%
 
1%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
3.9(67)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.2(67)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0(67)
Value
 
4.4(67)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(67)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
67 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4
Ordering
Oct. 15, 2018
(Updated: October 16, 2018)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Only just got here, staying one week. Beware main gate, (Schneider) is closed. Height limit on Doolittle gate is 13' I had to turn around and go through the Wheatland gate, clearance is 15'.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 15 0
December 2016
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
If you want some peace and quiet this is the campground to visit. Located about 15-20 minutes from town, the base encompasses 25,000 acres of which only a small part are used. Lots of rolling hills and even a few cows are around. Plenty of room to walk the dogs or ride your bike. Campground is set up in 6 circles with 8 back-in sites in each circle. Our site was level asphalt and plenty long for our 42' 5th wheel and truck. Small patio and picnic table at each site. Laundry room and fishing lake are also on site. Commissary and exchange on base along with a bowling alley and movie theater. Free wi-fi which can be spotty and our satellite had no problem here. Friendly office staff, but office is open only 9-12 weekdays. Lots of fulltimers that have been here a long time. I believe it is their permanent residence. Not sure how long you are "suppose" to stay or if there are any rules. Office staff said they have to turn a lot of reservation request down......maybe if they had rules about length of stay it would help!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 11 0
May 17 - 27, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We just completed a 10 day stay at Beale – nothing has changed since our last several visits.  As usual, there is quite a cadre of homesteaders and the Wi-Fi is pathetic.  Tangent time:  Every wonder why you can’t get a reservation at a military RV Park during prime vacation time?  Chances are the RV Park has an abundance of homesteaders occupying the best sites.  There is an interesting perspective about homesteaders in the forum section of this website.  Poor Wi-Fi service seems to be the norm at many of the military RV Parks.  RV Park management response is always the same: “We are aware of the problem and are working on it”.  Sadly, nothing ever seems to get fixed.  If you can’t provide a good service, don’t advertise or offer it.  Enough venting.  Let’s move on to some fun and positive things.  We like coming to Beale because we find many things appealing.  The paved and lighted walking trails are great. If you are a shutterbug, you can find many scenic views of the landscape and wildlife without having to travel off base.  For us, Beale offers a great basecamp for playing “day-trip” tourist in the surrounding area.  There are too many great attractions in the local area to mention all of them.  During this stay we took a trip to the quint little downtown of Placerville, CA., hometown of the late Thomas Kinkade.  Our mistake: we should have planned at least a two-day venture.  You can get to Placerville quickly by going to Roseville and travel east on Highway 50 to Placerville.  That approach will give you plenty of time to wander around the town, have lunch, and browse through the shops.  We took a different route to Placerville and regret that we didn’t do a good job with our homework.  We could have easily spent multiple days traveling and stopping along the 48 miles from Auburn, CA to Placerville on Highway 49.  The scenery along the route is very picturesque. There are several parks that offer easy and challenging hiking trails, as well as, access to the American River.  If you are the adventurist type, there are businesses offering river rafting trips on the American River.  River rafting looks like a lot of family fun, but at our age we think we’ll pass on that adventure.  Sutter’s Mill, where gold was discovered in California, is another highlight along Highway 49 and the American River.  If you are into quint little historic downtowns then you may enjoy visiting Nevada City, CA.  Easiest way to get there from Beale is to use the Grass Valley Gate, go east on Highway 20, then north about 7 or 8 miles on Highway 49.  For us, it was a day-trip to Nevada City that was fun and interesting.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
July 10, 2016
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Not having a reservation, and arriving on a Sunday, I went to the "Fam Camp" office to get the number for the host. They are very helpful, and found me a spot for a couple of days. They meet me at the park with a hostess packet and showed me where the spot was. They were very friendly. After hook up I took a shower and watched some TV. Things at this point are great. After about one hour I get a knock at the door. I answer and a gruff little man asks what my name is and lets me know that I can't just pull in anywhere I like. I try to explain that I got help from the number at the office and he tells me the guy was wrong. At this point I can tell you I will not be back. I thought the first part of this was great, but it's people like the little old bitter man that makes camps like this unwelcome. The whole thing could have went differently with a different attitude. I would think the purpose of a camp Host is to make the camp nice, help people, make them feel welcome. Starting this June I stayed at Grand Forks AFB, Minot AFB, William Henry Harrison, Mountain Home AFB, Kingsley Field, and now here. I had great fun and all of these places were great in there own way except this one. Even if the Base is fun, this one person will ruin this camp for me, and that is sad.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 12 6
April 27, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Other comments posted on April 2017 are accurate. My comments, all sites are back ins in a circle so check first for easiest way to enter also there are thistle burs making it somewhat tough on pets. Visit the MUSEUM OF THE FORGOTTEN WARRIORS it's amazing just a few minutes outside of Beale. We had a 43' 5th wheel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
April 2017
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We came up from Sacramento using the directions on this page rather than following our GPS and have sent the administrator updated directions. Checking in was easy and after driving around the building on the gravel road, we made it into our site with no problems. We were assigned Site F2, a long and sufficiently wide asphalt parking pad. The slope to the loop was significant but we were able to level using some shoring under the tires (don’t like having the front tires off the ground) and then got the jacks down. The camp’s WiFi is usable (from our site) some of the time depending on the time you connect. Best early in the morning and late at night. We did have a good Verizon 4g LTE signal. We also were able to get a strong Directv satellite signal. Diesel fuel is not available at the gas station nearest the park, only at the one near the Vasser Lake gate. The laundry facility only has two washers/dryers but one of those was not working during our stay. The park manager is great and very helpful. We will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
Dec 17 - Dec 19th, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our first time at this FamCamp and we had a good experience. Yes, there are active duty full-timers (altho for how long each one stays?), goodies stashed outside a lot of the RV's and the occasional dog visit, but no loud music or other disturbances. It is, after all, their FamCamp that we are allowed to share. No trash or debre lying around, facilities and grounds in good order and repair. Rodents? Ants and rattlesnakes? They are there for sure, but we didn't experience any negatives from that source. Staff was cheerful, helpful, polite and eager to please. Each site is well positioned, and LOTS of room between each one. The numerous shade trees should make the warmer weather easier to enjoy. Commissary and BX are not far away. It was a quiet, peaceful two day rest from traveling. After all, it is an AFB and sure to have the noise from normal operations, but that is the sound of freedom.  Our rating for "Location" is because this FamCamp is "remote" from the majority of the base, but then the base is also remote(about 6-7 miles) from "townies".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
May 5-10, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The only negative about Beale is that it is so far away from everything. If this doesn't bother you and you are looking for somewhere quiet and peaceful, you will love Beale. The campground is located in an isolated spot on the base a mile or more from the exchange, commissary, and the rest of the "business district." The campground manager and camp host were nice fellows and eager to help and answer questions. The campground, a previous mobile home park, is well maintained. The price of $14 was very reasonable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
Oct 16 - Nov 13, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at the famcamp and planning to return January of 2022. while there there was a wind storm. several branches broke from tree behind our trailer. We had 2 holes in our roof from the branches. I cleaned area of fallen limbs and stacked material. The fallen branches were picked up about 2 weeks later. The newer laundry machines were very much appreciated. While there we used base commissary, auto hobby shop and the ID card office.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
March 2011
(Updated: April 12, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed at Beale several years ago and I was amazed the improvements they have made. Adding pads for the tables. The WIFI works much better as compared before. Management and camp host go out their way to provide any assistance. I would recommend making Beale a stopping point on your trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
November 2010
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
J.H. left this review using the Directory software: Stayed here for the entire month of November 2010, waiting to close on our new house nearby. Absolutely zero problems. Had one of the best potluck dinners ever! Best Price/Value I have found anywhere. Base facilities are more than adequate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 5, 2012
(Updated: July 11, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The FamCamp is several miles from any of the gates and the gates are several miles from anything. It is an oasis is a sea of dry fields in July. However, it is shaded and watered and the host (bonnie) is very attentive. It's an hour to Sacramento and 30 minutes to Yuba City (which has all the retail you could possibly need). The Verizon cell and data worked well. At $15/night it's a good value. If you are coming from the south up CA 65, the South Beale Rd. intersection has no street sigh, just a sign "To Beale AFB".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 5 through Aug 5, 2015
(Updated: August 08, 2015)
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This is the third or fourth time we have stayed at this location. The quiet seclusion and the cost is why we come here and it is the only things that keep us returning. This review is for those of you who generally have famcamp like expectations while RVing. My biggest complaint is that well over 25% of the spots are being lived in full time by active duty and retirees. One fellow we met has been there over 3 years. Active duty expect to remain in place until they are relocated. How do I know this? I certainly did not ask. The place really looks like a low class trailer park in the areas occupied by the residents. I'll attempt to attach a few photographs rather than go on. There are no rules given to anyone when they arrive. To do so would mean that they would have to be enforced. Dogs are tied out. Kids are running around the entire park unattended. Dog crap sets where it is dropped. Multiple vehicles and storage units are adjacent to RVs. The overall lack of upkeep by the full time residents is pretty bad. Now for the rest of the RV folks who use it as intended, the staff were fantastic. When I expressed my observations they rightfully responded that they do not write or approve policy. The laundry room and community room is small but very clean. Internet is available in the community room "most of the time". The sad part is that each and every RV circle has a dedicated signal from the router, they all show full 4 or 5 bar signals, but none were ever capable of managing internet data the entire month I was here. Suggesting it be repaired since the infrastructure was already in place was met with a simple shrug of the shoulders. On the other hand, the entire region is going through a tremendous drought, all grass is brown, yet a lawn service appears every Thursday and blows dirt over the entire area by running riding lawn mowers and weed eaters. I guess if they got the contract they are obliged to go through the motions regardless. What a dumb contract. I suggested they take a little of the money going toward the dust bowl and get the internet up and running (shrug). Sorry to be so negative, but being here 30 days certainly gives one a long time to observe the obvious. Famcamp or Trailerhood, you decide.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 3
Feb 2011
(Updated: February 26, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Way to go.... Beale AFB has always been my favorite Famcamp .My review in the past have been a bit on the negative side only because I knew the potential existed for Beale to be the best. Now my hopes are realized, new management with Rex and host Bonnie, come a great new positive attitude as seen by the recent upgrades and improvements. What a change, what a pleasure to see what can happen with a new commitment. Better than ever.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 2011
(Updated: March 13, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Campground host Bonnie does a great job. The place is very clean and the area is beautiful. We are relatively new to the military camping experience but if this is the gold standard there won't be many better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Dec 23, 2010 to Jan 3, 2011
(Updated: December 30, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Excellent FAMCAMP. Very friendly host. Peaceful and quiet with all facilities, commissary, BX, gas station, etc., within a very short distance of campground. I enjoyed my stay very much.
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jun 27 &28, 2012
(Updated: July 01, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The camp host, Bonnie, was very accommodating in giving us a nice spot. We had talked to Rex earlier in the day and made a reservation. We enjoyed our stay and the golf course was in great shape. We were able to get diesel for our RV near the Wheatland gate. The BX & commissary had everything we needed. Will stay again if we're in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Part of June and all of July, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Beale is the place to be is you are looking for peace and quiet. The layout is somewhat unique, although I have seen it before, and provides lots of room between the sites, plenty of green grass an shade. My wife and I have been here several times, and use it as a base when visiting our kids in Marysville. The Commissary and Exchange are pretty much like everywhere else, not really offering very much savings, but Wal-Mart is right down the road. I have spent some time with Rex - the camp manager - and believe me when I tell you that he is excited about the good things that are happening and planned for this facility, e.g. new cement pads for the picnic tables, new 50amp service in the one circle that currently doesn't have it, monthly get-togethers, etc. The mice have been a little bit of a problem this time because there were goats introduced next to the camp for fire control, and they seemed to have driven all the mice into the camp. However, base personnel have been tending to the problem, and my two yorkies have killed about three dozen over the past month. Bottom line... Beale FamCamp is a great place that is frequented by great people.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 23 - 28 2015
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I don't know what to say about Beale. Its in the middle of nowhere, hot, and well cheep. Value for the dollar is at the top. Facilities that are available are nearly new and in good condition. But no tv, spotty internet. and poor cell service mean that you are really in the 60s. It was great had good time. Only had to move (relocate) one snake. I here that is a record.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 2012
(Updated: July 04, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Since our last visit in 2006/7 the 'new' camp hostess Bonnie is great-she is hard worker (always watering grounds and collects recycling to sell for famcamp improvements). It is quiet (didn't see any rattlesnakes this time) and the concrete pads for new heavy duty picnic tables are great! Diesel on base and ample facilities so you don't feel 'out there'-cuz not much unless you drive to Yuba City. One of best campgrounds for your campsite SPACE. Used chow hall on Sundays and it is supposed to open all time again for retirees in October. Enjoy lake view!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
67 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4