Clear Lake Recreation Area

Featured
 
4.3 (42)
118805 2 32 1 47

User reviews

42 reviews
 
57%
 
24%
 
17%
 
2%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.5(42)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.1(42)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.2(42)
Value
 
4.5(42)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(42)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
42 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
Apr thru Sept 2007 ,2008, 2009 & 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
After reading through some of the comments left concerning visits to Clear Lake resort, I would like to set the record straight on a couple of key points that would otherwise keep people away from a GREAT experience. One of my favorite quotes is “You can please some of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all the people all of the time.” Fairchild’s Clear Lake Resort IS a RECREATION AREA and a VERY BUSY one. If you are looking for someplace completely quite to hang out for a few days, then you need to either try the FamCamp on base or limit your stay at Clear Lake to Mon. through Thur. when it’s less active. This is a nice time for a little relaxed fishing and just sitting back watching a nice sunset. Weekends are EXTREMELY busy with filled dumpsters, noisy parties, water skiers, picnickers and people that ignore every rule despite every effort to enforce them. Although the sites are close, every site in the resort fills up starting Friday and the activity doesn’t let up until sometime late Sunday with not just locals, but a wide variety of people that travel a long way to spend time at Clear Lake. You bet, I work at Clear Lake Resort, am of the senior generation, and am very proud to be part of the Clear Lake staff and Fairchild AFB’s Outdoor Recreation program. The Clear Lake staff work very hard to insure you have an enjoyable stay and try to take care of things as the need arises, but we can’t always please everyone. Although Clear Lake Resort may not be everyone’s cup of tea, it has some of the BEST FISHING, FUN AND FOOD around. Don’t let a couple of unhappy camper reviews color your thoughts about stopping in at Clear Lake Resort for a few days.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
May 20 thru Aug 20 2012
(Updated: August 22, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Man what a place, we had such a great time. We got there in May and didn't leave until Mid August. I can't say enough about the Staff, Mike Johnson is the manager and he will do everything he can to make sure your stay is the greatest ever. Fishing is great and you can rent a boat to go out on the lake. The picnic area is well maintained and the grass is cut every week, thanks to Judy and Chris. Everyone is incredible, Travis, Judy, Jim, Chris, Jason, Megan ZJ, and of course MIKE JOHNSON. I tired to make my reservations for next year but they said I would have to wait. Can't wait. Thank you guys! Don, Peggy. Bella and Rube
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
August 6-9, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed there for a weekend. It was very busy, but a nice place. Users don't obey the quiet times. The bathrooms were a pig sty! I've never seen such filthy restrooms at a military campground. The showers are the push for water type which you have to keep pushing to get more water. The men's bathroom needed painting badly and had toilet paper pieces, trash etc scattered all over. The floors were very duty. We left mid-morning Monday and the bathrooms had been somewhat cleaned-at least the toilet paper picked up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
August 7, 2022
Overall rating
 
2.7
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This is the place for families with young children. There is large covered areas to get out of the sun, big sandy beach that leads you to a safe roped off water play area. Boats, kayaks, etc. are available for rent. The fish had a few small fish and lots of turtles. A snack shack offered burgers, fries, soda and ice cream treats. I dry tent camped that offered porta potties. I opted to walk the 1 mile loop to the flushing toilets with showers. The restrooms/showers were in poor condition and dirty, there is nothing else to do in the area, the park was heavily populated with birthday parties, day visitors and every RV camp space was occupied. There was a group of 5-6 young people in their 20's, driving fast, playing music loudly, cussing, drinking, and carrying on in the same camping area as me. Another nearby camper told me they are the same group that was there the weekend before and did the same activity into very late hours. UGH. Not my scene, I enjoy camping, hiking, and watching wildlife. This place was a zoo, but a dream for younger people.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
24-29 Aug 2014
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
First the good: Checking in was very easy and staff is friendly and accommodating. Tuesday and Thursday, all recreation equipment is 1/2 off, a great value. Now for the not-so good: There is no parking “out of the way” when checking in. It would be nice to give you your site number when you make a reservation so one could just go to their assigned site, back in and then go into the office to do the paperwork. The sites are very tight so you had better like your neighbor. There was a lot of trash laying around and several sites with paper and even garbage all around their trailers. No one seems to care about enforcing the rules concerning keeping you site clean. We didn’t see anyone doing litter picking the whole time we were there. The kids driving around emptying the garbage cans drove very fast and seemed to be playing more than working. The 5 MPH is not enforced so a lot of dust is kicked up. Did not use the bathrooms but when I looked in and they were terrible. There is no way I would ever use those showers. At times, very poor, surging water pressure. I would stay here again but would try to get a site at the end of the row.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
June 20, 2011 - June 27, 2011
(Updated: July 04, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Spent a week at the camp ground for a family reunion and stayed in a full hook up site. We had a large group of about 50 people ranging from 6 months to 60 plus years of age. On top of that we where spread out from the yurt to the tent sites up to the cabins and back to the cottages. The staff at the facility were absolutely wonderful. Judy, Mike, Brandon, Travis and all the other wonderful employees went out of the way to make sure anything we needed was given to us if possible. I have seen comments in reviews about the bathrooms. The bathrooms ARE clean. In the week that we used them I never encountered a bug while showering or using the toilet! When the toilet paper ran out, I simply went down to the office and advised them, and they immediately fixed the problem. They have a machine similar to a pressure washer that sterilizes the bathrooms when cleaning. Instead of being irritated at the staff for the mess in the bathroom look around at the patrons, they are the ones making the mess! Honey buckets are located around the property and again are as clean as the guests that are using them! It seems that Friday is cleaning day for them. The showers you do have to push for warm/hot water. I am sure it is much better than what our men and women are getting out in the field so we should be happy with it. Just keep pushing every few seconds and your water will stay on, not a big deal. Water boat rentals are inexpensive, and renting the BBQ for the week was also a great investment. This camp ground is amazing. If you do not like it, check out a State camp ground then you will learn to appreciate things a little more. Thank you to Fairchild AFB and the staff for making our vacation extra special. You will always be a special memory to our family reunion.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
August 19 2011
(Updated: August 26, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our family with 2 younger kids visited Clear Lake and stayed in one of the cabins last week. We had an amazing time! The cabins were basic but clean and had great views of the lake. The staff was amazing and so helpful. You can't beat the price for the boat rentals and the lake was beautiful. We are looking forward to making this place a part of our family's summer vacation every year!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Aug 11, 2021
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Just overnight for us on our way to JBLM from Malmstrom, AFB, MT. Very conveniently located off I-90 so easy in and out. The place seems to be frequented by regulars gathering under the big trees in front of the RV sites. Boat ramp in the other end and few cottages are for rent. Very busy when we got in and the check in office is a bit tricky to to find at first. We parked up top and walked down hill to check in. Luckily I did not drive my 5th wheel all the way down there. We like the location but it’s a bit rundown, very tight spaces and you can smell the dump tank vents every where. So we did not hoop up our sewer hose and waited until we arrived in the next campsite. For longer stay I would recommend reserving the very end spot. But all the utilities works so we got our AC running and have our hot showers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
7 June to Aug, 2011
(Updated: August 02, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This place is great. It has everything a family could use. The prices are great as well. I have been staying there for 5 weeks now and the Staff has been bending over backwards so I can stay there. I have not had to move my trailer yet. I had only planned on staying weekends. Jim and Judy are Awesome. Monday and Thursdays are half price days for their boats. The camp sites have everything I need. There is free Wi-fi in the lodge. The food at the snack bar is good. I have a place to park my boat. I do not know of to many places I can have boat morage and a campsite with full hookups for 100 a week.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
13 Aug 11
(Updated: August 14, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here for one night only, but we found a lot of activities to do. We called en route to make a reservation and the staff was very accommodating. Upon arrival, we saw a spot just across from the playground and requested that spot. The staff made this switch possible for us. The kids were able to play in the playground while we backed and set up the trailer. After set-up, I inquired on different activities within the facility. We rented a canoe, paddle boat, and swam in the lake with the kids. The playground is awesome, the facility is remarkable, and that the overall experience was awesome. We marked this on the GPS, so we can come back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 18- 26, 2011
(Updated: July 01, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We were a part of a family reunion of about 50 people for a full week. We found the facilities to be in excellent condition, more importantly the staff (Judy, Jim & Mike) made us feel very welcome by their sincere desire that we enjoy ourselves and went out of their way to be helpful in many ways. We would recommend this facility to everyone and especially because of the great people who clean, maintain and operate(host)it!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 16 - 18
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great, clean little camp. Hosts, Jim & Judi, are extremely friendly and helpful; have installed their own personal router so there is NOW wifi in the snack bar area and lower areas of camp. Not a fam camp, so there are no laundry facilities, but everything else made this spot a serene, comfortable stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 26, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Just a overnighter for us. Great views. Very convenient near I-90, but you don’t hear it at all. Grounds appear to be overused, lots of dirt in the rv area. Parking is on an asphalt pad. Could use gravel or paving. Posted 5 MPH which most observe but dusty! Goose poop everywhere makes the grassy area tricky. But it’s beautiful area for picnics. Lots to do here if you’re into watersports. Only 30 Amp. RV spaces are tight but got in with no problems. Probably designed in the 60-70s with the small trailers in mind. I didn’t try to extend my awning, but our neighbors had theirs out....18” from our slide. Nice staff. Upon arrival, staff and I were the only three wearing a mask around the vicinity of the office. I’d stay here again. Nearly all spots taken so call in advance for reservations.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
August 14-16, 2012
(Updated: August 17, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I have to agree with parts of many of the existing reviews. We have found our brief, mid-week stay to be a good one. The sites ARE close together. I understand that this is a RECREATION area, and it is busy with folks playing and having an active time. The exterior maintenance of the buildings is very good. There is attention being paid to the playground and the lawns. The marina appears to be very well run, and the equipment is in good to excellent condition. The Marina staff were thorough and on the ball. The Cafe in the "Lodge" is just fine, although I am not sure how they manage if there is a very busy time. The burgers were good and the fries top notch. Office staff were friendly and knowledgeable. That is the good ... now for the bad. The women's bathroom and shower was awful. On a Thursday at about noon, it was littered, muddy and in poor condition. The handicapped shower equipment was broken and on the floor. One of the sink faucets was unable to be shut off. Dressing room curtains were torn, one toilet bowl sagging (but useable) ... just not at all what I expected, compared to the outdoor experience. We have been warned that on the weekends there are large groups who party loudly and long past quiet time. There is no camp host here, just a caretaker. Perhaps that is why some long-term campers have been allowed to accumulate lots of junk piled under and around their units. Most sites are not bad, but I had to empty a tote filled with water & dirty dishes that had apparently been sitting outside my neighbor's rig for most of the week. It was breeding mosquitoes!! I hate to sound like a crab, but I am not used to seeing this kind of behavior at any military facility, on or off base. This facility could be a gem ... but there are some things that need to be looked at with fresh eyes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 11, 2018
(Updated: May 13, 2018)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I stayed in the yurt; this is a good option if you are a minimalist and don't need a lot of comforts. This is like car camping with a very large tent that you can stand up and walk around in. It has about 4 large cots and a small metal table. Not bad, but I wish I had brought a thermarest - that cot was just too hard. There is a picnic table directly outside, but no water. There is a spigot in the nearby picnic area; this was especially valuable since the camp bathrooms are currently being remodeled. So currently no running water other than spigots. There were porta potties all over the campground, including three not far from the yurt. The food in the little restaurant is good, and the older gentleman that works there (mostly checking people in, I think) seems very kind - watch his sense of humor! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
June 15-22, 2012
(Updated: July 02, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Exceptionally well maintained and managed. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The fishing was good, trolling, with a variety species available. About 10 miles to Spokane and 6 miles or so to Cheney and Medical Lake, all worth the visit. The wind can come up occasionally. I would prefer the spaces be a bit farther apart but the distance was okay. Some sites appear to have a little more back to front downslope than others. I had to use an extra couple of blocks and I noticed a few others did as well. The Marina provides a variety of boats/watercraft and there is a good dock facility for campers with boats. They also have a large fishing pier with benches. I noticed that inexperienced folks had marginal success with fishing from the pier but folks with a little experience seemed to do quite well (trout). The snack bar provided some tasty lunches/snacks, corn dogs to burgers & fries etc..and a couple of breakfast items as well. A very enjoyable experience, I WILL be back, this one is on my A+ list.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
September 2012
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A super place. We stayed at the end of the summer season and it wasn't crowded. Definitely a place to come back to. If you are traveling east/west across the top of the United States this place and the famcamp at Fairchild are both excellent stops.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 19th - 21st, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have stayed at this outstanding facility before and always enjoy camping there with our RV. The office staff are helpful, friendly and professional. This campground has many amenities for every age group; fishing/swimming/boat rentals/walks around the lake and a play area for the younger kids. This campground is a little gem and we can't wait to get to stay there again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 13, 2018
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Nice place, beautiful lake, rentals for fishing boats, pontoon boats, and more. Fishing off the dock, and swimming. Needs some TLC, kind of run down, RV spots are really close together. The price is right, no limit on your stay, so some are set up for the whole season.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 28, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We stayed in tent site 10. This is close to the lake - this is at the end of the row of tent sites. Since we were the only tent campers, it was especially quiet. Nice, but - it's a bit of a walk to the camp bathrooms, so there were two porta potties. The potties are cleaned/emptied on Fridays; by the time we arrived on Tuesday (after the long holiday weekend), the potties were full and gross. So we drove/walked to the bathroom. The new bathrooms are nice - clean and nice. Only thing - the toilets automatically flushed, and not necessarily at the appropriate time. I learned to jump when the toilet started to flush, even if I was not yet done with what I was doing! That was also kind of gross. Oh well - it's a gorgeous campground that was very quiet and had pleasant people!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
42 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3