Shields RV Park

Featured
 
4.3 (96)
101591 1 32 2 70

User reviews

96 reviews
 
53%
 
32%
 
10%
 
3%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.3(96)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.4(96)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0(96)
Value
 
4.4(96)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(96)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
96 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
March 2021
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I confess that I’m confused about all the positive reviews for this RV park. Please note that there are two RV parks aboard NCBC Gulfport—a “front” one and a “rear one.” I’ve hear the terms “old” and “new” used interchangeably, so I can’t tell which, if any, old/new term applies to which park. The “front” park (which is where we stayed) is nothing more than a large parking lot with concrete pads laid out for RV sites. Each site is a pull-through and offers water, electric, and sewage. The sites are spacious, the bath house is clean, and there is a pay laundry facility. That’s the good news. The bad news is that there is not a single tree or shade of any kind in the front part. In addition, it borders a main off-base street that presents loud street noise all day and night. We had a 5-day reservation but left after two days due to the unpleasantness of the front park. On our way out we drove through the “rear” park, which is very nice indeed. Trees, shade, quiet, a dog park, a lake nearby . . . Very pleasant. When I asked the park attendant how one gets assigned to the rear park instead of the front one, he told me you need to ask for the rear park when making a reservation. The rear park is all back-ins, no pull-thoughs, so keep that in mind when calling for a reservation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 17 2
January - May 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We love this park. In 2018 we stayed at the 'front' where it is row after row of pull throughs. We were very happy there....then. But, this time we stayed in the 'back' park (or new park) and it was great! While we were here the Coronavirus pandemic started. We had planned to stay from Jan to the end of March but ended up staying until the end of May in order to wait out the worst of the pandemic. What a wonderful place to get 'stuck.' We thanked our lucky stars everyday that we happened to be in this park when the lock down orders came. It is quiet, very roomy, well groomed and very pleasing to the eye. The roads are paved and each site has a very large concrete pad. The utilities are located well and all sites are level. The bathrooms and laundry room are spotless. The Navy has its own wifi and it is relatively strong throughout the park. The grounds are spacious and maintained weekly - virus or no virus. There is no problem getting satellite signal from any site. This park on the western end of the base is much quieter than the old one up front. The trains are a distant sound and sirens are rarely heard back here. The commissary and exchange are nice and large enough to find most anything you need. During the pandemic, the 2 stores are monitored for masks and numbers of people shopping. I never felt 'exposed' while shopping. I almost hate to leave such a good review because I don't want it to become difficult to get future reservations! LOL But, it is the duty of all RVers to let the rest of the RVers know what to expect from a park. You can't go wrong here and that's a promise.
Shields RV Park
Shields RV Park
Shields RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 11 0
March 1-8, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Shields RV Park is located on the Navy Construction Battalion Center in Gulfport, at the end of Pass Road. We came from the East, Hwy 90 which was a beautifully scenic road, on the water! We had no problems traveling this road in our Class A RV with toad. Once in Gulfport, we turned on 33rd Ave and then looked for the Burger King on the left, a small NCBC sign is seen on the right. At this intersection we turned left onto 25th St. which is Pass Rd. NCBC gate is at the end of this road. Entrance to the gate included temporary barricades. Essentially, you come up to a stop sign and wait for the sentry to motion for you to come forward. We presented ID and were told how to get to the RV park office. The older RV park is located to the right of the entrance gate so you can't miss it. Signage was good. We stopped near the office and checked in. There were two people working. We received materials on the campground as well as the community. We also paid a $100 refundable deposit for a cable TV box to use during our stay. The box included a remote with batteries (that worked!) and an informational book with the phone number to call to activate the service. This entire process took less than 30 minutes and we had several hundred (yes, hundred!) channels! We were pleasantly surprised. Our reservation was at the older RV park. This park has really spacious campsites with a concrete pad to park the rig and paved entrance and exit to the site. It also had a picnic table in good order. Almost all of these sites are pull through. Only a few in the very front of the park are back in. Rules for the park are clear, though, that you cannot have anything in the ground (no tents, stakes, etc.) and your slide outs cannot extend beyond the concrete pad. We saw a few minor violations, but, for the most part, this park seemed to be well managed with rules enforced. The older RV park has great open WiFi and our Verizon service was excellent! It is noisy, though. This park has a graveyard on one side but also has a heavily traveled road on the other. An active railroad track is close by and the Dole distribution trucks are across the road. The hospital is also close by so we heard ambulances, fire and police sirens most nights. We also heard trains every day and could noticebly smell exhaut fumes from across the road. We visited the newer campground just to see the difference. This campground is located across the base and I would think, based on what is around it (golf course, dog park, walking path, woods), the noise level is probably minimal. The sites are closer and they are all back in. The campground seemed well kept overall. Each site had the same concrete pad and was paved. We attempted to check WiFi speeds but were unable to do so. The base has a nice fitness area, indoor pool, commissary, and other amenities. We were pleased with the overall experience at this campground. Because we stayed seven nights, we paid $19/night, a great deal for full hookups and better than expected cable! The local area of Gulfport and Biloxi were nice. Getting back to Hwy. 90, we enjoyed the beach and a Veterans appreciation lunch at one of the local casinos on Monday. We did not gamble (no interest in that), but we did enjoy a BOGO lunch buffet there. We enjoyed local farmers' markets, purchasing local honey and enjoying the history of the area. Memorials from Hurricane Katrina devastation are present throughout this area. We enjoyed our stay and I could see us going back in the future! We also made great friends and met "Libby," who is a spitting image of our schnauzer, "Lizzie." 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 11 0
Nov 3 - Nov 25 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First let me say we travel in a 42ft Motorhome and tow a 4-door Jeep so you can judge the size of your rig if/when we say tight. From I-10 take 49 south to Pass RD. Turn west onto Pass RD and it will lead you straight to the gate. There is a serpentine but it is easily managed. As soon as you go through the gate turn right and you will see the first of the 2 campsites. The office for both sites is in the middle of the 1st campsite. The girls in the office were fantastic. Our site they had original set for us had a power issue which they had already found. They sent us to the 2nd of the 2 campsites. This campsite is newer, lots of space but all back-ins. As I said we are 42ft and had plenty of room. Now here is the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly. The Good: Great location, easy to maneuver the streets, quiet and peaceful. Not sure about the 1st campsite because it is near the front with a busy road and active railroad. The Bad: The post is small thus the commissary is lacking. You can pick up basic stuff like milk or chips but much more than that you will need to go to Keesler AFB. Keesler is just 10 miles to the east and their commissary and exchange are both really nice. However if you are reading this and thinking we'll just stay at Keesler I would not recommend it unless you are rather small. The camp at Keesler is not on post and it is very tight. We would not have been able to stay there and we have been in some very tight places. The Ugly: There was nothing ugly here. The office personnel could not have been more helpful. We had some friends that were to arrive when we did but had travel issues and came a couple of days later. The office personnel handle that with ease. They also arranged it so their site was close to ours. If there was anything ugly about Shields at all it would be the speaker pole for Reveille! We were in site 77 and the pole was right in front of us. LOUD! We will certainly stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
March 2018 - April 2018
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have been here for 45 days and it has been a wonderful stay. The park is great. It is clean, roomy side to side and front to back and each site has its own grassy area. The ‘yards’ are meticulously maintained as is the whole park. The sites are concrete pads and the roads are asphalt. Nice, wide roads and deep sites. Wifi is good. The speed is good and we didn’t have any problems with it. The Verizon cell signal is strong and, because there are no trees, our satellite dish zoomed right in. The staff at the office are great. The park (base) is only about 6 blocks from the beautiful Gulfport beaches and there are a lot of restaurants and just about anything else you might need. Now here’s the bad news. Trains! Each day/night there are about 3 to 5 trains going through town and they blow their horns as if they are going through a school yard. There is a little traffic noise from the road to north side, but it isn’t too bad unless there are emergency vehicles. And, there are emergency vehicles in this area often. All in all, we would stay here again and again. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
16 Dec 2015 - 12 Mar 2016
(Updated: September 19, 2019)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We didn't have a bad stay and would go back.  HOWEVER, there are limitations to the place.  I love the Gulfport/Biloxi area. There is lots to see and do there especially if you are a casino lover; there are several within a 20 mile radius.  We found southern hospitality, both on and off the bases (NCBC & Keesler AFB) to be truly endearing and memorable.  For us Yankees our first Mardi Gras was a real hoot!  Great food and the beautiful Gulf.  It was decent to walk the dogs around the perimeter of the park and the dog park on the other side of the base was nice.  Both of the bases have decent Exchanges and commissaries as well as the usual Thrift Shop, Auto Hobby Shop, gas station, etc.  The limitations of life at Shields RV Park are the (afore-mentioned) Warden and the lack of organized activities for the campers. The staff did make attempts; Christmas and Super Bowl Parties, but for the most part you are pretty much on your own.  Campers were trying to gin up activities like going out for Taco Tuesday, an occasional breakfast, etc. And when the weather cleared folks were out and about more and friendships were formed. Camper Max will gladly help you repair things and his dog Boo is always friendly.  It would just be a better place if there were more organization and group activities.    A new (additional) RV park has been added on the back side of the base near SeaBee Lake.  It's a beautiful facility and seems very nice but we haven't stayed there.  I'm not sure why, unless it was because of space limitations, but none of the sites are pull-throough.  The staff seems to be trying to be helpful and friendly but there have been sopme personnel changes over the last couple of years and training is probably needed. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
Jan - Mar 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice pull through sites. Close to beach, resturants and an outlet mall. Small commissary and BX on base. Gas station carries diesel. Not far from a large commissary at Kessler AFB. Cable and wifi are reliable. Clean laundry facility. Trains! Trains run several times a day on nearby tracks. Horns blaring. We got use to it. Sirens! Emergency vehicles run frequently on a road just outside the fence. Got use to them too. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
March 4-10 and 25-30, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The base is easy to find and the older park where we have visited on four occasions is just inside the gate. The sites are roomy and level, the park is clean, and office staff friendly. Shields is not in a rural location so normal city noises are to be expected. Granted, there are rules and regulations applicable to the base and park; however, we are grateful to be guests of our military installations and appreciate any regulations that apply. When approaching the gate wait for the sentry to wave you up. They will indicate the easiest pass through for you. The only item that could make this a 5 instead of a 4 is to have a little gathering room for folks to meet. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
May 31, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Only stayed one night on our way east along I-10. Not too far from the highway and very close to the beaches of Gulfport and Biloxi. Did not use any facilities as we were self contained in a 5th wheel, but park was nicely laid out and sites were very large and had plenty of space. Easy in, easy out. Would recommend as a stopover or destination to explore Gulfport or Biloxi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Dec 30th 2023
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great location and close to the beach. We stayed in the "old" section and it was loud with trains and traffic, highly recommend calling the campground directly and trying to get into the new park. Base is nice and it was fitting for our needs to take the kids to the beach. Biloxi is close by as well, overall we enjoyed it.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 6 2
17-20 MAR 2022
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This has always been one of my favorite parks to stay at while heading to the east coast. Use the directions listed above to go to the main gate. For some reason my Garmin wanted me to make several turns after getting onto Hwy 49 and there was no reason to do that. Easy access through the gate. Security did ask if I had any firearms but did not search my coach. Very nice sites, long and concrete pads. Small laundry, 2 available washers ($2)-one broken and (3) dryers $1 to start for 30 min, usually add more quarters to get at least 60 min of dry time. Exchange/Commissary easy to find as well as a fueling station with easy access.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 16, 2023
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice facility, having open drive through sites with concrete pads and easy hookups. Nice metal picnic table adjacent to pad. Had site in the "new" area, and there were very few neighbors for the middle of the summer. Most had tow-behind vehicles or could visit the area with their towing vehicle. Will keep this on our list of military campgrounds to visit and recommend.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
29 Dec 11 - 10 Jan 12
(Updated: January 02, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just a great little park. Newer than most parks. The sites are very large with lots of space in between rigs. Great amenities. Great staff who go out of their way to accommodate guests. .75 to wash/dry. Free wifi, nice cable tv channel selection. A few homesteaders, but mostly snowbirds or full-timers. Plenty of shopping, nice exchange and commissary on base, but bigger facilities at Keesler AFB just 12 miles east. This is a gem of a park. Will definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
October 28, 2012
(Updated: October 29, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a very clean, well maintained facility, sites are spacious and it is a great location. Now taking long, very long term reservations which means for those who travel and move a lot it will become unusable since it will be full of long term stays. For example you can stay six months, leave 30 days, come back for six months so in essence it is now a "permanent residence" campground and will have very few sites for travelers. Good for those who just move a few times each year or need to live in the area; not very good at all for those like us who move around a lot across the country. The online reservation service is still not active so call if you need a new home site. Rates are reasonable for long term stays. Personally hate long term stay camps but others like to live in a place; if that fits you this is a great place. Some number of sites seem to be reserved for short term stays so tempered a bit. The dog park a few miles from the RV park is great place for your canine friend to burn off energy; large with high fence.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
April 2018
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is our first time at this facility and I'd say won't be the last! What a great location! There are miles of beaches nearby and not even close to being crowded. And even if one section were crowded, you just head west or east and find you a spot! The restaurants are great, plenty of seafood and fishing, the people are friendly; it's just and all-around great place to visit! Now for the park: Location: As I said, brilliant! Great location; I-10 is just a few miles north of the park, too. There are two parks, the older park beside the cemetery, just inside the gate; and a newer park at the back of the base by the lake. Cleanliness/Hospitality: The office staff have been friendly and helpful; the Men's Room was a bit dirty on arrival, but has been spotless thereafter. Amenities/Facilities: All amenities are well serviced and maintained. Laundry facility is great ($1.50 to wash and dry one load, for us). The NEX, Commissary, and NEX Gas/Convenience store are easy to find with helpful signage, though there are towards the back of the base. Value: Considering how civilian campgrounds gouge you for $40-60/night, these days, it's a spectacular value... Overall Experience: Awesome! One note: we stayed in site #12 in the old section, just inside the gate, and it floods when it rains. So, does site #11. It eventually drains and dries, but just know that if you get either spot, it will flood when it rains (an inch, or more of rain).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
September 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Would like to compliment the new park officer person, Sherie. We called her to check on availability as we were fueling just a few miles away. When we entered the park she was outside the office directing us to our spot. Let us get settled before we came to the office to take care of things. She was ever so helpful in providing us with information. The campground is a wonderful place. Sights are great. People are friendly. Only problem I see is people homesteading here. That is just a personal complaint since I don't agree with homesteading.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 18, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our first time to Shields. The manager was very nice, was in the office, or cleaning the facilities and easy to find, when I needed information, or to extend my stay one night. The park is easy to access. Off of I-10 it was only a few turns. One off of I-10 onto 49S, right on Pass Rd, and just inside the gate, right turn to the CG. The sites are level and are almost double wide so no matter if you pull forward, or leave your rig towards the rear, when you step out you are on cement. It makes for a long patio. The sites are also long. There was no problem parking a vehicle on the site. Especially nice was the wide space between pads, with grass. Sites were 50A, with water and sewer for $20 a night. In today's world, that is a very fair price. The location is very close to Beach Blvd (US-90), a scenic, yet de-moralizing view of the devastation caused by Katrina. Keesler AFB is just down the road about 15 miles as the crow flies. I rated the amenities only a 3 star, mainly because there are few. There is the office, rest room and showers, WiFi. It was disappointing to not see a club/meeting room for sit down or get-together's. Also disappointing is the lack of a dog run, but this is typical for a military installation. The edge of the park is narrow, and that is the area to walk the dogs for their daily use. Overall, this was a good value and a good overall experience. We would stay here again. We stayed in a motor home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
23 Nov - 2 Dec, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Two campgrounds: one long term typical parking lot and a second tucked in the back corner of the base. Shower/toilet combination bathrooms in the back campground. Could use more cleaning however. Old shower with no warm or hot water in the parking lot. Staff was very accommodating. Chapel was small and very comforting. The back campground is very very nice! Very family friendly! My boys loved to small ponds and woods. The nearby base pool was a hit as well. We would love to go back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 12, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was a one night stand. We called from the road and was given a site number because I estimated arrival time of about 1800. When we arrived, we noticed that the park was less than half occupied. Our site was perfect. One big note, if you plan to arrive after 1600 and if you call from the road, ask the person in the office for the bath and laundry room codes. We didn't need them but if you do and don't have the codes, you are out of luck. Also, WiFi is available but, you need a code for it also. And about the complaints about the train and road noise. I don't understand why people expect complete silence when they stay on a military base, especially a base like this one in the middle of town. As for the trains, they could run all night for all I care. I love it. This is our first overnight stay at this campground and would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
11-12 Feb 21
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Knew our assigned site due to a call from the staff and we arrived just after the office closed. But driving in towards the office, caution tape blocked our advance as well as turning right or left--no apparent reason was seen for the whole intersection near the office to be blocked off. Couldn't back up as we tow our car behind the motorhome. This forced us to un-hook though we hadn't planned to do so. I give them four stars for hospitality because 1) they called to tell us our site and 2) Keesha rain out into the rain to intercept us and explained how to drive around to our assigned site. Surprisingly large park and there are many "long termers" here. Was kind of a muddy mess even thought our coach itself was parked on concrete, (inches of rain will do that). They have some serious dips in the pavement to navigate over. Didn't use any park facilities and our planned outing down at the beach didn't happen, but again...inches of rain will do that.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
96 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5