Boneyard Vista RV Park

Featured
 
4.5 (200)
179488 2 18 1 140

User reviews

200 reviews
 
75%
 
18%
 
5%
 
2%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.8(200)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.7(200)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(200)
Value
 
4.5(200)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(200)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
200 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Ordering
February 2016
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
I agree with the previous review. We have been going to Davis Monthan (DM) for nearly 15 years.  Over that time, we found the system that was in place for managing the sites to be better and fairer than any other campground we have ever experienced.  As witness to this success, Davis Monthan has won best US Military campground many times over previous years. There was a change in both management style and policies this year and it has taken the luster off the reputation of the campground.  The management decided to allow anyone to “contract" for a long term stay in any single site (homesteading), where in the past there was only a small, designated number of long term sites.   This new policy eliminated the availability of the most desirable sites and cut down the number of sites available for shorter term stays.  Historically, DM gets very busy after January 1st and they start a process of rotation in and out of dry camping every 21 days (overflow). Because of this new policy of  a greater number of “contracted” sites, and an easy policy of medical deferrals for rotation, the wait in dry camping has been extended far beyond what was experienced in past years.   DM management has decided to put non-seasonal and shorter term visitors in a position where they are relegated to the least desirable sites and very long waits in overflow during the busiest times. Because of the problems these new policies caused, the help at the campground office has become rude and adversarial.  The attitude is particularly negative given they are dealing with career military personnel and veterans and have little personal RV experience and understanding. DM, once the jewel of the military campgrounds, has become the epitome of poor management decisions that have taken a near perfect RV Site Management System and degraded it. If you are coming to Tucson for only a short stay between January and March and you do not wish to contract for a long term site, you should think twice and possibly  look for somewhere else to stay, I suggest the Pima County Fairgrounds, great place that caters to RVers. You should be okay other times of the year. I do not recommend that DM be selected for best campground this year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 23 5
July - August 2019
Overall rating
 
1.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
We used to love this Famcamp. Those who pass through here frequently will notice a big difference. The employees in the office are young and always on their cellphones - or making out with their boyfriend over the counter. Have a question? They don't know the answer and don't care to find out. They do not replenish the coffee machine that is available for campers and shrug their shoulders when you ask when it will be refilled. The ice machine was not working when we left and the internet had been down for over a week and we were told in the office that FamCamp is last on the list of priorities for the base commander, though we were also told the base commander talked about "milking the cash cow" that is the Famcamp. The pool has very limited hours, even in the summer. The Wilmot gate has very restricted hours more so now than before. No one is available for emergencies on the weekend, so if something goes wrong (like the ice machine being broken), well, tough luck. We have been coming here since 2009 and this is the worst customer service we have ever experienced. Many base FamCamps are getting better and better while this one is going downhill. We finally decided to move to an RV resort on the west end of Tucson - cheaper, better amenities (pool, 2 gyms, laundry rooms with 20 washers and dryers) and fast, working wifi and $150/month less than the Famcamp. Such a shame, this used to be a great place to visit.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful? 18 0
Jan-Mar 2016
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have been spending 3 months Jan - Mar at Davis-Monthan Fam Camp for the past seven years. It deserves all of the high ratings and awards it has received. Last spring, 2015, new management was installed. Rather than continue a successful system the new managers had their own ideas and began to vilify previous procedures and camp hosts to implement their new "system". Their oft told anecdotes about the problems they were resolving are largely fictional - no one we know that is a regular here can confirm them. They are claiming they "fired' the camp hosts, when in fact the hosts all resigned when management violated the written rules in order to give preferential check-in to favored parties. Managing the Fam Camp from the spring of 2015 through the end of the year probably seemed easy, given that the camp is far from full then. The trouble started as the camp filled up in Dec 2015 and Jan 2016. Then the overflow crowds presented situations that the camp staff was not prepared for. Rather than stick with the tried and true, hugely successful and widely accepted rotation system that had made Davis Monthan a legend in fairness, they started "winging it". The short list of overflow rules they posted raised more questions than it answered. They lost track of open sites, resorting to driving around and counting vacancies at 10 am instead of using previously reliable computer data. We often saw sites set empty overnight, some for 2 days, when there were many people in overflow waiting. The new arrivals told us they had just been notified and were unaware the site had set empty. This happened almost every day during the January rush. The office staff offered varied excuses when the empty sites were pointed out to them. To be fair, some empty sites were those of 3 and 6 month campers who took a day or more to travel elsewhere. Their empty sites were not assignable we were told.  Different staff would announce different times to come in to get assigned from overflow to hookup sites, "around" 10 or 11 a.m. Twice we witnessed them start assigning sites 15-20 minutes early, before everyone had the chance to show up. There were no consistent rules. At the end of January they published a full page instruction sheet that helped resolve some of the uncertainty. Yet nearly everyone we met had tales of disgust with the lack of professionalism and clear rules in the camp office. The manager herself was vocally and physically confrontational to anyone she felt was being critical. Even her husband got involved in one shouting incident outside the office, declaring that Fam Campers were just a bunch of whiners. The sad fact is that the folks in charge appear to not really like people and do not understand that they are dealing with military professionals who expect rules to be clear, posted, and to apply to all. Maybe they will learn from their first season and re-establish order for next year. Maybe. This is too great a military campground to allow it to descend into the chaos so many experienced in winter of 2016.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful? 22 7
Jan-Feb 2016
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This CG still has one big thing going for it - location - but unfortunately, there have been some changes for the worse since I visited last year.  The wait to get from the dry camp area to full hookups is now 5-6 days during the busy season, and the dry camp area was full or nearly so the whole time of my visit (so be advised to have a plan B, since there might not be space in the dry camp area when you arrive).  This appears to be the result of them opening up more spaces for 3 and 6 month contracts.  When the dry camp area is full, you might as well be parked in a truck stop, with the generator noise that results.  Another negative change is that they no longer publish a list every day so that you can see what your chances are of moving to full hookups.  The whole process is very secretive. Worst of all, the woman who appears to be in charge of the office is surly and rude.  She yells at people for bizarre reasons. Everyone else in the office is polite and friendly, but its sad to watch them, because they are all walking on eggshells around the crazy lady.  They have gone to paid employees this year, rather than work campers, which means some of the people in the office aren't really understanding of RV issues. Another problem I noticed this year which was not present last year was some issues with the electricity.  I noticed my microwave operating erratically, and this cleared up after I left.  Also, for the whole time I was in the full hookup section, I noticed some of the big rigs running their generators periodically. The wifi is as bad as it ever was, but given the other issues I noticed this year, it seemed like a minor issue.  You can usually get online for simple things like email if you do it late at night or early in the morning.  Its sad to see this place going downhill.  It still is a decent value in a great location, but I think I will look for some other options in Tucson when I come back next year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 19 4
Mid-December-February 2020
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Where do I begin to clarify what’s going on at DM? This place has become so corporatized that you can barely tell you’re on a military installation. Like all profit-driven enterprises, they pack as many people into what has become a tight place as they possibly can. It’s like buying a seat on an airplane these days. Suffer through kiddo. I speculated to friends at the dog park (where aggressive dogs—and pit bulls—go unchecked) that the crowd was a result of more Baby Boomer retirees having the money to begin RVing around the country. Occupancy certainly is TRIPLE what I’ve experienced there in the past. And guess what? Where the hundreds of people in the campground might find relief in using the Wilmot Gate...it was closed virtually the entire time. So the congestion isn’t just in the campground, it’s on the base roads. Every one of the 21 nights I was “lucky” to be in site #9, my neighbors held a party of 8+ people who found it necessary to speak loudly right outside my dining room window about 3 feet away. Every night. Add to that the noise of 100s of generators running simultaneously in the overflow area and you simply can’t call it fun anymore. The overflow, quite literally, is overflowing. Some said that it’s been that way at DM for the last 3-4 years. Folks arrive there in October, pay up front for a 3 or 5 month stay, then have the right to extend 30 days at a whack. This is despite the fact that there are people on the waiting list constantly, and they are made to sit in the office every morning at 11 am to see if they’ve been “lucky” enough to get a spot—for 21 days. Why in the name of good customer relations they can’t simply make a call to someone on the list, knowing that EVERYONE has a cell phone and the person waiting is POISED AND EAGER to get that call, defies explanation. Their excuse is that they’re understaffed. That’s ridiculous; phone calls can be done anywhere, making staff and guests stay in the office every morning is obviously the greater management burden and everyone knows it. But convenience for guests is not their intention. Many people, after attending the public meeting that took place at the gazebo a few weeks ago, walked away saying they’ll never come back. I was one of them. If you do the math on DM, you realize this is a multi-million dollar revenue source for the base....but you wouldn’t know it given the lack of attention to visitor amenities. People who attended the meeting had suggestion after suggestion and expressed their frustration at the wait list protocol. We all heard the man who directs this campground say that we would “never tell the owner of a restaurant what to do if we had to wait outside for a seat”. Ummm....that’s exactly what customers would do—by their absence and reviews. I could hardly believe he said it. Folks tolerated the condescension from staff at the meeting; their silence was not agreement. They say that soon you’ll see the FHU sites expand to all available sites—construction doesn’t begin until summer 2021. I predict you’ll also begin paying the rates you’d pay in San Diego on the water when they finally open. All of the folks writing 5 star reviews must not know or remember when DM was a nice campground. Any local sightseeing can be done from campgrounds off base for equal or less money and with far greater service to customers. Read BGarrison’s review below. That reviewer’s comments reflect the reality at DM Famcamp. A whole lot of us simply won’t be going back.....after all, Luke AFB will soon be an option, as will Peterson AFB in Colorado Springs. There are lots and lots of choices better than DM.
Feb-Mar 2022
(Updated: April 01, 2022)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
After reading all the comments, we had to post about our wonderful experience here at Davis Monthan AFB. We have stayed in A LOT of military FamCamp's and this, by far, is our most favorite. We are lucky enough to be able to fully boondock so we have been in the overflow area the entire time. There is a dump station and potable water in the main portion of the campground and it is easy to access and to use. As for wifi, we have our own so had no issues with the park not having wifi. Honestly, we've never been in a FamCamp that had useful wifi so its a surprise to us that people expect it. As for overflow, it is spacious and open and the ground is hard...after all, its Arizona and the caliche makes the ground like concrete...it's not a Davis Monthan thing, its an Arizona thing. Everyone in the overflow area (and there are very few of us here, a bit more on the weekend) are very polite and the ONLY time I have heard a generator running at night is when the temp got down into the 30's and I would expect you to want to be warm. Biggest advantage to the overflow is that is where the dog park is. It is pea gravel, clean and spacious, and made our stay here much better! Plus they allow pens outside your Rig as long as you are with your pets which also makes for an enjoyable stay when furry feet need to potty at night. Don't let the "no reservation" policy discourage you. There has ALWAYS been spots in the overflow and it's cold here at night so you won't need your AC to sleep. BEST FAMCAMP OF THEM ALL! We will definitely be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 14 1
2-3 MAR 22
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This RV park is in a great location and has everything you would need during your stay. No issues with my 5g T-mobile hotspot. My only concern is the fact the park takes no reservations. I understand that not all military RV parks are under the same command and have different rules, it doesn't make sense for the park not to take reservations. I can't manage my RV travels very well if I know I would like to stay in the Tucson area and have full hook ups for the kids and then have to go into overflow on a list for FHU and wait until someone leaves the park. This is not the way to run a business. That being said, the overflow area is very large, well marked out and level. Can't complain about the $11 a day. The restrooms/showers are close and while there is a city street adjacent to the overflow area, noise from the road was very minimal during our stay here mid-week. The commissary/exchange and other shops are a short drive away. The office staff was helpful and professional.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 10 0
October 2015 - April 2016
(Updated: June 26, 2016)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I'll start out by saying I think Davis-Monthan FamCamp is one of the best military campgrounds. It was under the old management and it still is under the new management. Most of what makes it great is the location, the weather, the overall upkeep, and particularly under the OLD management, the fairness of it. I've been traveling for 10 years and been coming here for 9 of those. I've visited upwards of 60 other military FamCamps, and for me the thing I liked the most about this one was that you knew it was going to be fair. They posted the rules, the computer kept track of everything, and you knew where you stood. I believe claims of favoritism and cronyism under the old regime are unfounded and mostly the result of past campers that didn't get the site they wanted or thought that some people didn't have to move. My answer to that is, "Do you know that the person in that site doesn't have a medical, or maybe they just got lucky and on their due out date, there happened to be no one on the waiting list. Therefore they were allowed to re-sign up". It's just the way the ball bounces sometimes. I sincerely believe they ran it as fair as they could. I'll tell you what's unfair and it was completely out of the camp host's hands. There were healthy people who went out and got medical exceptions from a doctor just so they wouldn't have to move. Now that's garbage. Bottom line, people loved this place because it was fair and they knew where they stood. To say that all negative reviews on this site are because crony's aren't able to run the show like they did in the past is nonsense and totally unfair to those previous camp hosts who strived to do a good job. I'll say it again because it bears repeating. The computer ran the show, not the camp hosts.  It showed when people were due out, and what sites were coming open.  I think the main complaint under the NEW management was that there were way too many open sites and it seemed like there was no consistency about what time sites would be assigned. I'm not buying that all these open sites were contracted sites. First of all, most people leave something, (ie. red cone),  in their site when they leave for a short time. Second of all, I saw empty sites near me all the time, and when they were filled, it was different people that moved in. Maybe if the office knew how to work the computer system, they wouldn't have to go around to physically check sites to see if they are empty. The computer would tell them which sites were opening up for that day. By having to drive around to check for empty sites, if the person who was due out that day hadn't left yet, or they just happened to miss a site, they had no idea that site was open. That maybe why there were so many open sites. I will say it's not the office personnel fault that they did not know how to use the system or get the most out of it. They were not trained properly. Maybe before all the old camp hosts quit, the person responsible should have learned the computer system themselves.  I know for a fact on January 18, MLK Day, there were at least 9 open sites. This does not count sites that had something in them designating a contract site. And yet there was a sign on the bulletin board that said no full hookup sites available on that day. The office was closed that day for the holiday, but if they had used the computer properly, they would have known that some sites were coming open, and could have listed those as first come, first serve. The temperature that night got down into the mid 30's. I'm pretty sure, that some of those in overflow would have liked to have electric that night. This never would have happened under the old management.  I also believe that every person in that office tried to do a great job and accommodate everyone. Whenever you have a management shakeup, there are going to be growing pains. For about 10 months of the year at Davis-Monthan, running the FamCamp is probably pretty easy because the campground is not full. It gets complicated when you have 250 guests for only 200 sites or whatever the exact numbers are. I believe the current office people were not quite ready for this. I'm sure in the future, they will be much better prepared.  My next point is how does publishing a list of open sites and/or where you are on the list violate any ones Privacy Act. It may well, I just don't know how. I do know that by keeping that information to yourself, it allows you to have unlimited unaccountability. No one knows how many are on the list, what sites are open, or how it's being managed. Maybe it's just me, but I like transparency. It's obvious from the comments here, others do as well.  I have to address the previous comments from a "Pepper", who by the way sounds an awful lot like the new manager. If it isn't, I would be amazed since they know an awful lot about the previous administration and violations of the Privacy Act, etc. If it is, then shame on you for not identifying yourself as such. I have no problem with a Manager making comments about their FamCamp. They have as much a right as anyone else does and many times they can clarify issues, bring other points to light, and let the community of travelers know what is going on. But they shouldn't pretend to be a camper.  On the topic of the previous reviewers comments, and I quote, "I like the changes on the rotation to dry camp it made it fair with a quicker turn around.  The overflow policies didn't change, they just eliminated harassment throughout the FamCamp by not posting names and site numbers". Since you said that overflow policies didn't change, what is it you did that somehow made the turn around in dry camp quicker. This is absolutely hogwash. If you have a set number of sites, with a set number of people that want to move into those sites, and everyone is allowed to stay in a site 3 weeks, and then has to move into overflow and wait to come back into the park, there is nothing you can do that will change that, or make it quicker. ABSOLUTELY NOTHING! Unless you add more full hookup sites, which is outside your capacity as manager.  THE ONE THING YOU DID CHANGE, HOWEVER, MADE EVERY ONES STAY IN OVERFLOW LONGER. By allowing all sites open up to contracts, you subtracted from the number of sites available for rotation. Instead of say having 170 sites available for the 3 week rotation of people from overflow you now have 120 sites. That makes those that do not sign contracts, spend that much more time in overflow. For the last few years since they put in the new sites, no one has had to spend more than one, possibly two days in overflow. This year you were telling people 5 and 6 days in overflow. For some people just passing through, they will not get into an electric site.  This is exactly opposite of what you purported to have done. I also believe that the new manager has done many things that are positive for the FamCamp. As I said at the beginning, it was and is a great place to stay. The one thing people really like is knowing that they are being treated fairly. But when they think they are not, and there is no transparency or what appears to be consistency, there are going to be problems. And these are valid concerns.  In closing, I think Davis-Monthan FamCamp is a great place to stay and will remain so. I expect the office personnel to get more familiar with the system, and the problems of the past winter to be resolved for the most part. I really hope so, because I'll be back there.
2 - 7 October 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What can I say about Agave Gulch that hasn't already been said. It's one of the best FamCamps in the system. Friendly staff, easy to get on and off base, conveniently located for activities in and around Tucson, wide spaces, no trees to block satellite signals ;-) and very reasonable rates. This was our 4th or 5th time there and we've never been disappointed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
October 19 to April 11, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is my first time here. 40’ toyhauler, f350 & my steel stallions 2 Harley Road King Specials. I’d say my only complaint is the camp WiFi only works in or near the camp office. The base facilities are great. Xchg, commissary, auto hobby shop, Stripes (Expresso deli), bowling alley and snack bar. Everything else is shut down due to C19. No chow hall. Beautiful walking paths. Cactus w beautiful flowers. Hummingbirds so bring ur feeders. Laundry facilities bathrooms showers are great. I don’t use the showers so I’m just speaking from observation. There’s even a doggy wash station. Tucson is small compared to Phoenix. Tucson downtown is 4 blocks of businesses. There is another 8 block business strip I think it’s 6th. Plenty of restaurants and one of the best Korean BBQ restaurants I’ve ever been. Taegukgi. Plenty of great Mexican food. But I’m really here for one thing & one thing only. Riding my Harleys in warm DRY WEATHER!! Peace. Ride often. Ride safe.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
July - October 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We love this place. It is convenient to Tucson shopping and restaurants. On base, the commissary is very good, well stocked, and there is a convenience store for after hours. The bowling alley is terrific ( we used it a lot during our stay) and it is easy to keep fit with two gyms. The laundry facilities are nice and clean as are the bath/shower rooms. The one thing I object to is that the contract workers who come over early in the morning use the campground bathrooms before going to work. I like the system at Yuma Proving Grounds where you get a key for the facilities - keeping out the civilian contractors. It is a one mile walk from the campground to where the sidewalk ends, and this path is lighted, so you can walk after dark. We were told that after October 1, prices were going up to $27/night for everyone, which we think is high for a military campground. Otherwise, this is a great place to stay and they have figured out how to make it nice for everyone. I like the no-reservation policy. If you have ever tried to get a site at Nellis, you will know what I mean. They are reserved for folks who may never show up - keeping others from getting a place for the night. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
October 24 - 31, 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a wonderful facility with full hookups and flat, level sites. The restroom/bath house was clean and well-maintained. The FamCamp staff was very nice and helpful. The base is close to nearly any store or service you might need within a few miles of the main gate. Both the commissary and the BX are large and well-stocked. There was no problem getting a site in late October as the FamCamp was only about 60% full when we arrived. I was stationed at Davis-Monthan 40 years ago so it was fun to see how things had changed. The communications facility I worked in is now an open field. Probably that's because it mostly contained an analog telephone switching center and switchboard that probably went the same way as telephone booths and fax machines. There is probably more computing power in my cell phone today than there was in the whole building back then, lol... Be sure to take the 30-mile scenic drive up Mount Lemmon to the Sawmill Run Restaurant. There are fantastic views getting there and back, and they have great burgers and sandwiches at reasonable prices!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
March 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We found that the office staff were very friendly and helpful. The FHU sites were full but they put us in a nice dry campsite. We were able to get a FHU site the next day. The FHU sites have increased in price...now $24 daily rate. We have stayed here a few times and will definitely stay here again if passing thru the area.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
January 20, 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Agave Gulch is losing its FamCamp host this month and things won't be quite the same. Pam/PJ has worked very hard to maintain order in this huge community of retirees. It's easy to guess how challenging this is, particularly if the FSS/CC won't remove unsuitable guests. Having traveled extensively with my RV (12 military Famcamps in the last 18 months), I know that Davis-Monthan is the best run, hands down. I hope they find someone equally capable to preserve this great privilege we winter wanderers all enjoy. The new laundry room on the south side of the park opened this year, and instead of it being tiny and crowded as was feared, it's enormous and has great appliances and a big folding table. Great job, DM! Sunny and warm here this month...the Annual Tucson "Gem, Mineral and Fossil Showcase" begins on the 31st of January and runs until mid-February. Several sites are open at this writing....
Report this review Comments (7) | Was this review helpful? 9 3
Jan 10-17, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Can't say much about this place that hasn't already been said - this place is an ideal winter location and a great FamCamp. I like the "no reservations" policy and the waitlist procedure; this is a fair way to do this for such a popular park. With that said, it would be nice to be able to get a full-hookups site if you're just passing through, (i.e. maybe make 5-8 full-hookup sites short term, like max 2 days). It took us 4 days in overflow area to get a full-hookups site (overflow is dry camping). Facilities are kept clean and in good shape and the park itself is kept clean and orderly. We had no issues with this park and would definitely come back. One drawback, getting to the main gate off of Golf Links Rd could be nerve-racking if you arrive during high-traffic times. We left through the Wilmont Gate to Kolb Ave and headed south to I-10 - this was much better than dealing with Main Gate & Golf Links Rd to I-10 South.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
2 - 7 DEC 2020
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Our first visit to DMAFB and we'll be back! This is a serious snowbird location, we have never seen so many experienced, well-appointed, and well set up sites. The staff and fellow campers were very accommodating and friendly. As a full-time retired family of four, we really enjoyed walking the park to see how the more experienced folks have decorated for the holidays and extended stays. Thank you!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
January 2021
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This famcamp is first come, first serve but they have plenty of sites, both FHU and overflow. All sites are clean and good size, some are 30 amp and some are 30/50 amp electric. The attractions of AMARC (aircraft boneyard) and Old Tucson Movie Studio are closed for Covid until further notice. A very nice location for winter weather avoidance with a nice office staff. We will stay here again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
February 2022
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
As far as the "real" campground goes, the facilities are good and it's easy access. Very tight spaces however. The way the AF has their reservation system in place is what I personally do not care for. You cannot make reservations and have to hang out in dry camping until you score a spot in the campground. The dry camping is terrible. It's a gravel lot with campers who rudely run generators all night and is located next to fuel tanks and the gate where the drone of young airmen's souped up engines can be heard pealing out of the nearby gate 24/7.
It's not quiet. It's not appealing, and we never saw office staff.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 2
October 2022 to April 2023
Overall rating
 
1.2
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
This is a first come, first served location. Reservations are not allowed. There is overflow dry camping at a cost which is where one waits for an opening. The reason for the low rating for me is that it is poorly kept up and office staff work periodically. There is a coin operated laundry room, but the change machine has been broken for months. About a third of the wash machines are also out of service and have been for months. What has really bothered me, however, has been the office personnel. ****** (derogatory personal comments removed) *******. The only thing that they were consistent about was patrolling the park to see if outgoing people had left by 10am. At 10;01, there is a 34 dollars late fee, which I had to pay because I was late leaving. I actually had to stay another day as weather prevented my departure, but I didn't get to the office between 9am and 10am to pay for another day. Then, the cost of the camp went up from 25 to 27 dollars with no improvement in the multiple potholed roads throughout the park an the laundry facilities. The camp is dry and dusty with terrible stickers that get drug into the RV on shoes. Last year, I stayed at a private RV park near Catalina State park for a few dollars more with better amenities and wonderful staff. If I ever pass this way again, that is where I'll go. I'll never come here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 2
Feb 12-22, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Beautifully laid-out, well-run and well-maintained. Only fly in the ointment is chronic trouble with the WiFi, going back at least a year. If you need WiFi, plan for now on providing your own. A couple of updates to the info posted here. First, the 3- & 5-month rates have gone up, currently $2250 & $3750, payable in full in advance. Also, the best way to GPS to here is to set your destination to Davis Monthan Main Gate or Visitor center; once thru the gate, take the first left; FamCamp office is perhaps a mile on your right. Finally, the auto hobby shop has a wash rack specifically designed to accommodate RVs & trailers, including dual hoses to allow washing the complete rig without having to reposition. Includes soap brush, high-pressure rinse, spot-free rinse, and a couple of other selections you'd find at most automated car washes. Very nice--if you're willing to WORK at it!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
200 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10