Smith Lake Army RV Park

 
3.8 (73)
132549 3 13 4 45

User reviews

73 reviews
 
32%
 
33%
 
22%
 
11%
 
3%
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
3.9(73)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.8(73)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.4(73)
Value
 
4.1(73)
Overall Experience
 
3.7(73)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
73 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4
Ordering
March 17, 2013
(Updated: March 18, 2013)
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
I gave this facility low ratings due to my experience with the MWR person in the office. My wife and I drove from Laurinburg to view the site prior to bringing our Motor Home. I stood in the office and was ignored by David the Host. Mr Knight, Custodial Worker, came in and politely greeted me. David still ignored me. I then asked him for directions to the RV campground. Without looking at me he said "we are full." I said I only want to look at the campground. He finally turned around and said' "no use looking we are full and we are constructing some new sites they will be open in April." I then said we only want to look at the campground I do not have my coach with me. He said "We are full" and then turned back to his computer and ignored me. I turned to leave and Mr Knight was following me out and I asked him if this was how they treated customers and military personnel. Mr Knight then apologized for Ft. Bragg and MWR. Mr Knight, although he was off the time clock, took me to the clay target campground. Mr Knight is an asset to this organization. My Wife and I have stayed at military campgrounds from Washington State to Sigsbee Fl., and many other military campgrounds between. This is the first time I have encountered this type of disrespect.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful? 10 0
1-3 August 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I am a first timer here and I hope that this helps those first timers who follow. I arrived on a Wednesday and MWR does not work T-W. As you come down Smith Lake Road, there are no famcamp signs. As you proceed the road is blocked at the end, with a large parking lot to your left. Also at the end on the left there is a building. This building had a rack out front with an assignment packet for me. Both Famcamp signs are seen as you leave, not enter. I have no idea what the last reviewer who said "exit 46" is talking about. Exit 46 on I95 is 12 miles from the correct exit. It is exit 58 off I95 period. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
27 Jun 21
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Stayed here previously for 5 nights in one of their pull-throughs (site 3A) earlier in the month. Good site with concrete pad. Water connection good, sewer connection good and seemed to be fairly new. Electrical connection (50A) seemed to work fine - ran 2 15K AC continuously. Bath house was clean, however, the building AC was broken - it was like a sauna in there. Was going to stay another night in pull through, site 5A this time. Shaded site, but with extremely low branches. Pulled in to set up and tree limbs hit the roof, tore my lining - my mistake, shouldn't have tried, but thought I could get in the gap between the low hanging limbs. So, if you have a fifth wheel that's 12 feet or higher, do not take site 5A. Told attendant about it and got my money back. The attendant said, yeah, we've been having problems with that tree, but have been waiting for them (Dept of Public Works) to take care of it. Understandable, because everything takes a long time with DPW, but, how about management asking future guests how high is your RV or hey - site 5A has low hanging limbs that we are waiting to be removed so if you RV is higher than 12 feet, you will have problems. The other pull-troughs 1A- 4A are good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
Aug-Sep 10
(Updated: December 24, 2010)
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
I am not going to sugarcoat this, as I do not plan on coming back except for an overnight stay. 1. Location: Close to Ft Bragg, this is a plus. The road to the RV camp leaves very much to be desired. To navigate the front entrance you must climb your RV over a very steep railroad tracks and without exception, scrap bottom. (Note the large long scars at the entrance.) To come in the back way you must travel down a long, dusty, bumpy gravel road. There is an alternate back road just as you leave Honeycutt Road, (first right turn) go down the smaller dirt road. This is a can do for smaller rigs and cars, low hanging tree limbs will damage the bigger rigs. 2. Cleanliness/Hospitality: This depends on who is on that day. At the desk everyone is nice and friendly but the overall manager can be hard to deal with at times. She makes up the rules as she goes along. They do have contract grounds maintenance people that do a fantastic job. However, there is no cleaning of the RV camp on a daily basis. The fire rings are being used for trash burning and trash litters the grounds. I watched a discarded Styrofoam container lay on the ground close to two weeks just to see how long it would take for it to be picked up. The park manager should make a visual inspection each morning and assign duties as needed to the working staff. It appears that they like to stay around the office when not “doing anything”. 3. Amenities/Facilities: If you are lucky you can have a table. Be careful of sitting on them because they have some very sharp edges on some. If you stay in a cabin, for God’s sake, do not move one to the front of your cabin! Nowhere in the “rules” does it say this but like I said before…the overall manager makes up the rules on the fly. She did this to one soldier who was told by a previous manager he could. He selected a table from and empty site but was rudely told to put it back and clean up the road where they brought it over. He vows to never come back and is advising all his buddies not to come here either. You may have a fire every night if you wish, fire rings are provided however they are so deep that grilling on them is pretty much out of the question. The woods have pretty much been cleaned of firewood so you may have to purchase some from a local vendor. 4. Cabins: They should be known as “Party Cabins and/or Party Houses”. Large numbers of young soldiers book these on the weekends and raise hell all night. These should NOT be located close to the RV'ers who just want to live a peaceful life without all the loud noise, screaming yelling drunks, and thumping music. 5. Value: About the same price as most MWR parks. However, NOT NEARLY as nice as you would think a post like Fort Bragg would have. It seems there is very little money spent here. Some of the older sites have not been improved since they were first put in almost 20 years ago. These sites are very unlevel (a large mound of crushed rock) and impossible to get some RVs level on them. The older sites are all ass-backwards as far as hookups, electric on the correct side but sewer and water hookups are on the wrong side. You must either use your neighbor’s sewer or drag yours under your rig risking a spill and causing a safety hazard for falling. Three days before we left the electrical box on our site went bad, for three days we reported it. It wasn’t fixed when we left but our plug in had been fried. 6. Overall Experience: Well, if you stay inside your rig so you don’t have to breath the dust from the vehicles speeding by your site, (yes, even the MPs and staff, worst violators) then you may have a pleasant stay. This is the only MWR where we have experienced this. Barking dogs…there aren’t any rules enforce on this issue. On one occasion I almost got into a fight with a soldier who let his two full-grown Rottweilers and German Shepard run loose. We found a pile of dog crap at our front door on one occasion. The German Shepard was then tied up and barked non-stop for 3 hours. When I ask the guy to shut the dog up he said they were authorized to have dogs here. I said, “I’m authorized to have an air-horn on my RV but I don’t honk it all day long. The Rottweilers were locked up in the house when a sign says, “no pets”. The hard working staff are overworked and the not so hard working staff slide. Young workers are given “gators” which they speed around on and doing very little work. When I ask one to slow it down I was given an attitude “stare” or a “hateful look” every time he went by. Helicopters fly overhead most of the day until up to 0200 (2:00 AM) but this is to be expected, as the RV camp is located on the edge of a helicopter base. Grin and bear it. This has the potential of being a very; very nice campground if it had proper management and support from the Fort Bragg Commander. Change the management and allot funding would be the best thing MWR could do here.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Oct 22, 2011
(Updated: October 23, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I have stayed many times at Smith Lake and now live in Fayetteville. I drove through the campground today and gave it all 5s because the unpaved road off of Honeycutt Road has now been paved. So the long, dusty, dirty and extremely bumpy road to the campground is history. For those that have not been there in a while or never have, the next section of I-295 from I-95 is well underway. My recommendation is to only use I-295 to get to Smith Lake and avoid the Murchison Road route completely with your rv. The road off of Murchison to Smith Lake has that terrible railroad crossing that has seriously damaged a lot of rvs in the past. Also to get to Smith Lake from Murchison requires you drive through much of Fayetteville. Plus, that entrance is open and closed as the road crews complete I-295 over Murchison Road. When I-295 is completed at Smith Lake, the newly paved section will be part of an exit ramp that will put you right in the campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Feb 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Feb 2019 Stayed about 5 days and would stay again. What I enjoyed about the campground is it’s seclusion. Pad are very nice, the bathrooms were clean. Bragg is a active training site as there was lots of aircraft and live fire going on. I never found the office to be open but the reservation member was excellent about taking care of me. I didn’t see any Famcamp signs but there are the brown recreation signs directing you the Smith Lake recreation Campground off McArthur Rd and Honeycutt Rd. and at the entrance. Stay straight on the entrance road. Once u see the small guard shack on the right proceed straight, a large parking will be to your right and at the end of the P lot on the left is the office. The sites are back in the direction you arrived and to the left of the guard shack as you drove back away from the office. Proceed down the gravel road and signs will direct you to your site, roads are oneway. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
March 2018
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I concur with all of the other posters opinions, but would add the helicopter activity from being right next door 6 days a week does get a little to much. I would recommend the other little known RV park on base, the Fort Bragg Clay Target Center. It is a great place and only has elec/water but has dump station on site. Sites are flat and level and management takes great care of the place.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 3-10, 2012
(Updated: July 07, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Beautiful area & sites 1a-9a have the hookups on drivers side while sites 1-9 have the hookups on passenger side. You'll need extra sewer, water, & electric for the hook ups. Follow the directions given by the write- up from Oct bellow. We have enjoyed our stay & recommend this location to all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 2
17 -20 May 2014
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was our second stay at Smith Lake. 1) We arrived a couple of hours before the posted Check-In time and had to wait until Check-In time to be given our site assignment. There was plenty of parking area for us to wait in. So, just a note, you can arrive early, there is plenty of room to have a comfortable wait, but you can not check-in. 2) When allowed to Check-In there was some problems with my reservation. I do not believe this to be recurring problem, but you may want to confirm your reservations a few days after you make them. 3) My final concern is more of a safety issue. I ride a motorcycle, the roads are gravel, very steep, curved, and posted as "One Way". On two occasions, I was driving my motorcycle down a steep, gravel, curved road when a government-owned ATV came around the corner going the wrong way and at a very brisk pace. I was able to apply my brakes slowly and avoid the tires locking up, sliding over the gravel and causing damage to motorcycle and myself. If the park reads these reviews, "Please abide by your own speed limits and road signs. NOW THE GOOD. It is a very nice place to stay. It is like real camping. The setting is peaceful. The shower facilities are good. It is a bit dusty, but not as bad as some places. When planning your trips into Fort Bragg and Fayetteville, please note that many things are closed on Sundays and Mondays. Overall a great place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
Aug 13-15, 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I was in Smith Lake RV Park in Middle of August, 2021 for 3 nights. It was beautiful, peacef, yet, isolated and secluded..ul and outside of everything. The only what was negative for me, was that my car was not able to drive on hard ground like Smith Lake gravel road, I did not take it in consideration when I arrived. I used my car anyway up and down but when I returned home I changed tires. Next time I will park car in parking lot, near office and will pack up my belongings and march to my cabin, what is a labor of love! I love everything about Lake Smith . There were golfers and people who were in transition, and on bikes and motorbikes. Smith lake was very nice, and there are showers, to splash after swimming, Lots of hiking trails between tall Southern Pines.One RV camper reloacted frm Washington Seattle, to Florida, Miami, and he was staying in RV camp for 2 weeks, just in transition. Music was playing and it was so close to Fayetteville and Spring Lakes. I will be BACK! The price is very good I actually plan to CAMP in Tent, as soon as I can. There is Laundry, and Showers/ Bath House. And it is all very clean.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
8 July, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a great campground at a reasonable rate. The only two negatives on amenities and facilities are the fact that the a/c isn't working in the bathhouse and that there is no WIFI available which is becoming more important, lately. There is a great balance between the rustic look and feel of the lake setting, the gravel / sand roads, log cabin buildings and the modern conveniences of concrete pads and full hook-ups. I will most certainly be back, maybe for longer stays, in the future. **NOTE** When coming from the south, using I-95N, you can no longer turn left at exit 58 to get on 295 bypass. While exit 58 is still the best exit to use, you must turn right and within 500 feet there is a wide u-turn area that can easily be used to turn a big rig. Also, when traveling down 295S, do not take exit 28 for Hwy 401, but instead, go another 3 miles to Exit 25B (McArthur Rd North) where you have an easy merge and 3/4 of a mile to get into the left lane to turn on Honeycutt Rd. This is much easier than driving on side streets.
North Carolina
  • File Description
    File Size
    File Type
    Downloads
  • Smith Lake Army RV Park Map
    RV Park Map
    429 KB
    491
    Server Error
    500
    Server Error