Camp Blanding Recreation Sites

Featured
 
3.8 (47)
212773 1 38 2 88

User reviews

47 reviews
 
26%
 
43%
 
26%
 
2%
 
4%
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
3.8(47)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.6(47)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.3(47)
Value
 
3.9(47)
Overall Experience
 
3.9(47)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
47 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
March 2021
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Good place to go, don’t count on talking to anyone over the phone, they don’t answer, and do not return calls. I’ve been in the office a few times, they aren’t busy, so I don’t see why they can’t answer the phone.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 19 3
Oct 27 - Dec 31, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Since going full time in May (part time for a year before that), this is easily one of our favorite camp sites! It's completely peaceful, clean, and enjoyable! The staff are quite friendly and the camp hosts have become friends (at the least). The base is very quiet, and almost seems deserted at times... but that's what makes it so nice. No traffic, no crowds, nothing! You get this big, beautiful lake almost to yourselves. There are three camping areas.. the old RV campground, closest to the office, the primitive and tent sites in the middle, and the new RV camp at the far end. In our opinion, the older RV campground is the best! The spaces are very large and spread out in such a way that you barely notice your neighbors. There are lots of trees for shade, and an asphalt road. This camp does not have a dock, like the other two, but has a couple small beach areas and a nice deck to sit your chair and enjoy the sunsets. There is a small PX on base, but it's more of a glorified convince store. The towns of Middleburg and Starke are close by, and can take care of all your needs. Starke is quite rundown and we suggest going to Middleburg for anything and everything. Jacksonville and St Augustine are less than an hour drive, and give you all the premium Florida touristy things to do. Cell signals, for ATT and Verizon, are fantastic. There is fee wifi, but there is also the option to pay for upgraded services. The signals are very good. The PX has ice, sodas, snacks, a few grocery items. There is no fuel or propane on base. The recreation center (camp office) has kayak and paddle boats for rent. Pets are allowed in the RV parks, but not in the primitive section. They are not allowed any where else on base. You need to get pet pass from the camp office, for your car, if you will be taking your pets on and off base. We had a reservation for one month. Because of issues at our previous camp we came early. Thankfully Blanding was able to accommodate us. We love it here so much, we have decided to skip going to The Keys for Christmas and to stay here through the end of the year!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 12 2
December 01, 2011
(Updated: December 07, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The girls at the office are not very friendly, and are less than helpful. However we discussed the issues with the new manager and she plans to address the problems. The bathrooms are old and need updating. Wish they offered WiFi. This park could be a great winter destination (peaceful and on a lake) with a few adjustments.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
October 21st-23rd 2016
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived on Friday October 21st about 1 pm. I followed the directions on the website and it was right on the money. At the end of Hollywood St. is the Check in office straight across Avenue B. Its a large parking lot so it makes a great place to unhook the toad if you are not going to a pull thru spot. Check in was no issue, she asked for our dogs rabies certificate then wrote pet on the two cardboard placards for the car and the sign in front of your site to slip the other in. They have a straight drive in to the 9 pull thru sites from this parking lot. For the other sites they are just a short, very short drive to the other RV area then the tent area. We were on site #24 which was very nice and facing the lake. Most sites are concrete slabs with full hookups and 30/50 amp power pedestals.They rent canoes, paddle boards, and kayaks where you check in at. it was very windy so we didn't do either this time. Pets are only allowed at the campground and no where else on base. Also there is a $2.75 per day per pet fee taken at check-in. There is a small restaurant by the check in office at the Convention Center building. We didn't utilize it either. Its about 8 miles to Starke from the base, which has anything you may want, restaurants, Walmart, gas stations.They have fire barrels on most sites but not all. we checked out the WWII Museum at the front gate on Saturday and it was very nicely stocked, outside aircraft and tank displays too. Donations accepted. Lots of shade and huge pine trees in the 1-29 site section. The newer section was quite open with little to no shade. There was only a bath house in the tent section, and a bathroom in the new area.There is a dog Park in the old section also. A couple of docks in the tent section for fishing or swimming too. We like quiet and this place was. We would go back again. They have some special rates for the winter also right now going on. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 11 3
Oct 1 - 21 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first time at this park. If you read any of my other reviews, you know I don't use numbers. I either like or dislike a FamCamp. Well I LIKE IT !!! Reserved 2 weeks, stayed 3. Our rate was pay for 5 days get 2 free, Great deal. By the lake, trees & bushes, sites not too close to each other, and full hook-ups. Internet is available if you pay. We had a concrete site with fire ring, grill, and table. Most sites have a view of the water and are easy to get in to. A little bit of a drive to town, but I like it that way, no road noises. During the weekends, park was about 90% occupied and it was still very peaceful. They have a great museum of WW2 equipment, from planes to bullets and every thing else in between. Great place to spent some time. No laundry on base, we went to Middleburg {12 miles) to do laundry. A few post back mentioned pets, they are allowed in the famCamp only, there is even a dog park for them, but no where else on base. We had a great time here and will definitely return.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 12 6
Jan 2023
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Location: about an hour from NAS Jax and about an 1:30 to St. Augustine. We started with a week and was able to extend for another 30 days. Second site was waterfront. There are 3 sections. 2 have full hook ups and the 3 (in the middle) is more for tent camping then RV. Staff was helpful with our questions, and ability to extend our stay. Only 2 sections of the park allow pets and there is an extra fee for pets, and you must show proof of rabies shot. Gate staff are extremely friendly and we have enjoyed short conversations and helpful tips for shopping and travel tips to local areas.
The base over all is very quiet. The sunsets are stunning over the lake. Golf carts are allowed but not really needed. Electric bikes are allowed but only allowed on certain roads so get clarification on that. And of course like all military bases a bike helmet is needed. Civilians are allowed to camp here with background check and some kind of yearly pass we didnt inquire b/c we have ID's.
They have a few camp host onsite for after hour check in and any issues that come up. I strongly encourage arriving before dark b/c there are some narrow "bridges" that could be hard to see in the dark. We camped here in a 44 ft 5th wheel so its big rig friendly. Water pressure was good, 50 amp, level concrete pads in back in sites, pull thru have gravel (I think there are 9 pullthru) 2 are used by camp host this season, Im not sure if thats the case every season. There is a place to eat next to the Rec center check in, however if the sea cadets are on base for training they are fed there and it's not open for meals. They also have a few food trucks but Ive not gotten a full understanding on the time and locations they serve on base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 1
March 13-15, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We had reservations for a week in a full hook-up site, but got delayed on our travels and had to cancel. We lost our 1-day deposit. We did eventually make it to the campground, but had to take a "primitive" site with water and electric. We liked the site, and the $15 a night savings. Nice view of the lake out our window. Sites in the primitive area are first-come and not all level. Some sites do have 50amp electric. The campground started to get a little busy over the weekend with many families enjoying the lake. Camp host was very friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
August 10-12, 17
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Spent a few days in the middle of august camping in tents. Beautiful camp grounds. Tried to bring a dog but it's worth noting they only allow pets to stay long term not short term. Had to drive out to a kennel before we could get on base. There is a PX a short ways to the right of the gate. It's very small and doubles as a commissary. Only carries essentials and snacky stuff. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
April 21, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
G. B. left this review using the Directory software: What pleasant surprise. The camp ground is on a lake shore of a nearly perfect round example of a Florida sink hole lake (estimate it's about 2 miles in diameter). CG is clean and quiet. The roads are hard packed gravel/shell surfaces. We have a full hook up (50 amp/'water/sewer) which is better than many other sites I've visited. The paved pads are large (my 40 foot coach has lots of room) and are quite level. Many of the sites face the lake. The grounds have several trees but there are a number of sites that are open and have unrestricted access to sat TV signals. We're only here for one night but I'll definitely come back for a longer stay just see if the lake has a fish population commensurate with it clarity and cleanliness. It appears you can beach or anchor your boat on the shore in front of you site. If you're considering boating, I ask the friendly office folks for guidance on this subject before you come. The office hours are from 0830 at 1630.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
May 7, 2018
Overall rating
 
2.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
The place is absolutely beautiful, but we had a horrible time with the staff. It is not known that there is no pets allowed in the cottage area, we even went through 2 100% vehicle checks with our cat in the car with us and they didn't tell us she wasn't allowed, we had no idea, then we were kicked out, harrassed, had our privacy invaded, and threatened to pay a $50 fine because they had to "strip the beds and disinfect" when I thought that was mandatory for rooms anyways? It was not a pleasant experience. I do not recommend this place at all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 10 7
Jan/Feb 1019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Really great RV Park. Quite peaceful. Not great Wifi, we used our Sprint Phone Hotspot to Stream Netflix and Fire stick. Everyone that manages the park are so friendly and helpful. The dining facility is close, not expensive and good breakfast lunch items.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
April 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice RV Park for relaxation. Just found out that military users may be in for a shock. The group setting the MWR useage rules for the park is now allowing Associate Members to reserve and use 2 RV lots. Doesn't make sense but that what money can buy. It makes sense to maximize park useage in the long run but travelers that show up at the last minute will be less likely to get a spot for overnight or even a couple of nights. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 2
March 2020
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a hidden gem! beautiful scenic lake, quiet, clean, concrete full hookup sites. if you like kayaking or jet skiing this place would be great in season. we love to walk and took great walks around base. there are NO facilities on this base and it is 11 miles from town, which is inconvenient. the young woman working the desk at checkin was less than helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
17-21 November 2016
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Signage directing you to the park did not exist. There appears to be only one gate open onto the installation, which is co-located at the museum entrance. Nice RV concrete pad campsite, things are a bit old but functional. Our 50amp breaker was inop when we arrived. Our site was next door to the camp host, and I notified him. Within a short time, a maintenance technician arrived and replaced the breaker. The lake is very scenic and was a short walk from our patio area. The price ($24.75 a night) is at the high end of military campgrounds. And they charge you an additional $2.75 fee for pets. Still a fair value, but not a bargain in my opinion.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
March 4 - 6, 2011
(Updated: March 06, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
They have made several improvements here in the last year or so. The formerly dusty pot hole plagued road in the "old" RV section has been paved - sort of. They have put down old ground up asphalt from who knows where and compacted it very well. Not a perfect paving job, but a welcome improvement nonetheless. They have also added a couple of covered pavilions with tables, fire pits, and grills. The biggest change is the new RV section located on the other side of the primitive area. This has 20 full hook up sites with long, wide, level concrete pads. There are now 50 full hook up sites plus the five located in the primitive area. The only poor part of this is that they clear cut all the trees and destumped the area in order to make it easier to put the utilities underground. Hopefully they will plant some tree in this area to provide some shade in the years to come. The sites are also a bit close together, but not oppressively so. Adding bath houses to the two RV sections would be O.K., but a more welcome improvement would be putting laundry facilities in the quonset hut where the office is located. There is plenty of room in there and I've got to believe this could easily be a revenue generator for the operation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
March 1st 2012 to April 15 2012
(Updated: November 09, 2015)
Overall rating
 
2.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Stayed here for 6 weeks. Quite at times. Local people use the camp ground on week ends. Alot of people with boats. Both fishing and recreational. With two cars and a boat at your site makes it a bit crowded. Real pretty campground. We stayed in the new section. All sites are spaced so everyone can see some of the lake from there site. You can walk or jog on Avenue A. When the traffic goes by you they are suppose to slow to 15 MPH. This doesn't happen as the locals use just one speed. (fast) Not patrolled very well. The laundry room is located next to the billeting area. This is ok. At least they have one although it is dirty and very expensive compared to other bases. Bathroom are only located in the primitive area(tent). Used them once and never again. They should be torn down and rebuilt. They are beyond repair The fees are high compared to other bases. I don't know where their money goes. Not back into there facilities. We have seen prisoners policing the grounds, but thats it. Some of the buildings and table covers along with the sign frames need painting. There are host in the old area and tent area. We saw the host in the old area once. The other two we never saw. The host in the tent area are poor examples as there site was not neat and kept up. don't know whet their responsibility is, but its not cleaning. The campground is run by the recreation and not the MWR. You have pay a state tax on your site fee. Dogs are charged for staying. This is great, but some campers thought it was ok to let there dogs run without a leash. They have a very nice restaurant next to the recreation office. You can also eat with the troops in the consolidated mess. Both places have good prices. I would stay again, but it would be in the old area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 3
Sept 10-26, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Arrived here on a Saturday afternoon. Missed the office on the way in. It's the last building before you hit the park. Be sure to stop and check in. If you have a pet you have to get a "pet pass". If you don't have a pet pass and take your pet off post you can't get them back on post. Also pets are not permitted outside the RV park. The concrete parking pads are huge! I can fit my 40' RV, Spyder, Motorcycle and tow dolly and still have room for a table, chairs, etc. There is a picnic table, charcoal grill, and fire barrels. Camp host was extremely friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 2
Dec 27-30, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
New rates 12/01/2017 are $28. per night not water side and $35. per night water side. Their is a fee of $3.50 per pet 2 pets max. You must have updated rabies paperwork for each pet. If you don't have a pet pass they will not let you back on base if you leave.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
Nov 3 - 30, 2010
(Updated: November 15, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We were here a week and loved it so much decided to stay another 3 weeks. This is the off season for this recreational facility so stay limit of 21 days does not apply. Pay for 2 days and 3rd day is free. We are in the new section and have it all to ourselves. Very quiet and dark at night. They have a very strict pet policy (which is good). Other campgrounds I have complained because dogs have been left in the campers all day, alone and barking. Not here. In fact they have a section where no dogs are allowed, also no dogs on post.If you have a dog it is limited to the campground and cannot be left alone. There is no commissary, but they have a consolidated dinning facility that is so reasonable ($4.75) we eat there more times a week than I cook. There is also a restaurant beside the campground office which is open several times during the week. Nice roads for walking and a small gym. Laundry room was not very clean. Camp Blanding is in the middle of nowhere but we have found many places to ride our motorcycle, flea markets, St. Augustine, Jacksonville, the Ocala Forest, Orange Park, the dog track. And a great little seafood restaurant outside the gate to the left. We will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
17-24 Jan 2009
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Jean (office lady) was friendly enough, stayed in my FW for a week while I was working with an ARNG BN on the north part of the camp; other reviews are accurate: beautiful lake-front campground but many semi-absentee "6-month" stayers limits site availability; poorly thought out landscaping has probably done more harm than good in area around newer sites; (I have posted latest site map so you can see the added sites others have described); base PX is OK (small "field" PX but adequate); Starke is 10-min down SR16 to W; JAX outskirts is about 30 mins NE and St Augustine is about 30 min SE; I got about 12 channels (digital and analog) with a standard roof antenna; you can launch boats/canoes etc from the shore or the nearby REC dock; there's a Conference Center/Restaurant within walking distance (Moody Hall, see REC Area map) that opens for daily meals on weekdays; concur that a bath house in the RV area and laundry facility would be most welcome. The primitive area had the 5 pads mentioned previously as well as several partial (no sewer) sites which serve as overflow when the RV area is full. The lake is beautiful, clear and does, indeed, have great sunsets.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
47 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3