Arnold AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.8 (48)
122538 0 17 2 55

User reviews

48 reviews
 
27%
 
38%
 
29%
 
2%
 
4%
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
4.1(48)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.6(48)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.3(48)
Value
 
4.1(48)
Overall Experience
 
3.7(48)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
48 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
Summer 2018
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I really enjoy camping here.But it has gotten harder to get a site even in off season times because of too many long term campers. I don't mind sharing with non-military but they seem to have taken over. More like a trailer park than a campground. I camped here 2 times this year and saw the same campers just moved around to different sites.This should be addressed by post commander and corrected to serve the ones for which it was established. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 22 3
August 2016
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
A lot has changed at the ole famcamp since I last reviewed it in 2012, sadly not for the better. The Arnold famcamp is more like the Arnold "trailer park." Homesteading is alive and well here in this very poorly managed military rv park. Stays of 1, 2 or 3 months are the norm rather than the exception. There were always 10 drive thru spots designated for long term stays, which is great. However, now it seems any spot can be reserved for stays as long as you want. At 12 bucks a night, its cheaper than storing your rv downtown. I'm sure that doesn't pay the electric bill. In fact, just rent a spot for a few days and stay as long as you want. If someone shows up who reserved your spot, they'll just stick him in any old spot they can, whether or not its suitable for your rv. Ask me how I know. Yes, with the park always full, the shower houses are filthy and should be shutdown by the health department. But at 12 bucks a night no one seems to mind I guess. Most "campers" don't seem to spend much time in their units anyhow. They just set them up and come by on the weekends. They have rules at the famcamp, its just that nobody follows them or seems to care. They play fast and loose with the eligible camper rules also. If you know someone that works on the base, he can reserve a site for you and nobody will be the wiser. There is no accountability at this park. Its off the base proper, so there is no gate to go through, no ids are checked. Sponsors are supposed to be at the site when its occupied, but that doesn't happen. For the very few that are able to work the system and reserve a nice spot for months at a time, its great. For the rest of us, who want to get away with our families for a few days or a week, forget it, you can't do it, all the nice, easily accessible spots are taken. I should be able to reserve a spot 40 days in advance, but forget that rule also. I tried to reserve a spot once and realized I was too far in advance, but then I was told, "oh we don't really care too much about that." If you need a spot for a night, just camp at any open spot, they'll never know it. Don't worry about checkout time either, its optional. They really have no idea what's going on in the famcamp, what spots are open or not. My biggest concern is when the Air Force becomes aware of this gross mismanagement, they'll shut the park down. They closed a beach/picnic area when the base determined it wasn't being used by eligible personnel. Really a shame this famcamp doesn't function as it should and provide a nice camping experience for "real" campers. Instead it functions as a "trailer park" for a few.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 19 6
Aug 4-6, 2019
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Beautiful location, with almost nothing else to offer. Negatives: The bathrooms nearest my site were sweat boxes and I unclogged 2 toilets in 3 days with a scrub brush, because they didn’t bother leaving a plunger. Very basic cleaning job (one of the toilets was clogged before and after the “cleaning”). The 30A outlet had a ground fault and was inoperable. Dirty used mattresses were piled next to the dumpsters. The WiFi exists in a very, very limited area. The outdoor rec employees seem to not care very much about anything. Positives: Cost was good ($18/night). The washer and dryer were free. The sites were mostly level. The reservoir provided a great view. It’s only 30 minutes to the Jack Daniel’s distillery (their tour was my reason for being in the area). I don’t ask for much from FamCamps; I want them to be relatively clean, utilities to work, and moderately responsive outdoor rec employees. None of those boxes were checked.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 11 0
May 2015
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I almost didn't stay here after reading the reviews, but my hubby, who didn't go to this site, said he called and they had sites available. He said if it wasn't decent, we'd go up the road to the state park cg. Boy, was I glad he told me to 'check it out'. We couldn't have asked for a more picturesque site. It was pull-through which is nice for our rig, only water and electric, but at $12 a night you can't beat it. It's a CAMPGROUND.....not a resort, and that's what I wanted. Quiet, peace, a great view of nature and all it's glory from the bold squirrels who played tag with our pups, to the great blue herons and the redheaded woodpeckers, I loved my time there. I agree, the older bathhouse is a bit, well, OLD......time and money, and in this economy, is few and far between. The new Asst. Mgr measured all the sites (no one in the past had any idea how important that is for prospective campers) so the office can know if someone's rig will fit in the available site. While there are a few "homesteaders", they are made to leave after 60 days, so there are no permanent structures on the sites. Some of the campers were 'semi' permanent, locals who parked their camper on a 'sweet' site for a month or two, all to be able to come down on the weekends and enjoy the water and the view. After all, for 12 a night, 'renting' the site for a month or two is an inexpensive multi week vacation, all for less than it would cost for gas on a weeklong trip! and this dedicated income will come in handy to help with the improvements this new team wants to make, including sewage on site, at least on the bigger sites. As with everything, it costs money to improve, and they don't want to do it at the expense of raising their prices too much. They want to keep this affordable for ALL. Then again, writing this review might just cause me to lose my quiet little piece of heaven, but the staff were all helpful, informative and accessable......what more could you ask for?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
Fall 2017
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
No sewer hook-ups (that is automatically worth a downgrade of one star). Once past that, your rv is parked right beside a gorgeous lake. It is quiet. About an hour from Nashville, about the same to Chattanooga. Jack Daniels and George Dickel Distilleries are real close (the Jack Daniels Distillery is a great tour). Walk around Lynchburg afterward and get a meal at Mrs. Bobo's (reservations suggested). If you are into music, the Bonnaroo festival in the Spring is a few miles down the road.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
Sept 2014
Overall rating
 
1.5
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
I am at a loss to explain the high ratings at this RV park from other reviewers - the place is a dump! Management involvement is essentially zero, the sites are very short, and VERY un-level, the park is laid-out in a very haphazard manner, and there is junk everywhere (including two abandoned "blueboy" portable sewage tanks). One of the two worst-looking RV parks in the Air Force system! We stayed at this park about 4 years ago, and were very disappointed, so I stopped by the office (off-site, mind you) and spent some time with the NCOIC explaining issues like the need and reason for sites to be level, the need for longer sites, the need to trim/remove trees to allow easier (& safer!) access to sites, the need to flatten access to sites so rigs would not bottom-out getting in or out, the horrendous condition of the laundry facility, and more. This week, we decided to stay again to see what improvements were made - and we saw ABSOLUTELY NO CHANGES AT ALL!!! I will NEVER use this place again, and I strongly advise everyone NOT to make a reservation or check into this park unless you personally drive into the park to see if your camper will work in ANY of these sites. Yes, it's cheap - and not worth it! It is really a shame that Services Management has so completely failed at this location, over such an extended period of time, because the location COULD BE absolutely beautiful with just minimal, basic attention from management. For example, there is a pile of gravel on the site, which could be used to level some of the sites, but nothing has been done to apply the gravel to level up the sites! Additionally, there is a large propane tank situated in the middle of the park, with big "No Smoking!" Signs on the tank. Just a few feet away, on either side of this tank, are two campsites, each with large campfire pits! THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD!!! Wake up, folks! I challenge the Chief of Services to rent a camper from Outdoor Rec and spend a weekend in his RV park! And, I challenge the base commander to drive through this dump and look around! Then, FIX IT or close it - it is an embarrassment to your base!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 14 8
24 Oct 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I was hesitant to stay here due to the reviews, glad I gave it a chance. It is a very beautiful campground on a lake. Very quiet. I don't see any ghetto trailer park likeness at all. Perhaps whoever caused that perception moved on. There are several pull through sites. A few of the backup sites (like I got) require you to back uphill to the flat cement pad. Our tailgate hit the underneath of our 5th wheel due to the angle, would not recommend site 12. We have a 30 ft 5th wheel and it was difficult to back in due to a speed limit sign directly across from it. However, the sites accommodate longer than advertised, if accessible. Awesome place. Very quiet, very nice. Wifi, cell phone reception, concrete pads, laundry, hot showers, beautiful lake. I was very leary after reading previous reviews, but I'm glad I took the chance.
Arnold AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 2
various
(Updated: June 23, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I stay here a fair amount, so I thought I should chime in with my two cents worth. the famcamp at Arnold AFB has been a fantastic getaway for my family and I. I live about 70 miles away, so it is a quick transition to a vacation oasis. I have a small (21') trailer and the sites are all easily accessed and most in wonderful locations for lake and scenic views. The staff could not be more helpful. On a limited budget they do a great job keeping the facility in fine condition. This is not a for profit, upscale vacation destination, but neither are the prices. 20 bucks a night for full hookups, beautiful lake views, sand beach, boatdock...golf, tennis and a world class gym nearby...you just can't beat it. As a plus, it is almost never crowded. I ride my bike on the base roads which are wide and safe and seldom used. They even have a mountain bike track on the base. Kirsten, the new services director and her staff are working very hard to improve those areas that need improving. The bath houses are sometimes not perfect. Clean up after yourselves folks! Sometimes a site will have butts and bottle caps thrown about or beer cans in the firerings...give me a break, your mother doesn't live here! Police up the area before you leave for the next campers. Last week I had a problem with the electric hook up, Jackie dropped what he was doing and replaced a circuit breaker panel in about 5 mins flat. I don't want to name all the names, because I'll leave someone out (Joe, greg, Nathan). It can't all be roses of course, I'd like to see fewer pesky squirrels and I have had to be careful to check for ticks. All in all a great spot, great staff, great value. Everybody stay away..don't come here and don't tell your friends.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
23-27 May 21
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
First, the mwr employees were wonderful and I highly recommend renting a boat while you are there. Now to the FamCamp - always start with a positive - the views of the lake are gorgeous and the spots are set up so you aren’t nuts to butts or side by side which is really nice. Quiet for the most part. No camp host which is unfortunate because some of the clientele could use some oversight. Throwing up for all to see after a little too much to drink is not good. Shout out to that family of drunks! The grounds were unkempt, dog poop everywhere even though there was one station and it had poop bags. Shout out to the middle aged lady with her two little white dogs who looked around to see if anyone was watching her and then walked away! The bathroom closest to our site was sad. Good news, they clean it twice a week or so. If there was a camp host, which I’m sure there could be because of the many full timers, I think the place would be a real gem.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
September 29, 2019
Overall rating
 
1.3
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Looks like a low rent trailer park. Long term local camping. Management nonexistent. No camp host. No one in office upon check in or checkout. Difficult to make reservations. Different person for every call and email. Retired E8 and two retired GS13 couple from Alabama who have seen great military facilities, and this one is not worth your time. Someone in their chain of command needs to hold these incompetent employees accountable.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 9 4
June 23-25, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We live in Tullahoma but wanted to take our grandson to the famcamp for a short camping experience, it was supposed to be through June 26 but they messed up our reservations. Please double-check your reservations when you make them, I did not. It was a beautiful stay, the weather was perfect and our location was perfect. We were in #32, right next to one of the shower houses (which was VERY clean) and there was nothing that hindered our stay except for the reservation issue. My grandson played in the lake several hours each day and the area was very clean of debris. Wonderful place!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 2
May 30th-June 5th, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We really enjoyed the peaceful tranquility of this camp, we woke up to a visit from a heron every morning. I saw and watched a redheaded woodpecker. The kids loved the beach area, it is roped off, which makes a good safe place to swim. There is great places to fish. They have movies and actives you can join in on or they will help you by letting you know where some great places to visit while you are there, we hiked the natural arched bridge that was suggested to us. We really had a great time with family and friends. The price was very good for the wonderful scenery.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
May 2-4, 2014
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
All this beautiful little campground needs is someone who cares about it! So many of its problems could be resolved by a resident camp host or manager. The setting is lovely and offers opportunities to play, fish, swim, boat or just relax. Sites are scattered about so you don't look right at your neighbor. Very few of them are level but the electric and water pressure were good. The restrooms are very rustic, look like they were built out of spare parts and, while they have been painted, they need some further maintenance and care. The laundry wasn't set up well and wasn't clean enough to stick around and fold clothes. There is a large trash can at each site but still there is litter. The campground seems primarily for the civilian employees of the base. We only saw a few active duty or retired while we were there. There are several obviously long-term residents, as evidenced by large wood piles and household appliances on the patio. I did appreciate the cheaper rate for Retirees.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
18 - 21 April 2013
(Updated: April 22, 2013)
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This Fam Camp is a diamond in the rough. Campground check-in staff are alway's courteous but appear to lack pride and professionalism towards their rough appearing Fam Camp; an obvious failure in upper Services management. We stay here usually twice a year. The small staff does what it can but appear not to have much in the way of management backing, guidance, & direction. Interior roads are rough and unpaved but manageable. Sites are unpaved but reasonably level. There are no sewer hookups but there's a dump station on site. With budget cuts DOD wide, it wouldn't hurt to perform some litter pick up of one's assigned site and any adjacent unoccupied sites. Leaving your site in better condition than you found it goes a long way, especially at this CG. This could be a very nice CG with the right upper management.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
August - September 2016
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Famcamp is right on the lake. Beautiful area. Very quiet. Price was great until September 1st. Monthly rate went to $450.00. Daily rate up to $18.00 per night. Now way overpriced considering they have no sewer hookups. Beach is small and needs some TLC. Like about 30 yards of sand. I would come back. Commissary has everything one needs. No medical services on base. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
June - August 2010
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This campground is in need of some TLC. The Outdoor Rec. crew of three are responsible for the upkeep and do the best they can from what I have seen. There is no host and no workampers something that would help. This is a quiet and beautiful location on the lake. The sites are level to slightly sloped, and with good spacing between them. They have a nice dock with 6 slips if you have a boat. The bath house is clean but does need some repair. They have one washer and dryer attached to the old bath house which also needs some repair. They have a 28 day stay limit which you can extend. The week ends are the busiest since they let the contractors on base use this campground. This helps with the income. There is only 70-80 active duty stationed on this base. The Commissary (Tuesday – Saturday) is small but has everything you need. The BX is about the size of a Shoppette (open same as Commissary) but has the essentials. Tullahoma or Manchester TN is about 12 miles away. They both have Wal-Mart’s and shopping centers. Things to do on Base: 9 hole golf course (Tuesday and Thursday $10.00 all you can golf). Club open on Thursday 5-8, Friday 5-9 and Saturday 6-9, nice new lodge $39.00-$52.00. Auto Shop (appointment only) Equipment Rental (Tents Tables etc) Small Cabins on the lake. Boat and Pontoon Rentals ($2.00 - $20.00 per hour)(Short Boating Class required) Free New Release Movies at club on Thursday nights. Things to do in the Area: Chattanooga 1.5 hours away. Look Out Mountain, Raccoon Caverns, Ruby Falls, Aquarium, Chickamauga Battlefield etc. Nashville 1.5 hours Away Country Music Hall of Fame, Parthenon, The Hermitage etc. Locally Jack Daniels Distillery, George Dickel Distillery, Civil Wars battlefields. The Campground is a good base camp to relax after a day of site seeing. The Map gives site lengths. I have a 38 foot 5th. wheel and have plenty of room. Most sites have plenty of room behind them to accommodate any size rigs. I have had no problems with a portable Sat. dish. Good local TV from Huntsville Al. Huntsville Space Center is also a nice day trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
May 14, 2021
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Just stayed one night in a 40' motorhome, towing. Due to Covid, they have you check in at MWR and that requires you to go through a housing gate to get to the office. Gate was tight but office was easily accessible. Nice park on water. However, it was our opinion that even though they show that they can handle large rigs, it is tight in the park. We were lucky as we had a pull-thru but it was very tight driving around other sites to exit. Also, it appeared to have a large number of long termers with all the vehicles and toys associated with living in an RV for a long time. Would not return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
February 5-12, 2012
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
T.S. left this review using the Directory software: - Although the campsites are numbered, gravel roads are not well marked or defined and a bit confusing for our first time visit, particularly since there were only 3 other campers (long-termers) at the site. Although there are several pull through sites, it can be a tight fit for big rigs due to trees being very close to the roads & campsites. After carefully parking and a good amount of leveling, we had a wonderful site with beautiful views of the lake. Water & electric (30/50) at site, dump station nearby. Restrooms were very clean, warm (below freezing temps during our visit) and showers had an abundance of hot water. WiFi not available at campground but we were told it is coming this summer (2012). To check email, we parked in the lot at the Wingo Inn (at the end of Westover Rd) and tapped into their wireless from our vehicle. Also had a great tasting dinner at the Lakeside Club next door to Wingo Inn. The FamCamp office on Westover Rd has a small library of donated books and movies and the staff was very informative and helpful. Enjoyed our visit and look forward visiting again someday, next time during the summer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
23 May 2016
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I stopped at this campground for an overnighter on my way to Nashville.  While the camp was quite full for a Monday, I was able to get sight #18, which is a premium site right on the water.  The person at Outdoor Rec was nice and helpful.  The campground was neat and clean.  It didn't appear that the campsites were grossly unlevel as noted in older reviews.  The men's bathhouse and shower was clean. If you come in on a Sunday or Monday make sure you bring your own food, as the BX and Commissary are closed on those days. They do have a grill at the golf course but it closes early.  The Jack Daniel's Distillery is close by in Lynchburg TN, so make time to go on a tour!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
June 2014
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Only appears to be 2 or 3 semi level spots. A series challenge to level. Also a challenge to get in several spots if more than 25 feet. Nice quite little CG to spend a few days, however don't make the mistake of reserving for an extended time, as you pay in full when making the reservation. I've had to move 3 times in 6 days. 1st time was due to my 5'er hanging over a steep drop and I didn't feel secure 2nd spot was nice, but someone had it reserved so after 3 days moved again 3rd move was aggravating as the spot directly across from me had 5 vehicles, a boat trailer and the camper in their spot. I needed at least 2 of the vehicles moved so that I could jack around enough to get in my spot. After several attempts to get someone to come out, I finally accepted the fact that no one was home. This was around 8:30am. My biggest dislike is the fact that sites are assigned at time of the reservation. Having never been here I wasn't aware of the problems mentioned earlier. After having a discussion with people (from the local area) in 2 adjacent prime sites, they told me that they were sponsored by a friend who wasn't even on the premises. These people were nice, but not remotely eligible to reap the benefits that some of us actually earned. Due to the 4th of July holiday coming up, and my original site not working out, I will have to leave 10 days prior to my original departure date as all sites are reserved. A refund is coming but there are no chances of having a site anywhere due to the holiday. Nice location with a friendly and helpful staff.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
48 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Cron Job Starts