Camp Perry Lodging and RV Park

Featured
 
3.6 (27)
73592 1 26 2 22

User reviews

27 reviews
 
11%
 
59%
 
26%
 
4%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0(27)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.4(27)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.2(27)
Value
 
2.9(27)
Overall Experience
 
3.6(27)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
27 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
Aug 28 - Sep 2, 2018
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We Came in on tuesday prior to Labor Day weekend. We were told that the spots are reserved and will be assigned a spot we get our spot and the rules of the canpground and one of the first rules on the page is “ campground sites are first come first serve” so why not be able to pick the spot you want..oh maybe because friends of friends reserved the entire middle section and have connections that we dont. We had a great week until fri when labor day weekend started and pretty much EVERY rule was broken and no body seemed to care. It says no more than 2 dogs on each rv site and must be leashed the lady two sites infront of us had three dogs on her site none of which were on leashes and attaching the lease to the dog but to nothjng else doesnt count they just ran around everywhere. Then they had friends come in that brought two more dogs and they just kept adding up. Then you have tenters on an rv site when it shows tent site on map in the field. The tents were not 15 ft alart like it states they need to be in rules you had people parked on the grass like it states not to do in the rules. Then it states per rv site you are only allowed to have one dinning tent and thats it nope people had rv on their site with sleeping tents and dinning tents. Lets move on to the quiet times wow there is NONE 1130 at night you still had kids running around screaming and carring on on their bikes scooters racing each other up and down the street campers coming in around 10pm just getting there to set up when quiet time is notes from 10pm-8am. It was crazy. Now i understand its a holiday weekend but people can still be respectful and should still have to abide by every rule listed. Esp for the amount you have to pay here per night you would think the rules would be inforced not everyone comes out on holiday weekends to party and cut up we have small kids whos bedtime is 9-10pm and trying to get them to sleep at this place was a nightmare once fri came around. We were really looking forward to our stay here as it is a nice well kept campground and really nice beach but that did not happend once the holiday weekend came and we never saw anyone checking up on campground to make sure the rules wernt being broken and if they did they obveously didnt care that they were breaking them. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
Oct 2009
(Updated: November 21, 2012)
Overall rating
 
2.8
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
The campground is very nice and well kept. My big complaint is the treatment of military personnel during the national matches. Everybody gets kicked out including military if you're not a part of the matches. We have earned the right to be there. The staff (when I was there) wasn't very pleasant their answers when I asked why because i didn't know. We haven't been back since. The matches take up the best parts of the summer.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 8 4
June 16, 2019 - June 19, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The only negatives are no wifi and no doggie park. Otherwise, this is a great park! Very well kept, plenty of space between sites, and utilities located in accordance to where they are located on an RV. The staff was extremely helpful giving us ideas if where to go and what to see. The roads and sites are asphalt and the rest is nice green lawn. Verizon cell signal was ok, easy to get satellite dish signal. We would definitely stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
May 2019
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Really nice campground. 40 sites with good road network. Sites are blacktop, level and long. Narrow, but usable for our 40 motor home. Water and electric standard park utilities (locked, given key at registration). Dump is somewhat unusual. There is a 6” opening in a 36” iron cap. When you remove the 6” opening, there is the standard piping for your dump hose, 8/10” below. I have a Sani-con system. Little difficult to get the end, into that space and secure it onto the dump pipe. There is a table and fire ring at each site. There is toilet/shower building located at the park. Didn’t use, tho many folks did. OTA TV reception poor and no cable. When here last, (06) the trees were newly planted. Tree near our site is a Callory Pear, now 7-8” caliper. Nice lush lawn throughout. When entering Camp, signs direct you towards RV PARK. You pass the park road and end up at (the office) where you register. (There is a printable map on their web site that is useful) Didn’t know that. Made U-turn there and went to park. Called office, they gave me site #, parked, and went back to office and registered. On their web site, lists a dining hall open to everyone, but when I enquired, told there was none. Their web site need updating. Camp was full (Memorial weekend) of young families. Thought that many were active guardsmen (no near military bases), until I found out park is open to public. There is no gate to the post. There is no security patrolling to insure rules are maintained. Rules ignored this weekend. No quiet hours, no dog rules (must be leashed) not running loose. Kids on skate boards, bikes and a not so new stand-on gizmo late into the nite. There were three large (separate) groups partying. Must have requested specific sites to be together. We have stayed at FamCamp’s throughout 46 (??) states. Cost out of range for what you get. Other campground near-by, with various discounts, offers more. At $40/nite, (with military discount) doubt that we will return. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
July 2012
(Updated: July 22, 2012)
Overall rating
 
2.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We stayed here July 2012. I called ahead to reserve 1 night because we needed to stay 1 night on our trip west. Reservations stated they were fully booked and would not have a site available until August 15 after the national shooting competition was over. We arrived 1 day later, decided to give it a try and there was 10 or more sites available :( The chowhall which is located 2 blocks from the RV site was open to all. They had an awesome Salad Bar for $5. I got 7 local TV channels using the RV antenna. Virgin Mifi 2200 worked well for Internet. Small PX/class 6 & laundromat is a 5 minute walk away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Jul 26, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was our first stop on the way to PNW for our 1st cross country trip in a camper and we are pleased to have found this campsite. Checking in was easy but do not try to go through the driveway in front of the office if your RV is taller than 11 feet. Close call for our 5th wheel if it wasn't for the fellow camper watching me come in, our trip would have been over right there. Parking in the front office building is plentiful to park any size RV. Anyway, the RV park was well maintained from what we can see and the grass was freshly cut. The backing was a bit of a challenge for a beginner like me because the parking strip is very narrow. Your stairs are guaranteed to be on the grassy area which is not bad. All the utility works but the padlocks are a bit tricky so a little finagling is required. The campsite was full at the time we were there due to the National gun shoot competition which made us feel very safe knowing everyone around us is packing, Big dumpster is available in the entrance and exit area, We will definitely return to this RV park if we will travel this way again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
September 2017
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have been traveling on and off for the past 18 months. We try to stay in military campgrounds whenever possible. This campground was the most expensive and least amenities of any military campground we have been to. Firstly, do not follow your GPS, Look for 2 large stone pillars and enter the base at the pillars. Another first, there is no gate, no security, no IDs required, never encountered that before! We were there for 2 nights/3 days. We saw the lady at the conference center check in. We saw exactly one car on the road. That is it.This place is deserted. One other RV in the RV park, but never saw any people with it. The whole experience was just bizarre. A well kept base and not a soul to be seen.The Exchange was never open.The only laundromat was located next to the Exchange (not in the RV Park).No lights in the RV area.There were lights at the hotel close by.Nobody staying at the hotel though.We travel the country with our dog. Saw numerous signs saying dogs not allowed anywhere on base except the RV park.No walking around, no going to the fishing pier.Not sure why, nobody was around to be bothered by a dog. The hookups at your site are locked.They give you a key for them and the bath house when you check in. No cable, no WiFi in the RV area and $40 a night.Very unlike the dozens of military campgrounds we have visited in the past. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Sept 27-28, 2019
(Updated: September 29, 2019)
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The training post was very quiet with almost nobody there. It's open to the public with no security. The conference center, lodging, and RV Park are all new. There were only a few RV's. The beaches on Lake Erie are a short walk from the RV Park. WiFi was available at the RV Park, but I couldn't get an Internet connection. Restrooms/showers are new, basic and fairly clean, although work was being done on some showers. Check-in staff was very friendly. We took a day to visit the Henry Ford Museum and the Ford (F-150) Factory tour located 90 miles away. We had a nice visit.
Camp Perry Lodging and RV Park
Camp Perry Lodging and RV Park
Camp Perry Lodging and RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
2 July - 10 July 2009
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed from 2 July through 10 July. Pros:The campground is very clean as was the bathhouse. It was cleaned and maintained daily. Lots of little plus like the small PX, beach, static displays, quiet and away from the regular RV park crowds. The spots were large, flat and easy to back in. Hook ups were easy to access. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Private access to the bath house via a key. Camp Perry is in a great location to tour all over the area. Cleveland, Toledo and Detroit are within easy driving distance as are all the local sites. The campground was never full while we were there and at one time was down to 5 campers. Cons: Of course, it is new so not much shade and you are surrounded by barracks that are lighted 24/7. The prohibition of bringing pets was a big disappointment and most likely will preclude us from returning. Even though this did not seem to be enforced during our stay, I observed at least three dogs in the campground. The keyed entry into the bathhouse is both a pro and con. It was a hassle if my wife and I needed the bathouse key at the same time. An easy fix would be to install cypher locks on the bathhouse doors and provide registered campers with the code.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 31, 2016
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice campground, paved pads, full hookups, friendly staff. Clean and up to date bathhouse/restrooms. Walked around base which is open to the public with a small waterfront area for fishing. No ID check. Didn't bother checking out any other amenities since it was a one night stay. Little pricier than most other military facilities but still less than a KOA.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 2
July 1-5, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Interesting open-gate Ohio National Guard operated facility where most facilities (lodging, Exchange, RV Park) are also open to the public. New "military" rates for RV park which are rank-related (O-6 is $36/night) and about "market price" for area. No pets permitted although several were there while we were there but when you call for reservation they will tell you "no pets". Base and RV park getting ready for July 12 arrival of NRA Shooting matches which fills Camp Perry for about a month or so every summer. During our time, RV park about half full. Sites ok - strange water/electric hookup locations. Lodging staff (Bonnie) very nice. They give you a key to unlock water/electric. Time of year for May Flies when we were there but not too much trouble although pretty much all over your RV. AAFES small exchange open during week - not big but nice inventory and staff. No other place to eat on Camp Perry. Crowd is minimal except during shooting match time partly due to limited effort/interest in advertising (said they are worried about being perceived as competing with local civilian RV parks). Not bad place if on your way - or maybe weekend on Lake Erie short vacation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Sept 2011
(Updated: November 08, 2011)
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Facility was clean but to expensive would not return as limited recreation available.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
29 June-1 July 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I agree with Hoselrocket's evaluation, I was there 29 June - 1 July 2007, the RV park was almost vacant. There is no shower facilities and I don't think they have a plan to build any. I checked with the lady in the office and she stated that they only take self contained RV's. Cingular or A.T&T cell phone service was very good. I would stay again. It was easy to find, every one was very courteous especially the gate guards. Just for your information, Cedar Point RV park quoted me a price of $80-85.00 a night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 17, 2022
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice location just off of Lake Erie, very large beach for residents and guests. Contrary to what the website says, dogs are prohibited on post. (Editor's note: The website has been updated) - Thanks!) Check in is easy, you get keys for water and electricity, sewer is deep inside a hole so bring an extension. Nice and close to Put In Bay and Cedar Point, lots to do.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
12-19 June 2007
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Camp Perry Ohio NG base. At Port Clinton along the western edge of lake Erie. A new 40 site CG with FHU's level asphalt back in sites. There was only one other camper here when we checked in, an Active duty guy apparently here for work. Nice quiet place, except for the kids marching and hollering cadence. Two bar Verizon signal. No cable but there are no trees (yet, several small ones have been planted) so I got a clear shot with the dish. Several off air local channels including a couple from Canada. Tried to call for a reservation but no one answered the phone at the conference center (Bldg 600). You check in at the Conference center then they tell you to go pick a site then come back to pay. All the hook ups are locked and they give you a key after you pay. Didn't matter that we didn't have a reservation, when I checked in the girl on the desk said I was her first RV of the year. This place is a little pricey for what it offers. $29 a night for nothing but a parking space with FHU's. The post has a small BX and a post laundry. A nice fishing pier and beach is available. All in all we think this is a pretty nice place and would stop by again if in the area. I understand it will get really crowded during the annual shooting contest in July so if planning a trip then you will definately need a reservation. Check the Camp website for dates.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 3, - May 6, 2021
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This was our second recent stay, the first being in September 2020. Each time the bath houses were closed even though on our second stay most things were opened up from COVID closures. Each time the grass was very high and the second stay had previously mowed grass on the parking pad that we had to remove prior to parking. The picnic tables provided were useless as the grass was so high, it would be nice to have concrete pads for them . The grass was finally mowed after a couple days of being there. On the site of our latest stay the sewer pipe was so low we had to make an extension so our connection could reach the hole and it wasn't only our site, it's the case on numerous sites. It is a very quiet campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
22-23 MAY 2008
(Updated: May 22, 2008)
Overall rating
 
3.4
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a National Guard post. Nice campground. We were the ONLY ones on it! Very nice RV/Lodging office worker. Told us to pick the RV site we wanted and then she gave us the key for the hookups. New bathhouse has been built and will be open soon. No cable but several TV stations are available. The gate was closed when we arrived -there was no gate guard present, but it wasn't blocked off so we could still go in. There is good signage at this small base. We drove by the PX, the laundry, the chapel, but they were closed when we arrived. The lodging and conference center where you check in, is open until 10pm. My husband was glad he had some pvc pipe available because the dump pipe is recessed in the ground about 10 inches. At $29, it is the most expensive military installation we have stayed at, but it is still cheaper than area RV parks. It is quiet as it sits way back from the road. It is directly behind the lodge. As we left, we noticed that there is a "Camouflage Cafe" with a sign that said open, however we didn't stop.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
October 5-8, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
When we arrived we were the only campers. Only one other camper arrived in our 3 day weekend stay. The parking pads are long, level and paved. We had good water pressure and 50 amp service. The sewer connections are considerably forward and we had to park somewhat forward to allow our sewer hose to reach the dump. The dump pipe is inside an 8 inch hole and recessed about 10 inches. If you have an L connection on the end of your sewer hose, it won't connect without taking it off or installing some sort of extension. Overall, it was new, quiet and very clean. There are no laundry or bath facilities. I felt it it was overpriced at $29 a night and inquired at the desk. I was told this is due to having no federal funding and it is competitive for the local area. We had average Verizon cell phone coverage and Verizon Broadband Internet connection. This is no Wifi and no Internet connection in the Lodge. A beach is nearby but a sign is posted warning that Lake Erie is contaminated and cautioned pregnant women and children not to swim. We found everyone very courteous.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 23, 2011
(Updated: July 04, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Camp Perry is located near some popular tourist locations such as Cedar Point Park. Perhaps that's why the cost is a little high at $28.82/night? The RV area is open field with few trees; however, very nicely maintained. Did not use the restrooms so no comment. Tennis courts are in need of repair. The park was 80% empty during our stay, just before the 4th of July weekend. It was nice enough, but too expensive and not enough things close by to entice me to a return visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 5, 2011
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
W.B. left this review using the Directory software: Very nice and helpful staff at the Conference Center check in desk. Campground is very clean with paved pads & driveways. We've a 27' trailer w/full sized pu that fit well. The sewer hookups are a bit different than usual but work. All hookups are spread out and you've got to be a bit careful where you park so everything will hook up at the same time. We walked to the beach and Lake Erie may not be as polluted as years back, but I wouldn't swim in it on a bet. This was confirmed when we strolled through Port Clinton (5 mi. away) and could smell sewage every time we passed a storm sewer grate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 5
27 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2