Shields RV Park

Featured
 
4.3 (96)
101614 1 32 2 70

User reviews

96 reviews
 
53%
 
32%
 
10%
 
3%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.3(96)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.4(96)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0(96)
Value
 
4.4(96)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(96)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
96 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
December 2023
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice base with 2 rv parks. We stayed in the front section in a pull-thru site. Nice wide spacing and friendly group. Close to the main gate, commissary etc. Only a mile to the beach! We will be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 16, 2023
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice facility, having open drive through sites with concrete pads and easy hookups. Nice metal picnic table adjacent to pad. Had site in the "new" area, and there were very few neighbors for the middle of the summer. Most had tow-behind vehicles or could visit the area with their towing vehicle. Will keep this on our list of military campgrounds to visit and recommend.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Dec 30th 2023
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great location and close to the beach. We stayed in the "old" section and it was loud with trains and traffic, highly recommend calling the campground directly and trying to get into the new park. Base is nice and it was fitting for our needs to take the kids to the beach. Biloxi is close by as well, overall we enjoyed it.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 6 2
April 2022
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
One of our favorite famcamps. Great location not too far from the beach and tons of shopping. There is a pretty big difference between the front (old) section and the back (new) section. The back is much quieter and is all back in sites. The front can get pretty noisy from the off-base traffic and Family Dollar right across the fence. There is a mixture of back in and pull throughs up front.
Gulf Coast Military Camping at Shields RV Park in Gulfport, MS!  This is our favorite one so far!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
17-20 MAR 2022
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This has always been one of my favorite parks to stay at while heading to the east coast. Use the directions listed above to go to the main gate. For some reason my Garmin wanted me to make several turns after getting onto Hwy 49 and there was no reason to do that. Easy access through the gate. Security did ask if I had any firearms but did not search my coach. Very nice sites, long and concrete pads. Small laundry, 2 available washers ($2)-one broken and (3) dryers $1 to start for 30 min, usually add more quarters to get at least 60 min of dry time. Exchange/Commissary easy to find as well as a fueling station with easy access.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
May 31, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Only stayed one night on our way east along I-10. Not too far from the highway and very close to the beaches of Gulfport and Biloxi. Did not use any facilities as we were self contained in a 5th wheel, but park was nicely laid out and sites were very large and had plenty of space. Easy in, easy out. Would recommend as a stopover or destination to explore Gulfport or Biloxi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
March 2021
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I confess that I’m confused about all the positive reviews for this RV park. Please note that there are two RV parks aboard NCBC Gulfport—a “front” one and a “rear one.” I’ve hear the terms “old” and “new” used interchangeably, so I can’t tell which, if any, old/new term applies to which park. The “front” park (which is where we stayed) is nothing more than a large parking lot with concrete pads laid out for RV sites. Each site is a pull-through and offers water, electric, and sewage. The sites are spacious, the bath house is clean, and there is a pay laundry facility. That’s the good news. The bad news is that there is not a single tree or shade of any kind in the front part. In addition, it borders a main off-base street that presents loud street noise all day and night. We had a 5-day reservation but left after two days due to the unpleasantness of the front park. On our way out we drove through the “rear” park, which is very nice indeed. Trees, shade, quiet, a dog park, a lake nearby . . . Very pleasant. When I asked the park attendant how one gets assigned to the rear park instead of the front one, he told me you need to ask for the rear park when making a reservation. The rear park is all back-ins, no pull-thoughs, so keep that in mind when calling for a reservation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 17 2
11-12 Feb 21
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Knew our assigned site due to a call from the staff and we arrived just after the office closed. But driving in towards the office, caution tape blocked our advance as well as turning right or left--no apparent reason was seen for the whole intersection near the office to be blocked off. Couldn't back up as we tow our car behind the motorhome. This forced us to un-hook though we hadn't planned to do so. I give them four stars for hospitality because 1) they called to tell us our site and 2) Keesha rain out into the rain to intercept us and explained how to drive around to our assigned site. Surprisingly large park and there are many "long termers" here. Was kind of a muddy mess even thought our coach itself was parked on concrete, (inches of rain will do that). They have some serious dips in the pavement to navigate over. Didn't use any park facilities and our planned outing down at the beach didn't happen, but again...inches of rain will do that.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
January - May 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We love this park. In 2018 we stayed at the 'front' where it is row after row of pull throughs. We were very happy there....then. But, this time we stayed in the 'back' park (or new park) and it was great! While we were here the Coronavirus pandemic started. We had planned to stay from Jan to the end of March but ended up staying until the end of May in order to wait out the worst of the pandemic. What a wonderful place to get 'stuck.' We thanked our lucky stars everyday that we happened to be in this park when the lock down orders came. It is quiet, very roomy, well groomed and very pleasing to the eye. The roads are paved and each site has a very large concrete pad. The utilities are located well and all sites are level. The bathrooms and laundry room are spotless. The Navy has its own wifi and it is relatively strong throughout the park. The grounds are spacious and maintained weekly - virus or no virus. There is no problem getting satellite signal from any site. This park on the western end of the base is much quieter than the old one up front. The trains are a distant sound and sirens are rarely heard back here. The commissary and exchange are nice and large enough to find most anything you need. During the pandemic, the 2 stores are monitored for masks and numbers of people shopping. I never felt 'exposed' while shopping. I almost hate to leave such a good review because I don't want it to become difficult to get future reservations! LOL But, it is the duty of all RVers to let the rest of the RVers know what to expect from a park. You can't go wrong here and that's a promise.
Shields RV Park
Shields RV Park
Shields RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 11 0
March 18, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This Famcamp was only supposed to be a 5 day stop but has turned into a much longer stay because of the Covid-19 virus. The staff was so helpful in allowing us to extend our stay here. The spaces are nice and roomy they are all pull thru in the front section. We have everything we need here on base commissary, exchange, and gas station with Diesel. I will definitely be coming back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
23 Nov - 2 Dec, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Two campgrounds: one long term typical parking lot and a second tucked in the back corner of the base. Shower/toilet combination bathrooms in the back campground. Could use more cleaning however. Old shower with no warm or hot water in the parking lot. Staff was very accommodating. Chapel was small and very comforting. The back campground is very very nice! Very family friendly! My boys loved to small ponds and woods. The nearby base pool was a hit as well. We would love to go back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Jan 2020
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Just an overnight stay as we work our way to south Florida. We arrived on New Years day with a reservation. Our site was posted on the door but no other paperwork available. The site are nice size with good utilities and level. The area has several things to do (read tourist) but it was raining the day we were here. Local OTA channels were none but you get a cable box for a $100 deposit (refundable). We would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Nov 3 - Nov 25 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First let me say we travel in a 42ft Motorhome and tow a 4-door Jeep so you can judge the size of your rig if/when we say tight. From I-10 take 49 south to Pass RD. Turn west onto Pass RD and it will lead you straight to the gate. There is a serpentine but it is easily managed. As soon as you go through the gate turn right and you will see the first of the 2 campsites. The office for both sites is in the middle of the 1st campsite. The girls in the office were fantastic. Our site they had original set for us had a power issue which they had already found. They sent us to the 2nd of the 2 campsites. This campsite is newer, lots of space but all back-ins. As I said we are 42ft and had plenty of room. Now here is the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly. The Good: Great location, easy to maneuver the streets, quiet and peaceful. Not sure about the 1st campsite because it is near the front with a busy road and active railroad. The Bad: The post is small thus the commissary is lacking. You can pick up basic stuff like milk or chips but much more than that you will need to go to Keesler AFB. Keesler is just 10 miles to the east and their commissary and exchange are both really nice. However if you are reading this and thinking we'll just stay at Keesler I would not recommend it unless you are rather small. The camp at Keesler is not on post and it is very tight. We would not have been able to stay there and we have been in some very tight places. The Ugly: There was nothing ugly here. The office personnel could not have been more helpful. We had some friends that were to arrive when we did but had travel issues and came a couple of days later. The office personnel handle that with ease. They also arranged it so their site was close to ours. If there was anything ugly about Shields at all it would be the speaker pole for Reveille! We were in site 77 and the pole was right in front of us. LOUD! We will certainly stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
25 Sep 2019
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Arrived in the early afternoon found our assigned site and got the coach leveled. Then went out to plug the power and water in. Found the 50 amp power had no power on one leg. My wife went over to the office and we were told we would have to move but in a few minutes the maintenance folks showed up and installed a new breaker. One of them told me that "this happens all the time here". Didn't use the facilities except for the laundry room which was good. Got diesel fuel at the NAS Exchange for $2.62. Nice exchange and commissary. We would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
August 2019
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
In regard to the directions, currently 25th St/ Pass Road is closed at the railroad tracks. How long it will be closed no one can tell me. After exiting I-10 recommend turning right off of HWY 49/25th Ave onto 28th St, travel about 3/4 mile then turn left on 33rd Ave travel about 1/4 mile and turn right onto 25th St/ Pass Road and enter through the gate. Might also look at your favorite mapping tool to verify these directions. Also beware of trying to come from the South off of HWY 90 on 33rd or 30th Ave to 25th St/ Pass Road. There are some "really really" elevated RR crossings that you might find yourself stuck on. One last comment, we have a 40' 5th Wheel and entered through the main gate (Broad St), it was not a smart move. Very tight!
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
June 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great location and helpful staff. The sites in the new section have large, level pads. One of the better famcamps that we have stayed at.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2018
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A decent park for a short stay. Good pull-thru sites. Close to commissary and BX.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan - Mar 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice pull through sites. Close to beach, resturants and an outlet mall. Small commissary and BX on base. Gas station carries diesel. Not far from a large commissary at Kessler AFB. Cable and wifi are reliable. Clean laundry facility. Trains! Trains run several times a day on nearby tracks. Horns blaring. We got use to it. Sirens! Emergency vehicles run frequently on a road just outside the fence. Got use to them too. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
March 2018 - April 2018
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have been here for 45 days and it has been a wonderful stay. The park is great. It is clean, roomy side to side and front to back and each site has its own grassy area. The ‘yards’ are meticulously maintained as is the whole park. The sites are concrete pads and the roads are asphalt. Nice, wide roads and deep sites. Wifi is good. The speed is good and we didn’t have any problems with it. The Verizon cell signal is strong and, because there are no trees, our satellite dish zoomed right in. The staff at the office are great. The park (base) is only about 6 blocks from the beautiful Gulfport beaches and there are a lot of restaurants and just about anything else you might need. Now here’s the bad news. Trains! Each day/night there are about 3 to 5 trains going through town and they blow their horns as if they are going through a school yard. There is a little traffic noise from the road to north side, but it isn’t too bad unless there are emergency vehicles. And, there are emergency vehicles in this area often. All in all, we would stay here again and again. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
April 2018
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is our first time at this facility and I'd say won't be the last! What a great location! There are miles of beaches nearby and not even close to being crowded. And even if one section were crowded, you just head west or east and find you a spot! The restaurants are great, plenty of seafood and fishing, the people are friendly; it's just and all-around great place to visit! Now for the park: Location: As I said, brilliant! Great location; I-10 is just a few miles north of the park, too. There are two parks, the older park beside the cemetery, just inside the gate; and a newer park at the back of the base by the lake. Cleanliness/Hospitality: The office staff have been friendly and helpful; the Men's Room was a bit dirty on arrival, but has been spotless thereafter. Amenities/Facilities: All amenities are well serviced and maintained. Laundry facility is great ($1.50 to wash and dry one load, for us). The NEX, Commissary, and NEX Gas/Convenience store are easy to find with helpful signage, though there are towards the back of the base. Value: Considering how civilian campgrounds gouge you for $40-60/night, these days, it's a spectacular value... Overall Experience: Awesome! One note: we stayed in site #12 in the old section, just inside the gate, and it floods when it rains. So, does site #11. It eventually drains and dries, but just know that if you get either spot, it will flood when it rains (an inch, or more of rain).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
96 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5