Camp Meade RV Park

Featured
 
4.2 (85)
97497 1 15 2 46

User reviews

85 reviews
 
46%
 
41%
 
7%
 
5%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.6(85)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(85)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(85)
Value
 
3.8(85)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(85)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
85 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
1 MAY 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice park on Ft Mede for Military/DOD personnel. Price is consistent with other Military FAMCAMPS in the DC Area. Current construction around the post makes for challenging entry. As of May 1 2019, Llewylen Avenue is closed to inbound traffic, so the best (only!) way in is on Reece Road (Main Gate) Make your best way to MD-295 and take Exit 16 to Annapolis Road (MD-175) [i.e. follow the signs to Ft. Meade) Continue down Annapolis through some very heavy construction (but doable in a 45' Motorhome towing a Jeep Cherokee) and get in the LEFT Turn Lane at Reece Road. Either of the lanes at the Main Gate can accommodate a Big Rig RV. Continue down Reece to Cooper AVE and turn LEFT. Go to Llewylen AVE and turn LEFT and continue to Wilson St and turn RIGHT. The Outdoor Rec will be on your left @ 1/4 mile down Wilson. Pull in (4 Big Rig RV Lanes are available) and register. RV Park is directly ahead from the RV Parking Lanes. I have been to Ft. Belvoir and IMHO the FAMCAMP there is better for a few dollars more (after all you are RIGHT on the Potomac at Belvoir!) That said, what with all the construction in the Metro DC area, if you are coming from the Northwest or Northeast, I would opt for Ft Meade rather than fighting the traffic through the DC area. You can travel to and from Baltimore or Washington, D.C. by using the MARC Train, a local commuter system available Monday through Friday from 5 a.m. to midnight. The nearest MARC stations to Fort Meade are the BWI Rail Station, the Odenton Station and Savage Station. For more information, visit www.mtamaryland.com. Notes: 1. If you drive past the softball fields on the left and MEDAC Unit on the Right, you have missed the turn in to the RV Park on Wilson. 2. Llewylen Avenue will go through housing and look very *very* narrow but all is well and you can make it - trees are trimmed to 14' so clearance is OK.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
November 2020
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our 2nd time at Camp Meade. Very well run campground. Check in was a breeze. Need a code for gate to enter the campground. It was close to full while we were there. Quite a few appeared to be long termers. Due to Covid, the bath house was closed, laundry was open. Only thing of note since our last visit were the gates. We entered by Reece (as description above states) and was easy to get to the campground. On the weekend when we returned to the base Reece Gate was closed on both weekend days. We used Mapes gate instead, which always was busy. Not sure why Reece was closed as it states it is open 24/7. If having to take Mapes gate , it is just a short distance from Reece Gate. Also, the gal at check in said they had WiFi in the laundry building now. We connected a couple times from our site, but the connection usually didn't work. All in all it was a great visit and spacious sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Nov-Jan 2015
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We 'wintered' here and it was perfect! They allow you to skirt your RV unlike Andrews which helped allot. Nice office with multiple employees with regular hours. Can refill propane onsite. Two large shower/ laundry facilities. 5 miles from Metro.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Aug 18-27, 2018
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
$36-42/day concrete slab/water/electric/sewer with picnic table and fire ring/bbq We typically have our route planned out in advance but recently we impromptu decided to head to MD earlier than planned. Thankfully the helpful staff was able to squeeze us into 3 sites over 4 days. Pros: Relatively level concrete slabs Pull thru and back in sites Cabins for rent Located on base (ID scan to enter base required) FHU sites Bathrooms were up to date, temperature controlled and well maintained and only accessible with code Handicap shower rooms Washer/dryers (1.25 a load) Walking trail within campground Cable/TVs available in Lounge building Commissary/Exchange nearby Only 20 mins from BWI Additional parking available for those with additional vehicles/guests visiting Rentals available at check in building (grills, games, etc) Cons: Internet only available at lounge/laundry/bathhouse building Fair amount of long term residents Must enter through main gate – the directions given on app/military campground book take you to a large truck entrance that is no longer open *As always be cautious leaving the base, the serpentine exit could be tricky with a larger rig 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
May 2012 - Present
(Updated: June 25, 2012)
Overall rating
 
1.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Most of the staff are friendly and courteous, however, since our arrival, the manager of the Camp Meade RV Park is extremely strict. The day I arrived, it we were moved three times. That evening, the office called me and said that I was given a refund for having to move so much (which I thought was great). Then the very next day, the office called me again stating that I needed to return the refund. I went to the office and requested to speak to the manager. He was very provocative and showed complete disrespect for me and my wife. Lately, I’ve gotten reports from various people who are staying there and they are telling me that he is extremely strict, has people moving in the middle of their stay (which included an elderly person who is disabled). None of the people whom I spoken with want to bring this up to the management because they feel the manager will “find” a reason to kick them out of the park. I do not recommend anyone stay at this park until the current manager is terminated. He is not military friendly nor does he have any customer service skills. I do not have the time to list the rest of the actions this individual has done. Again, I caution anyone coming here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Aug 31 -Sep 6 2018
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This is very convenient if visiting DC but there are lots of long term people here. Acorns dropping on the roof drove me nuts but the bugle or loud speaker woke us up every morning because it was super loud which it is a necessity on a military base. It is a very nice campground but I had to leave a day early and hate it that they do not refund unused days. We made a reservation back in February for Sep but they never contacted me to say that it had to be paid in full before May 1st or the new rates took effect. I would have paid in full but no one contacted me so that's life. Great showers and laundry. No playground for kids and tight one way roads to get in. At least they had propane refills and it was safe on base. We could have paid 80 bucks for Cherry hill but this campsite is definitely worth the cost.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
August/September 2019
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very well kept. We had full hookups. A bit more expensive than other military RV parks, but convenient to everything and gated. Much less expensive than KOA's and other civilian campgrounds. Easy check in with the office next to the park entrance. Would recommend.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
November 23-December 17, 2010
(Updated: December 20, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Super campground!!! Previous reviews were spot on, friendly staff, well maintained all-season campground. Just a few negatives but have to say the negatives are no different than every other campground, military or not, all over the country. Speed limit is posted in two locations at 5mph and no one does under 20mph but it is the same all over post with everyone doing at least 10mph over the posted speed limit. Very surprising since when we arrived and there were children playing all over the campground. Received a packet of information and rules when we arrived such as pets on leash and to pick up after them. Three dogs were constantly off their leash and most of the "homesteaders" (although they are required to move around the campground) don't pick up after their dogs even though bags are provided. Two of the three dogs were let out without a leash or owner present. They both came after our dog and I had to step in to make sure they weren't going to do anything. Other than those two items great area to walk, watch deer, blue jays, geese, and ducks. Very quiet while we were there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
Sept 7-12, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have stayed at this park before and would do so again. Yes, the price is high for a Famcamp but when you consider the area it is just fine. We have stayed at a few Famcamps that are in the $30 range. We paid $33 a night here. Our only complaint about the campground - the building next door has a brand new loudspeaker that they are very proud of and it is LOUD! Reveille is played at 6:30 AM, colors at 5:00 PM and Taps at 9:00 PM. You will not miss them as the sound echoes through the park. Not the parks fault but don't jump a foot when it starts! I am used to hearing these, just not so LOUD. I submitted a change to the directions. Once you get through the commercial gate and turn left on Mapes road, follow it until it ends at Ernie Pyle Road and turn right. Turn right at Llewellyn (stop sign), and then left on Wilson. Outdoor Rec will be up on your left. Park in the lot and check in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
May 5 through June 1, 2014
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We have stayed here multiple times over the past couple of years, and there is one thing of which you can be sure--nothing ever changes. Yes, it is an ideal location. Yes, they have nice, wide concrete sites. Yes, there is not another RV park in the area that comes close to the price of this park. With that being said, there has been no effort to improve the RV experience at this park in years. We paid $231 per week for our four week stay. We have stayed in many military RV parks across the eastern and southern United States, and nobody charges more for less than this park. The water quality is absolutely horrible. There is a lot of iron in the water, and dark orange surges are common. Plan on going through at least one water filter per week. There are many overhanging trees throughout the park that need trimming. It is virtually impossible to drive through the park without brushing against tree branches. There is still no WiFi and there is no plan to add it to the park's amenities. The office staff is friendly enough, but after you check in, you will not hear from them again unless they have a problem with something you are doing. Here is the crazy thing--we will definitely stay here again because it is still the best deal in the area--and they know it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
Aug 25-Sept 7, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This park is one of the best on the East Coast. Is the best and the closest Army park to DC. Andrews AFB is closer, but does not come close to this park. The staff is not only friendly, but helpful. My wife and I are full-timers and we have a 40' Class A. If there is a negative to this park it is the number of active duty that are living here, but even they are required to move every month or so, no homesteading. I would probably recommend this park for an award, at least for Army RV Park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 5-11 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
From making reservations to leaving this was a very positive stay. Thanks to the entire staff at the park office this was one of the most enjoyable experiences we have had in the military campground system. Two examples of the outstanding and friendly staff were the gentleman who provided us with a 7 blade connection tester and the young lady with the hat (Namoi) who was always ready to help anyone who walked in the door of the office (and believe me I need a lot of help). The park like environment, the facilities, and the post all were immaculate. The only negative comment about the campground I could make was site #43 is not very level but that was only a minor problem. The only negative about the post was - no driving range for the golf course. Fort Meade should be very proud of its RV park and its MWR staff. I would recommend this campground to anyone who wants to enjoy the Baltimore, Annapolis, and Washington DC area. The cable tv worked fine, we did not need our satellite since cable was so good and the antenna is even better with so many Baltimore and Washington DC channels in HD. I would rank this campground as one of the best in the military system and I have stayed in quite a few over the last two years of fulltiming.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 2012
(Updated: April 15, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here for 5 nights in April 2012. One of the better military RV parks. Fort Meade is a great military installation and this park is easy to find. Across from the park office is a lake which offers beautiful sunsets and apparently good fishing. The sites are all paved and about 70 feet long. The laundry facilities are clean and inexpensive. The cable and wifi were not available at the sites when we were there (rumored that there was a contract dispute) however I used the lounge wifi which was excellent. Another plus is the proximity to DC. About 5 mins away by car, there a MARC station with free parking. From that station (Oddenton), you can purchase a ticket for $5 and within 30 mins, you are at Union Station. The MARC is a nice, safe commuter train. It should be noted that the administration has notes posted everywhere informing that the rates have increased effective April 1, 2012. For example: from $24 to $35 a day for the back in sites. It is quite a jump but well worth it. We would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 9-12, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed in cabin 1. The front room had a double bed tucked securely into the corner. No way for person #2 to get in and out of bed without scrambling over person #1. So my husband took one of the bunks in the second room. The bunk beds were too short and narrow for him (he is 6'2) so after the first night, he slept on the floor on one of our Thermarests...the cabin has a small fridge/freezer...The doors were hung incorrectly, so they drag - that would be an easy fix. Also, the area in front of the cabin is sand - hard to avoid tracking sand into the cabin. It would be nice if they replaced that sand with concrete...the bathhouse is nice - large laundry room, game room and lounge room, individual shower rooms (great), even an exercise bike! We ate dinner at the commissary - nice food court...Terrific location to DC and USNA. Even though our cabin had some issues, it was still a good value. I would return!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 24 - July 8, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The location of Ft Meade and the quality of the RV Park make it an ideal, reasonably-priced place to set up a base camp for visiting POI’s in Washington DC, Baltimore, Annapolis, Gettysburg, and all the other historic and cultural sites in the surrounding area. This is our fourth two-week stay at Ft Meade. The RV Park offers more than just RV back-in or pull-thru sites. They have a large “Group Camping Area” for tent campers with an adjacent restroom/shower facility. The tent area has very limited shade so it would probably be advisable to have some type of canopy to lessen the effects of being in the hot, direct sun. The park also offers four small, air conditioned cabins which are part of back-in sites #’s 1, 8 (Handicap Accessible), 2B & 3B. It appears that the RV site-Cabin combinations are under-utilized. The concept provides a cost-effective lodging solution for groups when an RV alone cannot accommodate the lodging needs of the group. We will have two guests joining us during our second week and have already planned their stay in our RV. If we have guests during future stays at Ft Meade we will strongly consider the RV site/Cabin combination. Like most military campgrounds, Ft Meade also seems to have their share of active-duty homesteaders. However, the presence of homesteader does not seem to deprive recreational campers from being able to get a site. There appears to be RV’s coming and going every day, leaving several sites vacant each day. Having said that, we would not risk coming here without a reservation. We like to believe that we have a positive attitude about Ft Meade, but also recognize that it has opportunities for improvement. This review process is not the forum to complain or influence change. There are other ways to communicate those efforts directly to the organizations that have the means to implement changes or improvements. And finally, while in this area enjoy everything it has to offer – especially a trip to the Chesapeake Bay area for steamed blue crabs or crab cakes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
25 November - 27 November 2011
(Updated: December 01, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My wife and I stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend. We found the RV park to be top notch and a great value. The park is extremely clean, easy to navigate around and the office personnel are extremely helpful and friendly. We had our dog with us and the morning and afternoon walk around Burba Lake was awesome. It is amazing how secluded and quiet this park is, even though you are in the middle of Ft. Meade. We will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 4-11, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at the Ft Meade Campground as a stopping place on our trip down to and back from Myrtle Beach. When we got to our site on our way down we all looked at each other and said "Can we stay here for the week?" Very clean campground with well layed out sites. We had a back in site on our way down and a pull through on the way back. I had no trouble getting a 42' 5th wheel into and out of either. The MWR Office was very helpful with both of our nights being on the weekend when they are closes. I got phone messages on my cell phone giving us the codes to get into the campground and for the shower facility. We are already planning on coming down and staying to do the "Washington" thing some time next year and will definitely stay here when we do.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 14, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is one of the most expensive military campground we have been in but it is still 50% of the going rate for the area. We entered Fort Meade from Route 32 into the NSA gate as directed by the MWR personnel. Be aware that there are absolutely no directional signs for the campground anywhere on the post. The last turn onto Wilson can be easily missed because you will be turning left but the road sign is on the right side nearly hidden by a tree. We did not use the showers/restrooms but did take a look at them and they are some of the nicest we have seen. Individual showers with large sink and toilet in each shower room. We had plenty of room with a 40 footer towing a minivan on a level concrete pad. Laundry looked very nice too. Exercise room consisted of one stationery bike and some sort of ab exercise gizmo. Overall we were very pleased.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 28, 2012
(Updated: November 08, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
First, if you have a DOD Decal, I would recommend using the Reese Rd. gate off of MD 175. The Park is well maintained and quite popular, even in October / November. The Office staff were very friendly and helpful. The wifi is extra at this time, but that is suppose to change at some time in the future. The price is high, but can be mitigated by opting for a back-in, getting the weekly rate, and using the Golden Age Pass for a 20% discount. We'll be back...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
7 - 11 July 2017
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We initially had difficulty making a reservation at this campground, having been told 60 days prior that "everything is booked solid until mid-September, but when I called in late June I was told there WAS a spot open for 7-11 July as they had just that morning had a cancellation. This is understandable, but what IS a bit confusing is the fact that during our stay I noticed an average of 5-6 empty spots each evening! Also, when we checked in we were given a letter dated 14 Feb 13 - signed by the Director, MWR - stating that "Active Duty Military may make reservations up to 12 months in advance. All other adult authorized patrons may make reservations up to 11 months in advance." No mention is made of "peak" or "non-peak" seasons: this is in conflict of above, which speaks of 30 days in advance in "peak" season & 60 days in "non-peak" season. Oh, well! Anyways, it's a very nice campground in a great location! Easy access to Annapolis (visit the USNA!), D.C. & Baltimore. The Outdoor Rec staff is friendly & helpful! We had a VERY nice meal at the Hideaway restaurant in Odenton, MD about 15 mins outside the front gate. ENJOY!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
85 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5