Barksdale AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.2 (93)
102881 1 19 1 55

User reviews

93 reviews
 
44%
 
37%
 
15%
 
2%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.1(93)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.1(93)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(93)
Value
 
4.4(93)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(93)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
93 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
October 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The 20 new sites are finished. They are long, wide, flat, concrete, pull-thru sites with full hookups. Still $20 a night. THEY DO TAKE RESERVATIONS NOW for the new sites. The hookups are conventionally placed and still shiny new. Driving instructions are still good. Check-in is at the old section and the new section is down the road (next right turn). The new section has its own bathhouse and laundry. The office/clubhouse in the old section is walking distance down a back driveway. This is a lovely quiet park in a secluded part of the base. Lots of tall trees around the park and deer who walk up onto the lawn. Had no trouble getting satellite DISH TV coverage. Verizon cell is pretty good. Park WIFI is weak. It is a 5+ mile drive around the flight line and down narrow tree-lined streets to the commissary and BX, but the BX and commissary are nice and well stocked. There is an asphalt perimeter path that winds all around this part of the base; great for walking and bicycle riding. There is a nearby park for children (walking distance) and lakes for fishing and hunting on base within a few miles of the park. The map of base given out at the office is really horrible, hard to read, a partial map, with an inscrutable legend, and not oriented to the compass. Manager says new brochure and map will soon be available.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
Jan 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Accessing base plenty easy, didn’t need to stop and wait for SF to move poles. We are 36’ with toad and could wiggle through barriers without issue. The Famcamp office gave instructions to find our site but guess didn’t listen close enough, sites 43 and up are in the second entrance passed the main famcamp entrance. This is newer part of the fampcamp with lots of grassy space between sites and concrete pads. Access road is gravel with some potholes but easy enough to navigate. Very nicely done addition. Wi-fi was strong even one of the sites at end of famcamp. Plenty of empty sites available the night we stayed. The famcamp is better than 10 miles from the main gate and on the opposite side of the flight line from the main base. We liked the new addition and would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
January 8 - 11, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first time staying here. we decided to stay at the famcamp mostly because of the security. 100 percent id check. the famcamp was great for us it was not crowded and the showers and bathrooms are close to any site. the bathrooms could have been cleaned more. our site was level so we did not need levelers. the sites are spacious and plenty of room between sites. we used the east gate mostly which comes out at haughton was only about 5 minutes from the famcamp. the office people were great and very helpful. washers and dryers were available at $1.25 each. we will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
JAN 2020
(Updated: January 26, 2020)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice size lots (43'rig) with level pads 30/50A-WS, facilities are nearby, lots of shade so solar won't help you much here. However, this park is located in the "box field" approach landing pattern so you'll experience some daytime (at least while we were present) B52 low-level flyovers. Overall, this park rates 4/5 in our book. Another close-to base RV Park we'd recommend is the Diamond Jacks RV park which is only 2.5-3 miles from the West Gate. Their rates range from $26-$34 depending on discount/day of week.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
27 Oct 2010
(Updated: October 27, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We just arr'ed for a 2 wk stay. So this is just a quick, emergency info entry for someone reading up on Barksdale before coming here soon. It's full !Packed !Overflowing. If you're inbound & reading this- pls call first. No they don't take reservations but they're great with current info & advise. They've been this full for several weeks according to the staff. There are no real RV sites empty; and there are MH's & RV's in every possible overflow spot that can reach electricity. My retiree neighbor says most of the "campers" are civilian contractors working on the new FEMA trailer/mobilehome "city", being constructed next door to the Famcamp. Pls don't get me started on civilians using the FamCamp. That's for the community blog section. Paul & Teresa were super helpful getting me squeezed into a makeshift spot that still got us w/e. I see some trailers that have been here for yrs. I really love this FamCamp & the staff but it's turning slowly into a "trailer park" in my opinion.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
May 2014
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We had hoped to spend two nights here so we'd have a day of rest before getting on the road again. We are heading home to Nevada from visiting family in Pensacola. We are a bit disappointed in this FAMCAMP. Too many homesteaders with all their "stuff" piled up outside their rigs. When we called this morning to see if there was a possibility of an open site the phone rang 12 times each of the 3 times we called. About noon we got a call back. They must have a way to tell who called as there was no way to leave a message. We were told there were plenty of sites so we came on in. When we got here we saw why there were sites available - they were all the "backwards" ones. We were told to drive around and pick our site and then come back and pay and let them know which site we chose. Utilities are on the wrong side of the RV in half the sites. Yes, some have driven in forwards so it works for them, and then driven the tow vehicle across the grass. No problem hooking up water and power but our sewer hose wasn't long enough to cross under the 5th wheel to reach the sewer. So, we are only staying one night. There is a dump station, but it seems as if it would be an issue to use - you have to park in the middle of the road to use it and no one could get by you if they needed to get out while you were dumping. Love the greenbelt area between the sites and all the trees are nice, but weird parking and the feeling of not belonging. Won't come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Nov. 13- Dec 13, 2012
(Updated: November 17, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
It's back to Barksdale AFB. Didn't see any current reviews so here's a brief update. Exit 23 off I-20 is still the preferred entrance gate. I-20 construction has not reached it yet. Lots of SP's on base patrolling for speeders. The long winding road around the back of base to the RV park has construction, so be aware. The new main gate construction is complete & the gate is open but it's NOT for trucks or RV's. The RV park has lots of open spaces now. It is the quietest we've seen it in 3 winters. Most of the FEMA trailers turned tempo family qtrs are empty and it appears that most of the "trashy" full-timer, RV spaces have been vacated or cleaned up. Welcomed news for us since we really love Barksdale. RV park facilities and base facilities are unchg'ed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
May 4, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The campground has two separate sections. The directional signage for both campgrounds is minimal and could definitely be improved. The two campgrounds are very close together. The newer section is all long pull throughs without any trees. Some will prefer the older section with mature trees but shorter back-in sites. Entering the Commercial gate was not easy. Again signage is minimal. If no one is standing outside, it appears to be a closed up blocked off road. We ended up having to unhook our toad and back up in order to pass over the open inspection trench in the ground. Security personnel were uncomfortable with the different wheel width span of our motorhome and our toad. We would definitely stay here again now that we know how to get in and where to go after the gate. A good base map would be a great handout. The base map we were given was illegible. The campground personnel were friendly and efficient. Verizon service was very good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
Sept. 14, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The FamCamp at Barksdale AFB has added a new section (OCT 2018). We stayed overnight at one of their sites on a recent trip. The older camp is adjacent to the new one and appears more used. The newer one has all concrete pull through pads (appox 60 ft). Easily fit our Class C and appeared to be large enough for any thing I saw in the park, including their tow behind vehicles. Large area between pads (15-20 feet) made for a nice quiet night. Wi-Fi was powerful enough to handle watching my FireStick without any lag. The bathhouse and laundry were as you would expect for a less than 1 year old camp. Well maintained and clean. The roadways were gravel, but in good condition. The whole camp seemed a bit sterile though. No trees at all. Appeared they clear cut an area of the base's woodland and plopped down 50+ RV pads. Full hookups - but no personality at all. Good for an overnight stay, but not sure I would have like and extended stay. There was nothing to see or do in the campground and I don't tow a vehicle. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
16 May 14
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We stay here every year on our way to New Mexico. If you want a site you need to plan to get here EARLY in the day! No reservations made here! The office staff has always been courteous when I have called in making sure they still have spaces open. These are some of the oddest sites. Some of the sites have hookups on the opposite side from where one needs them. So, make sure you have plenty of water hose & electric to reach. Pretty much everything is on the other side of the base. There is a convenience store on past the famcamp but only the smallest of rigs - class b would get in there with any ease. I love the sounds of freedom that comes across the sky here at Barksdale.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
August 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice quiet place to stay. It's a Air Force Base with B-52s so some noise during flying hours. Cement sites with calichie roads. Nice clean bath house. Quick stop just down the road. We'll stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Oct 2, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
There are two part to this park. The office is in the older part of the park. It looks like many long term campers. Fear not the new part of the park is about a block away. It has level cement pads full hooks ups and easy satellite views (no trees). Cell service (Verizon) was poor but usable. The bathhouse was a gem. Clean and well maintained. Just like we have become accustomed to at every AFB. We were there in the fall and there were many spaces available.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
15-16 April 2019
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Good value and very clean facilities. We were just passing through and stayed for a night. The site was level and having a trash can at each site was a nice touch. It had rained that day and many sites had pretty large mud puddles. The laundry and bathrooms were very clean and well maintained. Will stay again but it is a long way from the commissary/exchange.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 2021
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Kind of the back of beyond for the post, for Shreveport, on the eastern side. Pretty straight forward getting there IF you come in the commercial gate. Right off I20, then a few turns and miles and you're there. Nice shaded older first come first served area and a newer reservablerea no shade. Concrete pads, picnic table, good utilties, spacious sites. Gravel roads starting some potholes, Functional, clean bathhouse/laundry. OK wifi and Verizon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 2-4, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed two nights en route to CO. Pulling a 27’ Airstream. 50 amps and pull thrus available. We stayed on the old side of the FamCamp with a lot of shade and adequate space between sites.Very quiet and pretty with minimal bugs amazingly enough. A lot of full timers in this section. The restroom and showers were dirty so BYOB - bring your own bleach. All dogs were leashed! They did not ask us for shot records for our dog.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
25 Oct 2016
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Visited but didn't stay overnight. Talked to long-time mgnr, Teresa. She said big upgrades will begin April 2017. 20 new pull-thru' sites are being added. They will be back down the new road that currently leads to the refurbished FEMA trailers (now cute little cottage looking units). There is a new gate to Barksdale AFB in the new family housing area, approx. 5 miles beyond the FamCAmp. It doesn't admit RV's or big trucks. The gate that RV'ers now must use (detailed above) off of I-20, exit 23 -has new hours. It now closes at 1715 daily. If you're coming to Barksdale plan on arriving before it closes. There are no other gates that large enough to handle large trucks, RV's, motorhomes, etc. Besides these chg's Barksdale FamCamp looked about the same. Some of the vacant sites are the ones with "backwards" hookups and can't be used by most RV'ers. maybe they'll get those fixed during the big upgrade next yr. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
March 15 2019
Overall rating
 
3.1
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
We visited for three days and were assigned a spot in the new area. The design of this new campground leaves lots to be desired. The campground has gravel roads with minimum sized concrete parking pad and grassy area around the pad. Once you park on the concrete pad there is hardly enough room left to put your chair outside your door. The whole area is low land and the grassy area was soft, wet and mushy. Designers could have made the pads larger similar to Kings Bay GA, for example. Where on a single concrete pad you can park your RV, put the awning out with your chairs, and still have room for the picnic table. There are no trees or shrubs in this new construction. Very sparse looking. Even the old area had water and mud puddles at the parking locations. This is a good campground to go to if you are passing through, but I would not consider this a worthy recreational long term site. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
June 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We just finished a five week cross country trip from FL to CA and back in May. We stayed at 9 military RV parks. All are very different. This was by far my favorite military RV park. It was nice and quiet. The folks there are extremely helpful and nice. We stayed in the clubhouse watching TV and using the Internet while we did our laundry. The commissary and Exchange is a few miles away from the RV park. Just a lovely, comfortable place to stay. I highly recommend. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 7, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I was traveling east on Hwy 20 and just followed the signs to Barksdale which got us off on exit 23. The commercial gate is not even a mile from the exit. Just wanted to add a comment. There is a comment by 2chiefsrus on May 4, 2021 about the inspection trench that I wish I would have read before I went through the commercial gate. I too have a coach with a toad and there is an obvious difference in the wheel width of the two. Security was helpful enough to line up the coach but didn't really notice or care about the toad. After checking my ID, I started to pull forwarded and immediately left like there was some resistance in moving forward. Turns out, because of the wheel width difference between the coach and the toad, the toad was a bit too far left and the drivers side tires were rubbing against the inspection trench guide rails. Don't know if it would have done a lot of damage if I kept driving nor do I want to think what would have happened if I would have pulled the car over the guide rails and the toad fell into the trench. Anyway, As soon as I felt the resistance, I stopped and went out and looked, noticed the problem right a way and simply had by DW pull the coach forward while I walked next to the toad and steered it over the inspection trench. Easy enough correction if you are aware of it. So if you have a toad, I don't think it's needed to unhook, just make sure to toad is aligned up as well as the coach.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 2-4 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I'd pretty much decided not to come here but made a change in route plan and am very glad I did. It's a great little park, quiet, off by itself. I rated amenities low just because of the rather dumb layout of some sites. Whoever thought the side by side nose to tail arrangement was good?? Also those sites tend to be rather small. I was lucky to get single site 18 and even that was quite hard to get backed into. The road is narrow, there are deep ditches to beware of and after the heavy rain we'd just had I was trying hard not to tear up the grass. So just because you're told there are many sites available doesn't necessarily mean they'll work for you. It would be helpful if camp personnel assigned sites based on rig size so everyone had a fair shot. But then they'd have to understand rig handling so I guess that's a dumb idea. The base is very attractive with a great commissary and bx.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
93 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5