Little Rock AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.1 (70)
78959 1 20 0 31

User reviews

70 reviews
 
36%
 
43%
 
19%
 
3%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.3(70)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0(70)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.6(70)
Value
 
4.3(70)
Overall Experience
 
4.1(70)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
70 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4
Ordering
Feb 22-Mar 21 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
There are changes to the campground. The new section has opened up with an 10 additional winterized sites. Four older sites are closed for pad repair. There is no longer a 14 day maximum stay. The Outdoor Recreation Manager says 30 day max for non-TDY campers with a 30 day extension upon approval for a maximum of 60 days. There is a monthly rate of $450 and the daily rate is now $20/day. Two Washers/Dryers are now in the laundry room. Noticed the washers were $1/load. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 15 0
September 11, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This review was left using the Directory software by T.M. - Part of the park is great and part not so great that face the parking lot. Since they don't take reservations, we were stuck in the not so great part. There were only 2 spots left and one had no sewer hookup, neither had a picnic table. The one we chose had no patio either. It was ok for us because we were only spending one night. But if we were going to be other than over-nighters we would have been very disappointed. The park was easy to get to and had instructions on a board for registering after hours, which was very helpful. We filled out the paper, put it in the envelope provided along with our $20 and left early the next morning. Complete honor system with no contact with anyone. Thank you for trusting us Little Rock! Just to note, if we were lucky enough to have gotten one of the sites deep in the park all the ratings below would have been "Fantastic".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
Sep 15 - Oct 9, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First let me say we travel in a 43ft motorhome and tow a 4 door Jeep and these sites can handle it. Even the pull-through sites in the newer section can handle our 43 ft (just barely) but not leaving the tow connected. The campsites are nearby the commissary and exchange. Most of the sites have a patio with a picnic table. There was no wifi but our AT&T cell service worked fine. OTA TV also worked well. Sat TV works great in the pull-throughs but the back-ins are along a treeline so I am not sure for those sites. If approaching Jacksonville from the south, (from I-40) take the Main Street exit. Pass under Highway 67/167 and turn right on Marshall which will lead you to the main gate. This is easier than taking exit 11 off highway 67/167. The gate at highway 107 is manned 24/7 also but do not try to enter here with your rig. Well unless you are in a class B. However this gate is very close to the camp and you can take 107 to North Little Rock and all the stores it has to offer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
OCT - DEC 2021
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We have stayed here many times. We are originally from the area and return for doctors and family. This camp has had a policy change. As of Oct there is no longer a discount when staying for a month. The old price was 15 a day. Now it is just 20 a day. When we asked why the change we were told the OIC had done some research and they were bringing pricing in line to match what other camps were doing. Unfortunately they have not upgraded the camp except to fix the first part of the road coming into the camp. We will stay here again because there are few places in the Little Rock area. Just wish the camp was more "in line" with the other camps for facilities/pricing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
July 17, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Easy access off of I 40. About 5 miles onto the base. It is a very scenic campground with some campsites shaded with the trees that border the grounds. There is a lovely pond with fountain that people were fishing in. Beautiful nature walk area and children's play yard adjacent to campground. There are quite a few long term people. We arrived late afternoon on a Sunday. I called camp host and got no answer but we drove to the campground and there was plenty of empty spaces. There was an ' Honor System' message board with numbers of available campsites and envelopes for payment with a secure Dropbox. $15 bucks a night was very reasonable in my book for this campground. The bathrooms were locked with a access code box. Luckily another camper we met shared the code so we could shower. The showers were nice and clean as was the laundry room. We did not visit the commissary or exchange during our overnight stay. I would not hesitate to stay there again. Very nice facility. A real bargain in my book. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
3-5 May 2012
(Updated: May 13, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We spent three nights, we enjoyed our stay, facilities were nice. The camp host tries to keep the camp as nice as he can. Like all bases any profits made have to be shared with all MWR facilities so if all facilities aren't making money all suffer. The park is in a wooded area so the snakes were active. Would be nice if base could help clean up and cut undergrowth back. There are a lot of facilities in walking distance, a couple of miles. We used bowling alley and Hangar 1080 (Club). There were plenty of open spots while we were there. TV antenna picks up major stations and I have a card for my computer and it worked well.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
March 30-April 2 2018
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We had no problem finding this campground, even despite the Sentry's error in directions at the gate (told us to turn left, when it should have been right; plenty of signage, though, so we caught it). Out site was clean, our hosts were friendly and hospitable and the amenities were plentiful and convenient. Just to expound on each individual rated trait: Location: it's a bit out of the way from the interstates, but not terribly so. Signage to the base was adequate. Cleanliness/Hospitality: Camp hosts, Larry and Patty, were outstanding and very friendly. Bathrooms could use a little attention, though. Also, newcomers be forewarned, the bathroom doors ARE coded! So, if you have to go, do it before you arrive (especially after hours!) Amenities/Facilities: Sites were clean and well-kept. We did not see any homesteaders, or even signs of homesteaders during our stay. The nature trail was nice and the gas station/convenience stores, BX and Commissaries were all close by and quite useful. Value: Considering a lot of civilian campgrounds want $40-60/night, nowadays; and even state parks want $20-25/night, I think it's a top-rate value! Overall Experience: Very pleased! Will camp here, again... 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Nov. 23 - 27, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed for a few days for Thanksgiving week. We also stayed in the "back 40", with no sewer. But that was alright with us. We did use the dump station when leaving. There were available sites all week. However, the FHU sites were full when we arrived, but a couple opened up after one night. We still stayed in the back lot. It does seem like a few long-term residents are taking the FHU sites. Camp host was gone on vacation, but other campers were helpful. We registered at MWR, which were friendly and helpful. They had a base map for us there. Campground is a little run down and old, but not terrible. We enjoyed our visit here and would return. Price is PERFECT for the facility and a military benefit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
April 26, 2016
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed here one night while traveling east and enjoyed our stay.  There is a lot of construction on 67/167 so it can get backed up.  Getting to the camp was confusing with the construction on base on Vandenberg Rd with no detour signs.  If the construction is still ongoing and the left turn to Arnold Rd from Vandenberg is closed, take the next left at Thomas Ave, left on Cannon Dr, then right on Arnold. We were greeted right away by camp host Rick and told which spots were available, to pick one then come back with the site information and payment.  Despite what is listed, all sites are full hookup.  There are eight pull thru sites and the rest back in.  We had a pull thru concrete site which was plenty wide but the length of the concrete pad was a little short.  The rear tires of our 35 ft 5th wheel were at the edge as were the front tires of our truck, which might make for an issue with larger rigs.  There was a large lip between the pad and the road on the front and back, so take it slow.  All the utilities worked well, no wifi or cable, but Verizon coverage was good as was over the air TV reception.  There is a nice picnic area near the entrance of the park and walking trails nearby.  We did not hear a lot of jet noise, which was very nice. The value is great (how can you beat $15 for a full hookup pull thru), the location is quiet, it can be a great park, we just didn't spend enough time there to get a long term feel for it.  If passing through again we would definitely return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
March 20, 2013
(Updated: March 30, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Had a wonderful stay and always look forward to passing through each year. We come through about 4 times each year. The facilities are clean, never saw any mold as mentioned in previous review, just needs to be updated. Good to see that they finished the electric on the hill and it's all upgraded to 50amp when before it was only 30amp. I have known Noel and his wife for a couple of years and they are wonderful people and very military minded. In fact she is a disabled vet and he is a disabled civilian, and it doesn't keep him from getting anything done that needs done, including cleaning sites that are left in a mess and damaged. Very kind and giving people. I have learned that her father and 2 brothers are also retired Air Force so they are definitely all about the military and taking care of them. They always give priority to Active Duty military and their families. I saw them take food and drink to people needing assistance while passing thru and give rides to the commissary for groceries. You can't beat good people like that. Again, if your traveling thru Arkansas, stop by, you can't beat $12 per night and wonderful hosts.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
March 16-19 2017
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The ramp at exit 11 is a mess. There's a stop sign at the bottom where you must merge with traffic on the frontage road. That traffic has stop lights. When things are busy traffic backs up way onto the freeway. You have to wait for some kind soul to let you merge in. It may be better to get off at the Main St. exit and take Marshall Rd in. You will still be outside the gate. Once through security it's easy to find the famcamp. We were told there were at least 7 open spots but 2 of them are not very user friendly. They're sort of a "Y" shape with a shared driveway. If one site is full they'd have to move their vehicle to let you in. The first sites, including these, are relatively small and close together. The main area has good pull throughs up the center,most of which are taken by permanent guests. You can tell by the elaborate patios. The wooded back-ins around the edges are decent. We had plenty of room and the trees/brush were well trimmed. There's no diesel on base but we were lucky to find a firestone store and got much needed new tires put on the next day. If you need to go to outdoor rec, it's located in the rear of the auto shop building. The large sign on the awning says Arts and Crafts but look for the lettering on the door that says outdoor rec.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
August 2022
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
First time visit. We called ahead to see if there would be available campsites. There were plenty of sites to choose from. Most of the sites are pull-through with FHU. Some sites on the perimeter are back in. Bath house was pretty clean. There were two washers and two dryers in the laundry room. One washer has been broke down for "months" from what we were told. As others have said, there is a shoppette within a short walking distance. The commissary and BX are further away, about a mile or so. Retirees are authorized to eat at the dining facility but we didn't give it a try. All off-base amenities are available within a short drive. Overall, we had a very pleasant visit. We would return again.
Little Rock AFB FamCamp
Little Rock AFB FamCamp
Little Rock AFB FamCamp
Little Rock AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
28 June 2016
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice pull-thrus, clean, manicured park.  Nature trail nearby.  Express store located with walking distance.  Bathhouse needs to be updated, but was reasonably clean. Since I did not check in at the office - used self check in at the campground - I did not get any information about facilities on base.  A map would have been nice. If passing through the area again, I will stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
9 Feb 2018
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
It had been several years since we were at the Little Rock AFB Fam Camp and was in the area to watch our grandson play college basketball. Just did a drive-thru and saw a lot of construction taking place; more RV spaces and a new comfort station. The better pull thru sites and back-in sites were taken by "homesteaders". It looked like some of them had been there for years.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 2
Nov 18 - 24, 2010
(Updated: November 24, 2010)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I had a excellent time here.. The camp hosts are very friendly and helpful. I loved the large concrete pad. This one I rate high on the parks I have been in. Excellent place.... Thank you very much....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 20-25, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
New Camp Host named Rick, Really outgoing and friendly.  Rick has really been doing a great job making the camp a more favorable place to visit.  My wife and i are regulars there and the camp has never looked so good.  Rick is constantly keeping up with the grounds and facilities, even the wooded trails.  Thanks Rick for making our last stay a most pleasurable one. I understand they are adding more spaces in the wooded area.  Great.  When WiFi is installed it will really enhance future visits.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
17-22 May 2012
(Updated: May 24, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Excellent FAM CAMP! Nice location, within walking distance of the lakes and shoppette. Bath house cleaned daily. VERY friendly and helpful staff. Excellent commissary, BX and Fitness Center. ITT is located in the Hobby Shop but has little to offer in the Little Rock area. The base library has free WIFI with a 4 seated chair/desk lobby which is open 24/7. VERY CONVENIENT!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed in the 'back 40' so to speak. It was very nice and quiet. My husband and I enjoy the security of the base camp grounds. Great RV site! Host is active duty, very friendly and knowledgeable. Assistant camp hosts also very friendly. Camp hostess printed off, just for us, a bunch of stuff to do around Little Rock, not just on base. It was like having a hotel concierge! Facilities are nice, even has a laundry room. Too bad no air conditioning LOL! It is a campground and there will always be bugs in an outdoor restroom (not sure what Travel queen is complaining about). Be careful, there are swarms of wasps around this year but not just on the Rock! Wi-fi would certainly be a big plus!!!!
ONE WORD OF CAUTION - there is a long time camper there (not sure why since the regs are for max 14 day stays only) who is obviously full of sour grapes. Take what they have to say with a grain of salt if your are willing to listen and move on to enjoy your stay. I certainly did!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 14, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice campground with easy access. Site coordinator (Larry) is great and very helpful. In process of opening 12 new parking spots with full hook up. Each site has concrete pad with water, sewer and 30/50 AMP service. There is no Wifi at campground and no cable TV. We were able to get 40 channels of OTA TV. As we have grandchildren nearby this campground is idea for us and at $15 per night a real bargain.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
November 28, 2011
(Updated: December 01, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Perfect place to stop on our journey. Arrived in the dark but host was "johnny on the spot". Showed us an open spot and was very helpful with information we needed. Great value. We did find out that the phone number provided for "open slots" is only manned until 1300. Nice Base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
70 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4