Cliffside RV Park

 
4.8 (105)
122638 1 64 1 116

User reviews

105 reviews
 
90%
 
7%
 
4%
2 stars
 
0%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.8
Location
 
4.9(105)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.9(105)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.7(105)
Value
 
4.8(105)
Overall Experience
 
4.8(105)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
105 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6
Ordering
June 20-24, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is by far the nicest RV park I have ever stayed at. I hate staying at parks that feel like "trailer parks" if you know what I mean. This was no trailer park. The grounds are kept in immaculate condition. Grass nicely mowed, flowers everywhere, etc. We stayed in spot 9, but I don't think there is a bad spot in the place. 9 was really nice. We didn't get to select a site, but was very happy with what we got. There are 2 loops. South and north. The office is in the southern loop. We were on the northern loop. The sites on the northern loop are a little closer to the water, and our site felt like we were right on the beach. The small roads going into each loop are tight but manageable. When arriving, there is not a lot of room to park your rig while checking in, but I managed to sort of pull off to the side. Checkin was painless and the 2 gentlemen there were very nice. I paid $35/night. If you have a satellite, you will probably be good anywhere in the northern loop, and anywhere on the west side of the southern loop. If you download the brochure, it has a map of all the site. I printed this before I left and kind of had an idea of where to go and what sites I was interested in (again, I didn't get to choose). This park was full, even during the week, but again, very nice and clean. I didn't see any obvious rigs that looked like someone lived there. Lots of nice rigs. My fifth wheel is right at 36' long and fit nicely on the pad. No overhang at all. I still had another 6-7 feet towards the front. Pads are level and plenty wide. We managed to have our picnic table and some corn hole boards setup right on the pad. Plenty of room between each site as well. You are not right on top of your neighbor. Each site does have a grill, but no fire pit. They had portable fire pits everywhere so I just took one and used it (I bring my own wood). Very nice hookup stations. Sewer (with threads!!), 20, 30, & 50A, water. Wifi worked great. We have verizon and the service wasn't very good. Actually got no service on the north side of whidbey with limited service on the air station itself. Non issue since wifi was great. Plenty to do around the area. The base is really nice with a Wendy's, mini-NEX, bowling alley/arcade area, lots of fields (football/softball/track), large playground, gym, etc. The main NEX and commissary are south of the air station, about 10 minutes away. This place is great, but it's kind of like Pacific Beach in that if the weather is bad, I bet it can be miserable. It was sunny and beautiful all 4 days for us. I heard about Ken in the reviews but never met him. His work is obvious with all the beautiful flower gardens EVERYWHERE. Really is nice to look at. I didn't use them but walked through the bathrooms and laundry. All looked new and up to date. Super clean. Plenty of room to park your tow vehicle as well. Nice path that runs between the sites and beach. It goes pretty far north past all the sport fields. Jets and P-3s flying constantly. As far as I'm concerned, the sound of freedom never gets old! Didn't hear it during the night. This is also close to Deception Pass state park, which is ridiculously beautiful. We went there everyday and hiked. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 1
April 2 thru April 10, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I have been coming here every year, sometimes multiple times per year since 2004. This is the finest RV park in America. The primary Camp Host (Ken) is amazing and keeps this place spotless. He is tireless, working 7 days a week all year. He has planted the most amazing flower gardens in any RV park anywhere. The facilities are top notch. Close to everything and lots to do in the RV park, on the base and in the surrounding areas. Two minutes and you are on a beautiful beach. Many trails and paths to walk. Military aircraft coming and going from the base airfield are enchanting. Great base bowling alley to have family fun. Their pizza is awesome. If you come, you will come again. If you read a review criticizing the camp host consider the source...Any former military person who come to an airbase and expects that military aircraft do not fly in and out is having a serious issue with their thinking....again consider this when making your decision to come. The RV park is on the base so it is totally secure. I have never locked my RV here during the day. Your kids will be totally safe here. I love this place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 1
August 12 - 18, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a gorgeous military RV Park! The flowers at the park are amazing and the elevated view directly on the water is spectacular. There is also plenty of history on the island, numerous state parks to visit ,and very comfortable temperatures so one can enjoy nature and the entire island during the summer months. Having said that, the jets are "loud" and they fly a lot; especially during the week and in the early evening until around 1030pm. I didn't hear any jets fly during normal nightime sleeping hours. If you are prepared and aware of the "sound of freedom" , you will definitely enjoy your stay here. If jet noise bothers you, an alternative RV park I'd recommend when you visit Whidbey Island is Swinomish Casino, which has an RV park on the water too and is definitely more quiet, but could be just as convenient to see the sites. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
July - Aug 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Cliff Side RV Park on Whidbey Island NAS, is a very nice clean well run park. I was going to leave a short polite review but this place requires so much more. I made reservations way back in March for my July arrival, all based on reviews from this website. All reviews were spot on. I left Virginia and drove across the country arriving here on July 29th. Without any request or contact with camp management I was assigned spot 46, back in water front? Site. Playground, beach and water out my window, and a very short walk to bath house. I am sure there are better spots but that is splitting hairs. This is a super location. Ken the camp host is very diligently beautifying the place with flowers and gardens in tip top shape. MWR staff very busy but polite and respond to direct questions. The base is nice, picturesque and well kept; every one we meet was very engaging and helpful. One point of contention is with the Civilian Guard Force at the Charles Porter Gate, they are rude and obnoxious, not professional or polite. The Langley gate is staffed by Navy personnel, always managing to be professional and polite at same time, too bad the older wiser Civilian work face can’t do the same. So if you stay here use the Charles Porter Gate only for your initial arrival and your departure. Your stay here will be better than almost anywhere on any other base, in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
15 September - 22 September, 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Five Stars: We spent a week (Sept 15 - 22, 2014) at Cliffside and had a wonderful experience. The camp hosts, Ken, Mike and Dave did a super job. The facility is beautiful with hundreds of blooming Dahlias and other flowers to look at. Ken made sure fresh flowers were available in a vase everyday to take back to our RV site. The level concrete pads are wide and easy to back into with plenty of room to park our truck on pavement. The park is well lite adding to the security. There are two or three covered gathering places to meet new friends, complete with fire pit, chairs and more. Gorgeous views of the Strait and the sunsets were as beautiful as any I've seen. On a clear night you can see the lights of Victoria, Canada. Enjoyed watching the ships and other water craft cruise by. Made me wish I had my boat with me. The beach was in great shape giving ample opportunity to explore for shells and rocks. We brought our own wood and had a couple small camp fires in the BBQ pit at our RV pad. Wood bundles are available to purchase from the host. Yes there is a little jet noise and I tell you we were proud to watch them fly. So not an issue for us. After all this is a Naval Air Station and I love the sound of freedom. The entire facility; showers, bathrooms, laundry, the grounds, everything was very clean and well kept. Perhaps the best RV park we have stayed at. Made a side trip to Deception Pass 25 minutes away and the view was breathtaking. Parked our truck (remember your WA state park pass or it's $10) and hiked across the bridge and back, then down to the North Shore just in time to see a man pull in a large Coho Salmon. Watched the Seahawks beat the Broncos (26-20) at the Bowling Alley's grill where there are maybe 7 big screen TV's. Lots of specials to fill you up. It was a Super Bowl redo. Great Sunday service at the base chapel. The commissary and NEX are on the opposite side of the island and is an easy 4 mile drive. A bit of a hassle to go out the gates and back in again but not too inconvenient. Our week just flew by. NOTE: The North Gate closes at 15:30 for RV entrance, but you can call to have them open the gate. Sorry I don't have the phone number. Just have to wait a little while. We will definitely be back!! Ron & Jan Titus
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
July 6 - August 1, 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Of all of the military RV parks we have visited all across the country, Cliffside ranks at the very top of the list with Fiddler's Cove on Coronado island (San Diego). The sites are level, concrete pads. They are back-in only sites but there is plenty of room to maneuver (even for our 43' fifth wheel). The hookups are excellent hookups. WiFi is good--even better if you have an antenna booster. The views of the Strait of Juan de Fuca are beautiful and the driftwood strewn beach is picturesque. The staff were absolutely fantastic. We did not have any of the issues with the camp hosts that a few of the other reviewers have stated. In fact, we found Ken and Diane (camp hosts) to be very friendly and helpful. They do an incredible job maintaining a gorgeous RV park. Ken's flower gardens and strawberry patches are amazing. He has multiple vases of fresh cut flowers available (for free) at the office on a daily basis. Complete recycling services are available in the park. There is a bowling alley with great deals right around the corner from the RV park. Cheap diesel is available on base. The base fitness center is excellent and is within walking distance (on the asphalt path that leads into the RV park down near the beach). There is a huge Exchange and very nice commissary on the other side of the island in Oak Harbor (about a 15 minute drive from the RV park). Can you tell that we absolutely loved this place? We will be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
Aug 2020
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Disappointed. We had reservations for late Aug. Got a call on July 30th from the campground that they had to cancel our reservation. The base CO extended the active-duty only restriction until 8 Sept due to his COVID concerns. This seemed to be a base policy not a Navy or DoD policy. We stayed at two other Military RV Parks already so far in July. We felt lucky that our reservations were far out enough we were able to find a alternate location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
19 Aug-15 Sept 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our second visit and will continue to visit in coming years. We have stayed at many military parks and none can compare. Ken, the full time host really cares about this park and is always working to make it more beautiful. The flower gardens are exquisite. Laundry and bath houses always clean. His staff is very helpful and nice,also contributing to the upkeep. I agree with previous comments except for brendajoy1. Walking paths are easy and inviting. Managed to do around 6,000 to 8'000 steps/day equal to 3-4 miles. We were in site 21 and opted to pull in for view. Thank you for a wonderful visit. Amy and John Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
July 8 - July 22, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We are a 45' motorhome towing a truck. This is our third year at Cliffside. We drive over 1500 miles to visit here which should give you an idea of how much we like this place. We called ahead (I suggest between 12 noon and 1 PM) and ask for your site #. You should be able to unhitch at the big park on the way in (Saratoga Street). It makes it much easier as there is really no place to unhitch inside the park without causing a traffic jam.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
Aug thru Nov 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Cliffside is an outstanding RV park! Probably one of the best military famcamps in the nation. It is on the Puget Sound (Salish Sea) water’s edge and the views are spectacular. You have an open ocean view with Olympic National Park in the southern distance and the San Juan Islands & Vancouver Island in the western and northern distance. The sites are spaced out so there is no crowding at all. All utilities are easy to access and work fine. There are 2 loops, southern and northern. We were in the southern loop and the camp host, Ken, is a master gardener. The gardens in and around the park are just beautiful. The staff is friendly and helpful. There are a few negatives that are worth mentioning. The Naval Air Station is very active and they have flight ops often. Jet noise can be annoying. The other is the wind. During the fall and winter months the wind can be relentless. There are days when the winds are a steady 20 to 30 mph with guts of 50 to 60 mph. Other days are a steady 15 to 20 mph with gusts of 30 mph or so. However, the weather in the summer months are the best in the country!! Cellular service is almost non-existent. We had Verizon and had very spotty service (at the park). We switched to T-Mobile and had the same problem. We ended up buying a cell booster, which made a huge difference. We spent a month there in Aug/Sept of 2018 and (this time) we spent 4 months there during Aug, Sept, Oct, Nov. The part of the base on the other side of the island houses the Exchange and Commissary. Both are very large and have about anything you’d need. Oak Harbor is a pleasant town and has plenty of restuarants, shopping, and everything else. VERY IMPORTANT: Use the Chas. Porter Gate for entry and exit to the base. All other gates have too many obstacles and you’ll regret it.
Cliffside RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
August 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Whidbey Cliffside Park is one of the best in the Pacific Northwest if not the country. Just one note: We tell friends who join us there about the jet and P-3 noise, and yes, sometimes it does go on into the evening and the night. As their welcome sign used to say, "Pardon our noise, it's the sound of freedom". I urge all to take a better look at the sign at the front gate; it says NAVAL AIR STATION Whidbey Island. The reason that base exists is to support Naval Aviation, 24-7-365. So if it's - say 10:00 pm (2200) and a few F-18s are in the bounce pattern, please don't be upset - be proud - it's the sound of freedom.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
29 May - 13 June 2019
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We called ahead on our day of arrival and they gave us our site number. We arrived via the 24/7 gate and proceeded directly to our site. The park offers night hikes, telescope night-time star viewing and many other activities. However, you really need to ask about times and locations as they do not do much to inform their guests of these events. We did the night-hike with the park manger and we very much enjoyed the info he shared. The manger also setup an automated telescope on another night and shared his knowledge of planets and stars. The flower gardens through-out the south loop are fantastic! Ken, a volunteer camp host has undertaken the daylight past dusk task of planting and maintaining the gardens. The staff we interacted with were very helpful and demonstrated a genuine concern in their park. 
Cliffside RV Park
Cliffside RV Park
Cliffside RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
July 15-17, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My husband and I came here to relax and recharge: the atmosphere of this place encourages doing exactly that. We spent hours wandering the beach and sitting on the sand, watching the waves. We tossed a few bean bags at the Cornhole game and played Connect 4 (he won). We explored Lollipop Loop, discovering the Albino Arctic Lady Bugs and the red Lady Bugs.... The jets were loud, but we didn't think they flew *that much.* We were in a tent; the tent area was quiet and not very crowded. The views from almost every area of this campground were spectacular. This place is amazing!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
June 2017
(Updated: June 12, 2017)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We've stayed at military RV parks across the country & this is one of the best thanks to Ken. There's plenty of space between the level concrete pads. The hook ups were conveniently located & easy to connect. Wifi worked well. ATT cell worked from motorhome but not from laundry room, which was clean & inexpensive (2 washers $1.50/load, 4 dryers .50/load). Every site has view of ocean, picnic tables, concrete patio, grass &/ or flowers on either side. Fire pits available for free with purchase of wood. Jet noise can get loud, especially 10:00 at night. But it's a military base with a mission so that's not really a negative. Did I mention Ken, the host/gardener extraordinaire. We've never seen so many beautiful flowers, & strawberry's you can pick. Ken really cares about this park & makes sure it's always a beautiful place to stay. Oh, & free popcorn on Fri. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Oct 6 - Nov 5, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our third time at Cliffside and it just keeps getting better. We are from the mountains of NC and for the past two years we have started our winter vacation here at Cliffside. Our friends from Oregon joined us this year for 10 days and fell in love with the location and the park and amenities. In addition to enjoying just relaxing and enjoying the beautiful scenery, we use it as a base for day trips. Friday Harbor and Roche Harbor on San Juan Island as well as a drive down the Oregon Coast were highlights of the trip this year. We also had the good fortune to see a large Bald Eagle "guarding" the end of one of the runways. What a majestic sight, particularly on a military base. Kudos to Ken, Rob and Greg, and the rest of the staff for making this one of our two favorite stops on our CA trip. I will not repeat all the favorable comments from other campers, suffice it to say that this is an experience not to be missed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
March 30, /2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a great park every site has a view of the water. Great staff, very clean. The views are just stunning.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Sept 4, 2018 - Oct 4, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This park is awesome! We are in site 34 and have a more than 180 degree view of the water, Olympic National Park, the San Juan Islands, and Vancouver Island. The sunsets are amazing. There is a huge amount of room in between the RV's due to the great layout and the angle of the sites. The laundry room and bathrooms are spotless clean and the whole park is neat and tidy. Ken, the camp host/gardener, has done a splendid job landscaping and planting flower beds that are so nice. We have traveled the country from end to end and this is our #1 park. The wifi is good - they use the Navy's Gowifi and it is fast enough and very little to no interruptions. The Verizon cell signal is 2 bars with LTE. There is one annoyance, but it isn't the fault of the park. This is a Naval Air Station and they do flight ops every week day. The touch and go's can last until 10:30 at night. Make no mistake about it - they are loud, very loud. Some days are not so bad and some days..... The noise would not keep us away from this park. We will be back hopefully sooner than later. This has been a wonderful month at a spectacular park. We camped at Cliffside RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
July 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is one of those reviews where you wonder where do I start so many good things to say. Natural beauty of this camp is unbelievable overlooking the bay & watching the waves & ships. Then you add in the beautiful flowers Ken the camp host has planted with the humming birds flying around beyond words & did I mention strawberries to pick right off the vine. Bouquets of flowers for you to take back to you rig & enjoy just please return the vase for next time around. Ken & crew do a wonderful job of making everyone feel welcome, always greet you with a smile on their face & ready to help you anyway they can. Grounds of park are always well kept with the cleanest laundry/restrooms you will ever hope to use. Would like to see the WiFI be improved. I have been traveling to military rv parks for over 20 years Cliffside is in a league of it's own.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
July 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a top not (world class!) campground. I would say a must stay in the state of Washington. All sites are full hook ups, paved and can accommodate big rigs. Our site was #20 (water view site). A beautiful view of the water from the back end of our site. Save room back there so you can set up your chairs to watch the sunset! The grounds are just lovely. The staff takes great pride in planting all kinds of flowers, including artichokes! This campground is well run, no kids running unattended, no loud music, no wild parties etc. It's super quiet at night you hardly know you are in a campground. Cell coverage is poor as is tv off antenna. We are not typically tv watchers, but did want to watch the soccer games and local news which we could not get even with our antenna. We took a bike ride along the water trail that is designated for PT and timed it such that 2 F18s took flight right above our heads - monumental thrill! I just had to yell "Wooo hooo!" You also get to see them clearly from the campground as the take off over the water. Do not hesitate to stay here, call early and get your reservation in the system. Easy launch point into Canada or ferry to Alaska or the San Juan Islands. If you have kids with you there is so much there to keep them busy. Easy access to the beach from the lower section of the campground. The only reason I downgraded them on value is that I think $50.00 is a bit high for a military campground - even though it's very nice. There is a discount for a week long stay as well as month long stays. Overall: Highly recommend!
Cliffside RV Park
Cliffside RV Park
Cliffside RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
September 10-17
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We've stayed here for the last two years and plan on making it a yearly adventure.  You can't get much closer to the water and the facility is well maintained and run by great people.  There's not much else to say that hasn't already been said.  You won't be disappointed staying here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
105 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6