Barksdale AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.2 (93)
100581 1 19 1 54

User reviews

93 reviews
 
44%
 
37%
 
15%
 
2%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.1(93)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.1(93)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(93)
Value
 
4.4(93)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(93)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
93 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
Oct 2023
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is my second visit here. The "new" section has nice level concrete slabs. They were mowing when I arrived, but I had to do my own sweeping/blowing of the cuttings off the site and around the hook-ups. Laundry room is pathetic. It has not seen a broom or duster in a long time. Lights in the room do not work so take a flashlight if you decide to do laundry at night! One washing machine is 50 cents more than the other 2 for some reason. Same machine. (??) If you plan to arrive or depart on a Saturday or Sunday, just know that you must use the main gate vice the commercial gate to leave.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 15, 2023
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Barksdale AFB FamCamp appears to be developed in three stages. The older spaces have mature tree cover, mostly gravel spaces. Just beyond the entrance marked for the FamCamp, is another entrance to what appears to be a newer section, #42-#62, with no shade but concrete pads. Note that the FamCamp office closes promptly at 5pm, but our reservation with map marking the assigned site was posted outside on the bulletin board. Nice and quiet with all the slots in the newer section pull-through sites. Quite a drive on base from the main gate, past the static airframe displays, but look for signs pointing the way to FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 16-18, 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a gem. We stayed in the newer section which is all pull through spots. For 22 a night you cant beat it. FHU with cement pad. Both water and power were real good. Easy to get to. We came in on a Sunday and had to use the main gate of 71 South (Barksdale blvd). You can use the above directions to get to the main gate or if coming from the east on I 20 (traveling westbound), use exit 21 and follow signs for 71 south, Real easy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
06 July 22
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Location on/off I-20 less than 300 meters very easy. Commercial Gate security forces lined RV & toad. I double checked. Would come back again. Fam office fast no problem. Large cement, level pads, good water pressure. Gym, golf course ? Some trees would give it a 5. Value $22 great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 7, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I was traveling east on Hwy 20 and just followed the signs to Barksdale which got us off on exit 23. The commercial gate is not even a mile from the exit. Just wanted to add a comment. There is a comment by 2chiefsrus on May 4, 2021 about the inspection trench that I wish I would have read before I went through the commercial gate. I too have a coach with a toad and there is an obvious difference in the wheel width of the two. Security was helpful enough to line up the coach but didn't really notice or care about the toad. After checking my ID, I started to pull forwarded and immediately left like there was some resistance in moving forward. Turns out, because of the wheel width difference between the coach and the toad, the toad was a bit too far left and the drivers side tires were rubbing against the inspection trench guide rails. Don't know if it would have done a lot of damage if I kept driving nor do I want to think what would have happened if I would have pulled the car over the guide rails and the toad fell into the trench. Anyway, As soon as I felt the resistance, I stopped and went out and looked, noticed the problem right a way and simply had by DW pull the coach forward while I walked next to the toad and steered it over the inspection trench. Easy enough correction if you are aware of it. So if you have a toad, I don't think it's needed to unhook, just make sure to toad is aligned up as well as the coach.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Jan 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Accessing base plenty easy, didn’t need to stop and wait for SF to move poles. We are 36’ with toad and could wiggle through barriers without issue. The Famcamp office gave instructions to find our site but guess didn’t listen close enough, sites 43 and up are in the second entrance passed the main famcamp entrance. This is newer part of the fampcamp with lots of grassy space between sites and concrete pads. Access road is gravel with some potholes but easy enough to navigate. Very nicely done addition. Wi-fi was strong even one of the sites at end of famcamp. Plenty of empty sites available the night we stayed. The famcamp is better than 10 miles from the main gate and on the opposite side of the flight line from the main base. We liked the new addition and would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Oct 2, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
There are two part to this park. The office is in the older part of the park. It looks like many long term campers. Fear not the new part of the park is about a block away. It has level cement pads full hooks ups and easy satellite views (no trees). Cell service (Verizon) was poor but usable. The bathhouse was a gem. Clean and well maintained. Just like we have become accustomed to at every AFB. We were there in the fall and there were many spaces available.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
August 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice quiet place to stay. It's a Air Force Base with B-52s so some noise during flying hours. Cement sites with calichie roads. Nice clean bath house. Quick stop just down the road. We'll stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 4, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The campground has two separate sections. The directional signage for both campgrounds is minimal and could definitely be improved. The two campgrounds are very close together. The newer section is all long pull throughs without any trees. Some will prefer the older section with mature trees but shorter back-in sites. Entering the Commercial gate was not easy. Again signage is minimal. If no one is standing outside, it appears to be a closed up blocked off road. We ended up having to unhook our toad and back up in order to pass over the open inspection trench in the ground. Security personnel were uncomfortable with the different wheel width span of our motorhome and our toad. We would definitely stay here again now that we know how to get in and where to go after the gate. A good base map would be a great handout. The base map we were given was illegible. The campground personnel were friendly and efficient. Verizon service was very good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
April 2021
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Kind of the back of beyond for the post, for Shreveport, on the eastern side. Pretty straight forward getting there IF you come in the commercial gate. Right off I20, then a few turns and miles and you're there. Nice shaded older first come first served area and a newer reservablerea no shade. Concrete pads, picnic table, good utilties, spacious sites. Gravel roads starting some potholes, Functional, clean bathhouse/laundry. OK wifi and Verizon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 12 - July 2, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very Nice Campground. We stayed in the new part. Level Concrete Pads, 50 Amp service, Water and sewer. WiFi very good. We didn't use the Bath House, but looked like several others did.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
July 2-4, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed two nights en route to CO. Pulling a 27’ Airstream. 50 amps and pull thrus available. We stayed on the old side of the FamCamp with a lot of shade and adequate space between sites.Very quiet and pretty with minimal bugs amazingly enough. A lot of full timers in this section. The restroom and showers were dirty so BYOB - bring your own bleach. All dogs were leashed! They did not ask us for shot records for our dog.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 23, 2020
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
What a crock. I am 100%Dav my wife has an AF issued ID. Called to try and make a reservation. She is not allowed in base. It cheaper to stay of base any way.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 20
March 6 2020
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
After driving all day and arriving at the base , we were told that I can come in to the campground but my wife who is not military could not . It would like to know when I made my reservation that my wife would not be allowed to enter. We are both in our 70 s . We have no problem staying at any Army campground . At the gate the security said that the Base commander rule was only Veterans . I will contact my Congressman and let him know how we were treated. I would think that if the Base Commander served in Vietnam Nam his rule would be different. (Editor note: this reviewer is less than 100% DAV.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 6
Feb 23-26, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
This is our second time here. Agree with previous posters. This just some additional information. It is not clear from the site directions that the Commercial Gate is only opened M-F.  On the weekend you must go thru the Main (West) Gate.  We had a problem getting thru and destroyed a window awning on a guard shack roof (45' coach + tow).  Could have been worse though.  There are many many many security poles and no straight thru way to get in for a large coach, especially if you enter in the wrong lane.  We tried not to block gate traffic and paid the price. There are offset poles before and after the Gate. Gate Security removes poles but are reluctant to remove enough of them to properly get through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 3
JAN 2020
(Updated: January 26, 2020)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice size lots (43'rig) with level pads 30/50A-WS, facilities are nearby, lots of shade so solar won't help you much here. However, this park is located in the "box field" approach landing pattern so you'll experience some daytime (at least while we were present) B52 low-level flyovers. Overall, this park rates 4/5 in our book. Another close-to base RV Park we'd recommend is the Diamond Jacks RV park which is only 2.5-3 miles from the West Gate. Their rates range from $26-$34 depending on discount/day of week.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
January 8 - 11, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first time staying here. we decided to stay at the famcamp mostly because of the security. 100 percent id check. the famcamp was great for us it was not crowded and the showers and bathrooms are close to any site. the bathrooms could have been cleaned more. our site was level so we did not need levelers. the sites are spacious and plenty of room between sites. we used the east gate mostly which comes out at haughton was only about 5 minutes from the famcamp. the office people were great and very helpful. washers and dryers were available at $1.25 each. we will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Dec 26-30, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
First let me say we travel in a 42' motorhome and tow a 4 door Jeep. As mentioned there is an older park where they have long-long termers and the new park for us transients. The new part has gravel roads but concrete pads for both the rig and the tow. I am not sure why but there is a concrete pad where the picnic table is however you have to walk through the grass to get to it. Now this should not be a problem when the weather is dry but during a rainy session the grass will end up following you back inside your RV. Not a big deal but just so you know. The entrance off Miller RD is easy but they do not allow POVs to enter that gate. It is OK if you are hooked up and towing but not chasing. Or I should say they frown on allowing the chase to come through. From the "main" gate it is quite a ways back to the park, opposite side of the flight-line. Be aware that if you need to come through that gate there are large trees hanging over the road and some are quite low. We are 13' tall and I am glad we didn't need to enter from that direction. The park overall is nice enough, everything worked fine, but for us and what we need to do when in the Shreveport area I am not sure we'd stay here again. But really it is more of a convenience thing for us rather than the park not being good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Sept. 14, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The FamCamp at Barksdale AFB has added a new section (OCT 2018). We stayed overnight at one of their sites on a recent trip. The older camp is adjacent to the new one and appears more used. The newer one has all concrete pull through pads (appox 60 ft). Easily fit our Class C and appeared to be large enough for any thing I saw in the park, including their tow behind vehicles. Large area between pads (15-20 feet) made for a nice quiet night. Wi-Fi was powerful enough to handle watching my FireStick without any lag. The bathhouse and laundry were as you would expect for a less than 1 year old camp. Well maintained and clean. The roadways were gravel, but in good condition. The whole camp seemed a bit sterile though. No trees at all. Appeared they clear cut an area of the base's woodland and plopped down 50+ RV pads. Full hookups - but no personality at all. Good for an overnight stay, but not sure I would have like and extended stay. There was nothing to see or do in the campground and I don't tow a vehicle. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
15-16 April 2019
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Good value and very clean facilities. We were just passing through and stayed for a night. The site was level and having a trash can at each site was a nice touch. It had rained that day and many sites had pretty large mud puddles. The laundry and bathrooms were very clean and well maintained. Will stay again but it is a long way from the commissary/exchange.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
93 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5