Dover AFB FamCamp

 
3.8 (36)
69463 0 22 1 22

User reviews

36 reviews
 
17%
 
56%
 
28%
2 stars
 
0%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
4.0(36)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0(36)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.2(36)
Value
 
4.0(36)
Overall Experience
 
3.8(36)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
36 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
Oct 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice small CG we stayed at on our way from Maine to North Carolina. Easy to get into with a 44ft long 5th wheel. When coming in the gate use the entrance all the way to the right. If closed the SP will open it for you. You will go over some curbs while coming in the gate area. Curbs are rounded and wont hurt the tires. Once on post very easy to get to CG. Commissary was very nice and easy to get to. You will pass it on way to CG. There is gas/diesel on post if needed. CG is on the end of the airfield. Not too bad. Hookups were great, no issues with water or power. Some sites are small and others are great with big rigs. Let them know what size of rig you have when you make a reservation. Ours was easy to back in. Highly recommend this CG if you are in the area. Make sure to make a reservation due to CG being small and depending on time of the year they fill up fast.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 10 0
Aug 16 - 20, 2021
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice RV park across street from base park and near end of runway. Not too noisy although we could hear the four lane highway and an occasional train as well. Roomy enough. Did not use any of their facilities so cannot comment. Our main thought is that the gravel RV park road REALLY needs to be graded. Such deep ruts and potholes make it so difficult for larger rigs such as our coach to navigate. Even at a snails pace we were really rocking and rolling. Unfortunately, this was our last military campground stop on a planned 11 month tour of the U.S. California wildfires necessitate a beeline return to the West Coast. Military campgrounds are a GREAT benefit to retirees like us and this website was indespensable during our almost 8 month trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
May 3 - 6 2022
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I have been RVing full time for 3 years now. This could be a very nice camp ground but it has to be the worst maintain CG I have been in. The grass is over a foot tall. I counted 15 road lights and 2 are working sometimes, 2 are broke off and laying on the ground. The gravel road and sites need a lot of work and round up. The CG is at the end of the south runway. The noise was not bad. 18 planes took off in 2 days. Nice BX and Commissary and Gas station.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
May 2, 2010 - May 15, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed here on site #9 for about 2 weeks. Area and base were very nice. Price is good as well however, no reservations can be made. There's a 2 week limit but you can extend it if needed. There's a nice park across the street if you have small children and a decent size BX and commissary. Overall, my family and I really enjoyed our stay here. There's also a nice AMC museum next to the FAMCAMP and police are constantly patrolling the area. Some things to keep in mind is there's no bath house, CATV, or laundry facility. There's also only around 10 slots but outdoor rec informed us they will be upgrading the camp with 15 more slots in the future. Base is small however, you are very close to several beaches. Note: take the main gate entrance and stay to the left. Fairly easy to get to the camp but there's no pull thru sites. That being said, the sites have plenty of room and we had no issues with our 36' motorhome towing a car.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Sept. 10, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
D.N. left this review using the Directory Software: We stayed here for five nights and thought that it is a good value. The place is kept neat and tidy. Seven sites are full hookup and three sites are W/E. Sites 1,2, and 3 may accumulate water during heavy rain. Sites are level and spacious. Yes, because it is near a runway, some aircraft noise may be heard occasionally. We did not think it to be objectionable. We have stayed near rail road tracks much noisier than this place. All in all we would use this campground again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
5-7 Dec 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Our first visit to this FamCamp. Bottom line...... definitely a pleasant experience. First thing to note is that the office is not co-located with the RV sites. It is across from the commissary. The RV sites are located across the airfield, but not difficult to get to. As noted in another review, definitely use the main gate for entry. It is easy to get to on Route 113. No problem with a 37' fifth wheel. After the Main Gate go approx 1/4 mi and take the 1st right onto Dover St. Take the next right right and go to the T at the commercial gate. Turn left onto Arnold Dr and proceed around the end of the runway (couple of miles ??) to the FamCamp which will be on your left. Read the posted signs for info about the camp. We arrived, got setup and then drove back to the office to check-in. Nightly rate was $15 which is a $1 increase from what is posted for this FamCamp. As is often the case, for a first time visit, a daylight arrival is recommended. It was an easy check in, very nice people in the office. Definitely a smooth operation all around. Yes, the sites are located just to the side of the end of one of the runways. Wasn't a problem for us. Depending on the winds, that runway may or may not be in use. And when there was a C-5 or C-17 taking off it did not bother us that much. Just be thankful for the job they are doing! Very nice exchange and commissary. The exchange gas station has been torn down and apparently will not be rebuilt. Saturday morn the temp was 22 degrees! We had dripped one faucet and thus had no problem with a freezing hose or water pipe. Hope your visit to this FamCamp will be as good as was our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
24 June 2018
Overall rating
 
2.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Camped here for 5 nights. When we arrived we found our spot and settled in. Went to cook only to find the BBQ grill in horrible condition. We had to clean it out to be useable. Washer and dryer are brand new but for 10 spots there is only 1 washer and 1 dryer. Although the campground advertises 50amp service it really isn’t. Our first night everything was fine, but shortly after we woke up we began experiencing power issues. Our first connection to the 50amp circuit was fine with both legs showed 120-125. In the morning the surge protector started tripping for low voltage on both legs. We are now operating on 30amp service. If we try to use both ACs or an AC and the hot water heater we trip the surge protector. Of course it’s sunday and no one to call but even if their was other campers on site have told us that the facility is unwilling to do anything. We like it here. Nice and quiet but without the power we paid for, what’s the point. We should not be charged full price without getting what’s advertised. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
November 2009
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I Live in NJ and rent an apartment. It is very difficult to clean the outside of my 27 Foot TT. After thinking about finding a place to wash it, I decided to call Dover and ask if they have empty spot and also if i can wash it. Well, the answer was yes on both questions. Upon arrival you have to go in the Main Gate. Usually the right lane is closed but when they seen me in line they got me over to the right lane. Just asked for ID's and in I was. Located the CG and unhitched the TT. I believe the first 3 spots have no drainage, just power and water. I took the 4 spot. Well did all my cleaning roof, the sides and also had time to some of the inside. The grounds are very nice. I had no problems with leveling. No pads to park on, just gravel and all back-in. No bathhouse, no cable. Noise, well yes, from the planes taking off a lot, and also they do daily touch and goes. But it sure looks great seeing those BIG Babies taking off..... Comm. and AFEES are both small, and the Rec center where you sign in is very clean, a lot of info, and the prices was great. Off season price was $15.00, summer season $20.00. No reservations are accept, first come gets the spot. So I just went to the CG and set up. By the time I was done setting up it was late and I wanted to shower. Went the following morning to sign in. Also, off-base lots of things to do and also plenty of fast food places and a few family owned diners. Will go again. Steve
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
April 2019
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A nice, neat, small campground. Very easy in and out. Some potholes need to be filled on the camp road. Easy hook ups. A small bath house/laundry available and clean. No WiFi or Cable. We had a difficult time getting stations with our antenna. No road noise as other reviewers mentioned. Planes are pretty loud in the evenings. Quite a few trees on our site. A couple days after arriving a large group of boys and ? chaperones arrive at 10:30 pm. Setting up numerous tents just behind our (and our neighbor's) RVs.There were what seemed like dozens of teenage and younger boys. This went on for hours. Instead of using the road to get to the bath house they cut through our site. Flashlights shining into the RV, talking and fooling around as the boys all went to the bath house. The time we were in the RV, day or night there was a constant stream of kids walking through our site. What had been a spacious, quite site became the opposite. We closed the curtains and stayed inside when in the campground. Not exactly what we expected.
Dover AFB FamCamp
Dover AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
October 26, 27, 29, 2010
(Updated: October 29, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a great stop-over spot for us heading south. Folks are very friendly and helpful. Watching the aircraft come and go was great entertainment....most of us retired Navy folks didn't have the opportunity to see those huge C5's come and go. The only problem I had at the base was locating internet access. Seems as all the spots on the base have been shut down. After some exploring, I found free internet at the Landing Club building at the Grotto Pizza.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 2010
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Centrally located between Wilmington and Rehoboth Beach, 1hour each way. Nice base and a good value. Enjoyed the aircraft. Would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 2013
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Dover’s RV park has been identified by others as a good stopover place, but not a destination. I agree with that assessment. It’s a nice park, but there isn’t much going on in the Dover area that is going to capture your attention for more than a day or two. With that thought in mind here is a brief list of positives and negatives. POSITIVE: Small and uncrowded. They don’t take reservations and you won’t need one. Airlift museum, accessible fm Rt 9 just south of the base is right next door. If you like big airplanes Dover has lots of them coming and going. This is home station for many C5’s and C17’s. Dover Downs NASCAR track is just up the road. If you want a space during race week you better get here early. All base facilities are within a mile or so. A 1.5 mile running / jogging trail starts and ends at the park. Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge is up Rt 9 about 15 miles. The goose population during fall migration is something to behold. DO NOT MISS Sambo’s restaurant in the tiny little town of Leipsic. It’s also up Rt 9 just south of Bombay Hook. It is arguably the best seafood restaurant on the planet. Hard to beat the parks nightly rate of $18. Revolutionary War history abounds in downtown Dover. Many of the state capitol buildings date back to the early 1600s. Especially on “The Green”. The RV park can handle the largest rigs with utter ease. There is a large picnic ground adjacent to the park. Lots of playground equipment for the kids too. NEGATIVES: Noisy whether you like airplanes or not. The park is close to both runways. Trees but little shade. They were sighted wrong when planted. Flatter than a pool table. The base is just a mile or so from Delaware Bay. Don’t get excited about that. There are no beaches just lotsa mud and marsh. Some of the spots are taken by active duty homesteaders. If it’s hot out it will be really hot at the park. If it’s cold - you get the picture.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Jun 30, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Really like this famcamp! Just wish they would add more sites. We've stayed here a few times in a 40' 5th wheel. Nice big spots and love the sound of freedom here with the active runway. Nice new bath house with a laundry room. If you have kids with you there is a great park/playground right across from the famcamp. Nice walking trail close by too. Come and take a chance to get an open spot...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
December 2018
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Found a site here with no problem on a warm winter weekend. Looked like only one RV staying there long term on the 10 sites, but there was evidence that homesteading occurs there. Not sure why someone said it was nice and quiet. Although there was no campground noise, the highway noise is pretty loud and the airfield and Aero Club are close by. No jet planes so it's not that bad compared to Oceana. It was very clean and easy to get around, but there are no trees and it must be very hot and sunny in the summer. Got a few mosquitoes in Dec so I can't imagine what it is like in the summer. Visited John Dickinson Plantation and went birding at the refuges (20-30 minutes away). Delaware beaches are about an hour away. It's a good stopover if you need to be in the Dover area. Nice playground right across the street and the kids enjoyed the little planes at the Aero Club. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
10-14 October 2011
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
L.H. left this review using the Directory software: - Nice FamCamp for stopping over for a few days. base facilities are very good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
October 2022
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at site 8 and 9. Site 8 was level and shaded and site 9 was near level and out in the open. The laundry room has one washer and dryer and very clean. The sites are full hook up and there is also a dump station. The site utilities are positioned perfectly and work well. The road coming in had some potholes so you have to take it slow. Across the street is the wonderful Eagles nest playground which is large with several playground areas. The campground has 10 sites and its well kept and quiet, besides the aircraft noise. Watching the C5 and C17's doing touch and goes was fun. The staff was great and help us with our needed dates and site movements. The base is clean and quiet. The entry to the main gate is tight through the chicane. We came through in a 30 ft TT and squeaked it in. Bigger rigs can do it but will roll the curbs. Overall the Dover Famcamp is one of our favs!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
Nov 7, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very convenient location for my route, but that's the best I got for this place. Definitely not a destination stay. I was headed south down the coast for several weeks of sun and fun and this was my first overnight stop out of Pennsylvania. The campground was nearly empty with just three other units in place. They all appeared to be long term and two were never visited in the two days I was there. With all the open sites, I can't figure out why I was placed at the complete opposite end from the shower/bath facilities since there were several sites open surrounding it. It was about a quarter mile walk each way and rather annoying since the weather wasn't exactly conducive to being outdoors at 28*. The weather was nasty enough that my next stop at Fort Story was skipped and I got a hotel room in Norfolk instead.
Dover AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
17-23 Aug 2012
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - We absolutely loved it here. The green space all around, just the right amount of trees, extremely large well spaced sites, the park and walking path, just great! Fun to watch the planes, which for the most part were quiet at night. Outside of the base museum and the Dickinson Plantation just down the road there's not a lot of "tourist" activities but shopping for just about anything is pretty convenient. Will look forward to coming back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
6-9 September, 2012
(Updated: September 14, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed here 4 nights while visiting old friends in the area. Great location, but a bit remote from base amenities. Nice layout of parking spots, plenty of space between neighbors. Despite staying 4 days I was unable to reach a real person on the phone, so I used the convenient payment drop-box located at the park entrance. All in all, a pleasant experience. Would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
10-19 Oct 2015
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Good news is they now have FHU at all 10 of the RV sites. Bad news is most of the sites (8) are occupied by long term residence. All sites were occupied when we arrived. We called the office and we were advised to set up in the grassy area around the perimeter which we did for 2 nights. Two of the sites opened up on Sunday so we quickly packed up and slid into #3. Never did find the other 5 sites reportedly available for dry camping... Overall our stay was pleasant. Plan on staying up until 2200 hrs weekdays as "Big Mike" (PA System) plays "Taps" and it WILL wake you up!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
36 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2