Little Creek MWR RV Park

 
4.0 (52)
128120 1 30 0 68

User reviews

52 reviews
 
35%
 
42%
 
19%
 
4%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.5(52)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.1(52)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.7(52)
Value
 
4.0(52)
Overall Experience
 
4.0(52)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
52 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
April 2015
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Great Location. Campsites are tight but level. Parking is limited. Laundry facilities and bath house are wornout and need a facelift, new paint, some attention. Roads are OK except when it rains or snows. Then there are lots of big puddles around key areas like the office and dumpster -- the most heavily used areas. Very disappointed in the senior leadership who was unwillling and / unable to fix big holes, pot hole in the roads near the office. Facilities maintenance and the MWR office both came out and scratched their head and nothing was done. Pointed fingers at each other and said 'its their job' or 'we have no money'. 5 inches of snow twice this past Jan - Feb and no, nada road clearing. You are on your own. Lip service but no service. The Office Manager/Destiny and both the Camp Hosts / David and Jenn, could not have been nicer and more helpful. Real friendly, helpful. The bright spots in the whole stay. Just wish the senior leadership would get it together. It could be a very nice campground if they gave it some attention.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
May 22 -23 2016
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
First let me say that it rained both days we were there, we were on our way home, and we had been down in the keys so it really wasn't fair. The campgrounds are very close, not much room between sites. Like I said it rained and our site was mostly under water except for the pad that we drove in on, we needed our boots to hook up everything. There was no one available to show us to our site even though it was in the middle of the afternoon, no big deal we had our site number and some driving around and we found. Laundry room was across from our site and could definitely use an overhaul, dryers sort of worked and the place really need cleaned up. I'm not saying the place was terrible but with all the other options available I doubt we will be back here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 2
May 16 to May 30, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We recommend this campground and the area. Most of the sites are pretty close together. Personal do a good job and are very helpful. Surrounding area is also clean and well maintained. Nice campgrounds but could use a little restoration. Noise is tolerable, mostly road noise (passing vehicles outside gate). The area has everything to offer (but seclusion/isolation) and at reasonable prices. Off base traffic can be a problem so chose the right times to get to where you are going. Highly recommend the military beaches on both JEB Little Creek & Ft. Story, quiet and not crowded. Nice laundry and free but washers and dryers were “full” of black dog hair; perhaps a temporary problem. Recommend both Bubba’s Seafood & Dockside Seafood Restaurants, they are beside each other located between JEB Little Creek & Ft. Story on the south side of route 60 (Shore Drive) beside the John A Lesner Bridge address: 3311 & 3323 Shore Dr. Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (from 60 turn south on Vista Circle and you will see them). We sent Larry (U.S. Military Campgrounds and RV Parks) an update also including pictures and a video that is now posted; we hope you all find them helpful. We are very thankful for what Larry is doing here and will continue to support his efforts in every way we can. We wish all of you safe travels!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Nov 7, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This is a very small, very tight older campground. We were in a 40' coach and had a tough time negotiating the RVs and their associated vehicles. Nice area to relax in the laundry building, along with free washers and dryers. Wifi was available, though slow and spotty in coverage. Camp host was supposed to bring us some sort of paperwork but we never saw them. Frankly, this park seems to be filled with about 80% permanent party personnel. Multiple planters, porch swings, storage of personal belongings and children's toys make it seem much more like a trailer park than a campground. Base-associated noises were expected, and not overly intrusive. The location is prime, and the $27 a night is a great price, so we were thrilled to find an open spot there for the evening. Just sad that it wasn't available for longer or more spaces available for transient guests.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
April 19, 2017
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We used Gate 3 that is preferred. However, there are two openings. We came in from the road in the right side but stayed back hoping the gate guard would open that side for us. He let 5 or 6 cars come through without acknowledging us so my husband decided he wanted us to come through the left opening but our travel trailer stairs (folded up) scraped the concrete barrier and we had to back out. We also got a ticket for "wreckless driving". I would suggest you wait and have someone get out and ask to use the other opening. We eventually got into the site and the Camp Host came over and was very helpful. It is shared water with another site. There was free laundry but it said to use Pods only. The roads are narrow and we had to watch where people were parked on our way out. Good size Commissary and two story Exchange.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Sep 6 -Oct 15, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Destiny was great and very accommodating to me numerous times because I had short notice site renewal dates but she was able to keep me at the campground. The camp hosts were great and had wonderful times meeting other guests and enjoying great hospitality. I do wish there were a few more washers and dryers and a few more 50 Amp sites. Liked very much the concrete and level sites. The campground was well maintained. I hope to be able to spend some time there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 2014
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
This campground is pretty Cool, super dog friendly with multiple access to trails. It's just a few minutes to the the beach, base pool, base theater, bowling alley, commissary/Nex and medical. The campground manager Destiny is wonderful. The camp hosts were great, old host leaving new host taking over. Lots of help and great info. Being shared by a everyone, doesn't get better than that! Oh wait!! Yes it does during the day it is wonderful!! Kids playing running from camp to camp, early evening campfires. Everyone mingling from camp to camp. Then the sun goes down and the drunks come out. A few young people getting kinda rowdy then the name calling. Turns out its sisters. Very obnoxious behavior, one young woman calling her mother horrifying names. To our shock it was one of the camp hosts daughters. We stayed for about a week. Very close to the couple of gathering areas in the evening. We had to listen to the drama and that followed the fighting. It really made it hard to enjoy the great campground. I felt so bad for the host. She is such a nice lady and so willing to help. To be treated like that in front of other campers. To much drama and BS!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
October 2022
Overall rating
 
2.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
45 sites that are all very close in proximity with each other, narrow road to maneuver rigs. 1 washer available to utilize for 45 campers plus add the tents… UNSAT! The sites flood so beware during rainfall. Location is near some great restaurants & shopping. The new charge is $37 a night start 1/1/23 vice $25 & for that price this campground needs some serious updates.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Winter/Summer 2015
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Well, the location and convenience of the campground is great due to coming back to this area every so often to visit my daughter, but things have not changed in the last 10 or so years that I have been coming here. The other good thing about this place is the campground boss (Destiny) and the camp hosts (Jennifer & her husband (I can't remember his name thou)), they are very friendly and when I arrived I plugged into the 30 AMP plug this last visit and guess what? Things weren't working so I went over to the camp host and he came over and tested the power pedestal and what did he find? The HOT and NEUTRAL were reversed which could really mess up an RV's electronics. How did this go on for so long without being figured out before I have no idea, but he re-wired it and presto... my RV power worked great! Things they can upgrade are: -laundry room only had 1 working washer/other 1 has been broken for a couple of weeks, -entrance and exit signs for the campground itself, -spot numbers up front (spot numbers are towards the back of the pad and in dark blue lettering on the grey power pedestal which makes it really hard to read at night for us older people! -and still the other issues as listed below. Below was from my previous visit to the campground over the winter (about 5 months ago) and I submitted it through the MWR ICE comments website (Interactive Customer Evaluation) and also to the BASE XO and guess what has changed.... NOT A DAMN THING!!! The overall MWR management seems to care less about this place (they care about the $$$ coming in is about it!) and it is apparent as there have been NO upgrades to this place in years! I did some math as you can see below and it is appalling the amount of money they rake in and that they have done nothing to upgrade the campground!! Someone needs to AUDIT the JEB-LCFS MWR!!!!! Where to start??? -We have had snow/ice on the roads in the campground now for 4 straight days! What is worse is when they cleared Helicopter Road, they pushed all the snow into the entrances/exits making it almost impossible to get in or out and making it for a very dangerous situation. BUT, JEBLCFS was sooooooo worried about the almighty dollar they had to clear the NEX parking lot, Gym, etc., oh wait, we pay money to stay here as well! -Speaking of the almighty dollar, how has this place NOT been upgraded since it was built? It seems MWR would rather spend money on condos on the beach front than improve existing places/structures! -In all the other MWR campgrounds I have stayed at, they have offered monthly rates and for far better campgrounds! The more REALISTIC monthly rate for this campground should be around the $525 to 550 range due to its outdated electrical, the bathhouse(which doesn't have a working HVAC system even when it is 50 degrees outside and 40 degrees inside), laundry room with only 2 washers and dryers(imagine the feasibility of that when there is a full campground in the summer with 100+ people staying here!!!) and no change machine or working soda machine, shared water(so when your neighbor uses water you lose water pressure(try this at your house and see how you like it!)), no community center, and water pooling after it rains in front of the 2 most used locations: the office & the dumpster. -The electrical service is paltry, there are only a couple 50amp service spots yet almost all newer mid-size and above RVs require 50amp service. Please upgrade ASAP! I have heard for the last 10+ years I have been visiting this place that "they will be upgrading the electrical this winter/summer/etc, but alas, still nothing! -The roads inside the campground are horrendous and needs patching/replacing all together. See previous comment about water pooling in front of office and dumpster. -I am sure you will complain about lack of money/PW is supposed to do maintenance, and point the finger at someone else, but look at how much money is brought into this place compared to what is spent on upgrading: Summer time average(3 months): 45 spots x $660/month x 3 months= $89,100. Plus 10 tent spots x $300 per month x 3 months= $9000 for a total summer income of $98,100. Fall/spring average(6 months): 33 spots x $660/month x 6 months= $130,680. Plus 7 tent spots x $300 per month x 6 months= $12,600 for a total fall/spring income of $143,280. Winter average(3 months): 25 spots x $660/month x 3 months= $49,500. Plus 5 tent spots x $300 per month x 3 months= $4500 for a total winter income of $54,000. That's an estimated average income of $295,380 per year!!! What is spent on upgrading this place??? Nothing that I have seen in the last 10+ years!! MWR pretty much needs to raze the whole campground and start fresh or build a whole new campground some other location on base! Sincerely, Ryan
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful? 7 6
Dec 27, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stopped for an overnight on our way south this year. We found a spot large enough to not unhook the trailer from the truck and just dropped the stabilizers and made utility hook ups. The sites are OK and the facility is clean, but it still could use a little dressing up. No issues or problems though. Nice size BX and Commissary, Mini-BX had competitively priced gas, it was over all good place to stop on our way out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
Oct 26, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Now $27 a night w/FHU. Sites are a little close, but free laundry, free wi-fi AND free cable. Cable is plug in and use, unlike some that require minimum stay and deposit for a box. No problem coming through Gate 3 with 27' TT. Monthly pot luck, bonfire and band at the pavilion. Located right off the Tunnel Bridge. Good usable Cell signal. Nice Commissary and Exchange. Lots of things to see and do in this area. Value for the money is spot on.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
September, 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I stayed 3 nights. Destiny handled all sign-in details with ease. She was great and acted like we had been friends for a long time. She was very accommodating about my day to day stay and kept me informed by phone, particularly about a future reservation. Site occupants nearby were helpful and friendly. The pads were concrete and level. Shower house was always clean. A great place to stay!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Aug 30 - Sept 6, 2015
(Updated: September 07, 2015)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What can be added about a 30+ year old CG but to mention that they now have two new washers and driers free of charge, and as already been mentioned many times Destiny as well as the camp host are great at doing their jobs. A little more money reinvested in this facility could go a long way to updating it. The free wifi works as well.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 15, 2013
(Updated: April 16, 2013)
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This is our first stay. We will probably stay here again since it is so close to our daughters place in Virginia Beach. The campground is old and cramped (e.g. narrow roads, tight car parking). The campground has lots of trees so limited there are only a few sites that where you can get a satellite connection. But they have cable TV which is nice. The restrooms are adequate and clean and the laundry facility is good. The campground manager is friendly and helpful. But this is an old park. The grounds are not very well taken care of. The grass has not been mowed since we have been here. Looks like it has been a couple of weeks at least. There is a one-way road through the campground but you have to be careful to figure that out when you enter the campground. There are no signs that tell you that. A big problem for us was entering the base. We got Gate 3 correctly, but there was NO indication of which way to go for RV's. There were signs for commercial vehicles. That is the direction we should have take. Hindsight is great but some times areas for commercial vehicles are only for them and not for RV's. Making a split second decision since there were cars behind us, we inched toward the main gate. It was a slow maneuver but we made it past the concrete abutments with out scraping. Very scary. And the gates guards were clueless. No help what so ever. They had no idea what to do with us as we approached the gate. A simple point to the right or waving us through the parking lot where we should have gone would have saved us a lot of trouble. (Can you tell how frustrated I was??) $22 a night for a campground like this is about $7 too much in my opinion. But convenience makes it worth it to us so we will be back. We camped in a 40' motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
March 11, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
It's nothing fancy, but everyone was nice, everything worked and we had a great time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 2
November 2020
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This campground is currently closed, not sure why. When we drove by today, there were some maintenance people on the premises, but did not look like much was being done.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 3
June 19, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The campground looks great and well taken care of. Paved roads and concrete pads at every campsite, all backin but should be easy for all but very long RV's. The bath house and laundry room are clean and well taken care of. The staff is friendly and seem to be htere to assist if you need them. Cable, WIFI, and all hook-up’s are included. The Exchange and commissary are open 7 days a week are good size and well stocked. Definitely worth what you pay for this campground. Use gate 3 for entry, it will accommodate large vehicles and just a few hundred yards from the campground. Make sure to take the fourth driveway into the campground as it has the most clearance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
16 Apr 2015
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Needs a good spring clean up. Office staff was friendly and helpful. We were staying one night and it wasn't crowded, so we asked to move to a bigger site so we didn't have to unhitch. No problem, no worries. Nice place. Water, sewer, electric, cable, wifi, have it all -
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 15-21, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
When we arrived, was told they were not expecting anyone in that day. I showed Jerry an e-mail from Peggy confirming a site, things changed and I was welcomed with open arms. Found everything to be very clean and well maintained. There seemed to be several (about half the sites) occupied by long term visitors. The exchange and commissary were well stocked and an easy drive. My only criticism, MWR nor the camp hosts have any control over, is that the clinic at Little Creek does not accept walk-ins or emergency. An area, MWR does have authority over though is the speed bumps in the campground. With narrow close quarters inside the campground, why are so many speed bumps needed? Would stay at Little Creek MWR RV Campground again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 29, 2014
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Highly recommend using the Commercial entrance at Gate 3 with large RV's. We met with the current camp host Destiny Newman/757-462-7282. It is now Joint Expeditionary Base Little Creek-Fort Story. The campground still needs improvement and we'd like to see wi-fi free. Base amenities though are extensive. Nearly new commissary and Navy Exchange. Beautiful golf course and beach with shelters and tables right on base. Great watermark/pool also.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
52 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3