Sheppard AFB Recreation Annex at Lake Texoma

 
3.6 (35)
140095 0 13 3 68

User reviews

35 reviews
 
31%
 
29%
 
26%
 
6%
 
9%
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.8(35)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.5(35)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.4(35)
Value
 
3.7(35)
Overall Experience
 
3.7(35)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
35 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
July 14, 2023
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Amazing campground. Wide open, but that fosters the view of the Lake Takoma from almost any RV site. The tent camping sites are all also with electric and water, and are between the RV loop and the waterline. Breakfast is served in the office/dining area, with an awesome $6.00 for two eggs, toast and hash browns. The lounge area has literally hundreds of DVDs/VHS taps, as well as at least six shelves of paperbacks to read. The route into the facility is narrow, and not the best, but navigated without a problem in our 32 foot ClassC. This will be one facility to be visited again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
January 2023
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This Campground is a great escape. One of the most peaceful and serene places around! Surround by the lake on three sides! Clean facilities and great staff! If you have a boat and fish it's super convenient! Lots of Cabins for visitors! The pads and areas are gravel, but nicely mowed and level. The roads in could use a little work, but we maneuvered our 42' Coach in pulling our Jeep with ease!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 25, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This park was absolutely beautiful. The views of the lake are amazing. Not very convenient to stores but that is part of the charm. You are away from the hustle/bustle. The sites were a decent size. We were scheduled for 4 nights but had to come in a day later due to heavy winds coming through. Wish we could have stayed longer. The road on the way in is definitely a bumpy ride. We were driving a Class A and towing a car. We were forewarned so we took our time, and it was ok. Many thanks to you Miss Ann {the manager} for being so nice and so helpful. Would love to go back in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
May 6, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I chose this place because it's about an hour from my son's house. It's beautiful right on Lake Texoma. I stayed for almost 2 weeks. The staff are very nice. There's a little store, with basic amenities. There's laundry, which I used often. I didn't use the bathroom/showers since I have my own. There's a playground for kids and the views are spectacular. Unfortunately we had tons of storms come through. Thankfully we weren't flooded out. The road into the area gets a bit rough - holes, etc. Some tight turns and hills. Be prepared. The area had a lot of ant hills - the bad kind. One of my dogs accidentally got caught in one while peeing and got bit up. Lots of mosquitoes (to be expected). The area is well lit. There's a boat ramp nearby and little cabins as well. Some shade, depending on where your spot is. But if you're under a tree, be prepared for acorns to fall on your rig. You're pretty far from a good store so make sure you have what you need before arriving.
Sheppard AFB Recreation Annex at Lake Texoma
Sheppard AFB Recreation Annex at Lake Texoma
Sheppard AFB Recreation Annex at Lake Texoma
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
Mey 2021
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0

We just got here. Very peaceful setting. Lake is up, full of debris, and water is the color of the Mississippi river. RV sites would go in the OK category - gravel/grass, close together, and trees limiting use of awnings. Now, the important part - the road in is narrow, twisty, and hilly, as others have stated. Not stated is that the overhanging trees need trimming. We're in a 43 foot DP motorhome, and we brushed several on the way in. If we were in our fifth wheel, which is a foot taller, we would probably have had issues. No place to turn around, so once you commit, you commit. Fortunately, we made it with no damage, but it was a little stressful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Feb 2020
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This truly is off the beaten path. It's 11 miles from the nearest town of any size (Whitesboro) for groceries and such, but you won't find a Walmart or other big stores. You'll have to travel another 20 miles or so west to Gainesville or, better, east to Sherman, both on Hwy 82. If that doesn't bother you, you're in business for a nice, quiet, expansive area on the lake with scads of picnic pavilions dotting the shoreline. It's true you can take Hwy 901 around the west side to Tibbs Rd for a smoother ride, but it won't save time and you'll go through a residential area on Tibbs Rd with rough roads. Rock Creek Rd is more direct, and after a couple of miles the road turns rougher and more narrow and meets up with Tibbs Rd. So take your pick - a mile and a half of slow going on Tibbs and a couple of extra minutes, or about three and a half miles of slow going on Rock Creek. From where Tibbs and Rock Creek meet to the Annex, the road is very rough in places with more curves. Fees for FHU have gone up to $25/day as apparently other Air Force campsites have done. All in all, it's a nice place to park your RV for a few days. The bathrooms and showers are extremely clean, as is the laundry room that has what looks like brand-new washers and dryers (two of each for $1.25). The lady behind the desk (sorry, didn't catch her name) is very friendly and helpful and is there every day from 8 to 2. Note that when you call, the phone listed above is not answered on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and is manned all other days from 8 to 2. The campers are friendly as well, mostly fishermen, and one even offered us some of his grilled fish.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 11 0
August 12 - September 12 2019
(Updated: September 15, 2019)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is the place to go when you're looking for serenity and peace of mind. Absolutely beautiful setting that is well off the beaten path. Another more direct route into the annex is to take Delaware bend road to Tipps Rd. It'll take you straight to SAFB annex road without any turns or gravel roads. It is a fairly long drive back to civilization but isn't getting away from it all really the point? The daily rate is now $25, weekly $125 and the monthly rate is $375. 
Sheppard AFB Recreation Annex at Lake Texoma
Sheppard AFB Recreation Annex at Lake Texoma
Sheppard AFB Recreation Annex at Lake Texoma
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
May 19, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Tried to stay here last year but it was closed due to severe flooding. Also due to the flood, many of the amenities are new. We were able to secure a nice rv site in the shade for two nights. Full hook up. Met some lovely people camping nearby. Approaching from the east via non interstate roads was very pretty with many ranches and little towns. Texas has great roads as a rule. Campground is still a work in progress but it will only get better with time. Recommend sites 22-28...they have a few trees.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 14 0
April 28, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here for the first time last weekend and enjoyed ourselves. The bathrooms were extremely clean (soap dispensers weren't always functioning, but they always had paper towels!) and the shower area was nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We are anxiously waiting for the marina to be completed, it's currently being rebuilt after flooding a few years ago. Many of the sites have nice, new, covered picnic tables. The 30amp/water sites are right down by the water. We loved that, and it was a nice place to put our kayaks in! The full hook up sites were not far behind us, near the bathrooms. Tent sites were spacious and a nice mix of open space and shady spots. There's a nice sand bar and several sandy beach areas where our kiddos build sand castles and fished. There's also some cool cabins on stilts we are going to look into for a future stay. On the weekends they have breakfast for a nominal charge at the lodge office. We didn't try it this time, but I think we will in the future. We are looking forward to many years of enjoyment here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
March 16, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I talked with the onsite manager yesterday and this place is open for business. (Editors note March 17, 2017 - The recreation area is open, but the RV sites, Tent sites, and Marina are still closed for renovation.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
April 6, 2016
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
I called Shepard fam camp yesterday and the said the camp will be closed the 2016 season due to bad flooding last year.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 4 17
Jan. 15, 2016
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I was in the area and just drove thru to see if improvements had been made to the RV sites. It had been four or five years since I'd camped there and the sites were in need of upgrading then. The road to the RV sites was closed because of high water, but I could see the RV sites. From a distance, it did not appear there had been any improvements.  The FEMA trailers were gone and it looked like some repairs had been done to the cabins. Sheppard AFB Annex is a good location, lake access for swimming, boating & fishing, should be kept in a better state of repair. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
October 2015
Overall rating
 
1.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
We drove out to see the famcamp only to find the gate locked. Glad we were not towing, as there was little room to turn around!No number on gate but called number on this website. Recording says they are closed due to the flooding earlier this year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 5
June 6-8, 2014
Overall rating
 
2.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Was planning on doing some fishing in their "crappie house" only to find that the entire dock was closed. This was not noted on the website. Looks like the lake was so low that the walkway from the shore to the dock had buckled and broken. So no fishing, no boat rental. We did lots of walks with our dogs along the lakeshore. About a dozen deer came right into camp. It was a peaceful weekend but really wish that the dock was open. I only used the restroom at the campground 1 time on our way out. It was pretty dirty.
sun.jpg
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
1995-2013 once a year
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have been coming here since 1995. It has been a multigenerational tradition for us that has instilled a sense a unity amount our children, sisters, parents, grandparents, second cousins --aunts, uncles, etc. From the time our children were babies until now-teens/twenty-something, we have trekked up here every single year. While the cabins are nowhere near posh--I am grateful that they are affordable and safe. Getting the kids unplugged for awhile and enjoying each others company--even if in front of a tiny tv..is nice. Yes, the facilities seriously need upgrades, but we enjoy it anyway. My father passed away this past March so this will be the first time we visit without him. So many fond memories, time passes so fast so enjoy what you have now and work to make a positive change. Looking forward to our visit next week!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 11 1
4 July 2012
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Rented three cabins and they suck dirty, bugs, landscape trash all over the yards. the Marina the docks were dirty had not been clean for long time. They clean their fish and throw it in to the lake. Can not fish in the little marina because of all the dead fish. My self, I would grind them up and use it for fertilizer for the landscape. the place need a real good cleaning all over.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Nov 27, 2012
(Updated: November 29, 2012)
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Alert! If you are staying at this campground to visit someone at Sheppard AFB be aware that Sheppard is 120 miles away! We came here expecting to spend some time with our grandson and no where did it mention that it was so far from the base. We will have to pack up and move to be closer to the base. It's a nice enough campground - scenery and surroundings are great, but office staff were no help at finding our site or amentities - had to keep asking questions - nothing volunteered. The price is really good if you're just looking for an RV campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 4
September 1, 2012
(Updated: September 29, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is camping at its finest! We have been to several campgrounds and the ability to set the camper up by the lake is priceless, no other campgrounds have allowed us so close to the water. We used to tent camp at the Annex with our little son. We loved it so much we have upgraded to a camper in our retirement years. The bathrooms/showers were clean, except for a few stray bugs that came in when the doors were left open. Also we only saw one mosquito the whole weekend. The staff were very friendly. When we had a problem at the camp site one of the staff members had her husband come to help us instead of us having to wait for the maintenance man. Since we were new RVers at the time their assistance and advice was much appreciated. One reason we will go back is because we know we will be well taken care of if we have any issuesproblems. The mini-store had all the items we needed in case we left something at home and the restaurant was an added convenience. The price speaks for itself when you consider the above mentioned factors. You won't find these benefits at state parks. Camping and fishing are the best inexpensive experiences you can share with children. The park was good for us when we were a young family and it is good for the two of us to relax in our autumn years.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
Sept 12, 2012
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Overall rating
 
1.2
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Be ready for a stay at a out of date (1940's) (cabin) location serviced & cleaned by the service or retired personnel that have the mis fortune to stay there. (Self) linen service is available though ! They will experience over pricing during their entire stay with no food service during the week and with such a remote location no facility's are within 10 to 15 miles. (Food service only on weekends). There isn't enough room to park a fishing boat over night at the cabin, no electrical plug in's for the boat battery charger or any other item on the exterior of the (cabin). A personal request was made for a refund after entering the (cabin) rented & was told "if you enter its your for 24 hrs". No refund, NO self linen service was used nor any utilities. My mistake, I waited 2 hrs after I checked in at the office to voice my displeasure about the facility even though I didn't use any thing at the entire Annex except the washed out, out of repair single boat ramp. Our service personnel & retired/government personnel deserve much better than this quality of a facility for R&R. Why are all the FEMA trailers ?? just sitting there ? Could be better utilized ? You live and learn! Wish the base CO would stay there for a night or two ! stegor
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 5 7
April 10. 2012
(Updated: May 01, 2012)
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Overall the campground is clean, except for the overgrown camping pads, most of the staff are friendly, except for one woman in the office. The liquor, and beer are overpriced. The manager is negligent of the handicapped veterans. There is not a handicap ramp going to the boat, and crapper house, or handicap bars in the bathrooms! Evidently he or she never served in our armed forces. Our Veterans hospital are full of men, and women who deserve respect, and a place they may go, that is accessible to them on every level.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
35 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2