Ellsworth AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.5 (158)
142282 2 20 5 109

User reviews

158 reviews
 
65%
 
27%
 
8%
 
1%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.7(158)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(158)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(158)
Value
 
4.4(158)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(158)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
158 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
Sept/Oct 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice place and convenient to the Black Hills. High season rates are slightly higher than listed here, $30 per night FHU, $180 week. Level and wide concrete spaces with scattered trees and BBQ grills. We prefer the pull-thru spaces for our 40 ft with toad, but have used the back-in spaces with no problem as well. Overflow sites are well spaced, a little bumpy and uneven but hey, the price is right at $15! Gate entry after hours and on weekends must be thru Liberty gate. Patriot Gate is now open during duty hours, we had no problem navigating thru with the toad. Laundry is free, a small picnic table outside and one inside if you want to hang out watching the spin cycle. If you have to do several loads be advised there are a couple rolling baskets to help carry your laundry, because some sites have a bit of a hike to the laundry room!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 13 0
July 25-Aug 1, 2021
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Weekend Arrivals Be Forewarned: We have stayed in military famcamps across the U.S. This camp is well maintained, sites are paved, clean and the grass is cut. However, the directions on the website are deplorable and INACCURATE... BE ADVISED: the commercial gate is NOT OPEN on weekends or after working hours. If you get to the commercial gate and it is closed, you will be stuck on an incline, with no where to turn around or backup. The only way out is to drive across a field. Which is dangerous and unsafe. This is a simple problem to fix: edit famcamp directions and have booking staff tell weekend arrivals the commercial gate is closed on weekends. (Editors Note: The directions provided came from other campers. If they are incorrect, please provide correct and detailed directions to share with other website users. Thanks!)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 11 0
May 25, 2016 – July 12, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We do agree with all of the comments made by benjamin2014. This FamCamp has been a great experience for us. Not homesteading, but we were able to extend our stay from the 2 weeks we scheduled to 7 weeks. We started our stay in the off season and it changed to high while we were there with an average cost of approximately $22 per day for the RV lot. Chris was outstanding, provided all required support and information about the local area. The installation has three gates, we used the 24/7 Main Gate, The Patriot Gate is open 6AM to 6PM Monday thru Friday, road is next to the FamCamp, a Commercial Gate is approximately 2 miles from the Main Gate on the other side of I-90 and is open 6AM to 6PM Monday thru Friday, 6AM to 1PM on Saturday. We have not used the Commercial Gate. We only encountered Active Duty Gate Guards, they were all friendly, courteous and professional. The camp has 51 full hook-up sites with 30/50 AMP, water and sewer, (21 pull through sites). Also there are 12 overflow sites with 30 AMP only. The laundry facility is great with 4 new high capacity washers and 6 new dryers. We had no idea how much of America’s history was made in this area. Just some of the places we visited are: Mount Rushmore, Chief Crazy Horse (we participated in a Volksmarch up to the carving), Devils Tower, Air and Space Museum (with Minuteman II Missile Silo on Ellsworth AFB tour for $8 per person), Badlands (white prairie dog town, mountain sheep, 1909 Prairie Homestead, beautiful landscape), Custer State Park (with begging burrows, 1300 head of free ranging buffalo, other wild life), Needles Highway (eye of the needle rock formation), Spearfish Water Falls, and Deadwood. Some of our local commercial activities included: Bear Country USA, Roy’s Drive-in Movie Theatre in Hermosa, ATV Rentals ($90 for 4 hours with a military discount, Mad Mountain Rentals) and the Hollingsworth Horse Ranch in Custer (unescorted trail rides). This is a long write up, but the area is really a great place to visit and Ellsworth AFB had everything we needed at a reasonable price and with a friendly, professional attitude. We have a 45’ Class A and a Wrangler Unlimited.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 10 0
June 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We made Ellsworth AFB our base camp while exploring the Black Hills. The directions to the FamCamp the office sends you are spot on. You would expect the famCamp to be at the end of one of the runways or the other side of the base, but it's smack-dab in the center of base. Check in was easy and our campsite was easy to locate and back in. The campground, bathhouse and laundry (free) are clean and well maintained. There are trees on lots providing some shade. Water, power and sewer were stable. The base has all amenities including a gas station close by so you can top off your fuel for the next leg of your trip. This is a B-1 bomber base so there is some jet noise, but the jets are a sight to behold. Wi-Fi is ok at times depending on how many people in camp are using it at the same time. Cell phone coverage was good for AT&T.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
June 6-10, 2023
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Close to the local shoppette (0.9mile) and commissary (1.2mile). Free laundry facility. Clean restrooms/showers. Dry camp area nice for tent camping as there is no water or sewer. Other sites are hard, concrete pads, with water, sewer and 30/50amp electric. Nice area, with some pads having shade from young trees. Nice stay. Also, can hear/see at least twice a day the B1B bombers taking off as this is one of two active B1B bomber bases in the world.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
August 15-21, 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
$5 Dry tent site with easy access on payment to restrooms, showers and free laundry. Many grassy areas shaded/sunny with picnic tables and grills ready at all times. The base had many opportunities to do things from shopping, free movies at the theater on Fri & Sat, to an outdoor event with food, music, games and prizes. I was busy at all times when not traveling to the local sightseeing opportunities. Badlands, Custer State Park, Mt. Rushmore, Caves, everything approximately within 1 hour from base. Sarah was the best in the office with lots of advice and answers to all questions. Make sure you are here on a Friday for free donut day! By far the best experience I have had at a Fam Camp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 1
Aug 9 - Sep 9, 2018
(Updated: August 13, 2019)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is an update to the directions. We are a 45' motorhome towing a pickup. The sign regarding 29' RVs using the commercial gate is gone. The main gate (Liberty) has 2 swing gate type barriers. The barriers can be opened if necessary. We had no problem going around the barriers and through the gate. A 45' motorhome towing a long trailer might have a problem. Previous directions from the main gate to the FamCamp are good. Services are very convenient to the campground. Good sidewalks for walkers but the mosquitoes are horrendous. Lawn maintenance around the pull thru sites seems not to be a priority as the grass was pretty long. Added: Patriot Gate (by the FamCamp) has 2 swing gate barriers at the entrance. These gates are closer together than those at the main gate and clearance for a 45’ coach with tow vehicle may be a problem. The gates can be opened if necessary.
Ellsworth AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 8 1
May 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our second stay at Ellsworth AFB Famcamp and it's just a nice park. There are some areas that are in a wagon wheel formation and there is a section that has pull throughs. There is plenty of room between the sites and it feels very comfortable. The roads are paved and the sites are concrete. (I think the pull through roads are gravel but sites are concrete). The back in sites in the wagon wheels are easy back in's because they are slanted so you can almost do a straight back in. Utilities are placed well and are in good repair. There were about 4 or 5 sites in our area that were having water pressure issues. They worked on it while we were there but never got it resolved. Everyone else had good pressure. The base is large and "Air Force" neat. Rapid City has anything and everything you'd need in eating out and/or shopping. Then, of course, there is Mount Rushmore, Black Hills, The Bad Lands, Custer State Park. There is no doubt it is a beautiful area to visit. Our only complaint is wind. It is relentlessly windy, which is annoying!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
August 1 - 7 2019
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We are a 45' motorhome towing a truck Big changes. The overflow sites are now directly across from the newer pull thru sites, just east of the child care center. Nice sites, but a big rig might have trouble getting in as the access is narrow. Changes being made to the Patriot Gate (the one next to the famcamp), but hard to tell exactly what they are doing. It looks like they are installing barriers that big rigs towing will probably not fit through. We had planned to come in the main gate, but there is now a sign saying rigs over 29 feet should use the commercial gate. We checked out the main gate and they have installed barriers that you have to curve around to get through. Big rigs will have trouble. Best way to the commercial gate if you are going East on I-90 is to use exit 63 (which has a sign saying commercial gate). Follow that road until the next sign saying commercial gate which is a left turn. After the gate watch for Spaatz Road (should be past Davis George and Eaker)and turn right. Take that to Schriever go left one block to Arnold. Go straight on Arnold to the famcamp. Other than that, past comments all apply.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
July 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Follow the directions above! Don't trust your GPS! Arrived Sunday, July 3rd. GPS took us to the Commerical Gate via 225th St. GATE CLOSED! Fortunately, we could see the gate was closed and turned left on E Ellsworth that took us back to Liberty Blvd where we turned right, went past the museum, through the main gate. We are 34 feet, towing a 15 ft SUV, and had no problem navigating the barriers. The barriers at the main gate are movable, so larger RVs probably could gain access to the base on weekends and holidays. We will come back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
17-29 Aug 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have stayed in military campgrounds from coast to coast and this one is near the top of our list. Perfect location with access to many historical sites, state and national parks. The FamCamp is clean, level sites, free laundry, WiFi that actually works, wide spots spaced apart from your neighbor, friendly staff and camp hosts. The Exchange, Commissary and Express are smaller but adequate. Military clothing is in the Exchange. There is a separate store by the food court for home/garden. The Express (base gas station or shop-ette, depending on how "old school" you are) actually has diesel and it is about one block from the FamCamp!! Make sure you visit the base museum and take the missile silo tour where you get to go down in the silo. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
16-22 Aug 2023
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We spent 6 nights at Ellsworth AFB FamCamp, Rapid City, SD. This was a great FamCamp. We came in through the main gate after going through the Visitor's Center. Coming in it was fine for our 43' fifth wheel and tow rig. We did exit through the commercial gate and recommend that. The staff was great, Greta was cheerful and helpful, correcting the computer information and providing us the "residency invoices" we needed to renew our drivers licenses. Just a great person to have at the check in desk. The all the main sites are level concrete pads. The overflow is gravel sites. The back in loops are paved asphalt. The pull through area are gravel roads. Utilities were handy and worked properly. Laundry was down to 3 washers and 4 dryers, They were free, but did need some attention. Dumpster was handy. Easy access on and off base. Exchange was smaller, but nicely stocked. Exchange gas station has Diesel and the lowest price in town! Great access to Mount Rushmore, Deadwood, Crazy Horse, and Sturgis (about an hour) A little further to Spearfish, Custer State Park, Badlands, and Wall Drug. About 2 hours to Devil's Tower, Wy. Nice Air Museum at the gate, but the indoor displays were shut for renovations.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
21 Aug 2010
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Unfortunately, I did not have a pleasant experience at Ellsworth AFB. When we arrived, a tense camp host delivered a 10-minute briefing that hammered the Base Commander's stance on safety and security ("watch out for the SPs, watch out for fires, watch out for hail, watch out for tornadoes" – and so forth). The entire briefing was verbal, and the host reacted belligerently when I suggested that written information would be helpful to refer to later. After 21 successful years of military service and having survived 50 birthdays, I had to wonder who this man thought was in the room with him? He needs to relax and be more respectful of others. Anyway, I agreed to use the Overflow area that night on the chance a regular site would open up the next day. In contrast to the briefing’s focus on security and safety, the Overflow area backs directly up to a very unsafe environment: an open field with 3-4 foot tall dry grass, which is a fire waiting to happen in that hot, prairie-wind environment. It was like being parked on the edge of Hades... in a motor home with a 60 gallon fuel tank. To be honest, we were relieved when the host called to say a regular site would not open up that day. Instead, we found a nice spot in south Rapid City at a friendly campground that was very well located to area attractions – for only $2 more a day than Ellsworth. We stayed there for a week and had a great time! As an Air Force retiree I will continue to use and enjoy military campgrounds, but I won't come back to Ellsworth AFB.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
June 1, 2011
(Updated: June 01, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We just arrived and plan to stay for a week to explore the area: so many things to see! Got a warm welcome from the camp host and all the people at Outdoor Rec, so we already feel at home. The camp is clean and quiet, yet convenient to anything you might need. Everyone is very helpful and willing to share information on sightseeing and amenities. Just GREAT!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Sept 10, 2016
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We've averaged two visits a year for some time, but in the last year we've been disappointed by the lack of management and the rise of prices. This time around, we called and were told that we could arrive and take site 39, which we did. Before parking, we called and had to leave a message. After setting up and pulling out on our way to the commissary, we were called by Chris and told we were in the wrong site. At the office, he said we were lucky since they were leaving for the day (Friday, 1300), and that we had to move immediately because someone was coming in for that site. Since there were empty sites, we asked if we couldn't remain; Chris became agitated and rudely told us that "we have to assign sites based on long term stays". OK, we said, and moved to another site. That evening the site was occupied, and the next morning - the site was empty. So there was no reason for us to move. In our experience of eleven years of full timing and many military RV parks, we sense that the RV park is an afterthought to the folks in Rec Services. In addition, although we had planned to stay a month, the lack of a monthly rate at $28/day is unreasonable; we're staying in a park very close to Rapid City, with full hookups including electric, exercise room, library, working WiFi, cable, etc., for nearly $200 less than Ellsworth. I think we've made our last visit there. Hopefully they'll start paying attention to service and reasonable rates.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
September 14, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Called several times for reservation. No answer and no call back. Other guests same problem. Arrived after after hours, sign indicated "no vacancy ". No less than 10 places open w only 2 packets in vestibule for late arrivals. Spoke to sqn commander--hopiing for improvement.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 2
June 14 to 19, 2024
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed on Ellsworth AFB and their FamCamp is great! They have both back-ins and pull-thrus which are all paved with water/sewer/electric. The camp staff were amazing and very helpful with their knowledge of the local area. The installation has the usual amenities, commissary, PX, barber shop, shopette with liquor, gasoline, large gym, auto craft shop, etc. You cannot beat the location of this FamCamp with its easy access to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Deadwood, the Badlands, Minuteman Missle Site, and anything else you can think of. We used the commercial gate which was no problem at all with a big rig but the main gate looks to be fully accessible as well but the gate personnel may have to move the barricades for you which are on wheels.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
August 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
One of the nicest FamCamps we've stayed in. Quiet, clean, walking distance to shoppette, and there's a thrift shop on base with all sorts of treasures. Concrete pads, easy hookups, and nothing beats hearing reville in the morning! There is overflow area, or park in front of Dakota Club. Not far from Rapid City, and all the Black Hills attractions. Free Laundry. The grass will become 12" high before they mow it though, that's the only possible thing to fuss about with this campground. Wifi was passable, but not wonderful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
August 14-17, 2011
(Updated: August 15, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Really like this place. Just on the outskirts of Rapid City. In a good location to visit Crazy Horse, Mount Rushmore and close to Devils Tower. Full hookups on cement pads with WiFi. Quiet part of the base and within walking distance of the BX, Shopette, and Commissary. They do not accept the National Parks Access Pass for discount.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
August 16-16, 2011
(Updated: August 27, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
One of the better Famcamps - long cement sites, good hookups, and some shaded sites, with friendly and helpful camp hosts. It's no longer necessary to use the Commercial Gate, the main gate has been rebuilt and there are no barriers or low clearances. Disregard the sign "RVs must turn around", it's for the museum, not the gate. Great location near Rapid City and Black Hills, and the Famcamp is convenient to base facilities. The base service station on the corner has diesel and is easy to access and egress, the price was $.22 cents/gal less than the Flying J down the road. At $120 a week, you can't beat the price or value.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
158 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8