JB Charleston RV Park

 
4.3 (134)
170845 2 26 1 131

User reviews

134 reviews
 
66%
 
16%
 
10%
 
2%
 
4%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.5(134)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.4(134)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.2(134)
Value
 
4.4(134)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(134)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
134 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Ordering
May 10, 2023
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We are full time RVers and travel from famcamp to famcamp. Great camp, clean facilities, wonderful camp hosts, and tons to do off base!!!! Yes there’s noise, but there’s noise at most famcamps (Air Force there are planes flying around and on army bases there’s gun shooting and mortars lol) Funny story, hubby was walking to the bathroom and walked in some grass to get there and the Karen went and told on him bc he walked in “their” area. Too ridiculous not to share. Highly recommend and they allow boondocking which is a huge bonus!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Mid November 2023
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Only stayed here 1 day. My only complaint is it's right near/on the international airport and near train tracks, so there's near constant noise. Fortunately the noise is far enough away to not be a significant issue unless you're a super light sleeper.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
2-7 October 2023
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We spent five nights at JB Charleston RV Park, North Charleston, SC in our 43' fifth wheel. Our site was a pull thru, asphalt approaches and a concrete pad with patio. Utilities were nicely located and worked properly. The camp is located near the runways for the base and International Airport, so there is some air traffic noise, but it settles down in the evening and quiet overnight. Access to local attractions was easy and lots of fun. We did not use the laundry or restrooms. WiFi was available, but pretty weak signal. Be sure to come in through the Arthur Dr. Gate, off the Aviation Rd exit of I-26, You will have to take your rig through a scanner before entry. Only took a minute and was tall enough for our 13'6" height.
JB Charleston RV Park
JB Charleston RV Park
JB Charleston RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
7 Sep 23
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We decided on short notice to see if they had any sites and were fortunate that they had just had a cancellation. They put us in site 47 and it was perfect for us. As some reviews have stated their is a noise issue at times with the aircraft and the firing range, but hey that's a military base for you. Location is perfect if you want to visit Charleston and the surrounding area. The camp host and Outdoor rec staff were friendly and wonderful to deal with. Park is located near the golf course and tennis courts, a mile from the gym, lodging is on the way to the gym and they have a coffee shop so that's always a plus. The sites all have large pads and picnic tables. The utilities were all in excellent shape and located well. I feel the bath house could have been maintained a little better but I've seen a-lot worse. Wi-fi worked great for us, no issues there for what we needed it for. This famcamp has to be one of our favorites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
15 July, 2023
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We showed up without reservations and the host was able to get us into a spot. The host was super good. The location is the best feature. It's an easy hop onto the highway to get to the historic area. Site was fairly clean but still needed a little more care. Hookups were all good and plenty of water pressure. Park is close to the end of the runway, so you will get military and civilian aircraft noise. Boeing has an assembly location at the other end which means you may get to watch test pilots taking the new big planes for a spin.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
November 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Charleston is an amazing city and this famcamp is pretty great too. Lots of noise from the airport but definitely not a dealbreaker.
CHARLESTON, SC IS AN AMAZING CITY.  Joint Base Charleston has a pretty amazing campground too!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
November 11,2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We only stayed for a quick overnight but it was enough to realize how nice the park was! I was in a pull through site that was a very large concrete pad with a big patio area. The full hook up utilities were set on the site perfectly and worked great. The camp host were very nice and accommodating for a spur of the moment show up. There is a nice playground near the entrance of the campground. The rate was $35 and well worth it but you definitely need to make reservations in advance. The campground is well lit at night, not to bright but just enough to see everything if you show up in the dark.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 7- Nov 7 2022
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
So the location is great. It’s super loud bc you are right next to the airport, but other than that the location wasn’t much of an issue. But I’m going to explain everything because every time I called I got a different answer each time…Things to know: 1. They have a new commander aka the rules changed. If you are not retired or active duty and have a VHIC, your guest/spouse will need to get a visitors pass if they wish to leave the base and return without you. Literally, every single day. They won’t give your guest a long term pass even if you are living there, but will give a weekend pass???. So if your your SO/ guest is working in the area, you will need to meet them at the gate everyday bc the visitors center closes at 5. 2. If you have a VHIC you will need to have it REGISTERED AT THE VISITORS CENTER BEFORE YOU GO ON BASE. There is no where to park your rig there (I am 60ft long with my truck and fifth wheel). So plan ahead to park it somewhere, drive to the visitors center, register, then drive to the back entrance bc you have to go through the X-ray machine. 3. If you want to stay long term. You will have to let the employees at the outdoor Rec know that when you get there. Make sure they enter your name on the list. Literally, stand there and watch them do it. Before you get on the list they will put you in overflow. So you will end up moving around 2-3times before getting into long term. 4. Fees went up to $35 a night. For the area it’s not bad, but if you plan to stay long term they still charge the day rate. There is no monthly rate. 5. You can bring in your own fire ring. Overall everyone that I met staying at the RV park was awesome, but it’s not convenient to stay at if you are a service connected vet and your SO/ guest isn’t military or has a dependent ID.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
May 17-18, 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice, clean and safe place to stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 2022
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We have been to this Famcamp several times over the past few years. It seems to be affected by a post-pandemic attitude with a lack of concern for camping issues. Unless you are in the office, wi-fi is non-existent. Reservations will not permit requesting any particular campsite in advance, they are assigned on the day of check-in. Not a big issue unless you are in a fairly long rig and assigned a very short site. Fee's are going up to 35.00 a night later in August making the Joint Base Charleston slip for economy. If you are a retiree over 65, SC state parks are a better financial deal. It appears that the camp hosts are doing the parks lawn maintenance, haven't see that before . Overall cleanliness is good, hospitality could use some work. Not sure if we will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
July 2022
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A very nice and well maintained campground. Seems to be kind of "out of the way" as he GPS takes you around the airport and in the back gate to the AFB. Turns out, it is actually fairly convenient once you figure it out. Would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 16, 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our first time at Charleston famcamp. Overall super clean, restroom spotless. Would recommend for anyone in the area, would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Dec 13, 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first time camping at a Mil campground and this place was great. No fire rings at the sites but there is a community one we used and made friends. Close to attractions and the staff at the Outdoor Rec center were very helpful and provide lower costing tickets to attractions. If you are going downtown to walk around I suggest you go the The Landing to eat and you can park next to it for $5 or $10 if you don't eat there. Still cheaper than anywhere!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
18 October 2021
Overall rating
 
3.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Our overall experience could have been better; the young girl at the check-in desk seemed inexperienced and was not very professional, did not give us code for bathrooms and by the time we realized we needed a code the office was closed (we had to ask other campers for the code). We had asked at check-in if we could have a pull through site, was told none were available, however for the whole 3 days we were there 4 of the pull throughs were empty???, After difficulty with the 50 amp service on our back in site, they did finally give us a pull through, but the other pull throughs sat empty. We would also like to advise folks about the shooting/firing range noise, which on a couple occasions lasted until 10 pm. Entrance from commercial gate is easy. Convenient to commissary and exchange. Stopped by Thrift Store, people were very friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 2
June 13, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First time here. Love it. Clean, neat and friendly. Camp host, Art was immediately available, and answered all our questions. Directions here were easy, and GPS brought right here with no problems.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
25 Feb 2021
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice Famcamp, easy to get into and out of once on base. You will hear the aircraft, and trains and cars throughout the night and the shooting range adjacent to the the camp started up at 5am. As previously reported, if you want a quiet, relaxing place to unwind, this is not the place; Summer nights would likely be better with the air conditioners drowning out the outside noise. Traffic is significant off base getting to and from I-26 and we found drivers to be pretty rude and in a hurry to get places. We came in with a 41ft Motorhome and Toad; just stay calm and be patient. Really great restaurants all around Charleston and some great historic sights to see. Check in on the phone was easy and we met the Host as she was always active around the park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
8-11 Jan 2021
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Typical of a military base campground, it's very clean and the sites are moderately spaced. Of course, also typically military, it's not a campground for serenity and quiet - it's very near the runway, and its shooting range must be close as I heard live fire yesterday. But military people don't mind such things. What I do mind is the lousy wifi reception. It's not that big a CG so there's no excuse for not upgrading its wifi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 15 - May 12, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We originally had a 7-day reservation. 5 days into our reservation, the FamCamp closed due to COVID-19. However, they allowed anyone already in the FamCamp to stay until they opened again. If we left, we wouldn't be able to return. Following the "stay at home" guidelines, we decided to stay put. We live in our motorhome, so this was a new home base for awhile. The camp hosts were very friendly and we saw them everyday. Although they weren't working anymore, since the campground was closed, they kept us informed of what was happening. The office, restrooms, and laundry were closed, but we still had full hook-ups. We mostly stayed and shopped on base at first. After a month or so, they stopped letting retired military use the commissary except on the weekends. It was a zoo! We decided to start shopping off-base. Although we couldn't travel, we enjoyed our extended visit here. We did get to do a little self-guided sight-seeing in town. The state parks in Virginia and Pennsylvania started to open again in mid-May, so we decided to move on then. We'll be back, someday!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
12 - 17 December 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Construction in progress at the FamCamp limited the # of pull through sites. Was a little worried when we arrived and Camp Host (wonderful by the way) told us we had to use a back-in site. With a 44' Fiver Toy Hauler, we anticipated the worst but experienced the best. Long, level concrete pad in the shade of a couple beautiful old oaks, full hookups with updated connections. Easy access to major thoroughfares, close to commissary and BX. A perfect base camp to explore the Low Country and all Charleston has to offer. Plus, you can't beat the value, $23/night for a modern, well maintained FHU site. BZ JB Charleston!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
November 2-11, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at JB Charleston while visiting our son and family in North Charleston. This is a wonderful campground with clean, well-maintained sites and facilities. The staff was most helpful and friendly. Convenient to the Commissary and Exchange. We will definitely be staying here again on our future visits.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
134 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7