Pelican Point RV Park

 
4.8 (53)
63553 2 21 2 84

User reviews

53 reviews
 
87%
 
13%
3 stars
 
0%
2 stars
 
0%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.8
Location
 
4.5(53)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.9(53)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.7(53)
Value
 
4.8(53)
Overall Experience
 
4.8(53)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
53 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
31 May - 2 June 2013
(Updated: June 02, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Campground just opened on 17 May 2013. When we drove by last summer the campground was just piles of dirt. It looks great now. Easy to find with current directions on this site at the end of Monroe. Take the first entrance at the CG where the large wood sign is. Check in was smooth and easy with friendly, helpful service. Office has small store, not a lot of items but very convenient. Large bathrooms, 3 men and 3 women, have shower, toilet and sink in each. Laundry room is available and is priced at $1.50 a load. There is a lounge with big screen TV, sink, a couple of tables and some chairs. No large trees for shade but many smaller trees have been planted and should be nice in just a few years. Sites are level with 20 foot wide concrete pads, plenty of room to park RV and tow vehicle, half of the sites are back in and half pull thru. Hard pedestal type utility hookup with 50/30/20 amp hookups, sewer as well. They also have water, which tasted good, and basic cable hookup. WI-FI is also provided free of charge and has a good signal, I didn't loose signal at any time. Excellent campground. The exchange and commissary is about 2 miles and there are a couple of gas stations on base. Bike riding or running trails are located along the main drag and are very well maintained. Marina and golf course are located within 5 minutes of the campground. I would recommend this CG to anyone traveling through or just wanting to get away for a few days.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
July 23 - 30, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at the MCAS Cherry Point old RV park about 10+ years ago and enjoyed the local area. This year we decided to return for a one-week stay to once again explore the North Carolina coast and to see if the Pelican Point RV Park is as good as rated in other reviews. Yes, Pelican Point RV Park and the staff deserve those high ratings and compliments. The park is great; it was well designed with good driver side view angled back-in and pull-thru sites, plenty of space between the sites, large concrete slabs that can easily accommodate the largest RV’s, the utility hook-ups are located away from slab giving you extra room for positioning your RV on the slab which allows you to fully utilize the slab space for your outdoor activities, the grounds and facilities are clean and well maintained, and finally, MCAS Cherry Point is located in Havelock, NC which, in our opinion, makes it a good location to set up a base camp for day trips to visit the many surrounding historic, recreational and dining out sites. Over the years we have traveled up and down I-95 and US-17 many times and never gave this area, known at the Crystal Coast, a second thought. We believe that subconsciously we thought it was too far out of our travel route and the highways were not the greatest for driving a large vehicle. Today the highway conditions have changed with the improvements to US-17, NC-24, and US-70. Getting to this area has become much easier – we enjoyed our trip down from Wilson, NC (I-95) to Goldsboro (NC-264 & I-795) and then eastward on NC-70 to Cherry Point. We stopped for lunch at a beautiful rest area located west of New Bern, NC on US-70. Since we are here for only seven days we choose three days for playing tourist and the remaining days as do-nothing days. We are enjoying our stay but did not allow enough time to visit all the great sites in the area, therefore, we look forward to not waiting another 10 years before returning to this 5.0 rating MCG. A big “thank you” to Cherry Point and all those involved with the design, construction, and operation of the Pelican Point RV Park – you are doing a great job.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
June 6, 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I hesitated leaving this review only because more people will want to use this park making it more difficult for me to go back, LOL! This is a gem - beautiful RV park and close to the great beaches of NC. Lori the host is wonderful and accommodating.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
16-18 October 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First time visiting this park. Outstanding! Office staff was very helpful during the reservation and check-in. The park is extremely well kept including the shower and bath facility. Sites are large full hookup with all the newest utility stands. Only minor issue is the bright lights at night. Between the lampposts and bright yellow lights on the utility posts, there's sure no need for any flashlights in this park. My personal preference is for a darker night-time experience just to be able to see the stars, but that's probably just me. It certainly does add to the safety factor. The park is also within easy walking distance of the river where you can watch boats and beautiful sunsets. Great for kayaking too. Bring your own if possible. Rentals are available, but not at the campground. Since Hurricane Matthew in 2016, you have to go elsewhere on base to pick up a rental. This is a wonderful location too. We spent a day touring beautiful New Bern just a few minutes away and another couple of days at the nearby beach towns. Will definitely return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
11 Dec 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stopped for an overnight stay on our way south. Was not prepared for the wonderful welcome or the pristine condition of all facilities. Small park, but exceptional y well laid out and equipped. This is now a destination stop for us. Beats most commercial/private parks we've stayed at. We stayed in a 44 ft 5th wheel. Spacious, level concrete pad and truly manicured lawns. You can tell the staff and long term residents here take great pride in the park. Easy access to the MCX mini mart and not too much farther to the main MCX and Commissary. Only very minor gripe is they do not have diesel at the service station. Use the Slocum Rd gate and you can't go wrong.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
24 April - 15 May 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We returned for 3 weeks again this year & we’re not disappointed! Miss Lori & Miss Carissa in the office we’re akways smiling & so helpful, as was the camp host. Grounds always tidy, good WiFi & cable. Met a sweet family there, whom I hope to keep in contact with for years to come! More washers/dryers added to laundry facility, which is wonderful! Cannot say enough good things about this campground & hope to return next year! May God continue to bless our military! ???
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
12 Mar 2016 Thru 20 Mar 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice, well kept campground. Extra wide concrete pads. Good WiFi. Only downside is the rather clumsy cable TV setup. Campground staff worked hard to get our connection operating. I am told the system will be upgraded in the next few months. It appears that there are a lot of active duty homesteaders so recommend calling ahead as soon as possible to ensure you get a spot. Price is right. This is the only campground we've stayed at that has handicapped sites (3) so if you qualify consider asking for one of these spots as they are the closest ones to the showers/laundry.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 28-August 11, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first time here, and certainly won't be our last! Beautiful, spacious sites & campground with friendly & helpful staff & campers. Enjoyed all the jets that few over & especially visiting with our military men & their families, makes me feel so proud of our military! Cannot brag enough on the office staff - such kind ladies! (Staff at Mayport & Destin Army Rec Area can certainly take lessons from these ladies!) The only reason I gave a 4 is because campers could benefit from more than one washer. The whole facility was clean, & the sunsets over Slocumb Creek were breathtaking - sunsets that only my God can paint. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Nov 2018
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
$25 day FHU concrete site Pros Level concrete site FHU Easy access to RV park from gate Max stay 30 days (leads to more opening and better maintained lots) Laundry (1.50 wash/dry) Strong WiFI Base golf course nearby Cons Cable was down while we were there (no biggie but if it matters to you double check).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
May 5th, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
One of the top 5 military campgrounds we've visited, the new Pelican Point FamCamp doesn't disappoint. Sites are large and level. The grounds and facilities are clean and well maintained. Our late arrival was handled efficiently by the host, who was courteous, professional and knowledgeable. After the daily airshow of Harrier and helicopter ops (they should charge extra for that!), the park was very quiet. Overall, a great facility and value. We stayed in a 36 foot 5th wheel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 12-13, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My wife and I loved the RV Park, the office staff was excellent, the facilities are very clean, there is plenty of room between sites, and the hookups and concrete pad space is more than adequate. If you’re into kayaking make sure to bring yours or rent one, if your into bicycles and walking your in the right place, miles of walking/biking trails. There is a kayak launch site about 400 yards from camp ground, you’ll need wheels on your kayak to get there but the road is paved and the kayak launch site is the best we’ve seen. Slocum Creek is a great body of water if you just want a lazy paddle or you can fish as well. We spoke with the camp host and he is a wonderful helpful guy. This is a great place to stay, we will be back to Pelican Point. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
March 15-18 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Another great stay(3rd time here). The Host and the young lady in the office are squared away, professional and helpful.The bathhouse is always clean and the campground itself is well maintained. My family and I love this place. We Look forward to returning in the near further. McDaniel Family 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Feb. 2, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A great campground in a great location. Small and quiet with level concrete sites and an excellent bathhouse. The base is big with a nice walking path and a lot of eating establishments that can be used by everyone on the base. The Croatan National Forest is nearby and has many hiking and biking trails. Need to be aware that DoD Civilians need to be sponsored and cannot get on base with a DoD Civilian Retiree ID. This was the first time we were denied access. We were turned around at the gate and had to go to the Pass and ID office outside the gate to get advice on how to get a sponsor. Fortunately the Recreation Manager was in his office and agreed to sponsor our two week stay. Also, USPS mail will not get delivered to the campground address so use Gen Del at the Havelock Post Office if needed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
09-12 November 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our Veterans Day weekend visit was our fourth time here. Absolutely love this place and can't wait to return this year. We've been here for a few holidays and love how they decorate the campground. CAN NOT say enough wonderful things about Ms. Lori and the staff. They are all extremely friendly and helpful. For example, during our check-in with one of our previous stays, we were told about a potential storm and where to evacuate should anything happen. I don't know many places that would have been that mindful to share that type of information. As previous reviews had stated, the lots are spacious and level. Fellow campers are friendly. Great atmosphere. It's nice to come to a place like this where kids can be kids and make friends. That's what helps make the wonderful camping memories. If there was a "Con", it would be there is no cooling temperature control in the bathhouses. Some days during the summer were extremely warm, so to take a shower and immediately start sweating was uncomfortable. Would be nice to be able to control the temperature in there. Other than that, awesome place. Please keep up the great work that you do.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
November 2016
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
RVs are no longer limited to one gate. DOD vehicle sticker requirement was cancelled several months ago; ID is all that is needed. Nightly rates are $25 after November 1, 2016. One of the nicest military parks we have visited. Park is well laid out -- some sites are pull-through but all sites have plenty of space for RV and vehicle parking, plus picnic table. The sites here are full hookup and wonderful: level, concrete pads with light-topped poles which include electric options and cable hookups. Clean well kept grounds. Wifi worked well. Staff was great to work with. We came in on weekend, so registered with staff host (office closed on weekend). We had difficulty getting our cable setup (which ended up being a problem with our RV connection, not the park's connection). The park host came over and helped us figure it out. Showers, bathrooms, and laundry w/TV room (two washers, two dryers) are all in one building which was well maintained. There are individual rooms for each toilet/shower (3 each gender) and you will need the code for access. Also need quarters for the laundry ($1.50 per wash or dry). PX, Commissary, Bowling Alley, Theater all on base. Also can get propane filled at the Outdoor Rec building; however, car wash is now an empty field! Restaurants and shopping abound right outside gates. Things to see within 30 minutes or so: New Bern, Fort Macon/Atlantic Beach. River is close by but not visible from campground. We stayed four nights, but would have definitely stayed longer if our plans permitted.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 20-23, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - Only one word needed to describe the new Cherry Point campground. "WOW!" What a beautiful new campground. Double concrete pads, paved roads, manicured green grass between sites, new all in one hookups and low enough for slide outs. This new park is worth the $25 per night. We were there one month after their grand opening and they didn't have their picnic tables yet, but I'm sure they are on there way. The old park is closed and the new park is about three miles from the commissary - don't plan on walking home with a quart of ice cream :)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
6-11 July 2019
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed here last year, cable is still unreliable and WiFi is now non existent, not just rv Park but entire base. Camp host was very knowledgeable while checking in on weekend. Base has everything from commissary, exchange etc and Walmart is just outside Slocum gate. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 14,15,and 16 2017
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My wife and I stayed there for Easter weekend, It is one of the nicest camp grounds we have ever stayed at. The office staff were incredible, They also have a camp host for after hours and weekends. All you have to do when you leave is drop your cable remote at his site. He also has the a list of sites for late arrivals. It was a very clean and managed site. The pads are about 20x40 ft. with a picnic table. They do have pull thru site there also. Roosevelt gate has a height limit of 13.6 ft. Slocum gate is higher . 100% id check in progress. Was a great time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
August 6 - 20, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Gorgeous campground! BEWARE - you cannot enter station at either gate if you do not have a DOD sticker on your RV or tow car! We had to pull into a small parking lot to register both vehicles and it was a nightmare getting in and out. We are retired Air Force and that entity no longer requires DOD sticker. Knowing this in advance would have really been helpful. Lauri, who runs the office is a sweetheart and very helpful, although she did not know about the DOD sticker. The campground is brand new and beautiful and worth every penny. Exchange and commissary are very adequate, and about 3 miles down the road.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
29 May 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Drop dead beautiful RV Park. As nice as any we have stayed at regardless of price!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
53 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3