Pelican Point RV Park

 
4.8 (53)
63553 2 21 2 84

User reviews

53 reviews
 
87%
 
13%
3 stars
 
0%
2 stars
 
0%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.8
Location
 
4.5(53)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.9(53)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.7(53)
Value
 
4.8(53)
Overall Experience
 
4.8(53)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
53 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
August 2023
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Have to say this is a great RV park! The sites are level, concrete, and have plenty of space between them. The electric was steady and the water was clean. The CATV worked great but we did not get any decent wifi but there was plenty of cell service. The park guests were amazing but I have to say the park staff was even more amazing and helpful. The installation itself has everything you need except for diesel fuel as far as I could tell. There is a gym and pool within walking distance of the park as well. A big plus there is a great VFW within a couple miles of Slocum Gate, Post 7315.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 23, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first time out with our new 23-foot travel trailer, and we spent three nights. MCAS Cherry Point is near Havelock, NC, midwayish between New Bern and Atlantic Beach/Morehead City (which is on the NC Coast). Please note that this campground is on a military base and is available only to Military (Active, Reserve, NG, Retired) and Department of Defense employees. Enter at either 1) the main gate off of US-70 onto Roosevelt Blvd or 2) Slocum Ave gate off of US-70. Proceed down Roosevelt Blvd for about 3.9 miles to Monroe Dr. Turn left at sign to Pelican Point RV Park and Marina. Turn left into the RV Park. Office is on the left. ---- NOTE!!! The Main Gate has an overhead height of 13'6". We used the Slocum Gate. Because we arrived on a Sunday and during the weekend of a Federal Holiday, we checked in with the camp host (who was located in space #23) and registered/paid when the staff returned on Tuesday. The spaces are fairly roomy and most of them can be pulled-through (although they are paved for back-in). The amenities were as stated, and were in good condition. We spent our days visiting the coast and going into New Bern, but we found the campground to be quite peaceful (except of course, this is a Marine Corps air base, so we did hear a lot of aircraft (F-18, CV-22, etc.) flying overhead. The main base is just a few miles down the road, with an Exchange, Commissary, and other typical military base resources.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Mar 8-22, 2023
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice, quiet, well cared-for park. Sites are pretty level with full hookups. Exchange and Commissary are close by. The base facilities are typical and a lot of construction is currently going on. Boat launches are close. Nice bathrooms/shower stalls. Nice laundry facilities. That being said, the surrounding town doesn't offer much in the way of restaurants, although a few were not bad, so New Bern is probably a better choice if you want a decent place to eat. Also, there is an aggressive police presence, so watch your speed on the base. But this is supposed to be about the park. My wife and I enjoyed this park very much. It is one of the nicest we have stayed at and will definitely go again. The only real downside we had is absolutely no wifi available. We haven't picked up a hotspot yet and have no desire to purchase StarLink or other satellite system. Otherwise, most other places in the country could take lessons in park care from these folks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 2022
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a pretty new and very nice campground. You can walk to the water to fish or crab too. Havelock doesn't have much to do but there are tons to see and due in New Bern, Beaufort, Morehead City and Atlantic Beach.
IS PELICAN POINT RV PARK THE BEST FAMCAMP IN NORTH CAROLINA?  Let's go to Cherry Point and see!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 17-30, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Easy access to either Slocum Gate or the Main Gate. Nice long double-wide, level sites. Clean and well-maintained. We had site #1. It was very windy during our stay, so the sites along the trees (23-30) were less windy. The bathhouse and laundry facilities (4 washers and 4 dryers) were immaculate. There is a small boat ramp just a couple minutes’ drive from the campground, which puts you into Slocum Creek – a great waterway to go kayaking and fishing. It was a quiet park, but not much going on in Havelock. You must travel to the coast, about a 30-40 minute drive from the campground, for any decent grocery/retail stores, restaurants and activities. The North Carolina Maritime Museum in Beaufort was interesting and worth the drive. New Bern is a bit closer, and has some stores and restaurants as well.
Pelican Point RV Park
Pelican Point RV Park
Pelican Point RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 6, 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I hesitated leaving this review only because more people will want to use this park making it more difficult for me to go back, LOL! This is a gem - beautiful RV park and close to the great beaches of NC. Lori the host is wonderful and accommodating.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
11 Dec 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stopped for an overnight stay on our way south. Was not prepared for the wonderful welcome or the pristine condition of all facilities. Small park, but exceptional y well laid out and equipped. This is now a destination stop for us. Beats most commercial/private parks we've stayed at. We stayed in a 44 ft 5th wheel. Spacious, level concrete pad and truly manicured lawns. You can tell the staff and long term residents here take great pride in the park. Easy access to the MCX mini mart and not too much farther to the main MCX and Commissary. Only very minor gripe is they do not have diesel at the service station. Use the Slocum Rd gate and you can't go wrong.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
November 12-20, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at Pelican Point while visiting our son and family who live in Beaufort. It was a great experience with friendly staff and clean, well-kept facilities. We will stay here again when the opportunity arises.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
November 16, 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at pelican point in 2015 and I loved it. One of the best military campgrounds we have stayed at. I love the bathrooms and the laundry facility was clean with plenty of machines. The bathrooms are awesome because they are individual rooms that include: toilet, sink and shower. Plus, there are little heaters to use while showering when it’s cold out and I loved that option. All sites were level and clean. The area was well manicured and the lady at check in was friendly and funny.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
16 thru 20 Oct 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Beautiful campground. Very well kept. Bath and showers exceptional. Sights are big and very well layed out. It's a small park only 30 sights but spaces are available we had no trouble getting in. Ms Lori was very pleasant and helpful. Fishing facilities within walking distance, A nice view of the river and base facilities only minutes away. Easy access from Hwy 70.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
6-11 July 2019
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed here last year, cable is still unreliable and WiFi is now non existent, not just rv Park but entire base. Camp host was very knowledgeable while checking in on weekend. Base has everything from commissary, exchange etc and Walmart is just outside Slocum gate. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 29, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very easy access sites. Good wifi and cable. Close to base amenities. Every thing clean and squared away like you would expect on a Marine Base. Would definitely stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 15-18 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Another great stay(3rd time here). The Host and the young lady in the office are squared away, professional and helpful.The bathhouse is always clean and the campground itself is well maintained. My family and I love this place. We Look forward to returning in the near further. McDaniel Family 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
09-12 November 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our Veterans Day weekend visit was our fourth time here. Absolutely love this place and can't wait to return this year. We've been here for a few holidays and love how they decorate the campground. CAN NOT say enough wonderful things about Ms. Lori and the staff. They are all extremely friendly and helpful. For example, during our check-in with one of our previous stays, we were told about a potential storm and where to evacuate should anything happen. I don't know many places that would have been that mindful to share that type of information. As previous reviews had stated, the lots are spacious and level. Fellow campers are friendly. Great atmosphere. It's nice to come to a place like this where kids can be kids and make friends. That's what helps make the wonderful camping memories. If there was a "Con", it would be there is no cooling temperature control in the bathhouses. Some days during the summer were extremely warm, so to take a shower and immediately start sweating was uncomfortable. Would be nice to be able to control the temperature in there. Other than that, awesome place. Please keep up the great work that you do.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
October 21 - November 17, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My husband & I enjoyed a month at Pelican Point Campground last fall. As always, it was a wonderful visit. Ms. Lori in the office is so very kind & helpful. The camp host was available if we had questions or needed assistance with anything. Maurice always has a smile & a kind word & works hard keeping the laundry room & shower rooms clean. The campground was in pristine shape, even after recent flooding in the area. The RV lots are very spacious. Campers are friendly. Sunsets around the corner at Slocum Creek are breathtaking! The base is clean & the commissary & MBX (?) are easy to access. We’re looking forward to returning this summer, God willing. This is one of my very favorite military campgrounds! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
January 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed for one week and loved it. Very clean, awesome staff, level big sites, cable TV worked great. Lots of room to run my crazy cowdog. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Nov 2018
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
$25 day FHU concrete site Pros Level concrete site FHU Easy access to RV park from gate Max stay 30 days (leads to more opening and better maintained lots) Laundry (1.50 wash/dry) Strong WiFI Base golf course nearby Cons Cable was down while we were there (no biggie but if it matters to you double check).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
August 2018
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I stayed at Pelican Point for a couple nights August 2018. As bad of shape as the Marine Corps base was in and how the scarey local community looked this has to be one of the nicest RV parks that I have stayed in. It's clean, new, and spacious. Spaces are concrete, oversized, and level. I was checked in by a lady named Lori who I found to be extremely pleasant, helpful, and friendly. This park had WiFi and cable included in the rate. The bathhouse was very clean, new, and in great shape as was the laundry facilities. I gave it two stars for the location for obvious reasons.....location. You have to drive a distance to get to somewhere nice. Constructive comment, this park really needs more spaces and needs to be expanded. Its 25 spaces stay full. Overall, this rv park is professionally managed and is in really great shape.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
Jun 22, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Perfection and the Host is the best ever!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
24 April - 15 May 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We returned for 3 weeks again this year & we’re not disappointed! Miss Lori & Miss Carissa in the office we’re akways smiling & so helpful, as was the camp host. Grounds always tidy, good WiFi & cable. Met a sweet family there, whom I hope to keep in contact with for years to come! More washers/dryers added to laundry facility, which is wonderful! Cannot say enough good things about this campground & hope to return next year! May God continue to bless our military! ???
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
53 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3