Desert Eagle RV Park

Featured
 
4.5 (208)
194561 3 32 2 144

User reviews

208 reviews
 
71%
 
22%
 
4%
 
1%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.5(208)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(208)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.4(208)
Value
 
4.5(208)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(208)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
208 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 ... »
Ordering
May 2013-31 Mar 2014
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
As a former host from May,2013 thru Mar,2014, I feel it necessary to clarify some of the comments recently made about the park. Larry, I hope there is someway this information may be saved for future reference. 1. Because reservations may be made 6 mos. in advance and the stay for 6 mos. the park is very popular from September thru May for full-timers. The reservation system is similar to a hotel system in that reservations are booked for a site based on arrival date and length of stay. Additional requests (i.e. pull thru, shade, close to bath house) are accommodated if possible. 2. As the grid fills up, it becomes harder to move people in the park and retain the integrity of the system. A guest making a reservation in April for arrival in September will have priority over a guest making a reservation in June for September. A walk-in with no reservation will have to take whatever is available based on the length of stay. If a full hook-up is available for the entire length of stay, this will be accommodated however, the guest may have to start out in a partial until a full hook-up is available. Guests are told this at check-in and given the option of staying where they are parked or getting on the waiting list for a full hook-up for the rest of their stay. The reverse may also be true. If a guest sees an open site and wants to move, it may be for only a day or two because a guest with a prior reservation has not arrived yet. 3. The much anticipated expansion of the park has been pushed back again by the FSS Squadron due to funding issues. The park manager, Randy Peck, works very hard to keep the Wi-Fi service in good order. Many guests violate the instructions handed out at check-in and stream videos, music, etc. contrary to the wi-fi use rules. On a personal note, I find it very paradoxical that many guests complain about the $22 full hook-up fee while driving $100,000 and up rigs. A hotel stay in the Las Vegas area is $40 or more a night and that's a fleabag place. Parks like Del Mar, Seal Beach, Admiral Baker, etc. are $35 to $50 a night. Desert Eagle is one of the better managed RV parks in the military system. In my opinion, as a former host, the park should change to first come, first serve and quit taking reservations much like Davis-Monthan but that will never happen I'm sure.
Report this review Comments (3) | Was this review helpful? 16 1
April 1-13, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our first visit to a military Famcamp and I think we have been ruined for all of the rest. We are at site 222 in the new section of the park. We are very close to the dog park, laundry, and our neighbors. The older section, wagon wheels, have wonderful trees and much more space. Our need to come here was weather-based so a last-minute reservation and we got what they had available. It is a new section so we have young trees and your normal stone/concrete site. The staff has been wonderful and friendly along with our fellow visitors. As for the base facilities, visited the Commissary for our grocery needs. They have a wonderful produce section and things are reasonably priced. The staff was helpful and friendly. The exchange is huge and exactly what you would expect. Overall our experience was outstanding. The Commander of Nellis AFB should be very proud of this facility. Even the security staff at the gate smiled. We will be spending time here again. Maybe an entire winter.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
Feb 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Return for a few days before heading for home. Assigned a site in the “new” section of the park. This site was also good for us, easy pull through and hook-ups. In this site we were able to get very spotty wi-fi access at the RV. Did learn from the staff than the wi-fi is being expanded. We could see a “Desert Eagle Wifi” option with a very strong signal but that is still under installation and not open for connection just yet. This will be a great addition to the park. Park is busy with plenty of campers, yet still a number of vacancies. Nellis is making progress in becoming a very good park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
January, 2019 - April, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed for 78 days and were very pleased with the park. When we first arrived we were assigned site 180, which is in the 'new' section. The new section is tight, very tight. We didn't think that we could do 78 days in such cramped conditions so we asked to be moved to 103. Perfect! We were very comfortable and had plenty of room. There were people there that were in the new section for much longer than the 78 days we were there and I never heard a complaint from anyone about the cramped quarters. The bathrooms, laundry and showers were the cleanest I have ever seen. The staff was always friendly. They were installing the Wifi while we were there and were able to use it for the last week. It worked great - but, it will be a pay service when the installation is complete. As in most military famcamps, it is nicer than most commercial campgrounds, less expensive and safer. We enjoyed our stay at Desert Eagle and would go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
16 October 2018
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed overnight on the way to AZ ... heads up ... the North entry point on Range Road has cement barriers in place to create an S-shaped entry. The path was so tight I was not willing to try to weave my 38 ft class A with towed vehicle through it and the gate guard agreed. So ... Go to the South entry on Range Road if you have a longer rig ... this is the entry for semi- trucks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
March 14
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
RATE INCREASE: Starting 1 April. Rv sites will be going up. Rates are: Premium pull through: $30 a night - Premium back in: $27 a night - Standard ( New area): $25 a night - Wagon wheels: $27a night - Tent/overflow: $9 a night - Partial hookup’s: $21 a night - Short term storage will remain the same $2 a night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
December 18, 2019 - January 4, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We are a 45 foot motorhome towing a jeep. We stayed in the new sites. Narrow or tight is an understatement. I'm surprised that for a newly build section that they made the sites so narrow. For example, with out driver side slide open, our neighbor had to move his picnic table really close to his rig because there was not enough room for anybody to sit on the side closest to us. On the doorside because of where a bush was planted, perhaps 8 or 9 inches between the slide and the bush. While the sites are extremely narrow and a challenge for a big motorhome or 5th wheel, the interior roads are nice and wide and we saw several handicap access sites which were fairly roomy. There is decent wifi, although we were told that while it currently is free, it will eventually be a pay as you go. We got 5 bars on our Verizon phones, so would have simply used those if we had had to pay. The office staff is as nice as can be. I cannot say enough positive things about them. Washers and dryers are 75 cents a load. Commissary and Exchange are located across North Las Vegas Blvd on the other side of the base and are easy to get to. The office has both base maps and Las Vegas maps. We have 2 dogs so dog walking areas are always important to us. There is one fenced in area near the office and there are several paths in the older area where you can walk your dogs. A bit harder in the new area, but there is some gravel along the outside wall where pets can go. Also, there are plenty of dog waste stations with cans and bags scattered around the park. If we had stayed in the older section, I would have scored facilities higher and value and experience would have been 5.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
16-17 DEC 2020
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Caveat: COVID stays are always different (usually for the worse) than non-COVID stays. Site: Circle 4, Site 88. In that light, I'll start with the limited CONS of our recent stay at Desert Eagle. Most amenities and facilities were temporarily closed (presumably due to the virus) including restrooms and showers. This isn't normally an issue, but being in a public park without operational restrooms is much more limiting than being on BLM land without any restrooms. Add one poorly-timed toilet failure and we got pretty good at shooting across the highway to use the facilities on main post. WiFi was also an issue for us as it's only offered for a fee within the park. We appreciate that this is a cost center for the base, but plenty of RVers rely on that connectivity for daily support activities (work, paying bills, etc.) and may not always have mobile plans to fall back on. The PROS, however, definitely outweighed these slight inconvenience. The Desert Eagle is a clean park with new fixtures (pads, tables, etc.) and a layout that puts a good 30+ feet between rigs. The surrounding views aren't anything to write home about, but the park addresses that with some well-placed foliage and a good overall design. Neighboring campers were quiet and respectful (as expected on base), and the kids loved the free airshows that occur throughout the business day. That latter bit might be a con for some, but as an aviator myself I'm always game for a bit of plane watching. No night flights while we were there, which may have crossed a line when it comes to bedding smaller kids. Lastly, the Vegas strip is a mere 10-15 minutes away, which in other times would have made for quick access to all sorts of fun. In our case we simply used the proximity to order dinner from some of our favorite restaurants for a couple nights. Overall very happy we visited Desert Eagle and looking forward to our next pass through!
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
Feb, Mar, Apr 2022
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is our second long term (for us long term is more than a month) stay at Desert Eagle. It is a great park - especially in the wagon wheel section. There is so much room in the wagon wheels that it is very comfortable, and you don't feel watched by close neighbors. There is no grass to mow, no flower gardens to keep up, no edging to be done - just a lot of gravel and sand. The sites are concrete and the grounds are gravel and sand. Sites are level and utilities are placed well and work good. T-Mobile gets excellent signal and almost any site is satellite friendly. There are a few exceptions but not many. It can get really windy here. Also, the Air Force Thunderbirds home base here so you can see them practice once in awhile. We are not big fans of the desert and that is the only reason my review is not lacking in excitement. The base here is great. It's got a very large commissary and exchange. I'm sure, if we in the area again, we will come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
7 April- 22 April 2012
(Updated: April 20, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Didn't think we would enjoy camping in Las Vegas: nothing to do but go to casinos. Right? Wrong! Although these reviews are usually just for the RV Park, a lot has been said to make folks want to stay here. Rightly so since the amenities, staff, location adjacent to an excellent AF Base, and other items make this a choice place. The jets do fly low over the Park, but that is the sound of freedom. And many are Thunderbirds practicing, so you get quite an air show every day. Spaces are roomy, landscaping is terrific, the bath/laundry facilities are great, and the pace is just so clean! We haul around our recycling looking for a place to stow it: Desert Eagle has multiple recycling boxes for all commodities. The BX and Commissary are outstanding. Location is far from the tourist trap places. Although many here sit in their RVs all day, you can get to really great parks and such in a few minutes. Must see places include Red Rock Canyon, Valley of Fire, and of course Hoover Dam. You can easily spend days on end at Red Rock and Valley of Fire: the Bighorn Sheep at VoF are only a few meters away at worst (makes for great photos) and one actually lets you touch it as it blocks the highway (he's like me...too old to breed, and senile). Come for the warmth and stay for the enjoyment. Get outta your RV and partake of the attractions. The staff treats you well and the price is great. They don't have cable but we get good antenna reception; they do provide wifi, but you spend a lot of time re-connecting the signal. We have good AT&T wireless service here. We came for a couple of days and stayed two weeks...only leaving to tour Death Valley. Can't say enough good things about this place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
April 5-19, 2016
(Updated: November 17, 2016)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A prime location, only twenty minutes to the strip, $22 a night for full hook up.  We made a reservation and knew only a water and electric site was available and that we would be put on the wait list for a full hook up.  Found out we wouldn't be put on the wait list until after check in despite what we were told when making the reservation. The water and electric sites are around a circle but you are perpendicular to the circle and either have your door to the road or have to run your power and water under the RV when connecting, the worst circular setup I have seen.  Check in was a long process (20 minutes) because the woman at the counter was somewhat new and not sure how to input the stay.  We also were told we had to have exact change when paying cash because they couldn't make change after 4:00 pm (it was 4:05).  We were put on the full hook up waiting list and told only a couple people were ahead of us.  The next day when I went to the office I was told we were actually fifth on the list, the next day I was told I was eighth, and I talked to the same person two days in a row.  No one at the front desk can apparently read the waiting list, so ask for Charlie, he's the retired RMC that makes the reservations.  If you wind up in a partial hook up site, be sure to ask about the dump wagons, we didn't find out they were available until after moving to a full hook up site and the woman at the office stated they sometimes "forget" to tell people.  After five days we were called about moving to a full hook up, which we did right away.  What a night and day difference.  Huge sites, easy to back into with a parking space for your vehicle.  Water and electric were good, WiFi was ok, but we still needed to use our Hotspot at times.  There is considerable jet noise, Reveille goes down at 5:30 and if you are in circle three you will hear the kids on the playground of the child development center by 7:30.  If you can get into a full hook up site, it is definitely worth the $22 a night.  The laundry rooms, two, are $.75 a load but could have more washers and dryers.  Showers work, but need some upkeep.  This is a great place to enjoy Las Vegas from.  You will have to leave the RV park side of base, then enter another gate to visit the exchange and commissary then the same getting back.  Its inconvenient having to keep going through busy gates and sitting at traffic lights for such a short trip.  We plan on returning in the fall.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 9 7
Oct 3-6 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I am a retired DOD Civilian with a Department of the Army retired civilian ID card. Any retired Department of Army civilian can get an ID card that allows one to use military recreation facilities. Just visit a civilian personnel office where you retired or bring in proof of retirement to any other military civilian personnel office and apply for the card. I have used it on Air Force, Navy and Army Famcamps over the years. Now, I must say that I really enjoyed my stay at Nellis AFB Famcamp. We had attended a military reunion in Vegas and this was a great place to relax away from the Strip. The only facility we used was the laundromat which proved to be clean and easy to use. Also, the instructions to Nellis Famcamp were right on. However, I found that coming from Kingman, AZ you follow Highway 93 north changed name to I-11, then to I-515 to the I-15. Then use the instructions posted on this sight to Nellis. I did find that if it isn't a heavy traffic part of the day, I could exit I-515 going north and exit on North Las Vegas Blvd North and follow it to Nellis for about 5 miles. Yes, you would hit traffic lights, but the traffic was low and it was a straight shot to the Nellis Famcamp. The traffic on I-15 was hectic and not fun while towing a travel trailer to get to the Craig exit. Stay away from the I-15 on Friday through Sunday as that is the heaviest traffic scene, also during normal rush hours.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Feb 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed this time in the “old” ex-mobile home park section and liked it. Very long site with good level concrete pad to park on. Trees for shade, etc. We like Nellis and have stayed here plenty of times. Staff in office were very friendly and helpful. In the past have had off-on experiences but they are doing things right now. They even called us when it was looking like we might arrive after closing. A welcome package with site info was awaiting us. Wi-Fi isn’t real strong and can be very slow at times. It is still a free service even though the park map indicates a fee after 30 minutes of complimentary service. Select the Viasat service. Getting ready to go and dumping the black and gray tanks. Sewer line clogged. Thankfully was when doing the gray tank, line accepted all the black, otherwise would have been a yucky mess. Good thing I was keeping eye on line and caught just as it backed up. Told maintenance guys and sounded like this has been occurring. Could be because it is the older “ex-mobile home park” and lines aren’t new like in the newer section. Used the dump station on the way out. Considering the cost to stay at commercial parks, still think this is a good deal for us. We aren’t into the “resort” lifestyle. Not the cheapest military RV park we have stayed in but consider the price to be reasonable for what is provided and security of being on base. We will visit again in the near future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
September 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our third time staying here. Usually for just an overnight but this time we stayed a couple days to attend a football game. There are sites with some shade in the wagon wheels part. Pull thoughts and back ins. Good utilities. Bummer that the internet blocks connecting to WiFiRanger, it it is a strong signal. Did not use it much, as you have to pay for over 30 mi items. The highlight was the staff. They were very accommodating when we had an issue with out rig. They are very nice, helpful and friendly. OBTW, Papa John’s delivers to you site. Will stay here again when in the area. Thanks to the staff again for all the help.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
20-27 November 2018
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We've stayed here many times and have always been pleased with the consistency of professional service and outstanding facilities. Quick, friendly check-in and escort to our paved and level concrete pad in the old, now "premium" section, our preferred location. Lots of space between sites, some trees and shrubs, and no obstructions to TV satellites. Plenty of OTA TV channels and good Verizon cell/data. The park WiFi would not connect during our stay, not unusual now that everyone seems to streaming video. Plenty of the "sound of freedom" starting early on weekday mornings but relatively quiet on nights and weekends. Outside the base is a deteriorating neighborhood so off-base dining and shopping require a few miles of driving. Overall one of the best Famcamps in the system. We'll stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Oct 28 - Nov 4, 2018
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I"m not sure why there are a few negative reviews. We had planned to stay one night, but ended up staying a week. The office staff was nice and pleasant and gave us an information folder with maps. We didn't have any problems extending our stay, other than having to move sites. But this was partly due that we had friends coming in and we wanted to be near each other. The new sites are close together with no shade. We got lucky and ended up in shaded sites. The restrooms and laundry were very clean, but most of them are also new. The commissary and exchange are a good size. Yes, we had lots of the "Sound of Freedom" from the jets, but we actually enjoyed it. The pricing is currently very reasonable for this area - I hope they don't get greedy and raise them too soon. This is a large RV Park and was about 90% full when were here. We enjoyed our visit and would return when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
April 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Extremely professional & friendly staff!  The wifi signal was not the best, but better than most RV Parks!  The main office provided free computer access.  The park and facilities are meticulously maintained.  Only one of two shower stalls were functional!  Daily bags of ice are provided free of charge!  On this particular visit I experienced a dead battery and was unable to get my rig on the road!  The office staff went so far beyond the call of duty that I had to offer to pay for their time and service!  The RV park maintenance staff helped me assess the issue and provided a battery charged pack to attempt to crank the starter battery into action.  After several attempts the office provided contact numbers for reliable resources within the area. I was able to locate and arrange the delivery and installation for two new series 31 batteries!  The check out time was listed at 11am.  I wasn't unable to solve my situation until 1630.  The staff would not accept any monetary compensation for their time or services!  The very least I can do is to pass on my story of gratitude and appreciation for their help and consideration. I received service fit for a king for just $16 a day!  So I would highly recommend this location for anyone considering a Las Vegas visit!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
January 2019
Overall rating
 
1.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
We stayed in the older section of this FamCamp. We normally are very happy with our experiences at a military FamCamp. However this stay was a disappointment. When we checked in I told the office our son was staying with us for three nights. When I reviewed my bill I notice I was charged extra for entire stay. Office told me no refunds. OK, only $14. On our second day here we were notified that the water would be turned off for five days. Why were we not informed of the scheduled water outage at check in? If we knew about it we would have gone elsewhere. Since we would not have FHUs for five days I asked about any discounts or refund. I was told no discounts or refunds. The scheduled water outage turned out to be six days instead of five. Our other problem was with getting our mail. We had a prescription sent here. For whatever reason the office rejected it and had it returned. We knew nothing about it being returned. We only found out about it be returned when we called the pharmacy. They verified they used the address of office required. We had packages delivered here without issue before they refused our prescription. The office personal here appear to be folks that actually stay here in the park and really are not qualified for this work. The older section could use some cleanup, maintenance and is starting to look very tired. Overall we are very disappointed with the lack of customer service at this FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
03-05 MAY 2013
(Updated: June 12, 2013)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great park, lots of security, close enough to everything you'd want to see in Las Vegas but far enough away that it's nice and quiet (apart from the occasional F-18 or F-22). We arrived late into the Las Vegas area (after 11p) and had to do some research on how to get into the FamCamp. Fortunately the instructions above were there - and spot on! When you enter, (at the 5 o'clock position to the Guard House) you then must go around an oblong loop to the right that circles back to the security gate at the 2 o'clock. This arc is big enough to fit semis that make deliveries to the Hospital. We pulled in about 1AM and the park has 4 hook-up sites behind the office for late arrivals as well as 2 more dry spots out front. I'd suggest parking up front and walk around the temp sites, because some folks leave their 'towed' attached and you will never be able to get around them. The front office is friendly, efficient and it's great that you get a free bag of ice daily. The gas station, commissary and other retail facilities are on the main side of the base, while housing, the VA hospital, (HUGE!) solar array and FamCamp are on the west side. The Base Police rolled through several times while we were at our rig (so I'm assuming they normally come through every few hours). Our neighbors ranged from rigs as small as 25 foot Terry Travel Trailers up to a Prevost Bus with an older Rolls-Royce as their towed! Every guest we spoke to during our stay was very nice and recommended different casinos, buffets and shows to see. We will definitely stay here again, probably during the NASCAR race since LVMS is two miles up the road.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
2022 MAR 14
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Spent one night in the new pull thru sites, and was very happy. The original 'wagon-wheel' sections are perfect for those who stay for months, but the standard pull through we had in the new section is great for those who are just in town to go out 'on the town'. Woke up to reveille, drifted back off again, but an F-15 practicing 'close air support' soon there after, makes an effective snooze alarm. Definitely can't wait to stay for a month or two when we go full timing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
208 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 ... »