Re: nformation on Tow Vehicles

More
17 years 1 week ago #830 by skyking8
rvtraveler> I'm currently a Class A driver, but have had two 5W previously. Pulled with a Dodge 3500 and F450. Lotsa difference in the Dodge 2500 and 3500 trucks, but not much in the F350 and F450 except more payload and pulling capacity. I have a friend who pulls with a Silverado. Nice truck, but cost him a fortune.

Agree with FastEagle. No need for a 4 x 4 to pull an RV, long bed a must for bigger rig, dually will add stability, and quad cab goes without saying.

Suggest that you visit dealerships and pick up spec brochures on all bigger trucks. While you're looking at 5W you'll then have a method to eliminate which vehicles won't do the job.

One disadvantage of a big truck - you can't get it into a normal parking space at the mall even here in Texas where trucks are king. But then you'll get some good excercise walking from the back of the parking lot. :)
R

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 years 6 days ago #848 by mkebikecop
I want to thank everyone for their information and help. I now have a better idea what I am looking for without the "honest" advice of a truck salesman.

"Battles are sometimes won by generals; wars are nearly always won by sergeants and privates."
-F.E. Adcock, British classical scholar

More
16 years 11 months ago #1097 by AdventPreacher