Camp Rilea

Camp Rilea

Featured
 
4.2 (56)
165667 3 30 2 85

User reviews

56 reviews
 
46%
 
38%
 
11%
 
4%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.5(56)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.4(56)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.8(56)
Value
 
4.3(56)
Overall Experience
 
4.1(56)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
56 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
24-25 June 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We LOVED this place! Pulled in through the front gate but missed the stop at the Welcome office... had to drive our toad back to register. Since we were there on a weekday, I checked with the Range Control Officer while registering to see if we could drive our toad thru the training range to the beach access. No problem. Sites are back-in only and ours was behind the bathroom facility, so took a little maneuvering, but settled in nicely with full hookups. Electric power was reliable and stable. Drove to the gate bordering the beach, walked over a sand dune and sank toes into the Pacific Ocean (very cold current - don't expect to do much swimming). GORGEOUS views up and down the beach, which you can also drive on via access points in the towns adjacent to the camp. Very quiet while we were there - some JROTC cadets drilling made the most noise in the distance. Loved the song birds and ocean air. Daughter used the laundry facility and was very pleased. We WILL return!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 10 0
September 2016
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I've stayed here before and dealt with the nightmare of trying to get someone on the phone for RV site reservations before. This time I searched online and got a different number, 503-836-4076. The number came from this site, http://www.oregon.gov/OMD/OTC/CampRilea/Pages/RangeStatus.aspx under Lodging Duty Staff. Someone answered and helped me. I don't know if this will always work but it is another way to try. Good luck.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 10 0
June 21-July 3, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great post! We had no problem making reservations and access to and driving on the post is very easy. The entire staff is very pleasant and make sure to take care of every detail. The post is tidy, mowed, quiet and very clean. It's very obvious the Oregon Army National Guard takes a lot of pride in the facility. The post has a beautiful laundry too. You pay $5.00 for the Door Entry Card and from there everything is free. As others have mentioned, the RV Park is along the side of a large paved parking area. There are no picnic tables and the sites are a bit tight. Sites are divided by painted lines, are about 20 feet wide and easily 75 feet deep. Plenty of room for the largest rigs. There is no CATV as this site states. It may have been discontinued sometime in the past. The smaller Exchange is reasonably good for such a small post carrying snacks, various drinks, cigarettes, and general household products. If you need anything more there’s a new Walmart Supercenter about 1.2 miles north on 101. It’s so new, it’s not yet on Google Maps. Don’t miss the Friday and Saturday night Prime Rib dinner with Salad Bar at the Port Light Cafe on post. It’s fabulous for $17.95. If you want to use DISH Satellite TV, it works well on Sites 6 to 10 as Sites 1 to 5 are blocked by trees. You may want to keep this in mind when making reservations. Getting to the beach is easy too. You could stop by Range Control and get a pass to drive your vehicle on the range roads and park about 500 feet from the beach. OR, you could exit the post and drive 1.5 miles south taking a right onto Sunset Beach Rd. With this you can drive straight onto the hard-packed sandy beach and easily drive a few miles in either direction. For those wanting to do some fishing, there's a fresh water lake on post, a few minutes drive from the RV park. Though I didn’t have a pole, a neighbor of mine brought me three large trout last night. He used night crawlers bought fresh from Walmart. We will definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 11 2
4-16 to 4-20, 2011
(Updated: April 20, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
As stated before, it is a parking lot with hookups. The bathrooms and showers are extremely clean. The staff does a great job. The laundry room was very clean as well. As stated, 10 each washers and dryers. You do have to go to billeting to get a key card to use the laundry. The shopette on base does havea few things. A little ride gets you to a Coast Guard Exchange that does stock some food items. They also have gas pumps and the price was 10 cents a gallon cheaper than anywhere in town. The coordinates for your GPS for the exchange (taken from my GPS) are 46.17222,-123.841667. It is easy to get to thought. Head north on 101. At the rotary, take the first exit which will head you south on Bus. 101. The exchange is about one mile from the rotary. No diesel. The gas pumps are open every day from 0900-1800 and on Sunday 1000-1600. Overall, nice place to base for touring the area. Some museums nearby in Astoria. A trip to Tillamook and the cheese factory is a nice ride along the coast. Quite a few places to pull off and just enjoy or take pics of the ocean. Will definitely stay here again if I am in the area even though I feel the $20 is a little high.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 10 1
October 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I know you want to know, so here you go: it's pronounced "Rye-Lee-uh". Everyone seems to have differing opinions except the locals and staff on site that call it as described. We really enjoyed our stay here. It was peaceful and went by all too quickly. The staff were wonderful. We had planned to arrive at 5pm but came closer to 7pm due to traffic after the scheduling office was closed. The guard at the front gate had all our paperwork, so fear not travelers! They gotchu if you arrive late. We also accidentally stayed a single day over the allotted number (whoops!) and they simply let us leave the next day. Thankfully, this happened during October 2022 when there are fewer sites being booked. Camp Rilea is very conveniently located, too, although it can be tricky to find if using a GPS navigator. Rather than using whatever address is recommended online, I suggest using the address for a restaurant on site called the Port Light Cafe. Here's the address: 3194 Patriot Way, Warrenton, OR 97146 This will take you right to the front entry for the camp EVERY time (yep, this is the entry you want to visit when entering the camp with your RV). The camp also has blue lights set up at the entry. During the day, it's harder to see but at night it makes returning 'home' much easier. Have your ID ready when you pull in as there will be a guard checking you every time. Like others have said, it's basically a parking lot with hookups. For someone wanting a quiet experience close in proximity to fun things to do, it's a great little option and the price is right. The most noise we heard were (daytime) light rifle practices and droning noises from close helicopter drills (that we honestly enjoyed right from our bedroom window). That all said, let me tell you that this little campground is PERFECTLY located near so many things you might need during travel including: Walmart, Home Depot, Costco, O'reilly's, Tractor Supply (with dog wash!!), Harbor Freight, Wash-and-Fold laundry (try Marlin Ave Coin Laundry by the Dairy Queen), etc. If you stay here during the rainy months (October to about April), there are lots of places to shop locally for rain gear. I recommend Englund Marine. There's also a Columbia store in Portland that offers 1/2 off cost for veterans and dependents, bring your ID. The restaurant options are solid, as well, in Astoria and Warrenton. If you want to drive a little, don't miss going to Long Beach, WA about 30 mins away. If you're in the proper season, consider razor clamming or hunting down berries (there are blackberry bushes everywhere, even lining the roadways!!). Overall, it was a wonderful place to visit, a great first stay on base for us and we will be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
Aug 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Wow, this is a real hidden gem. They have a paved area with a grassy hill behind it with about 15 back-in spots. Full hook-ups. No wit. Great Verizon coverage. Laundry. Small AAFES convenience store. Away from crowds. No highway noise. Nice restrooms and shower. Very quite place. Open, no shade though. But who needs shade on the Oregon Coast! Plenty of room for MH and toad. Sites are a little close but workable. Not picnic tables or fire rings. Staff was very friendly, helpful and courteous. There is a resident herd of elk we saw right behind the RV area. You can get to the beach, but be sure and call range control first. Sunset Beach is a very close and a little easier option. Very convenient and close to Fred Meyer, Costco and other shopping.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
June 25 - July 1, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
After leaving Beale AFB and traveling for four weeks, we finally arrived at Camp Rilea Military Recreation Area for a six day stay.  We stayed at several private RV Parks during our travels in California and along the Oregon coastline.  The rocky Oregon coastline is absolutely beautiful and a shutterbug’s paradise. Walking on the beaches at low-tide is a priceless and rewarding experience.  Traveling west on California Highway 299 and then north on US-101 is some-what challenging but the scenery is well-worth the effort.  We found a lot of fun things to do along our route.  Checking-in at Camp Rilea was very simple:  the gentleman at the gate was really friendly and explained exactly where we had to go to check-in at the Billeting Office;  he told us where to park our rig for the check-in process thus avoiding a turn-around problem in the parking lot.;  the active duty soldier at the Billeting Office was also very friendly; we were given an envelope with a map of the Post and a key to the site electrical pedestal.  Experiencing such a friendly welcome set a good tone for our visit.  All the sites in the RV Park are back-ins, some are on an asphalt paved surface and others on grass.  There is plenty of room to maneuver while backing into the site.  The length of the sites can easily accommodate the largest RV’s along with tow/towed vehicles.  The width of the site is about twenty-two feet which seems to shrink considerably when you have slide outs on both sides and your neighbors also have slide outs.  Previous reviews have mentioned that the RV Park is a parking lot and that appears to be true.  We did not come here with different expectations.  We just wanted a safe, quiet place to stay while we took day-trips to local attractions and enjoy our “do nothing” days which means going for walks and just hanging out at the RV Park.  The Post is small, quiet, and well-maintained.  We did get an unadvertised Kodak moment; we watched five elk grazing on the hillside next to the RV Park.  There are major retailers about two miles north on US-101.  If you travel south on US-101 about eight miles you will be in a little town named Seaside.  What you see of Seaside while on US-101 is not a very good representation of what the town has to offer.  You will need to go west on Broadway to downtown and the beach.  Seaside is a pretty neat place to visit with or without little munchkins tagging along.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
Aug 1 to Aug 6, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
It may be a parking lot, but it is a nice parking lot. Convenient to Astoria, Lewis and Clark National/State Parks and Seaside, OR. The post exchange is very small but adequate for emergency items. Took a trip to Tillamook for the cheese factory. This is a good spot to camp and see the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
Jan 4, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Don't let anyone tell you differently, this is a parking lot. The site is a little used base, so there isn't much there. The PX is small and the base doesn't have anything for visitors. Now, from there, this is a great place to visit the Oregon Coast. The staff is very helpful, and folks on the base were friendly. We used the base as a place to set our 5th wheel, and from there went out to visit the coast. It gives you a secure site to leave your RV, and is close to the coast area for just about everything. I've enjoyed other sites more, but keeping in mind the limits, it is a nice place to stay for a few days. I wouldn't plan on an extended stay unless I had other things to do. The camp is well maintain, the facilities were really clean. We got to watch the elk herd come into the camp. I'd go back, and recommend it to anyone looking for a area to visit the coast.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
August 2009
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I used to come here a lot about 5 years ago, then it was just a gravel parking lot with hookups. Since then they have paved the site and it has full hookups. They have a nice restroom and shower facility, although we didn't used it. Small PX, snack bar with wi-fi, although the wi-fi was broke while we were there. You can also rent cabins and motel rooms here if you have guests. I disagree with the previous poster, we go there for the tourist activities in the local area, there are tons of stuff to do and see, especially with grand kids. Fort Stevens State Park and Military Historical Area has a ton of activities, a museum, beach fishing/exploring, a freshwater lake for swimming/fishing, etc. Largest state park in the west. Fort Clatsop NP is a real treat, even if you aren't a history buff like me. Seaside and Canon Beach are nice beach towns, especially Canon Beach, its one of my favorite places.. and of course Astoria, lots to see there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
8 October 2010
(Updated: October 09, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Yes, it is a parking lot. A very clean, hospitable, quiet and convenient parking lot with full hookups (including cable tv), a great place to walk the dogs or yourself, watch the elk herd in the evenings and just enjoy the peace and quiet that you will not get at any of the commercial parks in the area. It is a lovely facility and the people are very friendly and helpful. The location makes it perfect for the Northern Oregon, Southern Washington coast and all of its attractions. The PX is a shopette. Fred Meyers is about 3 miles toward town if you need groceries. Costco is about 4 miles. This is a great camp!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 1
June 27 - July 4, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We are a 45 foot motorhome towing a truck. The entrance is a straight shot, no concrete barriers to have to weave through. Once through the gate proceed straight ahead and up the hill until you see a building on the left with three flag poles, marked welcome and billeting. There is a big space directly across where the largest rig towing can pull in. Easy check in at Billeting, where we were given a key to unlock the electric. As mentioned there is no wifi at the site which is why I dropped amenities to a 4. Our Verizon phone had 5 bars of service so we used that for wifi. Warrenton, just up the road has a Walmart. A few minutes further and there is a big Fred Meyer store. If you like fish and chips, look up the bowpicker fish and chips on the internet. It is 8 miles away in Astoria,cash only, no inside seating. They use albacore tuna. Back to Camp Rilea - Sites are well marked and we had plenty of room for our slides, but could not put awnings out all the way. We were in site 9 and had no problem with satellite reception.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
Sept. 16 - 18 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a Army National Guard training base. The base grounds are immaculate and the rv area is newly paved and spacious sites. Check in is easy and the laundry room has 10 washers and dryers at 0 cost (FREE). The Oregon beaches are very close and public friendly with many in the area. Would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
December 3, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
J.H. left this review using the Directory software: The staff is VERY friendly. Although it is a "paved lot", with all back in slots. But, you have a nice view of the camp which is very well maintained. There is a free laundry available to campers. Also, there are cabin like facilities that can be rented as well. There is a VA clinic on post. The Rest Rooms and showers are spotless and very close to all 10 parking slots. There is a small picnic area to the SE. Word has it that in summer, you may "experience" small arms fire. Just over the hill from the "campground" is a firing range. It is a VERY nice park, and is close to Fort Clatsop and Fort Stevens in addition to Astoria and Seaside....this is a good location for this part of NW Oregon. Good price for what you get.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
April 27 - May 1, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived on a Saturday without reservations. The billeting office is open 7 days a week and we were able to get an electric only site for $15 a night. There were still a few electric sites available the rest of the weekend. Come Monday, only 3 of the full hook-up sites were taken. Camp Rilea is very well maintained. We had a herd of Elk near the campground, as well as a couple deer come through and a Osprey nest nearby. Connie enjoyed watching the Osprey from our rig. It was a dark and quiet visit. The office staff were real friendly. The restrooms and showers were old, but clean. We enjoyed touring the nearby Tillamook Cheese factory and historic Fort Stevens. The town of Warrenton is nearby and had a Walmart and several other shops available. There's a small Exchange on base and one restaurant. Otherwise, this National Guard base doesn't have any other facilities, other than lodging and training. This is a gem of a campground on the Oregon coast.
Drive Through Tour of Camp Rilea RV Park, OR
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
8 to 12 Sept 2011
(Updated: September 10, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The previous comments are accurate. Just a couple of things to add. First, this is very convenient to Astoria and surrounding area. Second, this is primarily an installation supporting the Oregon National Guard. We happened to be here on their drill week-end. The firing range is right behind us so, during the day, we heard occasional weapons fire. Not a problem for us - no worse, in fact better, than being under the end of a runway. Finally, because it was a drill week-end, the RV spots were full. We were offered, and accepted, a spot in "dry camping." The "dry camping" spots were next to the full hook-up spots, but we were parked on dirt instead of asphalt. The showers and other facilities were still available to us. Since we dry camp a lot this was not a problem. Much to our surprise, however, their definition of "dry camping" also included a 30 amp electric hook-up so we were very happy. Cost to dry camp: $5 per day. When the firing range isn't active you can drive out to the beach. We loved this place. But if you are one of those who needs a pool, hot tub, activities center, playground for the kids and so forth - don't come here. There is a KOA just up the street for you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
June 13-14, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just cannot compare with a Walmart parking lot. Cg is quiet, clean, convenient. Not many amenities on base, but, after all, this is a reserve base, not active duty. What do you expect? Definitely worth the price and convenience. Area tourist attractions are almost non-existant, but a nice place to stay for a few days.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
August 25, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
J.P. left this review using the Directory software: This our latest of several visits to Camp Rilea. This is one of our favorite stops and we very much enjoy the quiet atmosphere and nearby shopping (including Costco). The staff is always very friendly and helpful. We will return again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Aug 8, 2017
Overall rating
 
3.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Can'r give an honest review as like so many, unable to get thru on the reservation line. Called two weeks out for a Aug 8th campsite. No luck so we stayed at Ft Stevens Campground. Very nice but lots of people. Not noisy. I did get a call back after I left two messages, but by then, I had already got into Ft Stevens. On the return call from the Camp, a unfamiliar number popped up on the iPhone, +40 18 Romania. I let it roll over to voice mail. When I checked it was the Camp Rilea reservations. I did not call her back and there was no detectable accent on the voice mail. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
August 10, 2012
(Updated: August 13, 2012)
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
I can't believe that I was there for two days and moved THREE TIMES. Ridicules, that they can't even manage 10 RV spaces. It is a parking lot which is nice and clean. All the spaces are the same but some body seems to have to have their favorite spot and they moved me three times in two days. I guess it is a good ole boy thing and you have to have the perfect spot in all of the asphalt parking lot. They need a manager that can manage 10 spaces correctly. Who is in charge?????
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
56 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3