Joint Base Andrews FamCamp

 
3.8 (86)
126417 1 14 0 69

User reviews

86 reviews
 
27%
 
38%
 
27%
 
7%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
4.5(86)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.5(86)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.1(86)
Value
 
4.1(86)
Overall Experience
 
3.8(86)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
86 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
September, 2017
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
An embarrassment to the Presidential Flagship Base. It is run down and unkempt. They are suppose to be upgrading the park as it is old. However, there is nothing being done except roped off areas, un-mowed areas and a very shabby appearance. The 30 amp service is so weak that we could only run one thing at a time. If a/c, then no hot water. Couldn't use microwave or convection oven at all. It was 94 and I didn't want to turn off a/c for that. But had to bite the bullet to take a shower. The woman in the office is full of attitude - in my opinion. She accused me of telling her I had a shorter unit than I do and would not let me tell her otherwise. I would not say we are shorter than what we are - that would not be to our benefit in any way. Her tone is condescending and rude. We will not be back. It is a shame too because it is a great location for visiting DC.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 11 0
2018
Overall rating
 
2.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This is my 3rd year staying at Andrews Fam Camp for the Winter, I have been pleased for the price for what they have. This year someone decided to raise the rate from 600 a month to 900 a month. Its not worth that much. The internet doesn't reach to the campers, no cable, only 30 AMP hook ups for now. When it gets 32 degrees or below the water has to be disconnected from the camper, the bathrooms are rough looking, I do think they are clean. The positive thing there is they have concrete pads. There is a camp ground 15 minutes away from the base that the water can stay connected, has cable, bathrooms are much better,the internet is much better, and has a pool. They are 950 a month.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
3 May 2019 to 8 May 2019
Overall rating
 
2.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
An embarrassment to the Presidential Flagship Base. Made reservations 4 months out and was required to call back every month after that and two weeks before we arrived. Once you find the place, look at the golf field and the buildings around it then the camp ground. Big difference, It is run down and very poorly kept. The sign directing you to the famcamp is an older sign with family camp ground. Looking down the road you could not see any trailers or the camp ground itself. The lady working that day did give a lot of information about the local area, and gave two metro passes to use, just give them back before you leave. The metro cards had very little money on them, so we put more on and turned them in with a lot more on them. I suggest buy your own at the station. All the reviews about the sights were correct. Due to the rain the area was swampy most of our stay. The amenities listed are not all at the camp ground. The bathroom/showers area need a lot of updating, shower walls are old, not very clean and yellowish in color. A lot of warning signs posted all over the place. We left a day early and informed the staff 24 hrs prior, and was not given the one day refund. I did get the run around from staff. I guess she needed the money more. During our time there, I observed three different persons working the place, and directed to another camp sight if I needed anything after hours. Out of the 18 pad sights, 4 had long term campers placed 3-4 months, one over a year (the assistant). I've never seen a place run that bad on a military base. It was a good location to see the DC sights. Would I go back, No. Check with the other RV sights and other bases.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
23-17 Jan 2017
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was our first RV campsite stay ever with our new (to us) travel trailer. We made reservations online and arrived after the office closed on Monday, but all of our check-in information was posted on a board at the office ready for our arrival. Services at our full hook up site all worked perfectly. The road through the camp ground was full of pot holes and slightly muddy due to recent weather. Bathroom facilities were clean, heated, and their only downfall was the floor finishing peeling off the tiles. We used the site as a place to stay while visiting family in the city, so we were gone from the campground from 0900-1800 each day. The ease of access to Suitland Parkway made the location very desirable for us, but you can hear a good bit of road noise while in the campground. The low price for staying in the D.C. area made it a great value for our use.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 1
May 14 - 24, 2017
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We are here in May 2017 and the park is sorely in need of upkeep and maintenance; grass and weeds are knee high, tree limbs laying on the ground around the sites, lawn debris left in piles. The facility is old, run down, and in need of a real face lift. The sites are packed together leaving about 6-8 foot between campers and 30a service. On the bright side it is inexpensive and near the Green line metro station at Branch Ave. After looking at older reviews, it would seem that maintenance and repair of this Fam Camp is a very low priority.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
Sept 2018
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The only good thing is the location for visiting DC and concrete pads. Very easy to take the Metro into DC. this could be a nice fam camp, but is suffering from deferred maintenance. There are a lot of areas roped off with yellow police tape, that looks like it has been there for years. It is really run down, unmowed, standing water, potholes and LOTS of rules and signs posted everywhere. Two signs in the tiny bathroom stalls instructing you to check after flushing, just to make sure. Lots of signs about what not to do. It is very unwelcoming, it's like they really don't want you here. weird vibe.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
June 6-22, 2017
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
You would think this park being on Andrews would mean the base would care about the appearance and upkeep. That doesn't seem to be true. We stayed here Jun 2017 and the place looks like the base wants to shut it down rather than improve it. The park is in the process of being upgraded to 50 amp service however in the 16 days we were there no one worked on this and half the park is unusable because of the construction. I asked Denise when the estimated date of completion was and she stated the project did not figure in a new transformer for the upgraded power needs and so all construction has stopped and she doesn't know when it will start again, so half the park is unusable until who knows when. The club house has a pool table, fuze ball table, air hockey, and ping pong, however no one is allowed to use any of this equipment. Denise said management removed all of the rackets, balls, and sticks because parents wouldn't control/supervise their children and the kids were damaging the equipment. That said this could be a beautiful RV park, but it seems like the base management wants to let it run down to the point of closure. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
January 2016
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Pass on by Joint Base Andrews... You would think with it's importance, location (proximity to Washington DC) and value to the military community at-large in the area this would a be a superb, prime and logistically a top RV campground for thru travel, visiting DC and the surrounding area (military, historical and vacationing) in general. As someone who lives (16 years and 20 minutes) nearby this "campground" it's said to say it is one of the worse if the worst I've ever seen.  No CATV, internet and very limited Wi-Fi. Must use dump station that's barely accessible, and also deal with 90-95% homesteaders.  The road leading to it is bumpy (potholes), the road inside CG is gravel/dirt and the sites are tight.  You may have at any time share water with other campers.  Baths/showers are dirty and need upgrading. Camp managers and hosts are not friendly or helpful. DON'T BUY fuel on post. It is 10-15 cent higher than off post. Your best bet is Quantico MCB or Fort Belvoir, Virginia, Fort Meade Maryland. On the good side: Commissary, BX and other services on base are great.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 8 3
29-30 Sep 2021
Overall rating
 
1.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
My experience with the Joint Base Andrews was very negative. I made reservations two months in advance for a week-long visit to the DC area. However, when we arrived we were assigned a spot not large enough for our RV and with none of the requested hookups. There were several empty spots that would accommodate our fifth-wheel and we ended up spending one night in one of the spots. However, I was told all were reserved for a DOD contractor the following day. I guess the DOD contractors' reservations trump retired officers. The camp host attempted to be helpful but could not do anything about the scheduling by the office. We ended up at the Navy base 60 miles away until we could get into a spot at Fort Meade. I am very disappointed that the management refused to honor a reservation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 2
October 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed in October 2019. Denise, the camp host was very helpful and informative. Park has level concrete pads with fhu available. Laundry has new machines at low prices. There is a lounge with tv, pool table and pingpong table. Close to the Metro for sightseeing transportation. By far the lowest priced rv park in the area. This is not a destination park, rather a stopover point in my opinion. It is old, and the base doesn't appear to want to spend a lot of money on it. Bathrooms could use a renovation, tho they are clean. Water lines lines in the park need upgrading. Denise does the best she can, but there should be more staff to help with the workload.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Oct. 17- 21, 2014
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
RV wise this is a very good place to stay. Unfortunately, our arrival was met by a very hostile employee named *******. The first impression you get from a place is the reception. She was overbearing and rude and lent to the feeling of unfriendliness which continued the second day when we asked her for a map and she would not give it to me as one had been in our packet. The campground is in a good location to tour the area. For those wishing to play golf...perfect! It is a great deal. I would have no problems except the first which unfortunately made a lasting impression.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
April 1-11 2017
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
After reading the Jan review, I would guess there as been no maintance this year. Unpaved roads are still full of pot holes, trees and branches down and the weed are growing. The park is Surrounded by the golf coarse so I'm sure it a nuisance to them. I was challenged by a man who said his was park host about walking my dog in the park. He wanted to be sure I was a quest? He was gone two days later so I didn't follow up. That being said. Parking is on level concrete pads and the Metro was only 4 miles and with parking. We where for the D.C. Sites and it was a good location at a good price. With only 30amps I wouldn't recommend late summer visits.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Oct 13-15, 2019
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Not big rig friendly. Circuit breakers kept flipping off due to way contractor wired the park. Ground fault circuits used while electrical boxes were within 2 feet of water lines. Tried to reduce amperage use but circuits still triggered in the middle of cold nights. Showers and facilities are run down while individual sites have broken fixtures, littered with junk. Manager and host polite and very helpful but these electrical issues outside of their control. Nice golf course next door and is closest to Wash DC sites. Inexpensive but if operating a Class A motorhome expect electrical problems until they provide a fix.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Sep. 10-26, 2017
Overall rating
 
1.8
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
The only thing that is nice here is the location. Easy to get into and out of DC. The rest of the site is pretty run down with about half of the sites closed for some reason. The employees are very rude and abrasive and believe the amenities are there for them. Manager told us we could not change the channel in the day room area because the TV was there for management. The main thing is you are getting what you pay for at this site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
July 2016
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Our stay for a week was a busy one... Famcamp is okay..the men's room was a mess needs some maintenance done correctly..The lady that works there is short with people and nosey..acts like a gestapo..if she doesn't like the job...find another..needs some updating to make look like it on a command base.....wifi not that great...being woke up by the weed eater at 7:30am... not nice either 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
July 24 - Aug 1, 2012
(Updated: July 30, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Andrews AFB. The staff was very helpful and really nice to our party. The Metro System is just about down the street and the people we met on the metro were helpful to "Country Come to Town". The BX & Commissary were fabulous, the commissary we ever seen. There isn't any diesel on post but out the Virginia Gate & turn right there is diesel there for a good price. Walmart is out the Virginia Gate as well. Exit gate & turn right at light, next light turn left, go under Hwy 5 & follow the feeder or something to that effect, Walmart & Lowes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Apr-May 2018
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have been here a week and will be here another week. So if this review changes, I will update it. The campsite is conveniently located to DC. The sites are concrete pads and the road around campsite is gravel. The showers and bathrooms are very clean, but are also very outdated and old. They need a good overhaul, as it seems it is the original everything. Our campsite, and the gravel road in front of us, had a muddy mess most of the time, due to some sort of leak, according to the campground host, Denise. You will note from the pictures and there hasn't been any rain the week we've been here. Speaking of Denise: She is very matter of fact and to the point which is greatly appreciated! Another reviewer wrote she was trying to kick them out when instead of stating the fact: She was giving a reminder of check out time. She has also been quite helpful with information and I've seen her outside everyday we were there. Come to find out, she also keeps the bathrooms clean; probably why they are so well kept. She was mowing around the bathrooms with a PUSH mower and also weed eating while we were there! The whole place needed mowed and this lady was trying to do it all by herself! There is a busy road outside the gate and cars can be heard when the door is open with screen shut or late at night when the AC isn't on. While the campsite needs some updates and maintenance is beyond Denise's abilities, it's a great buy for $20 a night and I'd certainly stay here again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Nov 2016
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Nice base, well worth the visit, lovely wooded setting. Campground laid out well, back in sites. Outer loop has fhu, inner loop is electrical only, tents, and bathhouse. Located right inside the east golf course. Office staff gets three stars. On one hand Denise was very informative about visiting the city, ask her about borrowing metro cards ($2. each and needed to ride the metro) I assume from previous RV'ers but spotty about enforcing the HOA's of the campground, letting long termers slide in appearance but upset about three buckets of kindling that we had near our rv door. Don't pass on DC attractions, drive in and out was busy but do-able for larger rigs, this is a nice campground. We would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
15-21 Dec 2019
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Close to the Branch Ave Metro Station. Concrete pads level. Ms Denise is a character. Reminds me of a cordial but strict task master. A lot of rules and warnings. For those with families: no footlockers outside! No children can be alone outside say on picnic bench or the restrooms! Families like us please keep track of your kids....pool cues are not swords or bats. Fusball tables are not jungle gyms. Place is in need of some desperate attention, one would think with the emphasis of golfers such as generals/admirals and the pres that perhaps the camp could upgrades.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 2013
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This Fam-camp is an embarrassment to the AF and the issues need to be addressed ASAP. Sites need leveling and graveled. The power needs to be upgraded desperately as does the sewer. The 30 amp is very old and there is no 50 amp. The sewer connections are very low some beneath grade and they are at the very rear of the site. The roads are a mess, potholed, mud and very little gravel. There are puddles that form long enough for the skeeters to hatch and the solution? Scrape a little trench across the road. The managers are very nice people but do not seem to have the motivation to make improvements. Another major issue is the number of homesteaders here. Some rigs have been here long enough that leveling blocks are sunken in. The laundry? $2.50 a load and the machines are old. The most redeeming quality of this park is it's cost and location. Your close to DC and the Metro is only a few minutes away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
86 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5