Gowen Field

 
4.2 (34)
71386 0 8 1 27

User reviews

34 reviews
 
47%
 
35%
 
12%
 
6%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.3(34)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.5(34)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.4(34)
Value
 
4.4(34)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(34)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
34 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
July 25 - 30, 2018
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Enjoyed our stay here. Stayed in site RVP-C. It backed up to a tree but we had plenty of room for our 45ft. We parked our car on a side lot close by, it pays to have military tags. We went to the Galley to eat while here. The food was okay and at a great price of $8.00 per person. It was nice seeing the military come in and eat. Boy did they eat fast, ha. There's a nice 24/7 gym. It's the same area where you check in and get your key to unlock your electrical box. There's also two showers there that you can utilize as well. The sites were pretty close but the way they have them staggered, you still had a little window privacy, depending on rig size of course. We weren't able to park close enough for sewer due to it sitting way back behind the RV but we emptied at our last stay so it was fine. The ladies in the office are very nice. Betsy gave me plenty of information about the base and what to do while here. It got really hot like up to 115° one day and the power shut off twice but each time someone did arrive to get it back working in the RV Park. There is a running or walking track next to the RV Park which is great if you like that kind of stuff, ha. Anyway, overall it was a very nice, hot stay and a good spot to stop and stay a few days or a week if that's what you need. We'll keep this one on our list. Oh and there is a museum and plenty of outside museum things to see as well around the base. Enjoy!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
May 2018
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We pulled in after 4:30 and the Gate had our site # and key to the electrical box. Stopped into Billeting the next morning.Their office is located in the gym, just in front of the tract that borders the Fam Camp. Very nice and helpful workers there. The only reason we didn't give this 5* across the board is lack of WiFi. Feel in this day and age WiFi should be available everywhere. Very small Fam Camp, but no issues at all. Where they only have 7 sites it is probably best to have reservations. It was full while we stayed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
March 21 - April 09
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We are visiting family in Boise, and this was a great deal for our stay here. Free laundry was super, the staff (Jennifer) was friendly & helpful. The airport although close by was not bothersome at all. Most flights went out during the day and it was fun watching some of the planes take off and land. A beautiful view of the Boise Mountains from the back of our trailer. If traveling through, good overnight stay. We were here for 30 days +, a few neighbors in and out. Never completely crowded. Close to movie theaters & shopping.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
21 Oct - 11 Nov 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have stayed here Spring and Fall for the past 5 years as we transition between summer and winter camps. The directions about where to park while checking in at billeting need to be updated. What use to be a large parking area is now a new barracks and construction zone. Hard to tell if there will be enough room for an RV to park while checking in when the construction is completed. It was recommended to park in the street with flashers going while checking in.
The old barracks behind the park have been removed leaving a very large vacant lot. Room for 25-30 RV Spaces. I hope Leadership at Gowen Field take the opportunity to maximize the utilization of this Real Estate and expand their park. The existing park could use an upgrade as well.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Oct 27 - Nov 26 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our 3rd time staying at Gowen Field. All 3 times we were met by the Billiting Staff that is very friendly and very helpful. As the others have stated, this is a great place to stop for a night, a week, or even a month. There is so much to do in and around Boise, all you need to do is look. From the zoo to the Birds of Prey to the Discovery Center to hiking the foothills trails, there is tons of things to do and see. We have family in Boise which prompted the extended stay. We use the track across the street from the park for our morning walk. Laundry in Building 714 is only .75 per load for each washer and dryer. Everything was clean and in working order. $12/night Oct-Apr (?) $15/night May-Sep Cash or CC. They do not take checks. Oh, by the way, although the black basalt rocks remain on either side of the camp sites (reason for the downgrade in facilities), there is new sod behind every site with automatic sprinklers making for a pleasant area to sit and relax. We will be returning next year as we transition from our Idaho mountain summer camp to our Arizona winter camp. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
June 2023
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
It is pretty much a safe, clean and relatively inexpensive place to park your RV while visiting Boise. Check in is self-serve — you simply occupy your assigned site and you are good to go. Place was very quiet on a non-drill weekend. Used the Country Store and the Rally Point Club which were friendly and welcoming. Also used the laundry, which was inexpensive and spotless! Had no problem deploying my Starlink antenna. Water, electric and sewer hookups were properly sited and worked flawlessly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Oct 5-10 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have stayed here many times over the past 10 years. Getting harder to get reservations as folks have discovered Gowen Field. I based my rating on our recent visit. That said, our return is highly unlikely due to the rate increase going into effect Dec 1st. Current rates are $12/$15 day depending on time of year. They are raising their rates to $38/$42 per night. That is an increase of over 200% . Gowen will no longer be the value it once was.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
15 June 2019
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
You need a reservation if you want to have power. It's a very small park,only 7 sites and some of them would not have fit my rig (45 ft). As it was it was a snug fit. Facilities are minimal. Still, a very clear area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Oct 2, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great staff at billeting office, billeting office is across Ellsworth St from the parking lot that the directions sent you to. Stayed one night only, had reservations, we filled the last open site (G) which is on the end on the Cessna St corner. Great stop over if passing thru or for short stay, even though next to Boise Airport, it was quite most of the time, with no plane noise at night. Can't beat the price, a real DEAL. Would recommend reservations or a call ahead to check availability due to the limited number of sites. Power boxes are locked so not sure how they handle non reservation arrivals after 1615, if you have a reservation billeting office leaves electrical box key at Main Gate with the guards for you to pick up with instructions. Price still $12 a night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
2-5 September 2016
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The billeting folks were great! We called in for a short notice reservation for a Holiday weekend. Hoping to get a spot for that afternoon which was Friday in front of the long weekend. Jessica was able to get us in. She gave us driving directions to the Billeting office which were spot on. The park itself leaves a bit to be desired. The parking pad is concrete but the area surrounding the pad is rock which is not inviting to sit outside. We were in site G close to the dumpster. If you can have your pick I recommend site A. It has grass to the rear and drivers side of the site. Noise from the airport is negligible and quiets down at night. It is a great place to stay for a few days. We paid $15/night. Not sure what it takes to get the $12/night rate but then again, I didn't ask. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 2020
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Have stayed here many times over the years. Has been much busier lately. I guess that's why they have figured an almost 300% raise in prices was due. As of January 1st, they are raising there rates from $15/night to $42/night. Outrageous and not at all in keeping with other military campgrounds. Won't be staying here in the future. I can stay at much nicer places for less money.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 14, 2022
Overall rating
 
1.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
We drove by this facility to see whet may have changed as we have reservations here in October. We were appalled at the condition of the Park. Weeds two feet tall around most sites. The park was about 50% occupied. It appears there has been NO grounds maintenance at all since the 200% price increase last year. We are considering canceling our reservations if we can find accommodations else where. The entire base is not being maintained like in years past.. So sad to see the decline of a once very nice place to make camp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
August 4 - September 4 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice small camp ground close to Boise & surrounding area!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 3
Sep 1-3, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Neat little RV park. Very convenient off I84, just make sure don’t follow Garmin GPS and keep going left to Gen. Manning street which will take you to the main gate that opens 24/7. Guards are very professional and helpful in giving us the quick direction to the RV Park. The RV park is clean, quiet and all amenities works. Our 5th wheel was parked in site B and we have a nice tree behind us. T-Mobile have 4 bars 5G and WiFi is great! I have the pleasure of meeting Ms. Diana who’s is a wonderful person in customer office to check-in. We called her in advance also because we were arriving late and she said no problem just come in the office in the morning. We will definitely come back to this place if we are in area again. The RV park was full, all 7 of us occupied the area. There is a track and field next to the RV, chapel next to it and the billeting office, bldg 710 is just a walking distance away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 2013
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was a great stay! We spent 7 days there and enjoyed it. For $10/night it is hard to beat. The staff was among the most friendly and helpful we have met in all of the Travel Camps and FamCamps we have been to. They were outstanding. The facility was a bit of a parking lot, but it was completely adequate and was near the fitness center which I used almost daily. The laundry was free and I was able to wash my RV on site which I appreciated. The campground itself was small, but it is a place we would stay again. Great value and nice place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 2021
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Small National Guard base with 7 spots. Not much shade but surprisingly quiet. Spaces are close, but there is a nice grass area behind all the spots that is well tended. Word is more spaces will be added to the area. There is a small Exchange and a Troop laundry nearby (takes coins, but VERY inexpensive) Aircraft/vehicle static displays to see. Not much else. Getting into town , the mountains, or the dessert is easy and quick.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
August 2012
(Updated: October 03, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We made our 1st stop at this Boise, ID campground in late afternoon August 2012 in a 40' Class A with tow. We traveled into Boise on the interstate, the exit was marked for Gowen Field only. We did not see any RV campground signs, but went into the front gate of the Gowen Field Reserve Center which was about 2 miles around the road after leaving the interstate. Turned left into the gate over several large speed bumps but no barriers. We received instructions to the Billeting Office which was still open to receive the key to the electric box and site number. Had the office been closed, the key and site number would have been available at the main gate with your name on it. The campsites were clean and across the street from a small park. There is a very small PX on base, but no eating or recreation facilities, not many soldiers or airmen and no families after work hours. We ate at the only mess hall the first night, located a couple streets from the RV campground. It was OK but not many military were eating that night. The ladies in the office were very nice and helpful. A little noise from firefighting helicopters landing and taking off but not much from nearby commercial airport. A good overnight stop, but not much in the area to do. Free laundry on base - not near the RV camp and no showers or bathrooms near the campground. A parking pad, picnic table, and electric, water and sewer is all that is available at this small RV campground - no tents allowed. We were grateful for a stop for a couple nights but not a must stop campground in the future. $10 a night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 11 - Jun 6 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The sites are the same concrete pads with some scratch-your-head touches that make you wonder if they consulted an RVer before they went to work. For one there is a large bollard protecting the electrical box which also blocks slides and baggage doors. They also planted a nice tree directly behind the pad. Without it I could put the back wheels on the end of the pad and have enough room in front to park our towed. As it is we have to park on the lava rocks between sites, and we were unable to get the sewer drain in between the two MH valves. I have my rear valve about 3' away with my 15' hose making a few curves. In 3 weeks we weren't able to get a straight answer on package delivery. The billeting office said no package delivery at all. We used General Delivery at the central post office, but without the words "PO box" in the address, Amazon didn't detect it as a Po Box and shipped via UPS. The UPS driver said they go to the base every day and absolutely can deliver to the RV park. In the end we forced Amazon's system to use "Po Box General Delivery" and the rest of our orders shipped via USPS. Overall a good stay, and we'd happily stay here again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 2
AUG 2-5 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
V.O. left this review using the Directory software: - ANOTHER GEM. GREAT VISIT; WONDERFUL FHU FACILITIES. EXPANSIVE AREA TO RIDE BIKES, WALK, JOG, AND PLAY WITH PETS.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 29, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I have been here for a week already amd this is a great place for a Base to see Idaho. The price is going up to $15.00 A DAY STARTING May 1, 2014. The people are great in the office! Ignore the previous review. I think he had a bad day! The base is not very busy. It's very clean and well kept! There is internet a block away night or day! I understand that weapons are not allowed on base!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
34 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2