MacDill Reservations

More
7 years 9 months ago #14837 by dave5fan
I am new at this camping business and attempts to get in MacDill AFB was impossible as it seems they allow 6 months stays and fill up by Oct / Nov. That leaves not site for many campers that might want to camp during Jan - Mar. Last year was my first year and I was lucky to find camping on the Navy bases in Fla. How do I break the code for MacDill?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 9 months ago #14839 by monkey44
Replied by monkey44 on topic MacDill Reservations
MacDill has been a PITA forever - we gave up on it a long time ago. IT's been "under construction' and "renovation' forever too. Not sure it's status now, but the construction went over its completion date by a year last time we checked.

Even when it's open and running, it's still not the best run camp by a long shot.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Cadorette

More
7 years 8 months ago - 7 years 8 months ago #14893 by maxjr758
Replied by maxjr758 on topic MacDill Reservations
I called couple of weeks ago, inquiring about reservations, and storing our 5th wheel there for 7 days, while the wife and I go on a cruise out of Ft. Lauterdale
was told I didn't need reservations, and storage would be no problem, as there would be plenty of sites. Trying to decide whether to stay at mcDill or Manatee Cove/Patrick AFB.
Maybe most people smart enough not to be camping in Tampa,Fl in last week of Aug.

2017 THOR CHALLENGER 37TB
2018 FORD EXPLORER
ACME EZ TOW TOW DOLLY
Last edit: 7 years 8 months ago by maxjr758.

More
6 years 3 months ago - 6 years 3 months ago #16453 by Swim-bike-run-1