Pelican Roost RV Park

Hot
 
4.7 (226)
306566 4 47 0 233

User reviews

226 reviews
 
79%
 
14%
 
4%
 
2%
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.8(226)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.7(226)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.6(226)
Value
 
4.7(226)
Overall Experience
 
4.6(226)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
226 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 ... »
Ordering
18 - 26 June 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our favorite Military RV Park so far! The people in the office are the nicest. The spots are positioned perfectly East to West to take the most advantage of sunlight throughout the day. The nearby beach is clean and spacious and there is plenty of fishing in the nearby bay. A+
Naval Station Mayport RV Park | Pelican Roost
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 15 0
July 7-9, 2017
Overall rating
 
3.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
My husband & I stayed here in 2014 & were excited to return. The St. John's River is beautiful & navy ships, cargo ships & even the occasional cruise liner can be seen. Dolphin frequent the river, & from what we could see, the fishing was good. And the sunrises are breathtaking! We had reservations, made online, for a 2 week stay here. However, the online information did not change our camper length, or so we were told - we upgraded from a travel trailer to a fifth wheel. The women in the office did get us a spot at Osprey Cove for 2 nights, & the camp hosts were very kind there & did all they could to get us a site at Pelican Roost, but nothing was available. We even checked back the next day, and felt like we were not welcome. If you make reservations online & have any changes, you might want to confirm them with the office. My question is, if their online reservation system is inaccurate, why do they use it? The staff here can certainly take lessons in hospitality from the staff at Eagle Hammock at NSB Kings Bay & Pelican Point at MCAS Cherry Point! We probably won't return to Pelican Roost. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
November 2010
(Updated: December 08, 2010)
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
We stayed here for a week during the Thanksgiving holiday. We made our reservation late and we were told that we had to stay in the grass, called overflow. That was fine, but we asked the office if we could move when people started to leave. They could only offer a different site at the day of departure and that was across from the old bathhouse where they were putting on a new roof where nails were flying left and right. Because we saw people come and go all the time, with sites remaining empty for multiple days, we went back to the office still they could not offer any desirable site. They have maintained for several years, at least, that they never know who will be assigned to a spot as it is done randomly by the computer in the morning of the assignment. Yet several days in advance, when asked for a empty spot-they would say that so and so is assigned to that spot. A new arrival a few days after we arrived chatted with us and indicated that he always could get a spot because he knew the management, but some of his friends could never seem to get in. The grassy site we were in was full with burrs, ants and we were tracking these including dirt inside the motorhome. We put out a lightweight cover that does not harm grass or in this case weeds, but soon enough we were handed the rules and told to read rule 12. NO carpets (also no fences). After the holiday I went into the office to take this up with the manager and also mentioned that our neighbor had 3 fences around his patio. It happened that he is a Host and may stay there for 6 months, so some of these rules do not apply to them. He should be comfortable. But still no carpet for me. It seems like that at least 10 sites (out of 49) are taken up by paid staff, host, cleaners, maintenance folks ,etc. Overall, our impression is sadly negative. It appears that the park is largely managed for the benefit of the staff and not for the qualified users. We have visited many military campgrounds across the country and Mayport has a great location, but due to poor management, in our view, we will not be back until someone gets the message and cleans house there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
August 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This wonderful campground has set the bar for other military and civilian campgrounds for us. Great beach setting with an awesome staff. Debbie in the office and Wayne and George as the camp hosts are great. The grounds guy stays up on the grass cutting and the laundry room is always clean. They do a great job sticking to the occupancy rules so no one homesteads. From talking with the other campers who return often they all agree this a wonderful place. Easy access to the commissary and exchange. An excellent state of the art fitness center within walking distance. At $19 a night ($23 for front row which offers an unobstructed water view) with electric, cable, wifi, free ice, free laundry, level concrete pad and a great water view watching the ships come and go, who can complain. Certainly not us. We love this place!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
Jan 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Probably one of the nicest parks we have stayed in on a base. It is small, not that many sites, but the view is outstanding. If you like to watch the ships come in and out of port, if you like to walk on the beach and if you like friendly folks, this is the place. Full hook-ups and concrete pads. Reservations fill fast so be sure and plan ahead. The front row is the water view, but we were in a back row and it was still wonderful. The beach is just a short walk or drive away. You can walk for miles on it. Pretty easy on and off base, even with a big rig. And the laundry was free. Not such a big deal, but thoughtful for those of us who needed to do it. The wifi seemed to work well throughout the park for the basics needs. The staff was outstanding!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
Dec 19, 2015-Jan 1, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Pelican Roost is our favorite Military RV Park hands down!  We have spent the Christmas holidays here three years in a row, and love it.  The management and camp hosts go the extra mile, to keep the facilities clean, neat and very well organized.  There are always activities at the club house fully equipped with computers and two big screen TV's.  The coffee pot is always on to make you feel welcome.  We enjoy the Saturday morning pancake breakfasts, Christmas potluck dinner, and New Year's Eve celebrations.  The Oasis Galley is open to everyone on Christmas day for a superb noon meal.  It's very relaxing, just to watch the ships go up and down the channels, or take a walk on the Atlantic beach just 1/4 mile away; we hardly leave the base once we get there.  We call it our real home now for the holidays.  Chuck & Zoila
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
04-07 June 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Wonderful place to park and watch nature and ships! We were supposed to be at Osprey Park, but due to several cancellations, when we checked in the staff was able to park me on the front row at Pelican Roost, yippee! What a surprise for our 41st wedding anniversary! Beach access is a short walk away and the views are just amazing. There are overall limits to the river front sites and back sites, but all seem to have a great view. The washers/dryers are free, but wish they would add a couple of more washers. We will certainly be back here again! We camped here in a 30' class C motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
May 2019
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Our first time staying there and was impressed with staff and management of facility. Nice club house open late for guests to use. We had a nice level large pull through site. Hook-ups all worked well. Laundry and ice were free. Will definitely stay here again!! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
November 2016
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Over all good place. Front desk personnel are polite. Efficient. Helpful. Couldn't ask for more. Both of the women on the front check in desk are w o n d e r f u l. Improvements are coming. Be slowly. Only issue we had, and heard from other campers, bringing issues to the manager is like talking to the wall. "Yes sir three bags full." Then the same stuff goes on. She does not care. Time for a change of managers. Seems certain employees, and hosts, think the rules do not apply to them. But you Mr Camper better comply. Dare complain about something will result in manager finding some Mickey Mouse issue with you, your rig, or your site. As pay back. Wrong attitude to have. The MWR staff needs to set the example and follow their own rules. This type of attitude results in people not having faith in management and going over their head(s) to get concerns addressed. This is a sign that something is broken. At least they got rid of the "Y" hooking up on the rear row. Used to put 3 rigs on one box/water connection. Wrong! Also, the bunch of useless so called "workers" of the campground are gone. There used to be about 10 or so of them hanging out there. Not paying rent. Having dumb minor jobs. One woman, young girl, friend of friend of the Director, was not doing anything but free loading here. Darn good location! Right on water. Watch ships coming and going. Dont waste your time talking with the manager. Go to director of MWR personally and/or base CO's office. Once enough complaints are fielded to higher ups possibly improvements will be made. 
Report this review Comments (3) | Was this review helpful? 8 3
July 17-31 2015
(Updated: September 14, 2015)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Another great visit to Pelican Roost! This has to be the "TOP" Famcamp in the DOD. You can't beat the views no matter what site your in. The ships coming and going, military and civilian, and the beach, are a bonus to this campground. Great rates, free ice and laundry, awesome staff, clean bath house, pancake breakfast, ice cream socials,and camping with your veteran brothers and sisters, what more could you ask for. You have to experience this campground!
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 7 2
Aug 2010
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Overall, this park is ok. The park is in a nice location and the bathrooms and facilities were clean. The only major flaw during my visit was the rude and unprofessional civilian attendant. Costumer service makes a big difference and I’m sorry to say that I was not impressed with it at Mayport NAS and the Pelican Roost at all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
Sept 18- 27, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We absolutely love this campground. The amenities are great including free WiFi. To sit at your campsite and watch all the Navy ships, cargo ships, cruise ships and this time we saw 2 submarines, you just can't beat this campground. It is only a short walk to the beach. This is a place we will come back to again & again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
November 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Absolutely fantastic.  The host was very friendly and helpful.  He met us and escorted us to our site.  Even though we were on the second row, we had a beautiful view of the bay.  Everyone was so friendly, I almost forgot what it felt like to camp on a military reservation again.  Our site was a back in, but was level concrete, with a picnic table and a well lit because of the baseball fields to our rear.  Water pressure and electricity were perfect.  Cable was also excellent with a lot of channels.  Free coffee in the morning and free ice were the topping on the cake.  We only stayed here as a stop over on our way home.  It is easily accessible from I-295 even though there was quite a bit of construction on base.  We will be back again and stay longer.  All facilities were readily available, but we needed none of them.  Great value at less than $20.  GW and Sue
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Oct 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have stayed here a couple of times before this and still think this is one of the best RV campgrounds in the entire military. The location is great. If you can get it, it is well worth the $2 extra a night to be on the front row right on the water. We made late plans and had a back row site that was still great. Sites are level, full hook ups and a short walk to the clubhouse/office and laundry. The laundry is free and facility has plenty of room with 4 washers and dryers. As Tricare Standard patients, we had no problems getting free pharmacy refills and a free flu shot. Wonderful place and a very friendly staff. 200 yards away from the newest/best gym and swimming facility in the military. We can not wait to go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
October 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our favorite campground. Can't beat being on the river and next to the beach, our daughter loves watching the ships come in and out. Good restaurants within short drive of post especially the Safe Harbor Seafood Market. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
7-12 Dec 2019 & 17-20 Jan 2020
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great place for families! Long termers fairly nice. Saltwater fishing right across the road. Saw sea turtles! Great beach within walking distance.....it is closed at night despite lack of signage. MPs were pretty nice about it. Club house and laundry facility was great. Sites close but not too close, fair number of pull thrus. Will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Jan 14-18, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stopped here for a few days to visit friends in Jacksonville. The sites along the waterfront give a good view of the ship traffic on the St Johns river (and any ships entering/leaving the Navy boat basin). Last time we visited a Canadian sub came in for the weekend. Laundry is free. There is always a wind blowing off of the Atlantic so you cannot put your awning out. There is a dog park across the street along the waterfront. There is a two week limit but if you are coming during the winter, book you site well in advance because it is full all winter. The NEX and commissary is offsite and closed on Mondays.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 6 2
14 - 16 May 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our third stay at Pelican Roost. Twice in 2013 and once so far this year. It is a great place. There was a little construction on the main base road, but not a problem for RVs. The Commissary and PX/BX is located off post and not far away, however, it is not clearly marked from the street. Every time we go there, we missed it and had to U-turn back to it. There is a small shoppette and a gas station on post. We did not need fuel I our RV, so I can not tell if it was good for an RV. There use to be a Pizza Hut on base and it was co-located with a bar. The Pizza Hut is now gone, but the bar remains. This place has a lot going for it with a great view of the bay and the Navy's private beach only a short walk away. We are pretty independent and do not require a lot of staff support. However, they have always been great, pleasant, and informative. There is WIFI and computers in the office, free ice and coffee, free laundry, and nice showers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
Nov 21 - 29, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A camp ground like no other, a view of our Navy, and other ships daily. A true pride of Military camping that all retires should enjoy. The Thanksgiving dinner at the mess hall was the high light of our trip. Woody and Lee work hard to make sure your visit is successful. Ice cream night, pizza night and bingo are fun for all. Don't let this camp ground slip by with out a visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
17 -23 November 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our fifth time staying here. Was in the back row, end site by the tent camping area this trip. While the front row has great unobstructed views of the river and passing ships this site was very private being against the trees yet still afforded a nice view of the river and all the activity. The Naval Station main exchange and commissary are a short drive out the gate and there is a small exchange on the station a short walk away. LP is available from outdoor rec (yes you can drive 40 ft Class A right up to the fill station) and air (120+ psi) is available from the auto repair shop. Be sure to check out Safe Harbor Seafood in Mayport Village, right outside Gate 5, for a fantastic seafood lunch! Also the Beach Diner in Atlantic Beach has a great breakfast menu. Can't wait for our sixth stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
226 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 ... »
Cron Job Starts