Camp Rilea

Camp Rilea

Featured
 
4.2 (56)
165685 3 30 2 85

User reviews

56 reviews
 
46%
 
38%
 
11%
 
4%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.5(56)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.4(56)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.8(56)
Value
 
4.3(56)
Overall Experience
 
4.1(56)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
56 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
June 19-22, 2023
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Ten full hookup sites, on asphalt surface, setup for back-in parking. Excellent latrine mid-site, with private, individual shower rooms. Short walk across parade field to free laundry with ten washers/dryers and large folding tables. Get a swipe card from the Welcome Center to open the laundry door. Little farther is the Port Light Cafe, a small but nice restaurant, with a variety of burgers and sandwiches on the menu. Beach is accessible if there no training being conducted. Check with the Welcome Center on access as the walking path goes through the otherwise restricted training area. Post Exchange next to the Cafe has basic snack and small serving meals, with alcohol and soft drinks. Lot of add-ons for the PX-warrior to splurge on to discard later on a long hike. Water was clear and clean. In June, no insects bothered us during the stay. No picnic table and no fires allowed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
21 Apr 2023
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I'm staying in a Dry Camp spot for $15/night. Max of 14 days, 3 Days off site and the 14 days. Dry Camp spots are pretty much available. Bathroom, hot showers and dumpster 1mi walk. Unlimited laundry per stay for $5. Dump and Potable water a 5 mins drive on base. I think this is one of the best values I've ever found, and I've stayed at over 50 military sites. That's why I decided to go to Portland for 3 days and then come back. I'm waiting for warmer weather for trout fishing. Pax vobiscum.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
October 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I know you want to know, so here you go: it's pronounced "Rye-Lee-uh". Everyone seems to have differing opinions except the locals and staff on site that call it as described. We really enjoyed our stay here. It was peaceful and went by all too quickly. The staff were wonderful. We had planned to arrive at 5pm but came closer to 7pm due to traffic after the scheduling office was closed. The guard at the front gate had all our paperwork, so fear not travelers! They gotchu if you arrive late. We also accidentally stayed a single day over the allotted number (whoops!) and they simply let us leave the next day. Thankfully, this happened during October 2022 when there are fewer sites being booked. Camp Rilea is very conveniently located, too, although it can be tricky to find if using a GPS navigator. Rather than using whatever address is recommended online, I suggest using the address for a restaurant on site called the Port Light Cafe. Here's the address: 3194 Patriot Way, Warrenton, OR 97146 This will take you right to the front entry for the camp EVERY time (yep, this is the entry you want to visit when entering the camp with your RV). The camp also has blue lights set up at the entry. During the day, it's harder to see but at night it makes returning 'home' much easier. Have your ID ready when you pull in as there will be a guard checking you every time. Like others have said, it's basically a parking lot with hookups. For someone wanting a quiet experience close in proximity to fun things to do, it's a great little option and the price is right. The most noise we heard were (daytime) light rifle practices and droning noises from close helicopter drills (that we honestly enjoyed right from our bedroom window). That all said, let me tell you that this little campground is PERFECTLY located near so many things you might need during travel including: Walmart, Home Depot, Costco, O'reilly's, Tractor Supply (with dog wash!!), Harbor Freight, Wash-and-Fold laundry (try Marlin Ave Coin Laundry by the Dairy Queen), etc. If you stay here during the rainy months (October to about April), there are lots of places to shop locally for rain gear. I recommend Englund Marine. There's also a Columbia store in Portland that offers 1/2 off cost for veterans and dependents, bring your ID. The restaurant options are solid, as well, in Astoria and Warrenton. If you want to drive a little, don't miss going to Long Beach, WA about 30 mins away. If you're in the proper season, consider razor clamming or hunting down berries (there are blackberry bushes everywhere, even lining the roadways!!). Overall, it was a wonderful place to visit, a great first stay on base for us and we will be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
December 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
More of a parking lot than a campground but it is close to a lot of cool stuff. We posted a video tour of this place too and you can see how close the spots are.
HONEST REVIEW: CAMP RILEA MILITARY CAMPGROUND IN WARRENTON, OR!  Close to Seaside and Astoria!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
December 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Camp Rilea is simple, clean and easy. Had it not been for the constant rain, we would have really enjoyed our stay there. The “campground” is an enlarged parking lot for RV’s. If they’re full, the RV’s are extremely close together. We were there in December and there were only 4 or 5 RV’s there so it felt nice and roomy. All utilities worked fine and were located well. You back up to a berm and the black tail dear like to graze at your back window. Very pleasant to watch. The grounds that surround you are extremely well kept, mowed, clean and quiet. Getting to the park and checking in was very easy with no obstacles and there is a large parking lot across the street from billeting for parking during check in. Parking in your site could be tricky depending on which site you’re in. If you’re assigned site 8 look very hard at it on Google because you’ll have to tuck your RV behind the bathroom/laundry. We have a 43’ 5th wheel and it would not have worked for us. If you have a satellite dish on your roof, you don’t want site 1, 2 or 3. We were in 4 and it was fine. We had very poor T-Mobile service and had to put up our cell booster. We would definitely go back – just not during the rainy season!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
September 2020
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great location as pointed out by previous reviews ... lessons learned ... your dish can’t see the satellite in spaces 1-3 due to trees ... over the air TV is great. It appears there are 1 or 2 long timers at times so check for the sites beforehand if possible.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Aug 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Wow, this is a real hidden gem. They have a paved area with a grassy hill behind it with about 15 back-in spots. Full hook-ups. No wit. Great Verizon coverage. Laundry. Small AAFES convenience store. Away from crowds. No highway noise. Nice restrooms and shower. Very quite place. Open, no shade though. But who needs shade on the Oregon Coast! Plenty of room for MH and toad. Sites are a little close but workable. Not picnic tables or fire rings. Staff was very friendly, helpful and courteous. There is a resident herd of elk we saw right behind the RV area. You can get to the beach, but be sure and call range control first. Sunset Beach is a very close and a little easier option. Very convenient and close to Fred Meyer, Costco and other shopping.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
24-25 June 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We LOVED this place! Pulled in through the front gate but missed the stop at the Welcome office... had to drive our toad back to register. Since we were there on a weekday, I checked with the Range Control Officer while registering to see if we could drive our toad thru the training range to the beach access. No problem. Sites are back-in only and ours was behind the bathroom facility, so took a little maneuvering, but settled in nicely with full hookups. Electric power was reliable and stable. Drove to the gate bordering the beach, walked over a sand dune and sank toes into the Pacific Ocean (very cold current - don't expect to do much swimming). GORGEOUS views up and down the beach, which you can also drive on via access points in the towns adjacent to the camp. Very quiet while we were there - some JROTC cadets drilling made the most noise in the distance. Loved the song birds and ocean air. Daughter used the laundry facility and was very pleased. We WILL return!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 10 0
June 27 - July 4, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We are a 45 foot motorhome towing a truck. The entrance is a straight shot, no concrete barriers to have to weave through. Once through the gate proceed straight ahead and up the hill until you see a building on the left with three flag poles, marked welcome and billeting. There is a big space directly across where the largest rig towing can pull in. Easy check in at Billeting, where we were given a key to unlock the electric. As mentioned there is no wifi at the site which is why I dropped amenities to a 4. Our Verizon phone had 5 bars of service so we used that for wifi. Warrenton, just up the road has a Walmart. A few minutes further and there is a big Fred Meyer store. If you like fish and chips, look up the bowpicker fish and chips on the internet. It is 8 miles away in Astoria,cash only, no inside seating. They use albacore tuna. Back to Camp Rilea - Sites are well marked and we had plenty of room for our slides, but could not put awnings out all the way. We were in site 9 and had no problem with satellite reception.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
May 9-16 2019
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We had an excellent one week stay at Camp Rilea with 50A FHU for $25@night. The RV area as basically a large back-in parking lot with a shower/restroom building midway between the sites. When we arrived we found out that we'd been moved from our reserved site, #6 to site #3. We didn't give it much thought until we set up and tried to acquire a Dish Satellite signal. We quickly realized that the tall pine trees immediately south of the lower numbered FHU sites (1, 2, 3) were blocked by the tall trees. We asked to move and they allowed us to slide north one site to #4, which was just enough for us to acquire a signal. We later learned from discussions with some frequent Camp Rilea campers that they always request the sites 6 & above. The firing ranges were very active while we there which most likely explains why we didn't see any Elk. There is a restaurant/bar just across the parking lot from the registration office, we enjoyed the PRIME RIB night. Costco and a new WalMart are about 2 miles away. It is a meticulously maintained installation and a short drive to Warrenton and Astoria. 
Camp Rilea
Camp Rilea
Camp Rilea
Oregon
  • File Description
    File Size
    File Type
    Downloads
  • Camp Rilea RV Park Map
    347 KB
    563
    Server Error
    500
    Server Error