Review Detail

4.1 96
Aug 27 - Oct 11, 2012
Overall rating

Cleanliness/Hospitality

Amenities/Facilities

Value

Overall Experience

J.H. left this review using the Directory software: - First FamCamp we have been at, where we could not get a drive through site. We had been at this Camp a week earlier and had not been able to get a drive through, even though we requested one. Did not really understand why, since there were several pull through sites empty the whole week we were there. Anyway, we left Offutt to head to WI, but had to come back, since my mother-in-law had a heart-attack and was at a local hospital. We were driving all night and I called the FamCamp office and explained the situation and requested a pull through, so we could get right to the hospital. I had a tough time backing in a week earlier, because I'm new at RVing and found the angles and pad width made it very difficult to back in. Well, when I arrived I did not get a pull through as requested. It took me at least 20 minutes to back into the spot, Later, I went back to the office and asked the two office workers why I had not gotten the pull through when there were at least 4 open pull through spots. They said they asked the camp host and was told to put us into a back-in spot. When I told them I was not too happy about not getting the pull through, they showed me a camp map with the the spots on and a placement listing showing size of rig and was told that only over nighters or someone staying the weekend get the pull through spots. Later, the camp host confirmed this system and went on to say that it works good for the base people who come over on the weekends, since they do not have that much experience backing. She also said this kept the traffic congestion down, since the people who were only there for a day or two did not have to block traffic by backing in. I watched large rigs having to back in to these small width pads, while pull through sites were empty. We were there for six weeks