Aberdeen Shore Park Travel Camp

Aberdeen Shore Park Travel Camp

 
4.8 (16)
44821 0 41 3 39

User reviews

16 reviews
 
81%
 
19%
3 stars
 
0%
2 stars
 
0%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.8
Location
 
4.8(16)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.8(16)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.6(16)
Value
 
4.5(16)
Overall Experience
 
4.9(16)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
16 results - showing 1 - 16
Ordering
17-23 JUN 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was out maiden voyage in our Airstream. We could not have picked a better place to get our initial RV'ing experience under our belts. The personnel at the entire facility were friendly, and courteous. Everything was a clean and functional as one could hope for. Registration was quick and simple. All facilities were spotless. We met some very nice fellow travelers at this camp. The shoreline is beautiful. We really liked waking up to the dozens of hawks and ospreys circling overhead hunting for food. We also had our parents visit us while at the camp, and they just loved it. We will definitely return to this facility.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
September 7 - 28, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have been staying in the new Shore Park Travel Camp for the past 3 weeks. The cabins are not yet open. Since the facilities are brand new and there haven't been a lot of visitors (8 rigs including ours in 3 weeks) the bathhouse is in excellent condition save some bad starters on the lights. The laundry only has 2 washers and 2 dryers which could prove to be inadequate going forward. Sites are all concrete including a patio area. All are back-in and the layout could mean you are backing in on your "bad/blind" side depending on where you are. Most are pretty level (nothing like Cheatham Annex!) a few may be harder for a big rig. A small number of sites will only accommodate RVs up to 30'. Roads are blacktop helping to keep things cleaner. We were not able to get a signal on our site with our tripod mounted satellite dish at all due to the tall trees on one side of the park. Another Class A next to us moved to another site when they couldn't get a signal with their roof mounted dish. A large number of trees have been planted between and behind sites which may become an issue going forward. No service problems using our Verizon Jetpack or T-Mobile phone hotspot. Sewer hookup sits about 9" off the ground. Not an issue for our Valterra Sewer Solution but traditional hoses may need support. No electric issues, water pressure isn't wonderful.They do not want ANYTHING put on the grass areas without written permission. Picnic table, fire pit at each site. You will hear the gun testing - usually in the morning. Not deafening but it will vibrate your rig if they are using something big.
Aberdeen Shore Park Travel Camp
Aberdeen Shore Park Travel Camp
Aberdeen Shore Park Travel Camp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
June 1, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
DO NOT CALL the 5789 number. Even though the voicemail message indicates it is MWR and you will be called back in 12 - 48 hours, it is not TRUE. Use the 4124 number. When I told the representative that I had left two messages on the 5789 number, she indicated she didn't know where that number went. Otherwise a good experience staying at Shore Park. We would definitely stay here again when in the area. Site was level and roomy. We didn't spend much time at the park itself as we were visiting grandchildren who live in the area. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
June 15, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We did not actually stay in the Shore Park Travel Camp. We stayed in the other campground on Aberdeen. We drove through the Shore Park Travel Camp the day it opened. It looks very nice and well laid out. IF you are concerned about satellite reception, I would recommend Shore Park over the other campground on Aberdeen which has mature shade trees at each site. We intend to try Shore Park on our next visit to see the grandkids.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
21 - 27 APR 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first time at a Fam Camp and we were impressed. The pads were concrete and level. Registration was easy, getting through to outdoor rec was a little harder. Be persistent in calling. There was an osprey nest at the entrance to the campground and a bald eagle flying around the backside of the campground during our stay. There was some construction going on near the entrance to the campground on one of the pools just outside of the campground. There are signs directing you to the campground, but one update is a couple of road names have been added. Aerospace Road is the left turn after the third traffic signal on Aberdeen Blvd. Then take the next right past swimming pool. Rate was $35 a day and check in and out was a breeze. We walked from campground to Outdoor Rec to pay for our stay. Can not tell you how nice the bath house and laundry facilities were. You will be given a code to both doors but need a pre paid laundry card to use the washers and dryers. As stated in another review the sewer height is high so make sure you are prepared. Also went to the Bombay homemade ice cream shop in Havre de Grace based off another review and it was great. They also have a candy store right across the street. Check out was nothing more then leaving your parking pass, and laundry card if you get one, in the mailbox at your site and locking the electrical and sewer back up. Would recommend and will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
7-9 Aug 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Awesome little campground. Concrete pads were level and nice. Plenty of space between sites. Didn’t use the bathhouse, but it looked nicely kept and clean. This campground was built in 2016 I believe so it is still in really good shape. We will return again soon in our travel trailer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Oct 22, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a beautiful campground located near the shore. It is a new facility with beautiful bathrooms and other amenities (as listed in the description) that are ample. The sites are level and quite roomy. The park itself is easy to find once you get your bearings. The base is quite large. I have given the park a five all-around. All of the paperwork was completed before our arrival and ready for our signature. Registration was easy. The campground is close to some great places to visit on the Maryland shore. The host was very nice and met us at the site once we got settled to confirm our military ID. There are some wonderful restaurants and shops at nearby Havre de Grace. There are also a number of museums to visit as well as taking nature walks to watch shore birds and other wildlife. The campground is located at the Maryland Shore area by the mouth Susquehanna River. If you are looking for a beautiful, peaceful, roomy RV site in an area worthy of exploring, then this is the right place. I do not believe that $35/night for a site in this park is too much. We were only there one night as we were passing through on our way to Virginia. Next time, we will stay longer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
11 - 16 Aug, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was quite possibly among the very best military RV park we stayed at during an almost 8 month tour of the U. S. Extremely well-spaced sites, with large, level concrete pads. Fire pit suitable for grilling. Pretty and green, well-maintained. Didn't see the interior of the bathrooms but laundry was well-equipped and nicely kept. They rent kayaks right down on the water. Base swimming pool within walking distance. Commissary and BX nearby. But the really awesome thing is that while we were leaving, an employee named "Cookie" stopped in her vehicle and thanked us for staying there. Said she appreciated us and then wished us a blessed trip. Wow, that never happened before and made us feel great. Definately would go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
3-7 October 2020
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Small, very clean campground! Plenty of space between sites. Staff is very professional and friendly. Because of COVID-19, all transactions were completed over the phone. We never use a boathouse or laundry so cannot comment on those facilities. Concrete pads are close to level. Had very friendly fellow campers. Plenty for wildlife lovers and bike riders. PX is small but commissary is equal to most commissaries. It is a military testing area so lots of “booms” during the day. Overall, we enjoyed our stay!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 30 - July 6 2017
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a good location. It isn't far from playground, boat dock nearby, and stores.Easy to get to.They have laundry cards. It's July 4th weekend so I didn't know this coming in. I will wait until MWR opens July 5th and ask about the laundry card. Laundry $1.50 , dry $2.00 are the prices. There are two events parks on APG, The Marylander park is where we used to live in the old trailer park.Is cheaper. There isn't much in that area of the post, but housing. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sep 19, 2023
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This campground is one of the more difficult ones to reach to make a reservation. They now require all reservation requests to be submitted via email but seem to have difficulty receiving their emails. Out of three emails sent, only one was received. I copied and pasted the same email address for all three emails so it wasn't a typo. The location of this campground is excellent and the campground itself is very nice but the process continues to be a problem. www.aberdeen.armymwr.com/programs/campgrounds
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 2022
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We camped for two nights on our 31' Class A motorcoach. This is a very nice quiet campground. All the sites have a concrete pad and FHU. I think the cost is a little high, but it is a very nice campground, and it was busy, so making reservations in advance is suggested. We did get to experience some War of 1812 history in the area as well.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
August 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great little military park. The sites are very spacious, concrete level pads, and full hook up. Everything is all new looking since the park was built in 2016. Very easy to maneuver through the campground, even with a 36 ft Travel Trailer. The only complaints were the grass seemed to have just been cut, maybe for the first time in a couple weeks since there were clumps everywhere. Our site’s sewer hookup was taller than my trailer outlet, so my hose didn’t drain without lifting it. Definitely not a big deal since the campground was so awesome. We will be back soon!
Aberdeen Shore Park Travel Camp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
February 9-12, 2024
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Quiet and clean facility. The cabins are amazing, each with one full bed and two sets of bunk beds on the first floor. There are two twin beds and lots of space in the loft. Small kitchen, but service for eight with all the appropriate pots and pans. At the RV sites, water spigot is heated to forestall freezing. Electric hookups are clean and look well maintained. Septic hookup is between electric and water hookups so some over/under connection routes becomes inevitable. Camp host "Cookie", on the end of the central building, is so cordial and out-going; onsite from Monday through Friday, except Federal holidays, from 9am-5pm. She gave us both the bathroom and laundry access codes, as well as a tour of one of the cabins. Cannot access the water, but can sit by the fence and look out over the river. Both the cabins and RV sites have a fire ring. Each of the 24g RV sites are concrete pad, over 40 foot length, with a grated steel picnic table. The facility maintenance clean up each RV site soon after being vacated. The fire rings, though, are not cleaned out regularly after being used, i.e. ours had both rocks and a large amount of ashes and charred wood. Had no problem getting reservations, using the website (https://aberdeen.armymwr.com/programs/campgrounds) to download the registration paperwork. Emailed the signed first two pages back to the email address on the Aberdeen site ([email protected]). Do not use the email link on the Aberdeen campground webpage, as they expect the registration packet. Got an email from the Recreation Center office within an hour of sending in the forms to take credit card information. Phone call to them, and email back with the confirmation. Not as easy as online, but the rules and regulations are more involved.
Aberdeen Shore Park Travel Camp
Aberdeen Shore Park Travel Camp
Aberdeen Shore Park Travel Camp
Aberdeen Shore Park Travel Camp
Aberdeen Shore Park Travel Camp
Maryland
  • File Description
    File Size
    File Type
    Downloads
  • ShoreParkMap
    309 KB
    10
    Server Error
    500
    Server Error