F.E. Warren AFB Crow Creek FamCamp

Featured
 
3.6 (117)
101100 1 24 1 41

User reviews

117 reviews
 
21%
 
37%
 
32%
 
7%
 
4%
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0(117)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.5(117)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.3(117)
Value
 
3.6(117)
Overall Experience
 
3.6(117)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
117 results - showing 101 - 117
1 2 3 4 5 6
Ordering
September 20, 2007
(Updated: September 21, 2007)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The sites are gravel surrounded by mown wild grass. These grasses have sandspurs in them as well as small, low-growing cacti, so if you're in sandals or flip-flops stay on the well-worn paths. Your pets might not like those sharp burrs in their paws either. The sites are level and functional. Instead of the typical picnic tables at each site, there's a square, four bench version made of plastic coated mesh steel--a nice design. As others have noted it's a pleasant, quiet little place to hang your hat for a while. The bath house/laundry/office building is fairly new, clean, and nicely kept. The only complaint I heard from one of the other campers was that the first site he pulled into had 20 amp or 50 amp type plugs only. He had gotten all set up, then started to plug in and discovered his 30 amp style cable wouldn't work. So, by all means, check the plug types here before you set up, unless you have adapters for all the types. This 20/50 amp-only arrangement is NOT on all the sites in the camp. There are plenty of others with the typical 20/30 amp setups on the electric posts. The 43 foot mothership next to us was very happy to have the 50 amp connections. We only use the 20 amp plugs so it doesn't matter to us. Our arrival today is after the announced seasonal change date, so there is no full-time office manager. Nor is there a campground host. Registration is strictly self-service, even if you arrive during normal duty hours. We asked another camper for the bath house door combination, and later also found it pasted to the inside of the lid of the self-registration box. Regarding the seasonal change from summer to winter, which normally involves a cutoff of water after labor day, they're having an unseasonably warm September here, so water was still on and will be until October 1. It's good to see management applying common sense instead of rigid rules. (It was 80 degrees when we rolled in about 2pm). Normally the change of seasons results in a reduced daily rate, but since FHU is still available, we assumed the summer rates would apply, even though we couldn't find anyone but other campers to ask. And, as always, our fellow campers were fonts of useful info. There is some rather confusing signage here for fee payment. There's a large brown sign in front of the office parking area that says the full-hookup fee is $12.50, while the self-registration envelope, and the box in which you place it says $15.00 per night. The commissary and exchange are medium-sized, modern and well stocked. There's a pleasant nature trail and archaeology exhibit adjacent to this campground that makes for a nice evening stroll in good weather. This is a great place to stop for a day or three while crossing the high plains of America. Side Note: For Sprint cell and broadband card users, we had four bars and EVDO while we were here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
6 & 7 August 2007
(Updated: August 29, 2007)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice rustic campground. nice value and short drive to downtown. Friendly staff. Base facilities more than adaquate. Will return again to this quiet camp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Aug 2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice facility and we would stay here again. Internet service available at base library to check email. Close (1-2 miles) to modern BX/commisary complex.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 31 to June 3 2007
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first Fam Camp and we enjoyed the people and the base. The Prong Horns came right into the camp and the nature trail was great although short...base was very neat. Alltel Air Card worked great. The trains were neat to watch as we have coal trains running thru our small town every 15 min. We will return to this camp again on our way to the Rockies.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 23, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a true "Fam Camp", in the sense that the emphasis is on the "Family and Camp". A great place to kick back and relax. Nature trails to hike, deer roaming the camp, campfires, etc. If you are looking for an RV Resort, keep on going. If you want an isolated area, this is it. Still close to Commissary and Exchange, bank and dining. Four bars for my Verizon Phone and Verizon "Air Card". Dial up in office, no WI-FI in the park. Nice laundry area overall a great experience.
F
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Jun 16 thru 22, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We came in without reservations and had choice of two sites with 50 AMP for our 38' MH. Several 40 footers are here. They have not been full while we have been here. It is not the best, but it is nice and quite. By the way we are on the second tier of Frequet Camper Program for our second 60.
PD
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 17-20 2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was a 2nd visit and this time 50 amp was available...rustic campground with more amenities than some. Quaint base that is very clean and quiet and dining hall available for retirees. Hosts not yet at office till June... we are a 35 foot rv and there were bigger rv's than us-spaces available. Paid $15/nite. Would return again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 2005
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
This was being parked in a gravel pit. I was stationed at this base from 1964-67. It was a wonderful active base at that time. Now it is a ghost base with a very nice new commisary and BX. The camp ground is dirt. The service next to nothing. The govt spent $1,000,000 building this all brick office and put nothing into the rv parking spots. I also found out that the proceeds from the camp go to supporting the NCO/OFC Club and the golf course. Niether would exist without the dirty campground generating a positive cash flow. So when you go there expect to be treated like the cowboy from 1850, also the age of the buildings. There is no reason to stop there if you need proper service or you are over 38' as they can not accomodate you. Actually do not bother unless you have a tent. Now if only the rest of you people who grade these sites would only rate the facilities at all locations with a higher expectancy, maybe, just maybe the services will get serious about providing facilities above a gravel pit. The rating here should be 1's and the Base Commander should be fired for stealing the profits from the Camp Grounds where the money ought to be used to update the camp sites rather than another stupid decision like building a million dollar building to service a 10 cent camp ground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 4
Sept.24, 2006
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
No playground. Some trails for kids to explore as long as they're not too young. Otherwise, not much to keep kids busy while doing laundry or catching up on bills, etc. Very close, clean, NEW shower and laundry facility, and a beautiful park. Wonderful base!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
Jun 2006
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I wouldn't consider it very rustic. The campground is in the trees and doesn't have concrete pads. But otherwise very nice, clean, and quiet. A beautiful base. No 50amp electric.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Oct 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Only 4 RV's when we checked in yesterday and only 2 today. Autumn leaves are spectacular. $10.00 winter rate and self serve for 50 Amp and sewage. Water is turned off and it is lonely here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Sep 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very good campground. New bath house, laundry and sitting room. Self-check in after hours and during weekends is easy. Beautiful old cavalry post, well maintained by the USAF. Base is on the National Historic Register.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Aug 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Nice campground, level sites, shade trees, pretty base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jul 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
In a lovely location with lots of mature trees. Sites are well spaced. Personnel in the office very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed watching the antelope wander all over the base! Nice golf course.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jul 2006
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Personnel, attitude, hospitality A+!! Clean Showers and laundry room. Very professionally run. There are prettier camps, but not many that make you feel like you're home! The staff goes above and beyond to meet campers' needs. Donna, Tori, and Buddy are SUPERB! Definately needs a playground for the little ones. Was told that 50amp is on the way.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jul 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
(No comments)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Apr 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Nature trail near the campground. Indian archaeological site near the campgound. We visited during the off-season, no water or sewer. The RV park was well maintained.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
117 results - showing 101 - 117
1 2 3 4 5 6