F.E. Warren AFB Crow Creek FamCamp

Featured
 
3.6 (117)
101100 1 24 1 41

User reviews

117 reviews
 
21%
 
37%
 
32%
 
7%
 
4%
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0(117)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.5(117)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.3(117)
Value
 
3.6(117)
Overall Experience
 
3.6(117)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
117 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6
Ordering
August 31, 2010
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
I'm writing this review while at the FE Warren Famcamp for an overnight stay after a long day's drive and a frustrating experience about my reservation. I made a reservation one week ago for a 50 amp FHU pull through. When I asked if they could send a confirmation email I was told they did not have email and didn't give confirmation numbers. To be safe, I called yesterday to confirm my reservation. I reached the manager, Richard. He told me I did not have a reservation for a pull through but it was in fact for site #2, a back in FHU. I told him mistakes happen and it wasn't a problem. When I was 100 miles from them, I received a call from a young lady that said Richard asked her to call and tell me that there was a mix up, and she was told to accommodate me in over-flow, which is dry camping. How do they screw up a single reservation twice? Yesterday I was polite and understanding when I was told the pull-through reservation had gotten screwed up but today I popped a cork and showed my displeasure verbally. Their ineptness prevented me from making other arrangements at another campground. I told them to straighten out their mistake or have the Air Police waiting when I got there. That's the negative part of the story. The positive is that the manager (Richard) came in and found a place for me that is not normally used as a campsite. It's not great but I'm happy to have a place for the night. And he made the site gratis. From reading other reviews this is not an uncommon occurrence here. To be fair, Richard has only been the manager since May. Some other observations. The campground appears run down like a lower priced Passport America park. OK for an overnight but nothing you'd write home about. The base looks nice and there are what appears to be small antelope all over the place. The gate guard was very professional and helpful. The manager said he can't get simple maintenance items done because MWR will not fund them. He said to send an email he has to go to another part of the base. It appears that MWR and the base commander has placed a very low priority on the Famcamp. Hopefully that will change. The review just prior to this one must have stayed at a different campground. Read back a bit to get an accurate feel for this place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
July 10-15, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is one of the best Famcamps I have been to. The location, staff, and price were unbeatable! I really enjoy Wyoming and this location was so outstanding that we decided to stay 5 days. Its also just a short haul to Rushmore, if you want to stay in that cool Mountain altitude just a little longer! I highly highly recommend this camp. When you come in the 2nd gate is under construction. I used the main gate; Randal road; think the bridge clearance was over 14 feet. I also recommend asking the gate guard or current directions; since the construction on the gate changes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 14-18, 2010
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Mid June 2010 - We stayed at Crow Creek FamCamp for 3 days. The lawns needed mowing, the trees needed trimming and the roads were mostly dirt - needing gravel badly. Because of recent rains and flooding, the entrance to the camp was closed due to a washed out bridge. We had to take a long detour to a narrow dirt road to get into the camp. It is however, very close to the BX and Commissary. FamCamp personnel were very friendly and helpful. You can only do 2 loads of laundry at a time. I expected at least 4 washers/dryers. Very easy access to I-25 through the main gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
August 21, 2009
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We stay at FE Warren frequently on our trips north out of Denver. While we enjoy our stay, there are several downsides. It is one of the higher priced FamCamps ($20) with less facilities than other locations. I cannot understand why they raised their rates so high and yet made no improvements to the campground. The trees on the interior roads need to be trimmed back. We found it difficult to maneuver without having tree limbs hit the side of our RV. 50 amp electrical is only available at 8 sites as I recall. It is a quiet campground with only occasional noise from trains operating on the nearby tracks running through the base. Be sure to enter the "Red Barn" for inspection when you enter at gate 2. You can exit gate 5 on weekdays, closed on weekends. Gate 5 will take you out Center Avenue to shopping and restaurants. The office is manned only part of the day and the site reservations are not monitored. On one trip, I arrived and found someone had taken our reserved site. I talked to another person who also had this experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 20, 2009
Overall rating
 
1.5
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Getting to the campground at night was a nightmare. The Famcamp sign posted on the main road said Entrance but no arrow to indicate you hadn't entered the area already but rather had to take a right. Since we'd been told to look for a dirt road & the road to the right did not appear to be dirt we passed it by & when we realized our mistake stopped someone to ask for directions & he directed us to an entrance under a 11' clearance railroad trestle that was not marked at the road, just at the trestle so backing up & turning around was another nightmare. This campground would be best served to add some decent signage. However, the main reason we're rating it so low is that the sites & roads around the campground are overgrown so as to scrape sides & roofs of RVs. In addition, sites were not marked and there appeared to be no camp host to assist.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
6-8 July 2009
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Though there are no signs indicating inspection requirement, you MUST go through the "red barn" to the right on approach to Gate 2. The "big rig friendliness" of this famcamp is marginal at best. Many sites are too short for a 40' rig and some corners are very tight/too tight for big rigs. When backed into our site with rear almost against a tree, the nose of the MH was still out in the street. Most sites require one or more sewer hose extensions. No WIFI, but Verizon broadband works well. Very small laundry room. Office staff was very helpful on check-in, but when I went to office one afternoon at 3:55pm I found the door locked but there was a woman inside at the desk talking on the telephone. We would stay again for a week or so, but for longer stays would choose one of the higher quality civilian parks in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 7, 2009
Overall rating
 
2.1
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
We had a very bad experience here. They gave our reservations away to some one else and made no effort to correct their mistake and when advised that we would contact the base commander we were told ( LIKE I CARE ) ( GOOD LUCK ).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 21, 2009
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
This campground appears to be the same, with no upgrades or improvements in the past several years. The daily rates, however, have changed and at $20 is one of the more expensive military campgrounds. This seems odd since the campground facilities are average, at best and possibly less than average when you consider that most sites are 30 amp. I did a short walk-around and found 50 amp at only 5 of the 8 pull-thru sites. The other 32 sites are back-in and after checking a few, I assume they are all 30 amp. I could not get a Wi-Fi signal, but had good Verizon Wireless broadband. Gate 2 is the entrance gate and as others have posted, stop and wait in line at the red barn for an inspection. We attempted to by-pass the inspection since there were no directions and it appeared to be for large trucks and contractor pick-ups. We were told to turn around and go back to the red barn. The inspection was a short walk through our coach by the Air Force security. I had reservations for 4 days in spot 36 (50 amp). When we arrived, another motor home was in site 36. This was not a problem since other 50 amp sites were available. However, it is an indicator of how the campground is managed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
April 27, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Still off season. Electric only. Office not open yet. WIFI up and running well. We're in site 35 and have good WIFI. Construction on I-25 at exit 10. Coming from south on I-25 exit 10B is closed. Watch for signs for gate 2 before exit 10B. Don't forget to stop at the red barn.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Sep 29 - Oct 1, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Water pressure is so low due to water restriction valves that RV pump must be used for adequate water pressure. Water was extended to mid October, weather pending. Sites are gravel and very level. Easy entry from and to I-25. Site cost has been extended to $20 while water is on. Price is to high for what is available and should be lower during off season, after Labor Day. No one answers phone calls or returns phone calls.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
17-22 September 2008
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
R.B. left this review using the Directory software: The office is closed for the season while we are here, but the instructions for finding a site and paying are fairly clear.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
17-20 Sep 09
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
This campground is overpriced! There are many military campgrounds in better shape with better facilities for less money.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sept. 9, 2008
(Updated: September 11, 2008)
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
You sure don't want to try to use this place in the "off season". After securing a reservation 30 days in advance and then trying to talk to them about changing it, they will not return any calls that are made, even though the recording says that they will. They have increased their daily rate to $20.00 and have absolutely nothing to show for it. The office is closed for the off season, and there is no camp host. If you get there after the services office somewhere over on the base is closed, you can just fill out a drop envelope and have a quiet night. No info as to what the combo to the mens and womans showers is. There is no wifi avail, and the TV reception is zilch, especially with the new "digital" TV's. Analog is poor. The CG location is great, it was neat and well kept. Since there is no office people or CG host there is no mark for hospitality, however with no amenities and just the basic E/W/S the value is WAY overpriced. It seems this place is getting an attitude. This is my third visit to this CG over the years, however I believe I will start looking into the "Local" CG's or Walmart. Frank

Received a call from Outdoor Rec due to my ICE feedback, stateing that the combo to the doors was inside the box of the "self check-in" envelopes. I didn't notice it when I was there so be aware of it and hopefully you will have a better experience than I did.

Also they stated that they had not made a new phone message to re-direct us to the Outdoor Rec Office"
F
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jul 31 - Aug 4, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
C. left this review using the Directory software: Visited the FamCamp from 7/31/08-8/4/08. We found the staff both friendly and helpful. The laundry room was small but adequate, however since a sink was available, a paper towel dispenser would have been helpful. Contrary to a previous review, we found the campsites well maintained and manicured. We especially enjoyed driving around the beautiful base with the well maintained historical markers. It was also fun to see all the pronghorns all over the base. This was an added bonus for us.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
18 July - 28 July 2008
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I made a reservation for the Frontier Days period and called 30 days prior to arrival to make the reservation. I was not given a confirmation number and was told they would call me back but that never happened. I called a couple days later and finally got a number. I arrived on the 18th with my motorhome and was given a very shallow site on the corner of the road which caused my rig to stick out a little too far into the road so I requested a change which they accommodated even though they had reserved the site for someone arriving a few days later. They told me that they had a caravan coming in in a couple days and I would probably have to move to the overflow site. I questioned why the caravan would have priority over me because I had made a reservation earlier than they had. She could not answer that question other than to say that her supervisor had told her to make room for the caravan. As it turned out I was never asked to move (if they had asked me to move I would have had a one on one discussion with the services commander). The hours of operation posted on their door shows only the months they are operational not the actual hours. Numerous campers asked me when someone would be manning the office because it appears to be sporadic at best. During a peak period such as Frontier Days they should have someone in the office for at least 12 hours per day! The first night I stayed there someone left two large dogs in their unit with the windows open and the dogs barked continually from 8pm to 10pm until they returned. There is no emergency tele number to call to report this kind of situation. I contacted the Security Police but they could not do anything until the owners returned. Overall we were satisfied with the campground. Having been stationed there for a total of 7 years we were familiar with the base, etc and had a good time getting reacquainted with the base updates and changes to facilities, etc. The famcamp personnel get overwhelmed during Frontier Days and it detracted from what should have been a routine camping experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 7, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.4
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Rustic and quiet. Needs maintenance. Not close to anything. Be sure and spend some time driving around the base--it's unique.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
11 - 18 June 2008
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a hard one to write. On one hand the lady that works at the famcamp is the best. She will do anything to help you. Kudos to her, and her younger sister that covers the weekend. The problem, as stated below, they need to mow, weedeat, and do some serious work on the campground. The campground could be one of the best if the Commander spent some time and money upgrading. Wifi was suppose to be working for the entire campground before we left, didn't happen. Some of the dirt roads going into the campground need work. This is important, when you go to Gate 2, you have to go to the Red Barn first. They inspect your Unit, then give you a pass to give to the gate guard. If you drive past the Red barn, you will be told to take a U turn, and that is not that easy. Remember RED BARN. I think $20.00 a night is way to much, plus no weekly or monthly rate. It could be a great campground, just needs a little work.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 8 - 15, 2008
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The FamCamp would look a lot better if Outdoor Rec would invest in some weed eaters and use them. The sites are OK but more detailed ground maintenance would make a big difference. We saw no maintenance during our week stay. They raised their rate to $20 per day on June 1st and I am sure the profit is going to the golf course. We don't use public showers or restrooms so can't comment. The staff was not often in the office so had little interaction. We did enjoy touring and visiting Cheyenne, WY!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
May 13-14, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice little campground with clean bathrooms and nice showers. The post has a lot of historical buildings and a nice museum with a self guided walking/driving tour. We stayed before the water was turned on and paid $10 per night. Verizon cell and Aircard worked fine.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June - July 2007
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The campground is perimetered by the remanents of a creek. The creek has been made part of some sort of environmental project and is never cleared of brush and other impedements to its flow. Consequentally, it is stagnant. There is a significant mosquito population in the park as a result of this standing water. When the park attendant was queried as to the prospect of spraying for mosquitoes, the response was that "they" would not spray until a case of West Nile Desease was reported. There seems to be little or no oversight over compliance with park rules. Most notably, many campers do not pick up after their dogs. There is considerable evidence of this throughout the camp ground. When a specific case reported to the camp attendant, she did nothing. There is a holder for bags near the dumpster but it was empty for most of our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
117 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6