F.E. Warren AFB Crow Creek FamCamp

Featured
 
3.6 (117)
101100 1 24 1 41

User reviews

117 reviews
 
21%
 
37%
 
32%
 
7%
 
4%
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0(117)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.5(117)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.3(117)
Value
 
3.6(117)
Overall Experience
 
3.6(117)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
117 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6
Ordering
July 2012
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
T.M. left this review using the Directory software: - I agree with all the other comments but the laundry room and shower were dirty. The pull through sites are very small, they have it set up for 2 campers to face each other no privacy, seemed to have some homesteaders too. Saw new picnic tables at all the sites even though the existing tables were ok, seemed to be a waste of money that could have gone to fix the roads or upgrade other things. Host was nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 29 - 31, 2012
(Updated: August 30, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a very nice campground. The lady in the office couldn't have been more helpful and eager to please. Our back-in site was difficult to get into because of a large tree which leaned into the back of the site. It kept us from backing all the into the site. Even if we managed to get further back it would not have allowed us to open one of our slides. The site should be reserved for trailers or campers, not fifth wheels or motorhomes. The base is beautiful and we're enjoying our short time here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
17-20 Aug, 2012
(Updated: August 21, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Stayed 3 nights, Aug 17-20, 2012 Had no problem with the directions, we had made reservations, and signed in with no problems. I could not get the internet to work at anyplace in the campground, and there wasn't any attendant to get help from all weekend. I did tap into the base library with no problem, which isn't very far away. Place was clean, and there were several places never used over the weekend. Lots of history on base, and a very lovely base as well. We visited Vedeawoo State Park 25 miles west on I80, a must see place. Did not have any problem setting up my satellite TV. We will come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
13-15 Aug 2012
(Updated: August 15, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Came through Gate 2 off of I-25 south. When approaching the inspection building the airman on duty waved us through to the gate area. Followed the directions to the Famcamp with no problems. Watch for low hanging limbs on the trees when navigating to park roads. My magnetic internet antenna was pulled off the roof. We were in site 35, a wide pull-through that shares the driveway with another RV but with plenty of room. You share water hookup with the RV next door. Outstanding water pressure so you might need a reducer. Observed several dogs running off-leach and a lot of dog pooh in the overflow areas. Not all sites can get a satellite signal if you have a stationary antenna; pull-throughs will have no problem. WiFi is available but only in or near office. Our Verizon aircard was OK but up and down during the day. Some noise from trains at all hours. Small commissary and BX, but adequate. Club is open for lunch buffet with specials everyday. MWR has no discounts for Cheyenne area but does have tickets for Denver attractions. Be sure to visit the Frontier Days Old West Museum.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
23 July 2012
(Updated: July 24, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Went to Gate 2, sign said RV's must be inspected. Pulled into line, Airmen were polite but confused as to why we were coming thru the commercial gate. Told them about the sign, they shrugged, and let us go. FamCamp was down a washboard road. 10 mi speed limit was more than we could handle. Camp is in a small depression -- hills on all sides. Very pleasant surroundings where pronghorn and white tail deer abound. Cheyenne Frontier Days in progress, and camp was full, so we got overflow -- a field with many rodent holes, but adequate. No trash cans. Observed several dogs running around unleashed. One dog was tied to a picnic table next to a tent, and the owner didn't show up for over 5 hours. The old Ft Russell housing was impressive -- a sight to behold. Worth the visit just to see that.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 2012
(Updated: July 23, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Had a good stay here. My back in site was tough getting into with my 39 foot 5 wheel. The wireless internet was too weak to use. Trains are noisy & they need more pull thrus. Otherwise a great experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 20, 2012
(Updated: June 21, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The campground is located in a nice quiet area of the base and I found it to be clean and well maintained. The access and campground roads are gravel. The sites are gravel and level. Some sites are wider than others so if one wishes elbow room from the neighbor, then ask. There are only eight pull through sites and they have no shade. Each site has a picnic table. There is a pay for use laundry facility in the office and that is also where the bath house is. Verizon 3G is strong. Satellite and signals are easily received. The entire campground is big rig friendly. There is a huge overflow, dry camping area as well as a place to accommodate many tents. The office is open during normal business hours otherwise use self check-in. The standard facilities and amenities are available within a short distance on base. Once on base¸ you need to follow base signs to the campground because there are a couple of railroad tressels that have a clearance lower than most 5W and motor homes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
10 June 2012
(Updated: June 19, 2012)
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Stayed one night in June in a 2012 3685RL Bighorn 5th wheel. Management non-existent & sights dirty. People allow children to run around unsupervised & dogs unleashed & not picked up after (watch where you walk). The base is spotless & a great place to see if you are into history. There are many old buildings. The campground is tight & spaces small for today's RVs & needs a manager who wants to do more then collect a pay check.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 10 to 12, 2012
(Updated: May 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We were here for two nights in the off- season and enjoyed both the picturesque campground and the $10 rate (50A only - no water). It was a pleasant 1-1/4 mile walk to the BX / commissary. The antelope were everywhere and fun to watch. BTW We spoke to the outdoor rec folks before we came in and learned which gate to use. They are doing a lot of work on base on the gates - so gate 1 on Randall was open but under active construction and had been modified with a much higher clearance to allow Semis and big RVs to use it. Gate 5 on Central was open but was closing on Monday for mods. Gate 2 on Missile Drive was closed temporarily but was opening next week. So call the office to find out which gate to use depending on the day of the week and what time of day you are arriving. We called Outdoor Rec @ 307-773-2988 (while their mailing address is on Randall Ave, they are physically located at 6205 15th Cavalry Ave) and they were very helpful. Also, the under passes under the railroad from Randall to the famcamp and at S. Creek and S. Frontier are only 11'5" to 12'5" so use Old Glory Rd (no under or over pass) to Missile Dr and take it past the BX / commissary to the camp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 7, 2012
(Updated: April 07, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice little FamCamp. We are here in the off-season, so no water or sewer, but $10 for 50amp power is a bargain! It was great fun to see the resident antelope herd wandering through the campground. Nicely wooded with level gravel sites, some pull-throughs for big rigs. We chose a back-in and it was just barely big enough for our 34' Class A, even hanging off the back of the site. We arrived on a Saturday when Gate 2/Missile Drive was closed- Outdoor Rec had told us to use Gate 5 on Central Ave (which also turned out to be closed) but the guy in the Pass and ID Office said Gate 5 was for commercial rigs only (even though the highway signs say vehicle combinations over 30' use Gate 5) Anyway, we used Gate 1/Randall Drive. No problems. If you enter at Gate 1, do NOT come into the FamCamp directly from Randall Drive with a high-profile rig- there is an 11' underpass at the entrance to the FamCamp. Cut over to Missile Drive by going left (south)on Old Glory Rd or S. Frontier Rd. The FamCamp is just a short ways past the commissary and exchange complex, on the right hand (north) side of Missile Drive. We got a decent Verizon signal for our Internet aircard and for the phone as well. No signal for our ATT aircard.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
October 5, 2011
(Updated: October 06, 2011)
Overall rating
 
2.4
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Came in today, the earth mover was running around but couldn't tell what he was doing. They are packing down new gravel in all the sites, have used concrete barriers to form a pad. They are all looking very good. They have also put in new electric posts, however only part of them are presently hooked up. Another camper said those were just hooked up this week so the others will probably be in service very soon. It is off season so the daily fee is only $10 per night, dump is closed and water is off. We haven't used the facilities so can't rate them. Did a self registration so no hospitality involved.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
9-12 Aug 2011
(Updated: August 12, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Called a day ahead and got reservation with no problem. When we arrived names were on board outside office with what site to take. Full hookup, water sewer, power 30amp site, no cable but picked up several channels on antennae, WIFI at the office area only. We came in gate 2 and drove straight down Missile to gravel road leading to CG, this gate has limited hours. If you come in gate 1 there are only a couple of roads to get back over to Missile road, other roads leading to that side have LOW RR bridges, anywhere from 12'6" down to 11'6". The Shoppette is near gate 1 and the BX and commissary are near gate 2. Easy to get on and off base with DOD sticker and ID, I25 just outside the gate. It's about 5 minutes to the city and directions are simple. The campsites are gravel and relatively level, we did no leveling at all. Water, sewer and power hookups are convenient and in good state of repair. The bath house is located next to the office and look fairly new in a brick building. Most of the sites are back in but there are a number of pull thru as well. Plenty of wildlife around the base, lots of geese and pronghorn all around. At $20 a night we felt this CG was a good bargain. The only things I saw that need some attention is landscaping. I would definitely return if in this area of the country again and would recommend this CG to anyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
20 July 2011
(Updated: July 20, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Made reservations by phone at last minute. Girl on phone was great, took my info and said they had a site. We only needed it for a night. We were running late and before we could call they called us asking if we were still coming. We told them we might be late so the girl said we had spot 24 and we could see them in the morning. Luckily we did get there before the office closed because the buildings have combo locks and we wouldn't have had the code. We have a very small RV and prefer using the bath house. The facilities were clean, I wish I would have mentioned we would like to be close to the bath house but the walk wasn't that bad. Commissary and BX were close, small and not that well stocked but I never complain.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
25-27 June 2011
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: You must enter the main gate on weekends, it's the only one open. It was very easy to find based on website instructions. Once inside there was road construction on Old Glory Rd so you can't turn there as signed. Follow Randall Rd almost to its end where it curves to the left and joins Missile Dr. Entrance to Famcamp is marked but could easily be missed. The camp is rather shabby, grass not cut, trees could use a trimming. In their defense it's a natural area so........The sites are quite small and close together. The laundry was fine. We didn't interact with any of the personnel. Office was closed when we arrived. Our reserved site number was posted so it was no problem finding where we needed to be.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
26 May 2011
(Updated: May 26, 2011)
Overall rating
 
1.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
We had called to make reservations a few days prior to our arrival and had requested a 50amp site. The lady we spoke with said there would be no problem and if there was no one at the FAMCamp when we arrived there would be a note on the front door designating a site. When we arrived there was no one at the FAMCamp office or any note posted designating a site, I then phoned the FAMCamp, but no answer. After a short wait we asked another RV'er and he suggested that we should just take a vacant site and so we did. After we were completely set up another RV'er arrived and said that we were in his site and should move and soon after that two young ladies arrived and identified themselves as the FAMCamp managers and were told that we must move, understanding that the other RV'ers had made reservations (as we had done) I offered to move and asked them to which site should I move, they had no clue, did not know the difference between 30 and 50 amps, and finally offered me a site that was much too small for my RV. Final result, we packed up and departed. "Total incompetence" should be the name of this FAMCamp! We shall never return!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
Sept 10 to 15, 2010
(Updated: September 16, 2010)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A few comments about the directions. The Gate 2 is only open during the week Monday thru Friday from 0600 to 1800 hrs (for the non military 6 AM to 6 PM). The route to the campground has changed once you pass the four way stop take the next left then the next right a gravel road that will lead you along the rail way to the camp office. On the weekends you will need to use gate 1 and call the office for directions. We enjoyed our stay at the fam camp and will stay here again on a return trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
August 14-29, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I really want to write a completely negative comment just to keep people away from this outstanding FAMCAMP but I just couldn't do that to Richard. The best in the system? No, but we really had a great stay. We came in gate 2 (Missile Drive) and followed the sign that stated RV's had to stop at the red barn but quickly an airman came over to the RV and said we didn't have to get inspected. I think that is only for exercises. Also think it doesn't matter which gate RV's enter since there aren't any barricades to negotiate at gate 1 or 2 and when we left we had to go out gate 1. Directions on this and the FE Warren FAMCAMP website were good as was the signage directing us to the temporary road. The temporary road is no problem for any size rig. We have a 40' Monaco, towing, and had no problems. In fact, after walking the dog on the old, original drive that was closed due to flooding I liked the temporary road better since it was smoother. No ruts or potholes. The original drive is partial pavement (breaking up) and gravel with ruts and potholes, narrow spots and one sharp turn. They have super fast wi-fi but only in the office unless you get a close site. We could not get a signal from our site (#34) but it's a short walk to the office and the furniture, although old, was comfortable. No cable but we had no problem getting a satellite signal from our site. There is a laundry room at the office with 3 washers and 3 dryers that cost $.75 a load. Dryers were super hot. The laundry room is where we ran into our first negative experience. When my wife started laundry there was a worker in the office and unlike Richard this guy was rude and obnoxious to my wife. When I went in the guy didn't say a word and acted like I just interrupted his nap. In fact I might have being his clothes were all wrinkled, he was dirty, and just plain nasty. I'm not sure if he was on the staff or a volunteer or what but he needs to go. A few other negatives were all because of the other campers. We could never enjoy a morning or evening sitting outside because although the speed limit in the campground is 10 mph very few people seemed to want to go that speed or slower and it is dusty and windy and we would just get covered. The other problem was the campers who insisted on having their dogs off the leash. The German shepherd scared our little Cocker Spaniel. Since Richard doesn't enforce the rules I don't think the Air Force should waste the money printing up the rules and regulations. It's really hard to believe we were all leaders at some level at one time and yet very few follow the rules now. It seems once some people retire every leadership trait ever learned goes out the window. As far as price it didn't seem that bad to me. Curt Gowdy State Park is only $10 for residents and $17 for non-residents and is comparable to FE Warren as far as what they have to offer. They do have lakes nearby though. Most of the others cost more just to get cable TV. From $31.95 to $41.99 before any discounts or taxes. Being our son is stationed at FE Warren we will definitely be back and will definitely stay at this FAMCAMP.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 17, 2010-August 18,2010
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We love this famcamp! We have stayed here a total of 3 times, 2 times in 2009 and once for an extended stay the latter part of July and part of August. The base and location are great. We love the country atmosphere...lots of trees and pleasant breeze. The staff have been extremely accommodating on all 3 visits. Downside is cell and television reception. There is a temporary detour due to past rains but that is being worked on. We would recommend this park to all!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
18 August 2010
Overall rating
 
1.5
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
The Famcamp at FE Warren is not up to standard to other Famcamps. Reservations are regularly mismanaged. The facilities are in need to improvement and upgrading. Access to the Famcamp is via a "detour" road that is difficult for larger RVs. The cost for the sites is too high for what is being provided. The base commander and services are not paying attention to the conditions of this Famcamp and thus has resulted in an inferior facility.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
August 12 - 17, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Sites are fine. There are trees between the rows. Richard, the manager, is hospitable and goes out of his way to work out any problems. Through a communication problem that was neither the camp's fault nor mine, our reservations were canceled. Richard took my husband to see the available sites and gave us our choice. Everything worked out just fine. The other office staff were courteous and friendly. The restrooms and laundry are immaculate. There are prong horn visits every day. The museum on base is a must see. Food in the dining facility is good and quite reasonable. I rated value and amenities/facilities at 4 because cable tv should be one of the amenities for the $20/night rate. We will return to the camp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
117 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6