F.E. Warren AFB Crow Creek FamCamp

Featured
 
3.6 (117)
101100 1 24 1 41

User reviews

117 reviews
 
21%
 
37%
 
32%
 
7%
 
4%
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0(117)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.5(117)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.3(117)
Value
 
3.6(117)
Overall Experience
 
3.6(117)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
117 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5 6
Ordering
May 2014
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed there May 2014 and I asked the mgr. why the grass was not mowed and she replied that the contract for mowing the grass stated it could not be mowed until it reached 18" tall. I told her how unacceptable that was and she said that is the way MWR wrote the contract because it is a secondary land use area. Housing just over the railroad tracks was mowed on a regular basis. Other wise it was a pleasant place to stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great family camp and run very well. Friendly staff and a pleasure dealing with them. Stayed in 2003 in my trailer and back July 2014 on my way to Sturgis, riding and camping the whole way. $10 nightly for tent and I'm told dry camp. WiFi signal in park weak but office strong. Office and laundry open 24/7 but no management on site after 1800. Run professionally and nice place. Camp full because of "Frontier Days" here in Cheyenne. Gate 1 is open 24/7 but you go under 11'6" bridge so RVs need to use Gate 2 or get direction @ 1 after hours.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Late June 2014
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Although reservations are recommended elsewhere on this site, we had no trouble getting a spot for two nights in late June without them. All sites are gravel and fairly level with good utilities. Most are shaded. About 8 are pull through. We did notice one trailer that seemed to be set up permanently, but most folks seemed like us. It was a pleasant place. Not much on base but we did play the golf course along with the antelope and found a business area nearby with Albertson's grocery store. (Commissary is closed on Mondays.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
18-23 June, 2014
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
J.C. left this review using the Directory software: - We are a 45 foot motorhome. I would estimate that only about 10 sites are large enough. Also, if you have a satellite dish, be sure to ask for one of the pull throughs (sites 33-40) as other sites have lots of big trees. |In addition, some of the sites in the first row (11-14), have the hook-ups on the wrong side unless you nose in, versus back in. The camp host was very nice and as helpful as could be. The one stretch of gravel in the amended directions is easy and much smoother than the paved (gravelly and with pot holes) road, so in the future I plan to always use the amended directions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
28 May to 18 June, 2014
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Let's see... "location". It's in Wyoming "Why"oming? Cheyenne can really make you appreciate wherever it is that you came from. As far as the base, it's very historic and mostly empty. Actually, so the was the Fam Camp when we were there - which was just fine with us. There are homesteaders, one of whom seems to have spread over several spots. This did not create a problem while we were there - apparently off-season, but in-season rates ($20). The Camp itself is in a low area with lots of trees and very nicely set up. Wifi? Nah. A stick antenna in the window of the office. You could get good reception by coming to the office or in the 'reading room' next door. The manager, Donna, is very nice and helpful as is the rest of the staff. 2 washers, 3 dryers @ $1.75 (a high for me). Bathrooms are CLEAN! The spots are quite level. We stayed here because there are almost no campgrounds in the Fort Collins, CO area, and the drive is an easy 40 miles. I'd stay again. Oh, and watch out folk with AT&T - you have to be outstanding in your field.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 2014
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Tried to get reservations exactly 30 days out per their policy and was told I could only be on a waiting list. Reasons given: Other campers are staying beyond their reservation dates since May even though the written policy is 30 days max. Second reason: More than expected PCS moves. Really? Sounds like you need to know someone to get reservations at this FAMCAMP. I will submit this experience up the chain and see what happens.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 4
June 10, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
LOVE staying at Warren FamCamp. Directions are spot on so drivers need to pay attention! The base is gorgeous and green grass accentuates the old brick and white trimmed buildings. Prong Horn love being at Warren as well since they graze everywhere and at times stroll through FamCamp. Donna in the office is very efficient and keeps the place running smoothly. She organized a Retiree Appreciation BBQ while we were there. Campers were either told about the BBQ at check-in or they could read a posted sign in the office. Sadly, my husband and I were the only 2 people to attend. Perhaps handing out flyers - coach to coach - would provide a more successful turnout. As with all FamCamp, they are self-sustaining and in some cases quite profitable. Even so, there was only ONE washer in the laundry room but FOUR dryers. That creates issues for when you can do wash unless you want to do it in the middle of the night. We have been coming here for years and will continue to do so.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
8-11 June 2014
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Follow the instructions that are posted above. Make sure you call to see if the creek is not flooding!! We arrived late and the sign for the FamCamp was blown down at the alternate entrance. Our name was posted on the door with the assigned site. The sites are graveled and fairly level. At the site I was on the WiFi was not available but my MyFi Verizon worked well. There is some homesteading, the first clue is a large upright freezer sitting outside their camper, and you’ll see it once you pull in. The Base sent a motor grader to grade out all the roads throughout the FamCamp because of the heavy rains over the past week. The Base has allot of history in itself, Pershing's house all the Army Cav buildings. Plenty of things to do in Cheyenne and allot of it free as stated in other reviews. I would be sure to make reservations well in advance for major events in Cheyenne! Over-all, for the 20 a night I would have expected a bit more at least wifi throughout the campground. Also there seems to be a complete lack of pet enforcement and clean-up rules, disturbing. With all that said, If you like military history there is allot of it here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
15 - 20 April, 2014
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Q.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Facilities were very clean and well maintained. We camped under their winter rules; therefore, no on site water or sewage was available. Water was available in office building on site. Laundry facilities, showers, and toilets are available and were cleaned on a daily basis. Sites were large, graveled ones. Very nice FAM CAMP.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 18-20, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Call first for current information. Gate 1 is closed, Gate 2 is open, the creek is flooded, also the gravel road from Missile Rd. and the clearance on the tunnels is 11'6" so there is no reason for all campers to avoid them. A better instruction would be to know the height of your RV including whatever is on the roof. The gate guards are supposed to be giving directions, according to the manager. This is one of my favorite FAMCAMPS. We had only electric this visit for $10/nt because it's still winter rates. They are in the process of turning the water on. The restrooms and excellent laundry are still available and the wifi is good in spots. Only one obvious homesteader. Gravel sites with grass surrounding them and a picnic table. Wonderful shade trees. The Nature Trail is very nice and is a good walk.
Creekflooded.jpg
Tunnel.jpg
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sept. 11-15, 2013
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The location is at a crossroads, as several people found out when the roads got washed out in Colorado and they had to stay someplace until they opened, again; the campground was very clean, the restrooms were small, but clean, and the hosts were very friendly; the base amenities are a bit dated, but they are there. The Chow Hall is closed for renovation and the base is on BAH until Spring 2014; I think this FAMCAMP is a great value, being so close to Cheyenne(5 minutes), and all of the rich history there is to explore (including the State Museum right across from the Capitol Building, which is totally FREE!); Overall, we had a great experience, even with three days of downpours (our tent stayed dry as a bone), and we would definitely stay here, again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
29 July - 19 August 2013
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay here. D.A. Russell/F.E. Warren itself is a historical treasure. Yes, there are a few people who seem to be homesteading. There were two trailers clearly set up for the long term in the overflow area, and we also noted the RV with the home fridge next to it. However, we saw no signs of excessive homesteading, and there are valid reasons base authorities may allow long term stays at FamCamps. Cheyenne is a great place to spend a few weeks. The camp staff is friendly and welcoming, but not too knowledgeable. Hopefully they will be stable and learn as they gain experience. Staff apologized for low capability WiFi routers when we checked in, but we found the service to be fine except when the camp was completely full. We're train fans so the mostly distant whistles and trains going by the camp were plus for us. Pronghorn Antelope wander throughout the base and FamCamp (watch out for the leavings). This is a nice, peaceful camp, and we look forward to our next visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 2,2013
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is 5 minutes from down town Cheyenne. This is a great location to tour the city. The base is very nice, good playground for kids and indoor pool. The campground is not as nice as the rest of the base. It needed mowing and it appeared to have a decent amount of people living there. We parked next to someone that had a full size fridge built outside and an other person with generators and solar panels behind us. This gives the campground a different atmosphere. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The streets are gravel and small but drivable. This is Location, Location, Location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2013
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice small FamCamp. Good location if you're traveling on I-25. Interesting things to do in Cheyenne - try the trolley ride @ the old RR Depot. If you want a site open for satellite you'll be a bit crowded and you park with one rig headed in and one headed out so you'll have no private space outside. Good Commissary & PX facilities. Staff is friendly and efficient. They keep the facility clean and mowed. Note when you drive in thru the picnic area you are at the back corner of the FamCamp - the office is diagonally in the opposite corner. Better to find a place to park your rig on one of the roads and walk the short distance to the office to register.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 21- June 25, 2013
(Updated: July 09, 2013)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Wanted to add the directions best to gain entry from I-25. I-25 South Exit at exit 11 and turn right onto Randolf ave, I-25 North exit 11 and turn Left onto Randolf and proceed through a very nice new gate complex at the 2nd stop light (Old Glory Rd) turn left pass over the RR tracks and turn right onto Missile drive and follow the signs. Don't get nervy as the signs sort of fall short at the four way stop, but you will need to proceed straight and then in about 3/4 mile you will see a small famcamp sign and then prepare to turn right onto a SMALL dirty/gravel road. GO SLOW and I mean less than 10 mph. Follow it around and GO wide at the small narrow bridge and watch for ruts in the roadway on your way to the office. Watch for the HIDDEN RUT whoop-de-do about 300 feet from the office as you round the last corner, we tossed a whole bunch of stuff. Wifi is Excellent. Grass needs mowing bad. Staff is very friendly. Sites are laid out weird so please walk your spot and how to get to it first. ---- Lots to see in Cheyenne. We spent over a week and still didn't do everything. Our site was number 11 which was perfectly shaded by the huge cotton wood trees
the guys came and started cutting the grass the morning we left. Will sty there again.
P
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 22, 2013
(Updated: June 23, 2013)
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The commercial gate is permanently closed you must use gate 1. Take exit 11 from I-25, Randall Ave, go down two lights and turn left on Old Glory. Go to the first light and turn left on Missile Rd. then look for the small famcamp sign and dirt rd on the right.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 17, 2013
(Updated: May 17, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Talked to Reservations today (5-17-13). She said gate 2 on Missile Drive is now closed and need to use main gate or gate 5. She also said main gate has been renovated and now RV's can enter without physical issues. I will add comments when I arrive there in June. Note: I filled in ratings because that was the only way this could get posted although I was not there yet and ratings mean nothing now.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Sept. 24, 2012
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
U.U. left this review using the Directory software: - pleasant campground situated next to creek. Railroad tracks just to north of campground -heard a train once. Close to base facilities (BX, Commissary, etc.). We have stayed here multiple times over the past 8 years. Was full only once when we stopped here during the Cheyenne Frontier Days (last weekend in July) in 2011.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
August 2012
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
D.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Had no problem finding the CG, got there fri. afternoon. No problems signing in and did not make a reservation. Campsites are quite close together, I have a large dog that barks very loud at strangers. CG has lots of wildlfe, proghorn especialy. I could not get the internet to work, and the office gal is gone all weekend. Lots of sights to see in the area, on base the old housing and cemetery are a must see. Bath house was clean, we will come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
17th-20th Aug. 2012
(Updated: December 24, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I would agree with the other person has said that also stayed there the same time as we did. The old base housing is very interesting as well as the cemetery, which has some WWII POW's buried there. We will come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
117 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5 6