F.E. Warren AFB Crow Creek FamCamp

Featured
 
3.6 (117)
101100 1 24 1 41

User reviews

36 reviews with 3 stars
117 reviews
 
21%
 
37%
 
32%
 
7%
 
4%
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0(117)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.5(117)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.3(117)
Value
 
3.6(117)
Overall Experience
 
3.6(117)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
36 results - showing 21 - 36
1 2
Ordering
10 June 2012
(Updated: June 19, 2012)
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Stayed one night in June in a 2012 3685RL Bighorn 5th wheel. Management non-existent & sights dirty. People allow children to run around unsupervised & dogs unleashed & not picked up after (watch where you walk). The base is spotless & a great place to see if you are into history. There are many old buildings. The campground is tight & spaces small for today's RVs & needs a manager who wants to do more then collect a pay check.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
25-27 June 2011
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: You must enter the main gate on weekends, it's the only one open. It was very easy to find based on website instructions. Once inside there was road construction on Old Glory Rd so you can't turn there as signed. Follow Randall Rd almost to its end where it curves to the left and joins Missile Dr. Entrance to Famcamp is marked but could easily be missed. The camp is rather shabby, grass not cut, trees could use a trimming. In their defense it's a natural area so........The sites are quite small and close together. The laundry was fine. We didn't interact with any of the personnel. Office was closed when we arrived. Our reserved site number was posted so it was no problem finding where we needed to be.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 14-18, 2010
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Mid June 2010 - We stayed at Crow Creek FamCamp for 3 days. The lawns needed mowing, the trees needed trimming and the roads were mostly dirt - needing gravel badly. Because of recent rains and flooding, the entrance to the camp was closed due to a washed out bridge. We had to take a long detour to a narrow dirt road to get into the camp. It is however, very close to the BX and Commissary. FamCamp personnel were very friendly and helpful. You can only do 2 loads of laundry at a time. I expected at least 4 washers/dryers. Very easy access to I-25 through the main gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
August 21, 2009
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We stay at FE Warren frequently on our trips north out of Denver. While we enjoy our stay, there are several downsides. It is one of the higher priced FamCamps ($20) with less facilities than other locations. I cannot understand why they raised their rates so high and yet made no improvements to the campground. The trees on the interior roads need to be trimmed back. We found it difficult to maneuver without having tree limbs hit the side of our RV. 50 amp electrical is only available at 8 sites as I recall. It is a quiet campground with only occasional noise from trains operating on the nearby tracks running through the base. Be sure to enter the "Red Barn" for inspection when you enter at gate 2. You can exit gate 5 on weekdays, closed on weekends. Gate 5 will take you out Center Avenue to shopping and restaurants. The office is manned only part of the day and the site reservations are not monitored. On one trip, I arrived and found someone had taken our reserved site. I talked to another person who also had this experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
6-8 July 2009
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Though there are no signs indicating inspection requirement, you MUST go through the "red barn" to the right on approach to Gate 2. The "big rig friendliness" of this famcamp is marginal at best. Many sites are too short for a 40' rig and some corners are very tight/too tight for big rigs. When backed into our site with rear almost against a tree, the nose of the MH was still out in the street. Most sites require one or more sewer hose extensions. No WIFI, but Verizon broadband works well. Very small laundry room. Office staff was very helpful on check-in, but when I went to office one afternoon at 3:55pm I found the door locked but there was a woman inside at the desk talking on the telephone. We would stay again for a week or so, but for longer stays would choose one of the higher quality civilian parks in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sep 29 - Oct 1, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Water pressure is so low due to water restriction valves that RV pump must be used for adequate water pressure. Water was extended to mid October, weather pending. Sites are gravel and very level. Easy entry from and to I-25. Site cost has been extended to $20 while water is on. Price is to high for what is available and should be lower during off season, after Labor Day. No one answers phone calls or returns phone calls.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
17-22 September 2008
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
R.B. left this review using the Directory software: The office is closed for the season while we are here, but the instructions for finding a site and paying are fairly clear.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
18 July - 28 July 2008
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I made a reservation for the Frontier Days period and called 30 days prior to arrival to make the reservation. I was not given a confirmation number and was told they would call me back but that never happened. I called a couple days later and finally got a number. I arrived on the 18th with my motorhome and was given a very shallow site on the corner of the road which caused my rig to stick out a little too far into the road so I requested a change which they accommodated even though they had reserved the site for someone arriving a few days later. They told me that they had a caravan coming in in a couple days and I would probably have to move to the overflow site. I questioned why the caravan would have priority over me because I had made a reservation earlier than they had. She could not answer that question other than to say that her supervisor had told her to make room for the caravan. As it turned out I was never asked to move (if they had asked me to move I would have had a one on one discussion with the services commander). The hours of operation posted on their door shows only the months they are operational not the actual hours. Numerous campers asked me when someone would be manning the office because it appears to be sporadic at best. During a peak period such as Frontier Days they should have someone in the office for at least 12 hours per day! The first night I stayed there someone left two large dogs in their unit with the windows open and the dogs barked continually from 8pm to 10pm until they returned. There is no emergency tele number to call to report this kind of situation. I contacted the Security Police but they could not do anything until the owners returned. Overall we were satisfied with the campground. Having been stationed there for a total of 7 years we were familiar with the base, etc and had a good time getting reacquainted with the base updates and changes to facilities, etc. The famcamp personnel get overwhelmed during Frontier Days and it detracted from what should have been a routine camping experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 7, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.4
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Rustic and quiet. Needs maintenance. Not close to anything. Be sure and spend some time driving around the base--it's unique.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
June 8 - 15, 2008
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The FamCamp would look a lot better if Outdoor Rec would invest in some weed eaters and use them. The sites are OK but more detailed ground maintenance would make a big difference. We saw no maintenance during our week stay. They raised their rate to $20 per day on June 1st and I am sure the profit is going to the golf course. We don't use public showers or restrooms so can't comment. The staff was not often in the office so had little interaction. We did enjoy touring and visiting Cheyenne, WY!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
June - July 2007
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The campground is perimetered by the remanents of a creek. The creek has been made part of some sort of environmental project and is never cleared of brush and other impedements to its flow. Consequentally, it is stagnant. There is a significant mosquito population in the park as a result of this standing water. When the park attendant was queried as to the prospect of spraying for mosquitoes, the response was that "they" would not spray until a case of West Nile Desease was reported. There seems to be little or no oversight over compliance with park rules. Most notably, many campers do not pick up after their dogs. There is considerable evidence of this throughout the camp ground. When a specific case reported to the camp attendant, she did nothing. There is a holder for bags near the dumpster but it was empty for most of our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
Jun 2006
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I wouldn't consider it very rustic. The campground is in the trees and doesn't have concrete pads. But otherwise very nice, clean, and quiet. A beautiful base. No 50amp electric.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Oct 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Only 4 RV's when we checked in yesterday and only 2 today. Autumn leaves are spectacular. $10.00 winter rate and self serve for 50 Amp and sewage. Water is turned off and it is lonely here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Aug 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Nice campground, level sites, shade trees, pretty base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jul 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
(No comments)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Apr 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Nature trail near the campground. Indian archaeological site near the campgound. We visited during the off-season, no water or sewer. The RV park was well maintained.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
36 results - showing 21 - 36
1 2