Pacific Beach Resort and Conference Center

Featured
 
3.7 (39)
129419 1 20 3 39

User reviews

39 reviews
 
18%
 
51%
 
15%
 
13%
 
3%
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.2(39)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.8(39)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.6(39)
Value
 
3.8(39)
Overall Experience
 
3.6(39)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
39 results - showing 21 - 39
1 2
Ordering
July 7-10, 2011
(Updated: August 05, 2011)
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
We don't have any complaints about the hot tub or exercise room or anything like that.....this complaint however is about how it seemed the top, or maybe the top 2 "head cheese" at the place treated the employees. They were awful! The poor employees acted like they were under the thumb constantly as if every move they made were on camera! We discreetly asked someone AFTER telling them we were leaving that day, and they shared with us that everyone there got "shit-canned" by the assholes that run the place because they were "busted out" for all kinds of crap they were doing that was wrong. I guess the "headcheese" figured that way up there on the coast they could pretty much run the show however they want and get away with it! The place now has a bad rep for people looking for jobs we were told, and many avoid the place like that plague! I would have to say in all of this.....BOYCOTT THIS PLACE!! It needs to be permanently SHUT DOWN!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 9
Sept, 7 - 21, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
C.H. left this review using the Directory software: We ended up staying two weeks here since we enjoyed the beach, the facilities and exploring the general area. We loved the free movies at night and the Fitness Center was a notch above the rest. And who can resist a huge hot tub? If you are looking for a relaxing get away at the beach, this cannot be beat.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
August 9-14, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The RV Park was easy to fine and easy to get into. We could stay only 5 days because they were full over the weekend, so if you plan on a stop on a weekend in the summer I would advise reservations. Nice will kept park but the bathhouse and laundry needed some TLC. The restaurant was good and the WiFi in the lobby was good. It is 8 tenths of a mile walk down to the beach from the Park. The town of Pacific Beach doesn't have much to offer. I feel it is overpriced considering it does not have full hookups and the 30amp power is marginal. The personnel at check in were good to work with.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
July 27- Aug. 1, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We are new to military campground RVing, so we have little to compare to. First of all, there is only one, maybe there are two, campsites, from which you can view the ocean from your RV. The facility is on a bluff (safe from Tsunamis!)and so the ocean can always be heard, but not seen unless you go outside a few feet from your site. What we loved a lot in the middle of summer was peace and quiet! There were no loud people partying to all hours, no blaring radios, no humming generators as I have found in the past at public campgrounds. Lots of well behaved dogs (ours were probably the noisiest, and not very noisy at that), and lots of space. Weekdays, there were many empty spots, weekends 3/4 full. I thought the restrooms were fine, although I did prefer the shower in the gym to the ones in the campground restroom... just a little "cozier" than the campground style ones. We liked having the movies available in the lobby to borrow (no rental required), the friendly staff, friendly people. The hot tub was way too hot (supposedly 104 degrees, but I thought you could boil a crab in there, and I usually like hot water!) If you plan on being there for razor clamming, the campground is set up with cleaning areas. We wanted to try the bowling alley, but never found the time. We've eaten in the restaurant before, but not this time... I don't recall it being great, but not a "greasy spoon" either. When we drove past all the other private, and the one state park, campgrounds, and I saw all the RVs one on top of the other, I was very happy we had our spot!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
17-20 APR 2010
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We enjoyed staying at the Pacific Beach Resort. The entry into and out of the RV park was easy, even with our 40' 5th wheel. The 30 amp service/water/cable worked great and the sites were spacious. The only draw back was there was no sewer connections, however they do provide a sewer dump station which worked out fine. The kids had fun at the 4 lane bowing alley, $2.50 per game which included shoes and they watched several movies at the small theater inside the main building. The small gift shop carried all the essential and non-essential items, which included a small expresso bar. The staff was friendly and professional and we would certainly come back again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 2, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The park is right next to the Pacific, with access to the beach. The beautiful Olympia National Forest and National Park is just down the road. Clean, spacious and friendly. This is a wonderful campground. On the other hand, it is a resort, not a military base, so the facilities are what you would find at a very nice motel. One more note: if you are reading this and haven't signed up as a member of militarycampgrounds.us, think about the excellent value this service provides. It's worth hundreds to RV travelers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
8 Sept -11 Sept
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We spent 4 days here. The park, including the baths and laundry, contrary to some previous comments, were clean and not decrepit as some earlier comments indicated. The park was a bit pricey for not being a full hook-up (in comparison to other military parks), and there was no beach access and very little view of the ocean. However it was $10 cheaper than Pacific Beach State Park just down the road which offered only electric if I remember correctly. The grounds were immaculate although the fence could use some more slats on the road side of the park. It was quiet and everyone was courteous. Our cell and air cards worked fine.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
August 7-9, 2008
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
D.N. left this review using the Directory software: You can make a reservation. However, we found that their system is less then user friendly. We called three month ahead and was told that they were booked solid, including the cabins and hotel. I called one month ahead and got an RV spot. I then called two days ahead and got a hotel room and a cabin, and there were more rooms and cabins available. When I reserved the hotel room it took six tries to give them my credit card number because of the loud background noise in the office area. When we checked in there were five people behind the desk, two were helping people and the others were doing nothing. There were five people waiting in line to check in. The facility is getting very run down and the price for an RV site with no sewer hook up was $20.00 extremely expensive when compared to other FamCamps. The restaurant was at best a greasy spoon and the service left a lot to desire. With a little leadership this could be a great place to visit. But for now you might want to stay in one of the commercial campground in the area. You can find full hook ups for 20-25 dollars. Some of the staff was very friendly but not very efficient.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sept. 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
L.W. left this review using the Directory software: Very enjoyable camp grounds. Good restaurant and lounge on the property. A good place to rest and explore the Washington State Oylmpic Penninsula.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Jul 2007
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Spend a week there is last July. The sites are well spaced out, paved, level, with a picnic table at each site. There is no sewer hook ups at any site. The restrooms/showers with the campgrounds were very old and could really use a new coat of paint, but were clean. They also had another restroom/showers in a trailer next to the tent camping as well as one the in the gym that you can use. A small laundry is also available (2 washers and 2 dryers). The camp grounds itself over looks the beach. But except from the whale watching tower you can not really see much of the beach from the the camp. Towards the back of the campgrounds there is an gate which with a short walk takes you right down to the beach itself. You can also just drive right down on to the beach if want. The place does have a nice restaurant, movie room, bowling alley (4 lanes), and gym that the campers can all use. Being there during a couple of rain storms we made use of the gym, game room and bowling alley ourselves. They have only a very small gift store at the base but the town of Pacific Beach, while very small does have a 24 hour food/gas store. If all you wish is a place next to the beach then this could be what you are looking for. But if you are looking for a place to visit the Olympic rain forest and other areas to the north, look further north as it was a drive and a half to get anywhere for a day trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
September 7, 2007
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
We came, we saw, we left without staying a night. The much ballyhooed "view" is only for the hotel guests, because an eight-foot chainlink fence, with equally high brush completely surrounds the campground. Whatever the view, you're ALWAYS looking through a rusty barbed wire chainlink fence. UGLY. At $20.00 per night, it's way too expensive for very little charm. As some other reviewer mentioned, the bath house is marginal at best, especially considering the price. The only saving grace I saw was that it was adjacent to the ocean, and you could hear the crashing surf. As far as I could tell, you'd have to go into town to get actual access to the beach. If you want beauty and ocean views with direct access, go on up the coast to the Olympic National Park coastal campsites. We did, and were thrilled with the grandeur and beauty for $6.00 a night (Golden Age Pass). But If all you want is full hookups and someplace to stop for a few days, I guess the Conference Center will do. Not for us, thank you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 2
June 25-26,2007
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Well maintained and clean! Cost for stay is more than it should be. Restaurant on site, apparently open to public, but I dont know for sure. Not close to any attractions other than Indian Reservations and Olympic Rain Forest. This is good spot to stay while visiting Olympic Peninsula.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
2-6 July 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Have read the other reviews. This is a great place to go camping. The maintenance has been getting worse over the years. Staff are very nice. There is a restaurant in the main building, but the service has always been extremely slow. You really can't see much of the ocean from the camp as brush and trees have grown up to block the views. You can drive on the beach to the right the resort. There is a civilian resort about 3/4 of a mile down the road where you can pay to go into their indoor swimming pool. Great. No sewer hookups makes it inconvenient, and frequently the cable outlets are not working properly. All in all though, this is a great camp. By the way, the price has gone up to $20.00 per night and you can make reservations by phone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
24 May - 28 May 2007
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
This place has a lot to offer a family. Wonderful facilities such as a well equipped gym; hot tub; game room for the teens with ping pong, arcade games, foosball; four lane bowling alley; and free movies on weekend nights. There is a playground for the little ones. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The RV park is well laid out, has paved level sites and is well kept. However the elecric is marginal. Only using the microwave reduced the voltage to below acceptable levels. The RV park sits on a bluff 100 feet above the Pacific Ocean, and there is a nice two mile walk you can take along the beach and back through town. Not much else to do in the area without driving an hour or more to Olympic Nat'l Park except sightseeing the local beach communities. There are no sewer hookups which leads to the big negative for me since spouse and I decided we could use the bathhouse showers to avoid having to use our portable holding tank during our weeklong stay. Our experience with military RV parks has been that the bathhouses are generally fairly decent and mostly excellent. If our stay hadn't started on a holiday weekend (Memorial Day), we would have checked out the next day but for concern we would not have been able to find another vacancy in the area. The bathhouse is absolutely deplorable, without doubt among the worst I have seen in the past. I personally feel it is insulting that the management here has so little concern for their guests that they would force us to use such inadequate facilities. It's as if they feel that the RV people are gypsies who don't care about where they shower. The floor was bare concrete, the walls had peeling paint and widespread mildew. There were cobwebs in numerous places, unpainted benches in a communal shower area that appeared very unsanitary, and no privacy in the showers. You are forced to hang your belongings in an open public area in front of the showers. The area underneath a row of sinks was unfinished, filthy and rusty. The real frosting on the cake was weeds growing 5 inches high in expansion joints in the shower stalls!! This doesn't begin to describe the run-down nature of the outside of this crude concrete block structure which can at least be excused due to the harsh conditions it is exposed to on the coast. For this place to call itself a "resort" without providing the very basic of facilities for its guests is truly stretching the definition. If my travels ever find me in this area again you can be sure I will find someplace else to stay. It's a shame that one thing like this can make an otherwise decent place come across in such a negative light.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Aug.31, 2006
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Perched high atop a hill, surrounded by 8 foot chain link fence, with no immediate access to the beach...I don't see what others' had. (Whidby Island's view is much more unobstructed, and one can access the beach easily.) Their playground was not in view, but is adequate for older children, and the showers and laundry are adequate. We stayed two days before having to go to overflow as someone else had made resevations. I don't think for the price this park is "all that" and I wouldn't go out of my way to make reservations for the the RV part of Pacific Beach. But, if you don't you might get stuck in the dry lot. Dry camp-overflow is a chain-link enclosed grass lot with an awful slope, and a worse view of the ocean. But, from there one can see the cabins, and they have it great! Our third and last night was spent there after a great day at Hoh Ntl. rain forest and Ruby Beach.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 3
Jul 2006
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Concur with previous posts. A GREAT resort high on a bluff, right on the Pacific Ocean nestled up to the small town of Pacific Beach, maybe 250 people, or so it seems, and a small state park located in town right on the water's edge. It is beautiful with the roar of the ocean and miles of beach to roam. The resort lost power for about five hours while we were there but no big deal; while the nation was baking in the 90's it was a cool, mid to high 60's with a nice ocean breeze to enjoy. Want to get out of your rv for a couple of days? Try $40 a night for lodging. This is a GREAT resort!! Twenty miles down the road is the town of Ocean Shores with plenty of shops, golf and mopheads to rent to explore up and down the beaches for miles. Keep in mind this is the Pacific Northwest. Come October through May or even June, it is gray and rainy most of the time but still beautiful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Jun 2006
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great place to stay. Looked out at the Pacific through my back window. What can I say?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
May 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a very clean and well maintained facility. Staff are curtious and helpful. Reservations reccommended. A very relaxing and enjoyable stop or destination. Worth the drive off of the 5 or 101.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 2006
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I took a church group, stayed in three houses, saw the overall facility and its beach location. This is a great place for groups or families. I highly recomend it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
39 results - showing 21 - 39
1 2