Cliffside RV Park

 
4.8 (103)
116322 1 60 1 107

User reviews

103 reviews
 
89%
 
7%
 
4%
2 stars
 
0%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.8
Location
 
4.9(103)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.9(103)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.7(103)
Value
 
4.8(103)
Overall Experience
 
4.8(103)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
103 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6
Ordering
Aug thru Nov 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Cliffside is an outstanding RV park! Probably one of the best military famcamps in the nation. It is on the Puget Sound (Salish Sea) water’s edge and the views are spectacular. You have an open ocean view with Olympic National Park in the southern distance and the San Juan Islands & Vancouver Island in the western and northern distance. The sites are spaced out so there is no crowding at all. All utilities are easy to access and work fine. There are 2 loops, southern and northern. We were in the southern loop and the camp host, Ken, is a master gardener. The gardens in and around the park are just beautiful. The staff is friendly and helpful. There are a few negatives that are worth mentioning. The Naval Air Station is very active and they have flight ops often. Jet noise can be annoying. The other is the wind. During the fall and winter months the wind can be relentless. There are days when the winds are a steady 20 to 30 mph with guts of 50 to 60 mph. Other days are a steady 15 to 20 mph with gusts of 30 mph or so. However, the weather in the summer months are the best in the country!! Cellular service is almost non-existent. We had Verizon and had very spotty service (at the park). We switched to T-Mobile and had the same problem. We ended up buying a cell booster, which made a huge difference. We spent a month there in Aug/Sept of 2018 and (this time) we spent 4 months there during Aug, Sept, Oct, Nov. The part of the base on the other side of the island houses the Exchange and Commissary. Both are very large and have about anything you’d need. Oak Harbor is a pleasant town and has plenty of restuarants, shopping, and everything else. VERY IMPORTANT: Use the Chas. Porter Gate for entry and exit to the base. All other gates have too many obstacles and you’ll regret it.
Cliffside RV Park
Cliffside RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sept. 26-30, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Beautiful setting on Puget Sound. This campground is clean and very well run. The landscape is gorgeous and plants are labeled. The sunsets are beyond words. You also get the benefit of watching the F-15's fly over. Definitely on our list to return.
Cliffside RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July/August 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We spent 30 days July-August and we’re amazed how beautiful Ken the host flowers are. The weather was awesome too. Best DOD FamCamp we have been too in our four years of full timing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a top not (world class!) campground. I would say a must stay in the state of Washington. All sites are full hook ups, paved and can accommodate big rigs. Our site was #20 (water view site). A beautiful view of the water from the back end of our site. Save room back there so you can set up your chairs to watch the sunset! The grounds are just lovely. The staff takes great pride in planting all kinds of flowers, including artichokes! This campground is well run, no kids running unattended, no loud music, no wild parties etc. It's super quiet at night you hardly know you are in a campground. Cell coverage is poor as is tv off antenna. We are not typically tv watchers, but did want to watch the soccer games and local news which we could not get even with our antenna. We took a bike ride along the water trail that is designated for PT and timed it such that 2 F18s took flight right above our heads - monumental thrill! I just had to yell "Wooo hooo!" You also get to see them clearly from the campground as the take off over the water. Do not hesitate to stay here, call early and get your reservation in the system. Easy launch point into Canada or ferry to Alaska or the San Juan Islands. If you have kids with you there is so much there to keep them busy. Easy access to the beach from the lower section of the campground. The only reason I downgraded them on value is that I think $50.00 is a bit high for a military campground - even though it's very nice. There is a discount for a week long stay as well as month long stays. Overall: Highly recommend!
Cliffside RV Park
Cliffside RV Park
Cliffside RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
July 4 to 7th 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We just had our barbecue put on from the hosts. Met a new manager Dave Meyers along with longtime host me Ken King The park has never looked better the flower arrangements and gardens here are worthy of a botanical garden Dave and Ken were great hosts and saw to our every needs this place just keeps getting better unfortunately everybody is finding out about it and it is difficult to get reservations. Stephan Pohrivchak should be happy with his new assignment!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 30, /2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a great park every site has a view of the water. Great staff, very clean. The views are just stunning.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Aug 2020
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Disappointed. We had reservations for late Aug. Got a call on July 30th from the campground that they had to cancel our reservation. The base CO extended the active-duty only restriction until 8 Sept due to his COVID concerns. This seemed to be a base policy not a Navy or DoD policy. We stayed at two other Military RV Parks already so far in July. We felt lucky that our reservations were far out enough we were able to find a alternate location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
December 2019
Overall rating
 
3.1
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
My wife and I were in Oak Harbor for a short visit in 2015 and looked at this park while on base. The location and beauty of this place put it high on our list of places to visit while full timing. Now we're full timing. Called to see about reservations for April 2020 and was told, by Greg, that the monthly rate for non water front is $840 regardless of the month. Since we have relatives we'd like to see on Whidbey we're still headed that way however will be staying at another park close by. We'll be saving over $200... The more we get exposed to military RV parks the more we think they're not a better deal than civilian RV parks especially now that they've become (with the exception of Davis Monthan in Tuscon and Sheppard Annex on Lake Texoma) extensions of family housing for active duty personnel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 2
August 12 - 18, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a gorgeous military RV Park! The flowers at the park are amazing and the elevated view directly on the water is spectacular. There is also plenty of history on the island, numerous state parks to visit ,and very comfortable temperatures so one can enjoy nature and the entire island during the summer months. Having said that, the jets are "loud" and they fly a lot; especially during the week and in the early evening until around 1030pm. I didn't hear any jets fly during normal nightime sleeping hours. If you are prepared and aware of the "sound of freedom" , you will definitely enjoy your stay here. If jet noise bothers you, an alternative RV park I'd recommend when you visit Whidbey Island is Swinomish Casino, which has an RV park on the water too and is definitely more quiet, but could be just as convenient to see the sites. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
July 15-17, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My husband and I came here to relax and recharge: the atmosphere of this place encourages doing exactly that. We spent hours wandering the beach and sitting on the sand, watching the waves. We tossed a few bean bags at the Cornhole game and played Connect 4 (he won). We explored Lollipop Loop, discovering the Albino Arctic Lady Bugs and the red Lady Bugs.... The jets were loud, but we didn't think they flew *that much.* We were in a tent; the tent area was quiet and not very crowded. The views from almost every area of this campground were spectacular. This place is amazing!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
July 8 - July 22, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We are a 45' motorhome towing a truck. This is our third year at Cliffside. We drive over 1500 miles to visit here which should give you an idea of how much we like this place. We called ahead (I suggest between 12 noon and 1 PM) and ask for your site #. You should be able to unhitch at the big park on the way in (Saratoga Street). It makes it much easier as there is really no place to unhitch inside the park without causing a traffic jam.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
29 May - 13 June 2019
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We called ahead on our day of arrival and they gave us our site number. We arrived via the 24/7 gate and proceeded directly to our site. The park offers night hikes, telescope night-time star viewing and many other activities. However, you really need to ask about times and locations as they do not do much to inform their guests of these events. We did the night-hike with the park manger and we very much enjoyed the info he shared. The manger also setup an automated telescope on another night and shared his knowledge of planets and stars. The flower gardens through-out the south loop are fantastic! Ken, a volunteer camp host has undertaken the daylight past dusk task of planting and maintaining the gardens. The staff we interacted with were very helpful and demonstrated a genuine concern in their park. 
Cliffside RV Park
Cliffside RV Park
Cliffside RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
May 6-10, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We had heard so much about Cliffside RV Park and had always meant to come here. We finally made it and this is a great RV Park. VERY well maintained, with manicured landscaping and plenty of flowers. There's lots to do here and the views are fantastic. The weather was perfect for our short visit. We watched Grey Whales off the shore from our RV. The office staff and hosts are very friendly and work hard to provide campers a good experience. Laundry was $1.50 load and $.50 to start drying. Unfortunately, the RV Park is located on an active Air Station under the flight path. It got VERY NOISY at times, which distracts from the relaxing and serene atmosphere of the RV Park. Don't get me wrong, I love the "sound of freedom", but it was impossible to hear others talk at times. The Air Station has a large Commissary, Exchange, Gas and Diesel. It's a very active installation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 2
Dec 18, 2018 - Jan 1, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We had a wonderful stay over the holidays, and enjoyed the decorations in several campsites. Although very windy, we enjoyed the eagles that visited almost every day. We really appreciated the visit from the jolly ole elf himself on Christmas Eve to complement us on our outdoor ocean-themed Christmas Tree. It's a beautiful park, well landscaped, clean, and well maintained. We truly appreciated the wonderful ADA showers. The ocean view and sounds of crashing waves are a bonus. Catching big trout at nearby Pass Lake added even more to our experience. We definitely plan to return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Sept 4, 2018 - Oct 4, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This park is awesome! We are in site 34 and have a more than 180 degree view of the water, Olympic National Park, the San Juan Islands, and Vancouver Island. The sunsets are amazing. There is a huge amount of room in between the RV's due to the great layout and the angle of the sites. The laundry room and bathrooms are spotless clean and the whole park is neat and tidy. Ken, the camp host/gardener, has done a splendid job landscaping and planting flower beds that are so nice. We have traveled the country from end to end and this is our #1 park. The wifi is good - they use the Navy's Gowifi and it is fast enough and very little to no interruptions. The Verizon cell signal is 2 bars with LTE. There is one annoyance, but it isn't the fault of the park. This is a Naval Air Station and they do flight ops every week day. The touch and go's can last until 10:30 at night. Make no mistake about it - they are loud, very loud. Some days are not so bad and some days..... The noise would not keep us away from this park. We will be back hopefully sooner than later. This has been a wonderful month at a spectacular park. We camped at Cliffside RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Aug 27-31, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A great spot. Lucky to get reservations. The staff was outstanding! The host dedicated extra time to planting a caring for a wonderful flower garden throughout the campground. There are two loops, north and south. Be sure and call the day you are arriving to make sure what loop you are in. They pressing you a spot that day and will let you drive to it before checking in. There is NO room to park at the office with your rig checking in. The directions to get here are spot on, with one exception, the Porter gate is now open 24 hours. Be sure and unhook your toad at the ball fields. We were a little disappointed in the laundry facilities. Only 2 washers and 4 dryers in each loop. There are spots for more, and the photos show there used to be more. The beach is adjacent to the park and a wonderful place to walk and watch the sunset. Will definitely stay here on all our trips to the San Juans.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This has GOT to be the crown jewel of the military RV park system. On a bluff, above the ocean, nice breeze, with beautiful views. Ask for ocean front and then pull into your space. We were able to have the spectacular view for 10 days by running our utilities under the RV. Site office was manned by super friendly folks. There is a Wendy's on base and there is a well stocked mini NEX store (Shopette for you Army/AF folks) right behind it that we didn't notice until the end of our stay. Otherwise the (big) NEX main store and commissary are about a 10-15 minute drive on another nearby installation. Beware -- the jet noise (FA-18s, P-3s, P-8s, and the occasional USAF cargo plane) is REALLY loud and go can on into towards midnight or later. Luckily I can sleep through just about anything, but it you are a light sleep this could be an issue. Otherwise, make your reservation well in advance and enjoy this little slice of heaven.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
2018 July
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
After reading all previous reviews I decided to add a more recent one. I agree with all previously stated reviews, and it's just a matter of what your needs are. The staff is the most attentive than most military campgrounds! And love the fact that CHARLES PORTER GATE IS OPEN 24/7???? In addition, please be advised that the only "Dump station" is on the sewer campsites. There is no separate "Dump Station!" I have a son stationed here, and this is my third year staying here for the summer "on and off" I wish the campground was on the other side of the island, on the Sea Base side. Near the NEX & COMMISSARY" AND GRANDCHILDREN! Also, it's warmer and the jet sound is hardly noticeable. A win- win all around!? Maybe they will build one there since this Cliffside is almost always fully booked! We spent a lot of time exploring the islands and PNW (Pacific NorhWest.) We are sad that my son is next stationed in Virginia. Please come and enjoy!!! And wear earplugs if you need too? 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 10 - August 5, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Two Big Changes 1. Charles Porter Gate is now 24/7. It used to have short weekday hours and was closed on the weekends. 2. Water view sites are now $36.00 per night. No weekly or monthly discounts. All the great comments made by others still applies. Love this place!
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
June 2016
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
If you love the sound of jets this is the place to go. Grounds are clean and pristine. Views are worth a billion. Weather can go from beautiful sunny to foggy and wet. The constant jet noise is why I do not give a full 5 across the line. The jets can go until 1 am and the touch and go can last 2-3 hrs. No plans on returning, which is sad as we love the area and friendliness of the people.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
103 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6