The Colonies Travel Park

 
4.2 (25)
43429 0 1 0 7

User reviews

13 reviews with 4 stars
25 reviews
 
36%
 
52%
 
12%
2 stars
 
0%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.8(25)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0(25)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.8(25)
Value
 
4.2(25)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(25)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
13 results - showing 1 - 13
Ordering
April 2013
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was our maiden voyage in our TT. The couple, Pat and Pat,who manage the campsite were nothing short of phenomenal. They were so helpful at every turn. The campsites are clean and well maintained. There's not a lot to do in the park overall,however the new Beach Club was just opening that weekend and seems to have a good draw of patrons. The old board walk spans the coastline and goes on for miles. This provides a great place to jog, run, walk or ride a bike. Be careful walking around the campgrounds as there are many, many, many "sticker burrs" in the grassy areas. Our dog picked up a few and they are very painful, so be careful allowing your pet to walk in the grass. Overall, we had a good experience and plan to visit this campsite again and again as it is very close to where we live and provides for a quick get away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
April 10-17, 2011
(Updated: April 16, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Arrived on a Sunday. Office is closed on the weekends, but sign in window told us our site number. Sites are well spaced, but as said before, all hookups located at the back of the site. Would have given a 5 in the cleanliness/hospitality, but when we checked in on Monday found the office staff stand offish and not very friendly...Someone could have at least cracked a smile....Pet walking is limited to way over on the other side of the office building...don't know of any dog that can wait to walk the length of a football field to pee....On the positive, beautiful views of the bay and ocean and the Dog Beach is great for the 4-legged kids...lol..Maybe the attitude is due to the fact that all services are being moved over to Ft. Eustis because of the closing of Ft. Monroe....What a waste as this post is well laid out...and the loss of Military History for the the Army is a shame....So, please, if you can do it, come visit and enjoy this historic fort before it closes. Campground to close August 15, 2011 and the Post September 15, 2011.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
27 Sep-3 Oct 2010
(Updated: October 04, 2010)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We had about 4 straight days and nights of rain, plus 2 days and night of off and on showers, during our stay. While the RV park is nice when dry, it is a pretty miserable place when wet as drainage is non-existent. We had to wade a few inches water to get in and out or our motorhome (our booster step floated away...), but we noted several occupied sites that were literally swamped in 6" or so of water the entire time we were there. There were some wood pallets on some of the worst sites to give the occupants some help getting in and out, but I had to wonder about swamped sewer hookups and electrical connections. I installed a new water sediment filter on arrival ...the filter normally lasts 3 months, but I had to discard it after one week due to the severe rust in the water. The office staff is hopeful (I am too!) that the campground may be kept open by the National Park Service when they take responsibility for the historic areas of the fort in 2011, but nothing is sure about that possibility as yet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 19 - 21 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Just visited for quick weekend outing with our new 2010 Jayco Jay Flight travel trailer. The location is close to very historic and interesting Fort Monroe. If you visit this campground before the base closes, take the time to visit the Casemate museum. You will be glad you did. The bathhouse is adequate but small. There is only one restroom for both males and females. It's kept pretty clean, just you have to wait if somebody is showering, etc. We asked the personnel at the campground what happens to the campground once the base closes and they said they believe the campground would close as well. So, if you have the time, check out this gem before it is gone!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
24 October 08
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Pulled in today with 1 day notice on the reservation and reserved over flow spot #3. Just a field but area well maintained and beautiful. Have heard that the fort is on the BRAC and too bad as this place is beautiful. Overflow should be less than $17 per night because all you get is water and 30 amp. Water was turned off to the overflow and when I spoke to the office about it they got a "trouble call" put in and the water was turned on before I had my trailer dropped. Son in the Navy at Norfolk Naval station and an easy drive other than "rush hour." Will spend 2 weeks here and could get on the asphalt but will stay here. Can extend for 2 weeks for a total of 30 days but will move on.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 8-11, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Really enjoyed our three day stay. Fantastic location for history buffs. Only negative is the sand spurs. Those little things hurt. Fantastic fishing on sea wall.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 1-9, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
What a convenient spot for discovering our Nation´s beginnings! Also for visits to VA Beach and other sites. Like the previous reviewer, I agree; Ft. Monroe´s history is great (make sure you check out the Casemate Museum!), and it´s sad it´s closing. As for the Camp: Ft. Monroe is easy to find and get on/off, the sites are level and easy to maneuver, although somewhat narrow. There are numerous close play-areas (my kids had a blast), and the restroom/laundry is very clean. It seemed there was not a single homeseteader (first time I´ve seen this EVER). Cell-phone service and computer phone card use is clear and fast. I almost don´t want to divulge the negatives. But, so ya know; there is no commissary (one on nearby Langly AFB), no recycling (anywhere!), and only one shower and W/D. Still, I would recommend this place anytime!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct. 16-23, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Directions on the website are still correct. No construction. Calling ahead for reservations, I was told me that they were booked up for the next 2 months. (thru the end of Nov. 2007). I asked about the overflow sites and the "lady" came back after checking; to tell me that overflow # 3 was open. If I hadn't read in US Military Campgrounds about these, she wouldn't have volunteered the info. So, thnx for that. All of the overflow sites were open upon our arrival and stayed open for our entire stay. The parking is an open field with the hook-ups for 2 spaces on posts. Our number 3 had the post on the correct side as we backed in, but had we been number 4- they would've been on the wrong side. The overflow sites are prettier (to us) than the 13 paved, real sites. We had the Atlantic 200yds. off one side and 1 of the Chesapeake back bays 50 yds off the other. They are easier to navigate into and closer to the bathrooms too. Each single bathroom (2 total. 1- M, 1-F) contains the shower and toilet. So if somebody's showering, no toilet is available. There isn't any tourist info avail in the park office but the very nice ladies down the street at the Soldier & Family Support Center had Everything. Ask for directions there after setting up in the RV park. Not enough can be said about the Post itself. Staying here was a real honor- a virtual forced trip back into history. The Post has few big base amenities but plenty of those are close by. Langley AFB is a easy 20 minute drive. Close to all nearby attractions. I highly recommend it. Get here before it's BRAC'ed closed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
2-17 October 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great location in the Hampton Roads area. There is no community room, WiFi or cable TV, however there are several local TV Stations you can access. The grounds are not very well maintained. The road through the campground and the sites are all hard surfaced - no mud or dust. The view of the surrounding area is really nice, especially the sunrise/sunset over the water. It is a very quiet place. Fort Monore does not have a commissary, but has a small PX and gas station. However, Langley Air Force Base is nearby with a very nice large BX and commissary. This is a small campground (13 sites named after the 13 original Colonies) on a very historic Post. It is an excellent value as they accept the Golden Age/Access Passports. The campground reservation system is not user-friendly and requires patrons to move to different sites frequently.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 2007
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great location in the Hampton Roads area. The rates seem high without having a community room and no WiFi or cable, and the grounds are not very well maintained. The view of the surrounding area is really nice, especially the sunset across the water. It is very quiet there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sept. 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We love the Ft. Monroe area. Nice campground, pine trees need trimmed for better tv reception, gorgeous sunrises and sunsets. But we won't go back because of what we call sand burrs. They are terrible and are all over the camp area. We couldn't even let the dog out without picking burrs from his paws. We are still picking them out of things-carpets, shoes and so on. I guess they must come from some type of grass head there. They are painful too if they break off in your skin. Still a lovely place, nice and quiet. Langley Air Force Base has a fantastic PX!! Must see.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sept 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a small, quiet campground on a very historic base. It is an excellent value as they accept the Golden Age/Access Passports. The campground sits in a site that is close to the water and a nice recreation area. It is within easy driving access of many attractions in the area. FYI, the base is on the BRAC list but not scheduled to close until 2010-11. Take the time to enjoy this base and location before it is no longer available. You surely can't beat the price!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jul 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed here 8 nights this July. Great place! Too bad they are closing the base in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
13 results - showing 1 - 13