Sea Mist RV Campground

Hot
 
4.7 (84)
256982 1 22 2 143

User reviews

65 reviews with 5 stars

84 reviews

 
(66)
 
(16)
 
(1)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.8  (84)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.8  (84)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.2  (84)
Value 
 
4.7  (84)
Overall Experience 
 
4.7  (84)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
65 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4
Ordering
August 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great campground and great value. Sites paved, level and clean. Stayed in older section which appeared to have a few homesteaders which is unfortunate this is allowed to go on. Campground was nearly full so Im sure these homesteaders are making it difficult for others to have a turn for a great vacation at a reasonable price. Office staff very friendly and helpful. 50 amp breaker on my site (39) was weak and would trip if pulling over 35 amps. Reported to office but was not replaced the week we were there but office did offer to move me to another site. Was still able to run two a/c’s with hotwater switched to propane. Stayed on double site 39&40 which is satellite dish friendly but gets full sun most of day. The sites across the street on the east side of road have more shade and several still would allow use of rooftop mounted sat dish. Entry and exit to base even bringing non military guests in their camper on Sunday was problem free with wife accompanying them through gate with their camper and vouching with her ID card. They followed me in our motorhome. Beach at campground nice and allowed dogs in specific area as long as leashed. Several people had their pets on beach and I observed no problems. Local area at Virginia beach very nice. All you can eat crab legs, Brazilian steakhouse, aquarium, Boardwalk, USS Wisconsin, all great things to do. Definitely will return. If homesteaders not hogging all spots.
Sea Mist RV Campground
Sea Mist RV Campground
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
July 2019. Pay $25/night for concrete pad with water, electricity and sewer and across dunes from beach. There is a north and south end. North End - new, near check-in building, great number of washers and dryers, no trees to speak of ?? and shower facilities down (apparently been that way for a while, luckily I am self-contained). South end - older, lots of shade, longer slots, beach access (walkway to beach), shower facilities (again older) and half the number of washers and dryers. Unique concept is there are a few double pads for two RV’s side by side for $40/night. Great for two but you will be close Bottom line is for the cost, it can’t be beat! 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 14-17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
It has been a while since we were last here but it is always delightful. Our site was in the "old" section which was upgraded correctly. This is a great place to kick back, relax and recharge.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 2
Aug 7-12th 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Spent a week at Sea Mist and had a grand time! Even with all the rains that they had recently park was neat and tidy. You could see where work had been done recently to fix and repair things around the camp. Camp host was very helpful on a couple of occasions when we needed her. We'll be back! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
May - June 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We love this campground and have stayed here many times. Having said that there are a couple of things they should address. The secret is out. It is a popular location and it is getting harder to book a reservation. One thing they could do is reduce the number of homesteaders. Over 50% of the campers here are long term. Some have been here for years. Yes --years! Another thing is that maintenance seems to have tapered off a bit since the last time we were here but it is still a nice location. Sites are concrete and level. It is beginning to show its age and is in need of a little paint on the new office, laundry and shower building. Railings are peeling. Its still a nice facility but in need of some paint. The fencing near the sand dunes needs to be replaced. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
May 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed in in May 2017 10 days before Memorial day week end. This is a great place to get away to. Staff is so helpful. The sites are all clean.Most of the time real quite, you may hear troops running and chanting. This was out 3rd time and will come again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Nov 25-29, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Excellent place to stay (the best of our entire trip) Mike called us to ask what time we would be coming in because he didn't want to miss us if he went to lunch. Beautiful grounds with the ocean steps away. Large concrete pads with the best hook ups I've seen. Looking forward to returning. THANKS!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
21-23 Sept 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My go-to place for a stay-cation in Hampton Roads. Although the older site has better beach access, the new site has its own charm and allure. While I wish there were more trees and easier beach access on the "new" side, each site has ample room and you're not so close to your neighbors. It's well kept and the caretakers/staff have an obvious pride for their facility. The bathroom and shower facilities are exceptionally clean. There is an outdoor pavilion with a gas grill for group use. It's a first come, first served for the sites and check in is at noon, not 3 (email confirmation will say 3 because it's a standardized MWR response). I think it stays looking so nice because the visitors actively participate in keeping the site looking so good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
August 28 - Sept 3, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed in the southern part, was Great, looking forward in returning.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 3
November 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is one of our favorites. The facility is great and very well run. We camped in the new section this time and liked it. We will be back. The walk along the beach and the sound of the waves each day is worth it all. But the people in the office make our stay great from the start. Especially Angelia. She is very conscientious and friendly and a real professional. She should be commended and she is an example to others. The maintenance on the campground is very good and the mark of a well run facility. I liked the fact they had an MWR sponsored cooked out on Saturday before Halloween. Just another 'nice touch' at a place we will return to. One of the Navy's best campgrounds!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
October 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is by far the cleanest and nicest parks to stay at. The staff are friendly and professional. We stayed in the north park and it was impossible to tell which if any campers were homesteaders because they don't permit the clutter in the site like other parks do. Keep up the good work - we'll be back whenever passing through or planning an escape!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
8 Oct - 18 Nov 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
One of the very best in the military!  Office staff (specifically Angela) and grounds / maintenance personnel first rate!  Campground in excellent shape, grounds well taken care of and lawns mowed.  Concrete pads very nice and laundry, rest rooms fine.  Short distance to the beach.  One of our favorite places to stay.  We will be back.  We camped in a motor home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Oct 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Another great stay. We love this place. Grounds are mowed, bushes got trimmed. Though it is pretty full, everyone is friendly and well behaved. We stayed in the south side and like the set up there. Great wifi again and out satellite works good. Had to move from our original choice but was no problem. There are a few trees here but it is not a problem. Beach access is not far away, all sites are flat and level, concrete with full sewer and 50 amp. This place does it right. Would be even nice if they had individual fire pits but they do have a couple of community campfires. Upgrading the front entrance main gate, but no problem with the detours for the next few weeks until they finish up. We will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 2
July 6 thru July 13 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed in front section close to road. No problems with noise or traffic. Host Bill? excellent. Excellent NEX, gym, golf course, all base facilities, i.e Norfolk, Little Creek, Oceana. Coming back first two weeks of August. Great place to stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 27th thru July 3rd 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
One of the best parks that have stayed at. Stayed in the old section, had nice shade for being so close to the beaches. The shower house in the older section was clean but could use an updating. Amenities where at the Air Base where one of the best we have seen in a while. The Golf Course at the Air Base was the only disappointment I had during our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
April 13-15, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
First time out. First time at Mil camp. I am a local I guess, live about an hour away from Sea Mist. Checkin with Bill was fast and easy, he is a great host, in fact all the staff, I met there, we're friendly and helpful. We were put in the older section with lots of trees and shade, site easy to back into every thing clean and bright. If you are traveling thru the Tidewater are and need a place to stop for the night or the week this is it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
18-21 Aug 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Hookups 20/30/50 amp, water,sewer, picnic table. Had site 36 which was a long back in concrete pad. There are two sections of sites, sites in new area by office have zero shade. There are at least four double sites. No cable or WIFI available, we were told there was WIFI by the gym and bowling alley but we were unable to hook up. Had 9 channels on TV ant. and our Sprint cell service was OK. Needed code to get into bath houses, the one by office was new and much nicer than the older section. Exchange, subway, bowling alley and beach all in walking distance. Laundry in each bath area $1.00 per load. Virginia beach and boardwalk just 10 miles away. Nice park with lots to do in the area, I would recommend a stop here if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
JUNE 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
FIRST TIME CAMPING IN TRAVEL TRAILER. WHAT A GREAT EXPERANCE AND PLACE TO STAY. LOVED IT SO MUCH THAT I GOT MY VERY OWN TRAVEL TRAILER THIS PAST YEAR. AND I ALREADY HAVE SITE RESERVED FOR THIS UPCOMING JUNE INTO JULY 2015, WHAT A GREAT STAFF:-) CANT WAIT TO THE TIME COMES TO GO BACK DOWN. IF YOU HAVENT BEEN THERE YOU REALLY NEED TO CHECK IT OUT. HOPE TO SEE YOU THERE.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Oct 2014 to Feb 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Terrific campground, just a sand dune from the beach. Staff is terrific, very friendly and helpful. They keep the place up very well. Most actually RV there too. Bath houses are clean and quite functional. Laundromat is nice, has 2 washers and 4 dryers, 1.00 each per load. There are two areas, one is more wide open, the other has a lot of trees. Internet is very good. It is a training base and the RV park is located next to one of the main instructional buildings so there are troops marching quite a bit but we loved that! We intended to only stay 30 days but loved the park, base and location so much we extended. Don't hesitate to stay here, you'll love it! Note: there is construction at the main gate, expected to take about 1 year, kind of a pain but they are very accommodating when you have your rig. It it coming along quite nicely and quicker than we expected.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
2 - 9 August 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed at SEA MIST 2-9 August 14 & had a GREAT time! The Staff was GREAT, check-in was a breeze, site was level with all services working fine! Just a short drive to VA BEACH & NORFOLK - just 10 minute drive over to Oceana with it's huge NEX & commissary. The beach is just a 5 minute walk from the RV sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
65 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4