Sea Mist RV Campground

Hot
 
4.7 (86)
272923 1 22 2 148

User reviews

86 reviews

 
(68)
 
(16)
 
(1)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.8  (86)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.8  (86)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.2  (86)
Value 
 
4.7  (86)
Overall Experience 
 
4.7  (86)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
86 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
6 weeks from Aug to Nov 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Well we weathered two serious Noreasters but, that didn't take a thing away from all of the great things this camp offers. Butch and Gary are the greatest hosts one could ever ask for! I was commuting to Norfolk, VA- a bit of a hike but the location was well worth it. The community was excellent, my wife and I enjoyed many quite walks on the beach. The location was excellent and the hosts were great. The jet noise did tend to get on your nerves but then again, that sound was more than welcome while I was in Iraq. The sound of freedom!!! It is a small inconvenience. The bath house was always clean and the post SP's always present and attentive. I hope to stay there again when the situation comes up!!! One could never imagine that you could stay within 100 yds of the perfect beach with beatuiful waves. Many a night I slept to true ocean sounds that drifted over the sand duns to my trailer. (PRICELESS)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
16-19 August 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We arrived at Sea Mist on Sunday 16 August and checked out on Wednesday 19 August. We picked out a location to set up and then went to the beach for a spectacular walk. For you folks looking for excitement, glamor and the high end night life, this is not for you, but if you want peace and serenity then this place is bar none one of the best kept secrets in Virginia. We wanted to get some local seafood and decided to go to Virginia Beach. We were driving a long wheel base four door ford F-350, which is hard to park. We pulled into a side lot which the attendant wanted $20.00 to park. We stated that we just wanted to eat and were going to eat at any location where we could park. The attendant stated that if we were eating at the Raven then it was free to park. What a wonderful experience we had at the Raven. We had the seafood platter which we shared and the food was soooooo good. I would recommend highly eating at the Raven next time you are in town. Two brothers served in Viet Nam and when they came out of the service they took there money and opened up this little piece of Heaven. Oh, did I mention how cold the beer was and how good it tasted? Thanks Butch and Gary for a wonderful experience. We will be coming back very soon. I want to thank America's finest (the Navy SP's) on the front gate, they were very polite and considerate. I enjoyed speaking with them every day. Thanks guy's for a memorable experience!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 12-16, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is our third stay here and it won't be our last. Hospitality prevails! With a Sunday afternoon arrival, campground host Butch called us to provide our site number and the all-important bathhouse cypher code, in case he wasn't available upon our arrival.
Convenience to the beach is an understatement. Only a berm separates you from the Atlantic Ocean (the swimming beach is less than a mile down the road). RV Park is within the base so the added security is a plus. "Do it yourself" car wash across the street can handle big rigs. If you're looking for true Rest and Relaxation, this is the place to be.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 5 - 11, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The campground was an absolute pleasure to stay at. We had Cabin #3 and we had a great time. The hosts Butch and Gary were always friendly and helpful. The Bath house and the laundry were both very clean. The beach is just steps away and is never crowded.
We loved that the cabin had AC, small fridge, microwave, and coffee pot. My only request for the cabin would be that they Poly the floor! For pete sake! I swept and swept and never felt able to take off my shoes, you had to wipe your feet before you could lay down in bed. (can you tell I am not really one to "rough it"?=) I would also love to be able to at least request a spot or cabin. We camped with my parents who brought their 5th wheel. It made the week slightly less enjoyable being on the other end of the campground from our company. We understand that it was a busy weekend but being able to at least request a spot would have been nice since we had our reservations in well before hand. All together, I gave the CG a perfect 5 stars! Great hospitality, great location, clean and comfortable. Since our stay at Seamist my husband and I are considering buying a travel trailer so we may start camping more often!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
2 - 11 July 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our second stay here and again we had a wonderful time. The beach is beautiful and as mentioned before not crowded. We used the bath house and laundry and they were very clean and neat. We were on site #8 with a level concrete pad, and full hook ups. Butch and Gary were the absolute best hosts. The Exchange and Commissary are a short drive from the base. Will go back again in the near future. 5* Camp Ground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
26-28 Jun 09
(Updated: June 29, 2009)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The weekend was great. You can walk right up to the beach. The beach is great and not crowded. The bath house is clean and well maintained. The host guys were absolutely great. I bought my pop-up camper less than a week prior to going on this trip. Butch came over and helped me set it up and showed me how to work the AC and other stuff. I had absolutely no problem with the electrical. The only negative is that it is not completely secluded from the base, but we were not bothered one time by any base activities. In fact, it was kind of nice to have revelry (Navy does it @ 0800, not 0600). I would suggest this spot to any one interested in going.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 10, 2009
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
L.H. left this review using the Directory software: The electrical system was a major problem for me. My coach progressive industries electrical management system detected an "open ground" problem with the 30 amp electrical hookup at my site. The famcamp manager told me the previous camper on the site was there 30 days with no problems with his electrical hookup. The host finally admitted that they did have electrical problems at some sites and that the whole park electrical is old and needs upgrading. The open ground could be a dangerous situation for Sea Mist campers and they (the campers) do not know it. This park should be shut down until they get the electrical problems fixed. I used my generator that night and left the next morning for a sister famcamp at Oceana Pines where the electrical system is great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Mar. 24 - 26, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Sea Mist is definitely the hidden jewel in military campgrounds as someone before me already mentioned. Gary and Butch make this the best overall camp ground we have stayed at in many years. It was like old home week with these guys around. The setting is fantastic, the beach is right there. The cement pads and the large sights are great. My wife has decided we will be going here more often in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
3 - 4 Oct 2008
(Updated: October 07, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This CG is truly a Hidden Jewel. When we arrived the office was closed, so we picked our site and left a message for the CG Host. On Saturday we went to the office and met Gary, an incredible Host, who welcomed us and told us about the CG. The level concrete pads are a definite plus. We had an absolute prefect weekend here. The beach is so beautiful and made it difficult to leave. We will definitely come here again for a longer stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
29 Aug - 2 Sept 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This Military campground is excellent, it is truly a hidden jewel,(Butch) one of the Hosts there met us as we came in and directed us to our site and asked if we needed any assistance with backing in. The Campground has added a Saturday Cookout to the festivities for all the RVers there which gives you the meet and greet feel and to meet other RVers (Good Idea). The pathway to the beach is boarded and off the ground (excellent). My wife enjoyed everyday there and is looking forward to coming there soon. (Keep up the great work guys we had a Ball).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
9-12 Jul 08
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice concrete pads, clean shower rooms and excellent camp hosts! Ocean is right there and there is a nice outdoor shower to wash the sand off before going back to your RV. Just wish it was a bit cheaper so I could stay more often and longer :)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
12 June 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This campground on the Dam Neck Annex is a great beach hideaway. Just steps from the Atlatic Ocean, it's a great location. The grounds and the bathhouse were very neat and clean. Although the base only has a small mini-mart and gas station, all other necessary things are right down the street at local grocery stores, or, just a bit further down the street to the main base, NAS Oceana. The road is a bit tight coming and going, and all sites are back in, but there is plenty of room to maneuver into your site. The road through the campground is ONE WAY ONLY. I would recommend calling ahead to get an available site number, and watch for it so you can park as you enter. Otherwise, if you are assigned Site #2, and you have pulled all the way to the other end of the campground, you'll need to exit, go back up the street 200+ yards, then enter again to get into that site. The sites themselves are really wonderful ... nice wide, level concrete pads. There wasn't a playground for kids, and the road is not paved, so bring something other than scooters for the kids to play with. The drone firing range is right next door, so that is also something interesting for the kids to watch and learn about. We heard and saw two drones fire off. Butch, one of the hosts, was kind enough to take time and watch the drone and tell us about the training mission there. Another great beach vacation spot! I hope my travels bring me here again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Apr 26 - May 9, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We have camped here before and we love it. It's close to the beach and it is beautiful. The grounds are very well kept and really nice. The hosts were very helpful and very courteous.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 21-27, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Spent five days at Sea Mist while on a visit to Va Beach to visit kids and grand kids and were totaly impressed. Butch and his partner where great and so helpfull. Sorry I was not able to attend the camp cookout they hold every Saturday night, but will make time next time I visit. My wife and dog loved the ease at which you can access the beach and made for great walks on a clean prestine and best of all unspoiled shore line. Keep up the good work, we intend to return at our first chance. Msgt. A Degrenia USAF RET.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sept. 25-30, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.A. left this reciew using the Directory software: Excellent concrete pads and patio's. Very well kept grounds, lots of room between rigs. Hosts we every helpful. Small Exchange and class 6 on base. Also laundrymat next to BX. Large BX and Commassary not far outside Oceana Naval Air Station close by. You can also get vehicle stickers out side gate at Oceana NAS.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June/July and Sept 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is an excellent location to visit the Tidewater area. It is one of 3 military campgrounds in the area (Oceana and Little Creek are the others). It is just a short walk on a boardwalk over the sand dunes to a beach where you can fish, sunbathe and wade. There is NO SWIMMING allowed at this beach. The camp staff is excellent and very helpful. There is a weekly cookout for the guests held on Saturday night. There are cabins, tent sites and level paved RV sites with picnic tables and grills. The gravel road throughout the campground is level and well maintained. We were able to get decent tv reception, good access for our satellite dish and cellphone dial-up computer reception. There is an active duty person here willing to share his WiFi reception. This is a VERY ACTIVE training base during the week. You may hear lots of early morning PT activity and marching depending on your location and level of sleeping :-) You are just down the road from the Oceana Master Jet Fighter Base so the sounds of freedom from the planes in the sky does exist throughout the day and into the night in the area. That is the tradeoff for a great location and good price! At this time you can stay for 60 days at a time then depart for at least two weeks. There is no homesteading at this location as stated in another review. There are two sites here that are dedicated long term to active duty personnel. Reservations are suggested! The office is not closed on Wednesday and Thursday. We have met many wonderful people while staying here and look forward to many trips in the future!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
August 23,2007
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We couldn't stay here as this was the only military campground that had a breed restriction on dogs. Usually it is an insurance thing so I don't know why just one campground out of we checked on in VA had this restriction.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 3
8 JUL 07 - 10 JUL 07
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We are pop up campers and have no bathroom or shower facilities on board. Thus we required facilities while at this campground. The bathroom and shower facilities were very clean and situated in the middle of the campground for easy access. There are also laundry facilities next to the bathrooms. The hosts were very friendly and very helpful. The beach is just a short walk from the campsites. Very nice place. We will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
6/18/07 thru 6/21/07
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
First time we stayed there. Nice place and the staff was helpful. The hookups are within an easy reach.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
April 07
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our second visit. Really enjoyed our stay here. Had a great site, easy access and all the hookups were within easy reach. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The bath house and laundry always clean. We really love the beach here, great for long walks and shell searching. John found 6 sand dollars. Our Diablo enjoyed the beach too. This area has much to offer and see. Oceana NAS great shopping and although you have to drive off base, it is close by. Loved the marching troops and the screaming jets each day. We will return here again.
JB
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
86 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5