Sea Mist RV Campground

Hot
 
4.7 (89)
285077 1 22 2 181

User reviews

70 reviews with 5 stars
89 reviews
 
80%
 
18%
 
1%
 
1%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.8(89)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.8(89)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.2(89)
Value
 
4.7(89)
Overall Experience
 
4.7(89)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
70 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4
Ordering
1-3 Aug 2012
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - A beautiful spot! The clubhouse is first rate, did not use laundry or bathrooms. It's so nice to have large level concrete pads, really spoils us for more traditional campgrounds. We could only get 3 days during the week and after visiting some other camps in the area I can see why this one is so popular. It's close to everything, quiet and clean. We're not "tree people" so enjoy the open feeling.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 10- Nov 29, 2011
(Updated: November 18, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is great campground and wonderful place. You will love it here. New facilities and site pads are nice. Could have used a little more parking but a great location and a place we have been coming back to again and again. Great place to run, bike and walk on the beach. NEX nearby along with laundromat (in addition to new machines and dries in new clubhouse at the campground). Monthly rate of $450 hard to beat anywhere. A good choice despite a fairly narrow (for a new campground) road down the middle of the campground, no trees and 300 yds to the beach.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 23 to Oct31 2011
(Updated: November 04, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Beautiful setting for those that do not need trees around them. All sites are on a double concrete slab and the camp is very clean. Ray went out of his way to make sure that I would not have to move from my site throughout the entire stay. Sites are not reserved, as long as you have a reservation you can pull in to any available site. Ocean is right over the dunes and you can go to sleep at nite listening to the waves. It is a very quiet area considering is right off a busy street. Great satellite and Verizon reception. Will definitely be going back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Aug 5-7, 2011
(Updated: August 07, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The campground is super clean and nice. You have a 20X40 concrete slab to park on. Camp hosts were extremely helpful and polite. The beach access is just north of the campsite #1. There is no WiFi or cable-but satellite and local channels work great. With the beach and local things to see and do in VA Beach, we didn't miss WiFi @ all. The boxes are placed a little close to the pads so do park where they won't hit your storage doors. We stayed here in a class A motor home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 2011
(Updated: July 16, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The new Sea Mist is outstanding! The old site is next door to the new FamCamp and is in the process of being renovated -- currently in a Hold status as the contractor left the project. I've included pictures of the new FamCamp, 28 sites/no cabins. The negatives -- always appears to be something someone can complain about? There are no picnic tables, grills, or fire pits. The latter I can do without, but I consider a table a necessity for an RV park. The current military MWR manager does not agree and has stated that RV'ers can carry their food to the pavilion and use those tables. The 'old' Sea Mist had a boardwalk to the beach -- environmental folks are concerned that we will damage the sand dunes if a walkway is provided. My last negative on this otherwise Outstanding FamCamp. The utility boxes were placed too close to the pad and can interfere with the opening of the compartment doors.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 2011
(Updated: June 24, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
New "Sea Mist" is open! Called on 24 Jun 11 and made reservations -- could only get 5-days as the demand has been very high.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
February 18 2011
(Updated: February 21, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stopped by on a visit to VA Beach to see Grand Babies. The New Section of this place looks Awesome. Nice level pads and new club house. The old section is getting updated also. Looks like more cabin rentals and utility upgrades. Can't wait to go camping in the new section.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
September 15, 2010
(Updated: September 15, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Late Summer 2010 Update. Current Campground is unchanged from years past. Still a great location and value. Expansion is coming along, although behind schedule. 40 new sites (expanding park from 25 to 65 sites) really look good; concrete pads, full hookups w/50A. After new section is complete (including new office and "facilities"), the old section will be refurbished with 50 Amp Electric and a bath house makeover. Newer section won't have much shade for a while. Based on where they are with expansion compared to where they wanted to be, my GUESS is the total new campground will be ready late 2010/early 2011. Again, it's my guess, not the official position.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
19 - 22 Aug 2010
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My family and I really enjoyed our stay here. This was our first camping trip since being stationed in VA and it was very nice. Close enough to Virginia Beach Boardwalk, yet far enough away. We had great neighbors, Bob and Suzy, that were great with my two kids. It would be nice if the facility had more than 2 shower stalls and fire pits, but other then that, it is a great campground and I would recommend it to anyone that is looking for a nice get away to Virginia Beach.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
19 June 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Really nice campground right next to beach. Sites are concrete, large and shaded. Boardwalk over to the beach from camp, picnic shelter available. Sites are all back in and it appears that they are expanding with another (looks like) about 24 more sites. Easy to get to campground from gate, just go in and take the second right. Definitely worth the price.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
6 weeks from Aug to Nov 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Well we weathered two serious Noreasters but, that didn't take a thing away from all of the great things this camp offers. Butch and Gary are the greatest hosts one could ever ask for! I was commuting to Norfolk, VA- a bit of a hike but the location was well worth it. The community was excellent, my wife and I enjoyed many quite walks on the beach. The location was excellent and the hosts were great. The jet noise did tend to get on your nerves but then again, that sound was more than welcome while I was in Iraq. The sound of freedom!!! It is a small inconvenience. The bath house was always clean and the post SP's always present and attentive. I hope to stay there again when the situation comes up!!! One could never imagine that you could stay within 100 yds of the perfect beach with beatuiful waves. Many a night I slept to true ocean sounds that drifted over the sand duns to my trailer. (PRICELESS)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
16-19 August 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived at Sea Mist on Sunday 16 August and checked out on Wednesday 19 August. We picked out a location to set up and then went to the beach for a spectacular walk. For you folks looking for excitement, glamor and the high end night life, this is not for you, but if you want peace and serenity then this place is bar none one of the best kept secrets in Virginia. We wanted to get some local seafood and decided to go to Virginia Beach. We were driving a long wheel base four door ford F-350, which is hard to park. We pulled into a side lot which the attendant wanted $20.00 to park. We stated that we just wanted to eat and were going to eat at any location where we could park. The attendant stated that if we were eating at the Raven then it was free to park. What a wonderful experience we had at the Raven. We had the seafood platter which we shared and the food was soooooo good. I would recommend highly eating at the Raven next time you are in town. Two brothers served in Viet Nam and when they came out of the service they took there money and opened up this little piece of Heaven. Oh, did I mention how cold the beer was and how good it tasted? Thanks Butch and Gary for a wonderful experience. We will be coming back very soon. I want to thank America's finest (the Navy SP's) on the front gate, they were very polite and considerate. I enjoyed speaking with them every day. Thanks guy's for a memorable experience!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 12-16, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our third stay here and it won't be our last. Hospitality prevails! With a Sunday afternoon arrival, campground host Butch called us to provide our site number and the all-important bathhouse cypher code, in case he wasn't available upon our arrival.
Convenience to the beach is an understatement. Only a berm separates you from the Atlantic Ocean (the swimming beach is less than a mile down the road). RV Park is within the base so the added security is a plus. "Do it yourself" car wash across the street can handle big rigs. If you're looking for true Rest and Relaxation, this is the place to be.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 5 - 11, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The campground was an absolute pleasure to stay at. We had Cabin #3 and we had a great time. The hosts Butch and Gary were always friendly and helpful. The Bath house and the laundry were both very clean. The beach is just steps away and is never crowded.
We loved that the cabin had AC, small fridge, microwave, and coffee pot. My only request for the cabin would be that they Poly the floor! For pete sake! I swept and swept and never felt able to take off my shoes, you had to wipe your feet before you could lay down in bed. (can you tell I am not really one to "rough it"?=) I would also love to be able to at least request a spot or cabin. We camped with my parents who brought their 5th wheel. It made the week slightly less enjoyable being on the other end of the campground from our company. We understand that it was a busy weekend but being able to at least request a spot would have been nice since we had our reservations in well before hand. All together, I gave the CG a perfect 5 stars! Great hospitality, great location, clean and comfortable. Since our stay at Seamist my husband and I are considering buying a travel trailer so we may start camping more often!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
2 - 11 July 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our second stay here and again we had a wonderful time. The beach is beautiful and as mentioned before not crowded. We used the bath house and laundry and they were very clean and neat. We were on site #8 with a level concrete pad, and full hook ups. Butch and Gary were the absolute best hosts. The Exchange and Commissary are a short drive from the base. Will go back again in the near future. 5* Camp Ground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
26-28 Jun 09
(Updated: June 29, 2009)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The weekend was great. You can walk right up to the beach. The beach is great and not crowded. The bath house is clean and well maintained. The host guys were absolutely great. I bought my pop-up camper less than a week prior to going on this trip. Butch came over and helped me set it up and showed me how to work the AC and other stuff. I had absolutely no problem with the electrical. The only negative is that it is not completely secluded from the base, but we were not bothered one time by any base activities. In fact, it was kind of nice to have revelry (Navy does it @ 0800, not 0600). I would suggest this spot to any one interested in going.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Mar. 24 - 26, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Sea Mist is definitely the hidden jewel in military campgrounds as someone before me already mentioned. Gary and Butch make this the best overall camp ground we have stayed at in many years. It was like old home week with these guys around. The setting is fantastic, the beach is right there. The cement pads and the large sights are great. My wife has decided we will be going here more often in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
3 - 4 Oct 2008
(Updated: October 07, 2008)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This CG is truly a Hidden Jewel. When we arrived the office was closed, so we picked our site and left a message for the CG Host. On Saturday we went to the office and met Gary, an incredible Host, who welcomed us and told us about the CG. The level concrete pads are a definite plus. We had an absolute prefect weekend here. The beach is so beautiful and made it difficult to leave. We will definitely come here again for a longer stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
29 Aug - 2 Sept 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This Military campground is excellent, it is truly a hidden jewel,(Butch) one of the Hosts there met us as we came in and directed us to our site and asked if we needed any assistance with backing in. The Campground has added a Saturday Cookout to the festivities for all the RVers there which gives you the meet and greet feel and to meet other RVers (Good Idea). The pathway to the beach is boarded and off the ground (excellent). My wife enjoyed everyday there and is looking forward to coming there soon. (Keep up the great work guys we had a Ball).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
9-12 Jul 08
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice concrete pads, clean shower rooms and excellent camp hosts! Ocean is right there and there is a nice outdoor shower to wash the sand off before going back to your RV. Just wish it was a bit cheaper so I could stay more often and longer :)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
70 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4