Sea Mist RV Campground

Hot
 
4.7 (86)
272923 1 22 2 148

User reviews

86 reviews

 
(68)
 
(16)
 
(1)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.8  (86)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.8  (86)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.2  (86)
Value 
 
4.7  (86)
Overall Experience 
 
4.7  (86)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
86 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
June 13 - July 5, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed three weeks in the new section of the Sea Mist RV Park. No shade trees to speak of, but more cooling breezes here than the older section gets. Rated amenities/facilities as 3 star only because we did not use them (they did look clean and well-maintained). The walk to the beach can be a bit of a hike, but wasn't a big issue. We really enjoyed our stay and will stay here again when we find ourselves back in the area.
Beach on the other side of the dunes.
New section of the campground.
Sites 26 and 28.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 4th, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We had to register just to give a review of this campground! We are active duty family campers (two kids - ages 7 and 4) and we really pleased with this campground. We only live about 45 minutes away and thought it would be great for the 4th weekend. There is a easy walk short walk to the beach and when VA Beach was completely overcrowded and no parking, we had our own little oasis! There were not too many people, for a beach, and we were actually able to see the nearby fireworks from the beach by the campground!! It was great to have no beach traffic!! We were in the newer section "Northend", (Northend and Southend are right by each other) and this section does not have any trees, the "Southend" did. We were right by the brand new bath house which was super clean. In the women's there were only 3 shower stalls, one was wheel chair accessible and was missing its shower curtain, which would have been very frustrating if I would have needed to use that one. Also, I don't know about the Southend, but our section did not have any grills at the campsite (we have our own, but they do have a common picnic area with grills) and there are no fire rings. Sites are a little close together, but we thought it was great, we loved being so close to the beach and it fit our needs perfectly. We didn't have cable, but we could pick up the major channels by antenna. I don't consider us people who need to be on a computer all the time, but the major negative was no WiFi. If you are going to be there long term, that could be an issue. Overall, we highly recommend this campground if you are looking to just relax and head to the beach. Close to the Oceana Commissary and Exchange, Mini Mart right nearby. Will be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
27 Sep-18 Oct 2012
(Updated: October 19, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Positives: Great level sites, walking distance to the beach, clean, great people. Negatives: No Wifi or Cable. No Garbage dumpster on south side. Overall great campground for the $$
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 12-13, 2012
(Updated: October 14, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We 'escaped' for the weekend and tried out Dam Neck. I had heard good things from a couple of friends so we tried it out. What a great find! Close to the beach, quiet and everybody was very friendly. One warning...the barriers at the gate are VERY tight, DON'T try going through without first talking to the security folks. They were very helpful and very patient with us, moving certain barriers to allow for our rig to squeeze through. This extra attention is required when leaving with your rig too. Not much is open on the weekends at the annex, mini-mart, exchange, etc. NAS Oceana is down the road about 10 minutes and has everything you may need there. The beach is fantastic, dogs and fishing are allowed. Like the previous post said, both sections are open, the new one has no trees and old one has a bunch. The old section bathhouse is new and spotless. The road through the old section is paved as are all the spots. There are a few 'double' spots where you can park two RVs side by side if so desired. The new section has two pull-through sites. Overall a nice park, we'll be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 14-17, 2012
(Updated: September 25, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great campground...you can choose the old one with trees or the new one with no trees. We were on the new one although when we showed up "Mr. Clean" took us for a ride and showed us the entire facility. The only downside is the walk or ride to the beach if you don't have a site close to the two access points. Wonderful to hear the roar of the ocean from you bed. PS the bathrooms were the best I've seen....in a long time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Aug 15 - Sep 15, 2012
(Updated: August 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A new section was completed several years ago with paved roads, level concrete pads, and 50 amp service. The old section was closed and upgraded to the same standards and is scheduled to reopen by October, 2012. Both sections will have a new, modern bathhouse and laundry with a new office and lounge area in the new section. When the upgrades are complete, I believe that Sea Mist will be in the running for the Campers Choice Awards for the Eastern USA. I have been to 2 of the top 5 winners and Sea Mist compares favorably to both of them and if a prime oceanfront location (200 yard walk over the dunes to the water) is important to you, it could be number one. This is not a snowbird destination because it can get pretty cold during the winter but it is a prime location during the summer with a lot of things going on in Virginia Beach. The jet noise is not nearly as bad here as it is at Ocean Pines. No Wi-Fi or CATV but the Verizon air card signal is strong. The new section has no trees to block satellite TV signals. The monthly rate was recently raised to $510.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
1-3 Aug 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - A beautiful spot! The clubhouse is first rate, did not use laundry or bathrooms. It's so nice to have large level concrete pads, really spoils us for more traditional campgrounds. We could only get 3 days during the week and after visiting some other camps in the area I can see why this one is so popular. It's close to everything, quiet and clean. We're not "tree people" so enjoy the open feeling.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 1, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
J.B. left this review using the Directory software: I agree with most of the negatives here, but having been stationed at Dam Neck from 2009-early '12, I must comment there is a walk-over to the beach just north of the new campground area, so the prior comments about "environmental" concerns keeping a walkway from being built is not accurate. Additionally, since construction is on hold, merely walking through the old area to use the old beach crossover is probably OK. My two cents...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Oct 10- Nov 29, 2011
(Updated: November 18, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is great campground and wonderful place. You will love it here. New facilities and site pads are nice. Could have used a little more parking but a great location and a place we have been coming back to again and again. Great place to run, bike and walk on the beach. NEX nearby along with laundromat (in addition to new machines and dries in new clubhouse at the campground). Monthly rate of $450 hard to beat anywhere. A good choice despite a fairly narrow (for a new campground) road down the middle of the campground, no trees and 300 yds to the beach.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 23 to Oct31 2011
(Updated: November 04, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Beautiful setting for those that do not need trees around them. All sites are on a double concrete slab and the camp is very clean. Ray went out of his way to make sure that I would not have to move from my site throughout the entire stay. Sites are not reserved, as long as you have a reservation you can pull in to any available site. Ocean is right over the dunes and you can go to sleep at nite listening to the waves. It is a very quiet area considering is right off a busy street. Great satellite and Verizon reception. Will definitely be going back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
September 30 - October 4, 2011
(Updated: October 03, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
New facility: 28 sites; There now are picnic tables!! "Off season" rates: $22/night. Easy in and out despite having to back in. Utility boxes are not a problem as long as you position your rig carefully. "Old timers" don't like the new facility because of lack of trees, privacy and direct beach access...give it time!! The new office/restrooms/showers and covered picnic/gathering area are a VAST improvement. Only problem is the hot water is from a tankless "demand" system and the new low flow shower heads don't allow enough flow to keep the shower water hot. So the solution is to run hot water from sink while showering. I sure hope the green people like it - HA! Old facility (update): Contractor went bankrupt so modernization is on hold for now. Some trees have been removed as the number of sites is being expanded from 24 to 37. That will give Sea Mist a total of 65 when complete. The old bathhouse is history. New facilities, 50 Amp Power and paving throughout are still the plan. Bottom Line: At $22/night (~$30/night) this close to Virginia Beach, it's a steal!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Aug 5-7, 2011
(Updated: August 07, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The campground is super clean and nice. You have a 20X40 concrete slab to park on. Camp hosts were extremely helpful and polite. The beach access is just north of the campsite #1. There is no WiFi or cable-but satellite and local channels work great. With the beach and local things to see and do in VA Beach, we didn't miss WiFi @ all. The boxes are placed a little close to the pads so do park where they won't hit your storage doors. We stayed here in a class A motor home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
16 July - 23 July 2011
(Updated: July 28, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The new campground is open and the old one will be closed for a long time due to legal problems with the upgrade. Disappointing that the new campsites have NO tables, grills, or fire rings and no shade. They do not have an office and must rely on Jackie at Ocean Pines (Oceana NAS) to schedule people in and out (supposed to change in August with new computer system). No access to beach from campground. Rick, camp host, and Butch, maintenance, are doing a very good job with limited resources. No WiFi or cable. Beautiful community center with excellent shower facilities. There are too many NO's to make this a good campground at this time. I hope the future brings a lot of changes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 2011
(Updated: July 16, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The new Sea Mist is outstanding! The old site is next door to the new FamCamp and is in the process of being renovated -- currently in a Hold status as the contractor left the project. I've included pictures of the new FamCamp, 28 sites/no cabins. The negatives -- always appears to be something someone can complain about? There are no picnic tables, grills, or fire pits. The latter I can do without, but I consider a table a necessity for an RV park. The current military MWR manager does not agree and has stated that RV'ers can carry their food to the pavilion and use those tables. The 'old' Sea Mist had a boardwalk to the beach -- environmental folks are concerned that we will damage the sand dunes if a walkway is provided. My last negative on this otherwise Outstanding FamCamp. The utility boxes were placed too close to the pad and can interfere with the opening of the compartment doors.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 2011
(Updated: June 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
New "Sea Mist" is open! Called on 24 Jun 11 and made reservations -- could only get 5-days as the demand has been very high.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
February 18 2011
(Updated: February 21, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stopped by on a visit to VA Beach to see Grand Babies. The New Section of this place looks Awesome. Nice level pads and new club house. The old section is getting updated also. Looks like more cabin rentals and utility upgrades. Can't wait to go camping in the new section.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sept. 17, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
J.D. left this review using the Directory software: We made a visit by car while in the Virginia Beach area and the campground is situated near the beach and it looks well kept and inviting. However the main gate has a zig zag approach via jersey walls that looks problematic for large RVs. A friend with a 40ft class A damaged his RV attempting to negotiate the zig zag.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
September 15, 2010
(Updated: September 15, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Late Summer 2010 Update. Current Campground is unchanged from years past. Still a great location and value. Expansion is coming along, although behind schedule. 40 new sites (expanding park from 25 to 65 sites) really look good; concrete pads, full hookups w/50A. After new section is complete (including new office and "facilities"), the old section will be refurbished with 50 Amp Electric and a bath house makeover. Newer section won't have much shade for a while. Based on where they are with expansion compared to where they wanted to be, my GUESS is the total new campground will be ready late 2010/early 2011. Again, it's my guess, not the official position.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
19 - 22 Aug 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My family and I really enjoyed our stay here. This was our first camping trip since being stationed in VA and it was very nice. Close enough to Virginia Beach Boardwalk, yet far enough away. We had great neighbors, Bob and Suzy, that were great with my two kids. It would be nice if the facility had more than 2 shower stalls and fire pits, but other then that, it is a great campground and I would recommend it to anyone that is looking for a nice get away to Virginia Beach.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
19 June 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Really nice campground right next to beach. Sites are concrete, large and shaded. Boardwalk over to the beach from camp, picnic shelter available. Sites are all back in and it appears that they are expanding with another (looks like) about 24 more sites. Easy to get to campground from gate, just go in and take the second right. Definitely worth the price.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
86 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5