Sea Mist RV Campground

Hot
 
4.7 (89)
285077 1 22 2 181

User reviews

70 reviews with 5 stars
89 reviews
 
80%
 
18%
 
1%
 
1%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.8(89)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.8(89)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.2(89)
Value
 
4.7(89)
Overall Experience
 
4.7(89)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
70 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4
Ordering
April 13-15, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First time out. First time at Mil camp. I am a local I guess, live about an hour away from Sea Mist. Checkin with Bill was fast and easy, he is a great host, in fact all the staff, I met there, we're friendly and helpful. We were put in the older section with lots of trees and shade, site easy to back into every thing clean and bright. If you are traveling thru the Tidewater are and need a place to stop for the night or the week this is it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
18-21 Aug 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Hookups 20/30/50 amp, water,sewer, picnic table. Had site 36 which was a long back in concrete pad. There are two sections of sites, sites in new area by office have zero shade. There are at least four double sites. No cable or WIFI available, we were told there was WIFI by the gym and bowling alley but we were unable to hook up. Had 9 channels on TV ant. and our Sprint cell service was OK. Needed code to get into bath houses, the one by office was new and much nicer than the older section. Exchange, subway, bowling alley and beach all in walking distance. Laundry in each bath area $1.00 per load. Virginia beach and boardwalk just 10 miles away. Nice park with lots to do in the area, I would recommend a stop here if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
JUNE 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
FIRST TIME CAMPING IN TRAVEL TRAILER. WHAT A GREAT EXPERANCE AND PLACE TO STAY. LOVED IT SO MUCH THAT I GOT MY VERY OWN TRAVEL TRAILER THIS PAST YEAR. AND I ALREADY HAVE SITE RESERVED FOR THIS UPCOMING JUNE INTO JULY 2015, WHAT A GREAT STAFF:-) CANT WAIT TO THE TIME COMES TO GO BACK DOWN. IF YOU HAVENT BEEN THERE YOU REALLY NEED TO CHECK IT OUT. HOPE TO SEE YOU THERE.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Oct 2014 to Feb 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Terrific campground, just a sand dune from the beach. Staff is terrific, very friendly and helpful. They keep the place up very well. Most actually RV there too. Bath houses are clean and quite functional. Laundromat is nice, has 2 washers and 4 dryers, 1.00 each per load. There are two areas, one is more wide open, the other has a lot of trees. Internet is very good. It is a training base and the RV park is located next to one of the main instructional buildings so there are troops marching quite a bit but we loved that! We intended to only stay 30 days but loved the park, base and location so much we extended. Don't hesitate to stay here, you'll love it! Note: there is construction at the main gate, expected to take about 1 year, kind of a pain but they are very accommodating when you have your rig. It it coming along quite nicely and quicker than we expected.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
2 - 9 August 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at SEA MIST 2-9 August 14 & had a GREAT time! The Staff was GREAT, check-in was a breeze, site was level with all services working fine! Just a short drive to VA BEACH & NORFOLK - just 10 minute drive over to Oceana with it's huge NEX & commissary. The beach is just a 5 minute walk from the RV sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
1 July -1 August 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Sixth visit to Sea Mist. As always an enjoyable stay. Enjoyed Hurricane Arthur over the 4th of July. Currently installing WiFi cables. Manager indicated he expects service to be available shortly. ADVISORY: Starting 1 Aug 14 the Navy is upgrading the main gate entrance to Dam Neck. Expect construction delays and possible gate changes over the following 12 months.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
13-19 June 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A great place to take the family to the beach. We stayed for a week. Great full hook up sites that are level and clean. The old section has more shade, the new section is in the open. Sites are still first-come, as they don't assign a specific site during your reservation. Of note, the main gate has concrete barriers in the entryway if you plan to arrive after 1630 or on the weekends. Call ahead to ensure the barriers can/will be moved, especially if you have a large trailer or RV. We have stayed here twice now and will come back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
April 29- May 11, 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This park was recommended to us by several other campers we have met in our travels and they were correct in all they told us. This is a lovely park right on the ocean. We stayed in the treed area right next to the walkway to the beach. An ideal spot if you like walking on the beach everyday as we did. Large, paved sites with picnic table. Laundry facilities excellent. Close to shopping of all kinds, sightseeing opportunities and more. Enjoyed watching the young troops marching and calling cadence. Reminds us what this is all about. Friendly and very helpful staff. NCO Club (located very close to the park) has a noon buffet Monday thru Friday. A very good deal and very good food. We would definitely return here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Oct 18-20, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed in our 30 foot motorhome in the "old" campground. However, the old campground has been remodeled and has concrete pads, new power, lots of space between sites and nice trees. We choose site 60, right next to the boardwalk to a wonderful white sand beach. The laundry facilities were great, we got several TV channels with our antenna. Close to shopping if needed. WiFi is available at the small NEX 1/2 mile from campground. Bill, the manager, was very friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
09-12 November 2012
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The only criticism I can come up with was the lack of cable TV (oh darn), but the over air reception of about 20 local channels was good. Tough to get reservations in the dead of summer, but easy in the so-called Virginia Beach "shoulder" seasons (late September through mid November and mid March through May). The main thing I love about this campground is that it is REALLY quiet (all you can hear is the surf pounding and I was awakened Monday morning by a company of Marines running and calling cadence...brought back memories and was fun to watch). Plus the accessibility of big box stores and a TON of restaurants (some are quite good) only about 5 minutes away on General Boothe Boulevard made this a really sweet place. Yes, the beach is a hike (or a short drive - always plenty of parking) but the beach itself is superb...no fighting for square footage as is the case on the main Virginia Beach oceanfront. We've been there a few times (we don't live but an hour and a half away) with the same experience. Every site we've been on is about as level as you can get. Most on-base amenities are available or are a very short drive to the Master Jet Base at Oceana (commissary, large exchange, two excellent golf courses, even a skeet/trap shooting center). Staff is very friendly and helpful with directions and advice, etc. Highly recommended.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
September 2013
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed in a 40 foot motor coach in September and the place was very nice. Lots are paved and very large (only problem was only a few pull thrus and the one that they did have, had a pull behind trailer sitting in it) but we had to drop the car we were pulling. We were in the new section and Yes, it is quite a hike to the beach, but it was nice being able to hear the ocean over the dune behind our RV. The staff was extremely friendly and the entire base very neat and easy to get around. No cable, but got local channels on our antenna. We would definitely go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July, Aug, Sep 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I have stayed at Sea Mist for the past 3 summers for extended periods of time. It is an exceptional place. The additional new sites are well done but if you prefer mature trees go to the adjacent older site. All facilities - pads, W, S, E, bath houses - have been upgraded. The site is very well maintained and the hosts are always helpful. Within several miles is a major PX/BX, Commissary, and MWR office. The beach is a bit of a walk but you can still hear the surf at night. The swimming beach is about a half mile away and has lifeguards through Labor Day. Virginia Beach is close by so you can experience all the things a seaside summer tourist area has to offer. The only drawback we experienced is that if you have non-military visitors you must go to the Pass/ID office on Oceana NAS and all adults are submitted for a National Agency Check. This can be easy or hard (computers down, heavy workload, etc.) It's hit or miss and they are closed on Saturday. Also, be prepared to be woke up at 0700 to the troops shouting out cadence marching to class past the park. This is an advanced training base and the Marine and Navy troops are very respectful - and young!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
30 Aug - 2 Sep 2013
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A great little campground that is on the beach. There are two sections and the older section is more shaded and has a closer beach access. There is no wifi nor cable, but the power, water, and sewer hookups all work without a hitch. The gate does have a serpentine that you need to navigate. If you call ahead to the NAS Oceana security office, they can have the barricades moved for you. We would definitely come back and camp here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
2-4 Aug 2013
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed at Dam Neck in Virginia Beach (2-4 Aug 2013) and loved the campground. The staff was very helpful and courteous. This place blew our minds since we love the beach and fishing. The facilities were very clean and new. Definitely will stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 13 - July 5, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed three weeks in the new section of the Sea Mist RV Park. No shade trees to speak of, but more cooling breezes here than the older section gets. Rated amenities/facilities as 3 star only because we did not use them (they did look clean and well-maintained). The walk to the beach can be a bit of a hike, but wasn't a big issue. We really enjoyed our stay and will stay here again when we find ourselves back in the area.
New section of the campground.
Sites 26 and 28.
Beach on the other side of the dunes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 4th, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We had to register just to give a review of this campground! We are active duty family campers (two kids - ages 7 and 4) and we really pleased with this campground. We only live about 45 minutes away and thought it would be great for the 4th weekend. There is a easy walk short walk to the beach and when VA Beach was completely overcrowded and no parking, we had our own little oasis! There were not too many people, for a beach, and we were actually able to see the nearby fireworks from the beach by the campground!! It was great to have no beach traffic!! We were in the newer section "Northend", (Northend and Southend are right by each other) and this section does not have any trees, the "Southend" did. We were right by the brand new bath house which was super clean. In the women's there were only 3 shower stalls, one was wheel chair accessible and was missing its shower curtain, which would have been very frustrating if I would have needed to use that one. Also, I don't know about the Southend, but our section did not have any grills at the campsite (we have our own, but they do have a common picnic area with grills) and there are no fire rings. Sites are a little close together, but we thought it was great, we loved being so close to the beach and it fit our needs perfectly. We didn't have cable, but we could pick up the major channels by antenna. I don't consider us people who need to be on a computer all the time, but the major negative was no WiFi. If you are going to be there long term, that could be an issue. Overall, we highly recommend this campground if you are looking to just relax and head to the beach. Close to the Oceana Commissary and Exchange, Mini Mart right nearby. Will be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
27 Sep-18 Oct 2012
(Updated: October 19, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Positives: Great level sites, walking distance to the beach, clean, great people. Negatives: No Wifi or Cable. No Garbage dumpster on south side. Overall great campground for the $$
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 12-13, 2012
(Updated: October 14, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We 'escaped' for the weekend and tried out Dam Neck. I had heard good things from a couple of friends so we tried it out. What a great find! Close to the beach, quiet and everybody was very friendly. One warning...the barriers at the gate are VERY tight, DON'T try going through without first talking to the security folks. They were very helpful and very patient with us, moving certain barriers to allow for our rig to squeeze through. This extra attention is required when leaving with your rig too. Not much is open on the weekends at the annex, mini-mart, exchange, etc. NAS Oceana is down the road about 10 minutes and has everything you may need there. The beach is fantastic, dogs and fishing are allowed. Like the previous post said, both sections are open, the new one has no trees and old one has a bunch. The old section bathhouse is new and spotless. The road through the old section is paved as are all the spots. There are a few 'double' spots where you can park two RVs side by side if so desired. The new section has two pull-through sites. Overall a nice park, we'll be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 14-17, 2012
(Updated: September 25, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great campground...you can choose the old one with trees or the new one with no trees. We were on the new one although when we showed up "Mr. Clean" took us for a ride and showed us the entire facility. The only downside is the walk or ride to the beach if you don't have a site close to the two access points. Wonderful to hear the roar of the ocean from you bed. PS the bathrooms were the best I've seen....in a long time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Aug 15 - Sep 15, 2012
(Updated: August 17, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A new section was completed several years ago with paved roads, level concrete pads, and 50 amp service. The old section was closed and upgraded to the same standards and is scheduled to reopen by October, 2012. Both sections will have a new, modern bathhouse and laundry with a new office and lounge area in the new section. When the upgrades are complete, I believe that Sea Mist will be in the running for the Campers Choice Awards for the Eastern USA. I have been to 2 of the top 5 winners and Sea Mist compares favorably to both of them and if a prime oceanfront location (200 yard walk over the dunes to the water) is important to you, it could be number one. This is not a snowbird destination because it can get pretty cold during the winter but it is a prime location during the summer with a lot of things going on in Virginia Beach. The jet noise is not nearly as bad here as it is at Ocean Pines. No Wi-Fi or CATV but the Verizon air card signal is strong. The new section has no trees to block satellite TV signals. The monthly rate was recently raised to $510.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
70 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4