Sea Mist RV Campground

Hot
 
4.7 (89)
285077 1 22 2 181

User reviews

89 reviews
 
80%
 
18%
 
1%
 
1%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.8(89)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.8(89)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.2(89)
Value
 
4.7(89)
Overall Experience
 
4.7(89)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
89 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
July 2016
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice park with very short walk to sand/ocean area. Showers need to be updated. Some were out of order so not enough for full capacity of campers. Laundry room had plenty of dryers but could use a few more wash machines. Park grounds were very clean. Looks like there are quite a few trailers that stay there for a long time. On one end are trees and on the other you have full sun. Enjoyed ample room on campsite with full hookups. Staff are great people. Will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
8 Oct - 18 Nov 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
One of the very best in the military!  Office staff (specifically Angela) and grounds / maintenance personnel first rate!  Campground in excellent shape, grounds well taken care of and lawns mowed.  Concrete pads very nice and laundry, rest rooms fine.  Short distance to the beach.  One of our favorite places to stay.  We will be back.  We camped in a motor home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Oct 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Another great stay. We love this place. Grounds are mowed, bushes got trimmed. Though it is pretty full, everyone is friendly and well behaved. We stayed in the south side and like the set up there. Great wifi again and out satellite works good. Had to move from our original choice but was no problem. There are a few trees here but it is not a problem. Beach access is not far away, all sites are flat and level, concrete with full sewer and 50 amp. This place does it right. Would be even nice if they had individual fire pits but they do have a couple of community campfires. Upgrading the front entrance main gate, but no problem with the detours for the next few weeks until they finish up. We will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 2
July 6 thru July 13 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed in front section close to road. No problems with noise or traffic. Host Bill? excellent. Excellent NEX, gym, golf course, all base facilities, i.e Norfolk, Little Creek, Oceana. Coming back first two weeks of August. Great place to stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 2015
(Updated: November 14, 2015)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Pros and Cons to this RV/campground - CONS:There is no privacy hedge/fence that separates the north side of campground from the road - if you like an alarm clock of cadence calling marching students at 7 am you are close enough to count their footsteps; WiFi is non-exsistant except in office/day room; no change machine or laundry supplies in laundry rooms; you'll be lucky if you get a 'good' spot - it's pretty common to see 'long termers' that have the 'prime' locations, that are active duty that are working here on the base or stationed here. There is NO reservations, but when you come in, you'll see spots that have 'occupied' cones at them that go unused for days. Not sure how that works with a NO reservation policy. Would be nice to have a 'walk over' spot to the beach in the middle of the campground vice only one at either end. Privacy walls in new women's shower area would be nice. PROS: Beach access, price, clean versatile pads, if you want to move pads, there is no problems or fuss, some shaded spots and grass (south side only), easy check in, $1 washers and dryers, pet friendly campground and beach. Overall, this is a good place to use and the staff we've encountered have been very pleasant, I just like to point out things that we have noticed that 'could be a deterrent to some campers'.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 15 4
June 27th thru July 3rd 2015
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
One of the best parks that have stayed at. Stayed in the old section, had nice shade for being so close to the beaches. The shower house in the older section was clean but could use an updating. Amenities where at the Air Base where one of the best we have seen in a while. The Golf Course at the Air Base was the only disappointment I had during our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
April 13-15, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First time out. First time at Mil camp. I am a local I guess, live about an hour away from Sea Mist. Checkin with Bill was fast and easy, he is a great host, in fact all the staff, I met there, we're friendly and helpful. We were put in the older section with lots of trees and shade, site easy to back into every thing clean and bright. If you are traveling thru the Tidewater are and need a place to stop for the night or the week this is it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
18-21 Aug 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Hookups 20/30/50 amp, water,sewer, picnic table. Had site 36 which was a long back in concrete pad. There are two sections of sites, sites in new area by office have zero shade. There are at least four double sites. No cable or WIFI available, we were told there was WIFI by the gym and bowling alley but we were unable to hook up. Had 9 channels on TV ant. and our Sprint cell service was OK. Needed code to get into bath houses, the one by office was new and much nicer than the older section. Exchange, subway, bowling alley and beach all in walking distance. Laundry in each bath area $1.00 per load. Virginia beach and boardwalk just 10 miles away. Nice park with lots to do in the area, I would recommend a stop here if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
JUNE 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
FIRST TIME CAMPING IN TRAVEL TRAILER. WHAT A GREAT EXPERANCE AND PLACE TO STAY. LOVED IT SO MUCH THAT I GOT MY VERY OWN TRAVEL TRAILER THIS PAST YEAR. AND I ALREADY HAVE SITE RESERVED FOR THIS UPCOMING JUNE INTO JULY 2015, WHAT A GREAT STAFF:-) CANT WAIT TO THE TIME COMES TO GO BACK DOWN. IF YOU HAVENT BEEN THERE YOU REALLY NEED TO CHECK IT OUT. HOPE TO SEE YOU THERE.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Oct 2014 to Feb 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Terrific campground, just a sand dune from the beach. Staff is terrific, very friendly and helpful. They keep the place up very well. Most actually RV there too. Bath houses are clean and quite functional. Laundromat is nice, has 2 washers and 4 dryers, 1.00 each per load. There are two areas, one is more wide open, the other has a lot of trees. Internet is very good. It is a training base and the RV park is located next to one of the main instructional buildings so there are troops marching quite a bit but we loved that! We intended to only stay 30 days but loved the park, base and location so much we extended. Don't hesitate to stay here, you'll love it! Note: there is construction at the main gate, expected to take about 1 year, kind of a pain but they are very accommodating when you have your rig. It it coming along quite nicely and quicker than we expected.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Nov 1 - Nov 9 2014
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
K.E. left this review using the Directory software: - This is located on the annex portion of the main NAS. It's a couple miles away. Annex does have an exchange with basic items and sundries. Main exchange and commissary are about 5 miles away. We initially planned on staying four nights, but extended without any problem. Sea Mist was a fantastic stay for us. When we checked in, we were given a number of options regarding available sites. We chose one in the newer section and next to the office complex. All sites have large concrete slabs. The main building has the laundry and showers along with a very nice lounge with cable TV. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. During our stay, there was quite a bit of flying activities which was a bit noisy, especially one evening when they were flying until 9pm....one cool thing was being able to watch (from the beach) the launching of a few drones. Would highly recommend this and would certainly stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
2 - 9 August 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at SEA MIST 2-9 August 14 & had a GREAT time! The Staff was GREAT, check-in was a breeze, site was level with all services working fine! Just a short drive to VA BEACH & NORFOLK - just 10 minute drive over to Oceana with it's huge NEX & commissary. The beach is just a 5 minute walk from the RV sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
1 July -1 August 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Sixth visit to Sea Mist. As always an enjoyable stay. Enjoyed Hurricane Arthur over the 4th of July. Currently installing WiFi cables. Manager indicated he expects service to be available shortly. ADVISORY: Starting 1 Aug 14 the Navy is upgrading the main gate entrance to Dam Neck. Expect construction delays and possible gate changes over the following 12 months.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
13-19 June 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A great place to take the family to the beach. We stayed for a week. Great full hook up sites that are level and clean. The old section has more shade, the new section is in the open. Sites are still first-come, as they don't assign a specific site during your reservation. Of note, the main gate has concrete barriers in the entryway if you plan to arrive after 1630 or on the weekends. Call ahead to ensure the barriers can/will be moved, especially if you have a large trailer or RV. We have stayed here twice now and will come back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
June 11-12 2014
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
No wifi or cable but good over the air selection. We like the southern loop better because of the trees. Sites are good size. Water had rust in it. We did not feel walk to beach was very far.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 29- May 11, 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This park was recommended to us by several other campers we have met in our travels and they were correct in all they told us. This is a lovely park right on the ocean. We stayed in the treed area right next to the walkway to the beach. An ideal spot if you like walking on the beach everyday as we did. Large, paved sites with picnic table. Laundry facilities excellent. Close to shopping of all kinds, sightseeing opportunities and more. Enjoyed watching the young troops marching and calling cadence. Reminds us what this is all about. Friendly and very helpful staff. NCO Club (located very close to the park) has a noon buffet Monday thru Friday. A very good deal and very good food. We would definitely return here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
January 2014
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.A. left this review using the Directory software: - We stayed here five days. It was a nice walk to the beach and my dogs enjoyed the outing. Although the weather was chilly it was nice to be outside. The only thing we didn't like were troops doing their early morning PT trainging right outside our camper. Very loud and sleep disturbing at 7:00 am.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful? 1 5
Oct 18-20, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed in our 30 foot motorhome in the "old" campground. However, the old campground has been remodeled and has concrete pads, new power, lots of space between sites and nice trees. We choose site 60, right next to the boardwalk to a wonderful white sand beach. The laundry facilities were great, we got several TV channels with our antenna. Close to shopping if needed. WiFi is available at the small NEX 1/2 mile from campground. Bill, the manager, was very friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
09-12 November 2012
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The only criticism I can come up with was the lack of cable TV (oh darn), but the over air reception of about 20 local channels was good. Tough to get reservations in the dead of summer, but easy in the so-called Virginia Beach "shoulder" seasons (late September through mid November and mid March through May). The main thing I love about this campground is that it is REALLY quiet (all you can hear is the surf pounding and I was awakened Monday morning by a company of Marines running and calling cadence...brought back memories and was fun to watch). Plus the accessibility of big box stores and a TON of restaurants (some are quite good) only about 5 minutes away on General Boothe Boulevard made this a really sweet place. Yes, the beach is a hike (or a short drive - always plenty of parking) but the beach itself is superb...no fighting for square footage as is the case on the main Virginia Beach oceanfront. We've been there a few times (we don't live but an hour and a half away) with the same experience. Every site we've been on is about as level as you can get. Most on-base amenities are available or are a very short drive to the Master Jet Base at Oceana (commissary, large exchange, two excellent golf courses, even a skeet/trap shooting center). Staff is very friendly and helpful with directions and advice, etc. Highly recommended.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
September 2013
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed in a 40 foot motor coach in September and the place was very nice. Lots are paved and very large (only problem was only a few pull thrus and the one that they did have, had a pull behind trailer sitting in it) but we had to drop the car we were pulling. We were in the new section and Yes, it is quite a hike to the beach, but it was nice being able to hear the ocean over the dune behind our RV. The staff was extremely friendly and the entire base very neat and easy to get around. No cable, but got local channels on our antenna. We would definitely go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
89 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4 5