Ocean Pines RV Park

 
4.1 (60)
94237 0 7 1 51

User reviews

60 reviews
 
47%
 
35%
 
7%
 
12%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.5(60)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.1(60)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.8(60)
Value
 
4.0(60)
Overall Experience
 
4.1(60)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
60 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
June 17, 2022 - July 1, 2022
Overall rating
 
1.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
One of the staff is a "Karen". She's got to go. Accused us of speeding. We didn't believe we were speeding but we said okay. She wouldn't let it drop. She came by the following day pounding on our door demanding we sign paperwork that we already signed up on check in. Then told us we couldn't park our car trailer in the park. When we checked in, we told her about the car trailer and she told us to park it in front of our space. She was lying about everything. Definitely not playing with a full deck.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
2021
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
I tried making reservations for this base. I was told that I needed to be 100% disabled and spouse needed a card, if not the guest will not be able to get on base. I wish all military bases had the same rules. I had to rate to be able to post but we didn't get the chance so my rating is not valid.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 7
October 25 - October 30 2018
(Updated: November 09, 2018)
Overall rating
 
2.1
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
I must have done something wrong on my first comment of last week. It was indeed a very negative review. A few of my opinions was brought to play in my review. First Homesteaders. Well Ocean Pines has more than should be allowed. It is bad when the school buses stop there to pick up and drop off School Kids. Long term residents called Homesteaders. I can see a small part of the Campground set aside for them, but this campground is packed with them. There are RVs that have not moved in over three years as per other campers. They claim and pointed out a Class "A" that is such a bad shape it can not be started and removed if it became necessary. What gets me is that most of these folks draw BAQ, Cola, and other benefits that help to offset the expenses needed to live in the surrounding communities. So instead of using those benefits they use MWR monies. MWR's mission is not to augment PWD funds, but rather to provide recreational opportunities to military and retired personnel on a short term basis. One site had a pick up parked on the ramp/site for the RVs and no RV in sight. I brought this up to the manager who had already pissed me off with his rude attitude. He said the pick up belonged to the camper which was not there, but he was paying for the site. When I arrived a old shipmate of mine helped me back in and hook up the sewer line and when I was about to hook up the water he stopped me and showed me that there was a lot of rust in the lines. He turned on the faucet and the water was almost black with rust. In a few seconds it turned clear. He looked at my hose and asked about the filter. I informed him it was in the RV and new. When I got home and started to winterize the RV the filter was soo dark from the waterlines at Ocean Pines. In other words folks the water lines are so outdated one has to wonder if there was also lead being used to connect them. Not Good. This campground needs to be scrapped and leveled out and rebuilt to a more modern RV Park. There was a laundry mat at the office complex that one checks into at, but the restrooms for the 96 campsites is a single bathroom located in the same building. The laundry mat was nice and looked large enough to handle two to four people doing their laundry at the same time. One thing that stands out above most RV Parks is the Pet Area, that it is huge about the size of four or more football fields. Well kept up as was most of the campgrounds. The sites did needed to be cleaned up especially at those of the Homesteaders that do not show up for six or more months, but kept their RVs there. I walked my dog three times daily on the roadway and noticed a lot of campers not being used, but taking up sites for those who might want to only stay a week or two and leave. The residents were friendly enough and helped if one needed it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 23 9
June 15-Jun 29 2018
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We love the convenience of this campground. It is not far from family and the access with the sliding gate is less hassle than having a sentry like most base campgrounds. The grounds are well maintained and mostly level campsites. It is well worth the price and a place we like to return to. We camped in a motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
1 April 2017 to October 2017
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
On 1 October, 2017, Ocean Pines and SeaMist RV Parks, associated with Naval Air Station Oceana, will do away with weekly and monthly discount rates. The daily rate will remain at $25.00, but a week long stay will increase to $175 from $154, and a month long visit will now cost you $750, up $240 from the monthly rate of $510. While Rick, the campground manager has continued to maintain the appearance of the park in great condition, keeping the grass cut, sidewalks trimmed and gutters cleaned out, as well as doing all of the check-ins, check-outs and managing a long wait list, the park does have some problems. The handicapped access ramp to the office, laundry, restrooms and showers has been roped off for over a year due to collapse of the deck area in front of the handicapped entrance to the building. The night entrance to the building, which is protected with a keypad, has been roped off for the same reason for the past three months. The wifi worked great last summer when a new system was installed, but this year, the system keeps dropping the signal, requiring that you log back on every few minutes. It is a shame that they see fit to raise the rates, but won't put money into making needed repairs to the entrance gate and the RV park office building.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 17 0
June 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This park used to be a mobile home park converted to RV park, this is a great park, lots of room, roads are paved with concrete pads for the picnic tables, gravel with concrete wheel pads for RV. Water and power are fine the sewer hook ups are underneath the rear of your RV, I hooked my up first than backed over it so didn't have to crawl underneath. Some spots hold water if it rains hard. Small clean bath house, washer and dryers work great, big grass field with fence on 3 sides for the dogs to run. There is a gate with a code to get in. Last time I was there the WIFI worked great but had to call a number and to get code and pay fee. Great little children park in the middle. The only issue is the Air force jets land and take off over the camp ground from early morning to 10pm at night, its gets kind of annoying when your watching TV or trying to talk to someone. TV antenna picks up lots of channels, gets fussy when jets come over.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
July 13, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Ocean Pines is a great park; it's friendly, very clean, spaces are well maintained. It's close to NAS Oceana, so it comes with a daily air show. The laundry and bath house facility is up to date and clean. It is pet friendly and family friendly. My only complaint is that some people don't obey the posted speed limit signs. There are a total of 6 signs indicating the speed limit of 5 mph. Many campers drive way too fast, and even the Oceana Police, while doing their rounds, exceed the speed limit! With the number of people walking dogs, and the number of children riding bicycles and playing in the park, it surprises me (for a military only park) that so many people simply cannot follow the rules! It's not a reason not to stay here, but it is something to be aware of, especially if you walk/run with a headset!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
June 6, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great park convenient to all shopping, eating, and the beaches. The sewer connection was a little odd being under the RV, but can be worked around. Has great power as it was in the mid to high 90's and had to run 3 ACs. Satellite can be had but you have to work at it. Nice to be on Base but not have to go through the ID process at the gates. Would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Feb. 15 - March 16, 2013
(Updated: February 20, 2013)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
After "living" in our daughters driveway for many months and not knowing that it was a city violation, we moved to Ocean Pines. We have been here a month and have another month to go before going to Sea Mist on Dam Neck for 2 months and then back here for one more month. We love it here. The rebels that we are, we are parked with the front of our RV facing the golf course, while every one else is backed in and facing the street. We love sitting and just looking at the woods and lake. As far as jet noise? Comes with the territory and we do not mind "the sound of freedom" one bit. And believe it or not, it is quieter here than at our daughters home!! The only problem we have had is a neighbors dog attacking our little dog one day. No permanent damage done. And the owner was very apologetic and had even informed the office before we filed a complaint. We will definitely be back. Love it here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 3
Aug 30 - Sept 4, 2012
(Updated: September 05, 2012)
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
We were very disappointed there are so many long term campers here. We were here for 6 days and on each side of us our neighbors were not present, only their rigs. The check in staff was very helpful. We did not use the restroom or laundry facilities so cannot comment on them. We were also disappointed there was no cable or wifi. We were able to pick a site where out roof mounted satellite worked and we received 2 local channels on the antennae. Our Verizon signal was very strong. Our site was level as we had two concrete rows to place our wheels. Also there was a nice patio and the sites very relatively spacious. Also liked the close proximity of the commissary and base exchange. If we come to this area again we would try to secure reservations at Sea Mist where we could be closer to the ocean.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 2
Jul10-16th, 2012
(Updated: August 16, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
If everything in this park were as nice and accommodating as Rick, I could stay there for a month. And the truth is, most everything is that nice. But then I tend to nit-pic. A few too many homesteaders and a couple of them are in really old rigs that need to be replaced. I understand that the rent from these keep some of the Military RV parks open, but really?? Commissary and BX were both close to the RV park. There was only Bio-Diesel available on base, but it was very expensive. Regular fuel off base was much more reasonable. There is some nice shade to be had in the park. the seafood around town is fabulous!!!!! No cable, but the antenna worked fine. Had to leave early for an emergency back in FL. I'll be back for sure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
5-8 July 2012
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.E. left this review using the Directory software: - Great site and helpful staff. Really enjoyed our stay. Jet noise? Comes with the territory.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
3 - 6 Jul 2012
(Updated: July 07, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Rick Sheffield worked hard to help two retired couples meet up with their RVs. He cheerfully adjusted my requests and schedules to adapt to the hot weather and friend's travel schedule. He called ahead with the gate code and helped us find two sites relatively close together. The price was right, the sound of the F-18s were great, the place was pristine, $25 a night great value. No cable, but not a big deal with satellite TV. Thanks, Rick. Dave Teal, Lt. Gen., USAF, Ret.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 2012
(Updated: June 26, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We love the Virginia Beach area and like this campground and the one over at Dam Neck. Ocean Pines is a converted mobile home park which explains why some sewer connections are directly under the back of the motorhome rear axle. That was not convenient but overall it is a good place to stay. We would do it again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
03-06 JUN12
(Updated: June 07, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have stayed here before and enjoy the large lot's and supportive office staff. Virginia Beach waterfront is very close, as well as the Exchange and Commissary. I would suggest that everyone use some sort of water filter as the water here, although tasty, has a tendency to be muddy colored when you first open water valve. No big issue though, just plan on using water filter. I have found it easier to make my initial sewer connections before backing the 5th wheel onto the pad. That will save you from laying on your stomach and fighting with the hose and connection. The office/showers/laundry facility was immaculate; .75 to wash/dry. The jet's were using an alternate approach pattern while we were here, however I do love the sound of freedom! We will stay here again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 11-16, 2012
(Updated: May 26, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This was a great location for meeting family and beaching. Campsite was just fine, spacious enough. Lots of jet noise--I used earplugs and it was still very uncomfortable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 11, 2012
(Updated: May 17, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed here for 5 nites while visiting family. The park has a nice spacious feel to it. Jet noise was tremendous!!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Nov 22-27, 2011
(Updated: November 30, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Large clean campsite-great camp host-great location. My wife and I stayed over the Thanksgiving holiday and enjoyed the stay. Felt very safe. Had trouble finding the sewer hook up due to cover not marked. Camp host had this issue fixed within 20min after arrival. We will come again and hope others take advantage of this great campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
November 2011
(Updated: November 12, 2011)
Overall rating
 
2.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
i love this area. nice rv park if you like jet noise but is in a great location to the nex and commissary. the new person in the front office, rick is rude. don't let him be rude to you...report him. i heard other people complain about him. they need to find someone else. lisa, the rv park host is ultra friendly and nice. jackie and dick were so much friendlier than rick. we will not stay there again because of rick.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
July - ????? 2011
(Updated: November 02, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We've been here most all summer, wife had and still having health issues. Jackie is no longer here. Rumors were going around that she got fired, but I also heard and know she was getting ready to leave, they were building a home in NC I think. Butch from Dam Neck annex comes over to sort of over look the operation, but he doesn't know the computer. They are looking for a new camp host.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
60 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3