Lunga Park

 
4.2 (54)
91690 0 14 4 20

User reviews

30 reviews with 5 stars
54 reviews
 
57%
 
28%
 
9%
 
4%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.5(54)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(54)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.5(54)
Value
 
4.4(54)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(54)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
30 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
Nov. 6-8, 2011
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay at Lunga Park. We were in Pine 37 with our full hook-up pop-up. We were there Nov. 6 thru 8 so it was cold and the park was almost empty. The mist over the lake in the mornings was amazing! I rated the amenities/facilities as a three due to the fact that the restrooms are either outhouses or port-a-loos, plus there are no shower facilities. All that is fine if you are in an RV but if you are tent camping it could be an issue. We will definitely come back here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
12-23 October 2011
(Updated: October 18, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Superb campgrounds, very clean and the folks that work at the office will do anything they can to make your stay comfortable, a truck comes by each morning to pick up trash along the roads. I actually saw the lady that works there step out of her vehicle to pick up a piece of plastic someone had thrown out.If you have stationary satellite, I would not recommend staying at the Oak Area, it is a heavily tree area. The best sites are 12 and 16 in the Cedar Area and 36,37,48 and 49 at the Pine Area. Great Commissary and Exchange can be found at the main side of the Base along with many other amenities. Security on the Base is very high so make sure that everyone has ID cards and be ready to be boarded for inspection. Overall an outstanding camp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 20 through August 11, 2011
(Updated: August 14, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
WHAT A GREAT CAMPGROUND!!!! We wanted to visit the Washington DC area and do some sightseeing and Lunga Park was the best campground to do that. We were amazed at the amount of traffic on I-95 ALL THE TIME! So, we took the Virginia Railway Express (VRE) train from Quantico to Union Station in Washington DC ... then walked outside to get on our "Hop On, Hop Off" tourbus for the Washington DC tour. No traffic headaches. This campground is without doubt the best military campground we have ever stayed at. If you are planning a visit to Lunga Park, ask for Site 37 (the best site in the campground) or Site 16 (the second best site in the campground). [The last 4 pictures are of our RV on Site 16 and Site 37, respectively.] We experienced "brown out" conditions while on Site 16 and our 50 Amp surge suppressor saved the day. Recommend you get one if you don't have one. The lake is beautiful and the wildlife will amaze you ... deer are everywhere. The Marine Corps Base Exchange and Commissary are also fantastic. The MCB is 8 miles from the campground, so it was inconvenient when you make several trips to and from the campground to the MCB. While there, we visited Mount Vernon and it was great. As was the Marine Corps Museum. You can buy all of your tickets at the MCB ITT office for sightseeing trips. I give this campground our highest rating. The staff was very nice, too.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
June 2011
(Updated: July 03, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The views here are gorgeous! It is very peaceful. The sites themselves are a little weird so be careful when you're making reservations. If you have a big rig make sure you take full hookup because some of the partial hookups can have you on the side of the road & not level at all. The water is on the opposite side of the rig so make sure your hose is long enough to go under. There are a lot of deer roaming the park so be very careful when driving, especially at night. They also have a lot of ticks so be sure to bring bug spray for yourself & check your animals carefully. I found a tick on me & it was so tiny, it was just a lucky find. We did not use any of the restroom facilities so can't comment on those. The lake is quiet, they only seem to allow small boats, canoes & kayaks (all of which you can rent. It's a great place to stay if you want to visit DC. There is a metro station about 25 minutes away, with a 30 minute ride into DC. The Marine Museum is right there at Quantico & very interesting. I would definitely return,
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
September, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Loved this campground. The sites are somewhat rustic and it took some maneuvering to level the unit, but I've seen much worse in commercial campgrounds. Assume the risks of camping in the rough, but with full hookups! Our biggest problem was the large horse flies that are in abundance due to the deer population. Repellents work. The store has rentals for the lake including bait, motorboats, kayaks, canoes, and pedal boats. Fishing licenses can be purchased for state and base at the store. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. We will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 7, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was by far one of the nicest camp grounds we have stayed at. The sites are over sized. Most are on the lake, or have a decent view of the lake. Wildlife was all around. The location was amazingly close to DC but you would never know it. We took our 5th wheel so we used our own facilities for the most part. The bathrooms are pretty rustic, but that only added to the experience for us. Others may not agree. Keep in mind that not all the facilities are on the correct side of the site for a travel trailer. Many of the sites were made with Class A pullins in mind. So you may want to be sure you have a long enough sewer hose or electric hook-up. We have learned to travel prepared for such issues - so this was not a problem for us but would be for others not prepared, so that is why we gave it a 3 there. We were traveling North and stopped there on the way up, and on the way back. We enjoyed ourselves so much we cut our trip north short by 2 days to come back to Lunga Park. You can fish at the lake - which we loved. You have to have a state and Lunga Permit. Both of which you can get at the Walmart near-by or the MCX. The MCX was also one of the largest and nicest we have ever been to. DC is extremely easy to do if you ride the VRE, the Virginia Rail Express. Ask about it instead of driving your car into DC. The kids enjoyed that train ride. We can't wait to go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 15-19 2010
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed on our way to summer home base. The lake is beautiful and the whole camping area is quiet...except for the occasional "sounds of freedom" training. The staff is helpful and friendly. The camping area itself is about 2 miles from the office, but that's okay. No fully functioning bahthouse (old-fashion outhouses) or laundry available, and the hook-ups are located weird..we lucked out by getting the "rare site" with them located on the correct side of the camper, hence the 3 on amenities/facilities. Be sure to have plenty of sewer hose, water hose, and a long electrical cord. We visited the Marine Corps National Museum...a must if you are in the area. The METRO is located about 22 miles from the campground, if you plan to visit the DC attractions when here. Will stay often when traveling the I-95.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
September 4th - 7th 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
WOW, what a great place. My kids went to bed and woke up every morning with 10 deer by the RV. Our own Dock to fish from and was able to pull in an 18 inch Pike with a trout spinner first thing in the morning from. That's unheard of. Nice paths for some off road jogging or hiking and when I tell you that YOU will see deer... this is an understatement. We were able to rent and take the kids for their first boat ride and fishing experience. What a great lake and the people where as friendly as they come. The place is clean, friendly, hook-ups have to be navigated, but they are fantastic. If you are a TV cable person, you will be dissapointed. But with a fire pit, the lake and wildlife, who needs TV. It was Labor Day weekend, so we didn't hear any Boom Boom Boom's, but did hear lots of live firing from the range. Rescheduled to go back down in two weeks! The Cedar area ROCKS!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 5 - July 12, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
One of the best campgrounds I've stayed at in years. The setting and views are awesome. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Only drawback was that the boathouse is closed on Mon & Tues. If you wish to rent a Kyack or canoe those days you are out of luck. Will certainly go back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
10-12 July 2009
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is probably the nicest Military CG I have stayed at to date. The whole CG is very well maintained, and the scenery is outstanding. We stayed in Cedar 8, and the views across the water are terrific. As mentioned earlier their is no shower facility, and only outhouse type restroom facilities. The Camp store is sort of small, but they do a brisk business with fishing licenses and renting boats, canoes and kyacks. There are nice playgrounds for the kids in every section, and a very scenic nature trail that connects all the sections with the store/boat rental. We saw lots of wildlife while out walking, including deer, squirrels, and birds. The big gun fire only happened a few times Friday afternoon, and the only real problem we had with noise was a Saturday party across the cove at the Oak pavilion. It was kind of loud, but they shut down at a very reasonable hour. We will be back here again as soon as we can to try out the Pine section.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 7 - 10, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here in the Cedar area twice (in the last 6 weeks) and loved it both times. The Cedar 6 site had full hookups (though oddly arranged) and had a great view of the lake. The full hookups were all taken on our second visit, so we stayed "Lakeside" at Cedar 8 with partial hookups and could have not asked for a better view! We literally stepped outside the door and there was a lake in our front yard!!! We have stayed in many places, and this ranks at or near the top! You have got to check out this place!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 1-2, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
You have to have a VA license and base permit for anywhere you fish on base, not just Lunga. They sell both at the store though so it's very convenient. Families walking their dogs, people running,fishing, it was nice to see people were taking advantage of this beautiful park and how friendly it is. Katie in the store was very helpful and nice and the men running the boats were too. The whole staff just seems to really care about their customers. Definitely a great family place to go!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 12 - 21, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We lucked out here. We stayed in the Pine Area. Good utilities, no problem. If you are looking for modern bathrooms, this is not the place however, they are nice. There are no shower facilities as there is no city sewage. I would recommend the Pine area for large RV's needing 50 amp and paved pad. Understand some are situated for Class A and some for travel trailers. There is a lot of blasting and yes the trailer shakes. You will also hear the gun range. Fishing was okay. I give this an overall high rating just because it is beautiful and restful. We made a trip out before reserving our site request. We live roughly 2.5 hours from this campground so a nice Sunday drive (the week before) convinced us this is where we wanted to camp. It all depends on what you are looking for in your visit. This is not a place that schedules activities for you and your family. The folks at the office were great to work with and try to please you the best they can. We even made new RV friends and hope to meet again while camping at Lunga Park. This is definitely a favorite place for us.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
13 to 16 March, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a fantastic stay we had! We were right on the lake, so peaceful and beautiful. We woke up each morning to the sound of birds and the most beautiful sights I've seen in a long time. Driving through the camping area, we saw all manner of wildlife... deer and geese, just to name a couple. We felt like we were in the middle of nowhere (and were happy to be there!) and as an added bonus, we were only a short drive to any restaurant or store we could hope to find. We had our teenage children with us, and we were delighted the train to downtown DC was very accessible, and easy to navigate. One side note: The camp site we originally reserved had electrical problems, and the management here was quick to call us, and they were so helpful in getting us into a new space. I can't say enough wonderful things about this beautiful campground, and I know we will be back again and again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 20-23, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have been here several times and it is always a delight to be here. The weather was fantastic and the views from our campsite (Cedar 6) were marvelous. I have uploaded three new pictures of the sunset from that site. On a related note, we went to the new Marine Corps Museum and found it to be tremendous. It is a better military museum than any other I have visited. Go see it. You will not be disappointed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
4-6 April 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This campground is great. We did not use the boats due to them not being open for rental until the 28th of April. However, the sites were great, the lake is beauiful, the wildlife the amazing. I would suggest that anyone try these sites. I will say that the best, if possible, is the first campground. It is shady and most of the site are very close to the lake.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 26-29, 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I want to thank the review that recommended site #5 in the Cedar area. We had incredible sunsets! We did see the FBI running on the main road but did not have any helicopters flying around. We have two boys that enjoyed playing on the playground right next to our site. They also had fun playing along the lakes edge. We will definitely go back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb. 16-17, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We rolled in late and left early so we never actually got to see anyone at the campground also we didn't really get to see everything that the campground had to offer. I made reservations over the phone and my site was ready when I got there. The hook ups were a little strange in the way that they were set on the site, but we were able to make due with some finagling. The site that we were on was a little less than level, but nothing we couldn't make due with. We had some great views when the sun came up and there was a playground and covered picnic pavilion in the area that we were in. Everything looked to be in good shape and well taken care of. I think that if I had gotten there before the sun went down and there was someone there I might have asked for another site to take better advantage of the view. Overall we liked the place and would stay there again especially if we had more time to enjoy the campground. This place has loads of potential, and it looks like they are trying to get the place up to snuff, they are almost there now.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct. 17, 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Heaven: noun - 1) The expanse of space that seems to be over the earth like a dome : usually used in plural. 2) a: Often capitalized : The dwelling place of the Deity and the joyful abode of the blessed dead b: A spiritual state of everlasting communion with God. 3) A place where I can park my motorhome overlooking a beautiful pleasant lake under the shade of trees giving an annual display of color unmatched in nature and where Marines can be found in forced marches, jogging or qualifying on the range with the faint sound of rifle fire over the hill. With a nice Marine Corps Exchange, Commissary and a wide array of MWR facilities as well as the occasional helicopter flying by and, oh yes, the best damned museum on the face of the earth located nearby. 4) Lunga Park, Marine Corps Base Quantico, VA - If it gets better than this, I have yet to find it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
October 15-19,2007
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
After making reservations, they'll send a confirmation with your campsite area and site number. If the office is closed when you arrive, just go on to your site. The office's hours are 730-1600. The best site with full hookups and the most gorgeous view is site #5 in Cedar area. It's a back-in, but it overlooks the lake -- breathtaking! The sites are a little difficult to manuever into especially if your rig is long; there are a few pull-thorughs but most are back-in. You're next door to the FBI Academy; they jog through the campground and also train in the woods around the area. We experienced heavy Corps training activity after dark for several hours (helicopters constantly flying low overhead just about the tree tops -- wreaking havoc with the TV reception!--and lots of gunfire which began early in the mornings as well). There are NO showers -- just an outhouse for restrooms. There is a very nice playground area for children however. The closest laundromat is in Garrisonville out the back gate. There's plenty of places to eat and shop in Garrisonville, too. The main base is on the east side of I-95. Quantico Town is there (civilian) and interesting to see. There's a quaint little French bakery which has wonderful pastries and breakfast items. The commuter train system is right there...VRE (Virginia Railway Express) and AmTrak...going into D.C. If you're disabled or have Medicare, you get a reduced rate: $3.50 one-way; regular fare is $7.20 one-way; & FREE WiFi in the train depot. Once in DC, take the Town Trolley Tour; it's an "on-off" tour taking you to all the tourist spots. You actually need at least 3-days to see everything, excluding the Smithsonian museums. One "MUST SEE" at Quantico is the Marine Corps Museum. It's absolutely amazing! It's a history from the inception of the Corps until now (and this is just phase 1 with plans of having 3 more phases). It has a Mess Hall cafeteria and a nice restaurant called Tun's, both on the 2nd floor. The golf course if beautiful and the cafe inside the clubhouse has FREE WiFi. Locals in the area also recommended Tim's Rivershore Restaurant on Cherry Hill Rd. near Woodbridge -- difficult to find, but great seafood beginning at about $15.95pp & up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
30 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2