Lunga Park

 
4.2 (54)
91690 0 14 4 20

User reviews

16 reviews with 4 stars
54 reviews
 
57%
 
28%
 
9%
 
4%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.5(54)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(54)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.5(54)
Value
 
4.4(54)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(54)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
16 results - showing 1 - 16
Ordering
July 6-13, 2011
(Updated: July 31, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This is a beautiful place to camp, but do not plan on sleeping in past 07:00 as some where close by they conducted rapid fire exercises starting at 7 am, then later in the morning the booms from ordinance being blown up shook the camper.....For some reason the TV reception sucked, it would be good at night then during the day it was non existent...from 5 bars to no bars just that quick....I do not know if it was something they were doing at the FBI or DEA academy or not. This is midway between DC and Richmond so turning the antenna did not help..... At night the silence was golden, coming in the Garrisonville gate one night the guard warned us to be on the look out for a bob cat that had been spotted on base.....sure enough the next night my wife and granddaughter saw it running along the lake shore behind our camper... One day I was scared half out of my wits by a raccoon that had gotten closed up in the dumpster and when I started to open the door he jumped at the door and hit it right by my face......... I guess cable tv would be just out of the question.... Getting into DC was not as easy as I had been led to believe... The Marine Corp Museum was awesome even for this salty dog....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 25-30, 2011
(Updated: June 07, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
What a gorgeous campsite. The base is very camper friendly and most sites are big rig compatible. The RV sites were first constructed in the 60’s and the upgrades were evidently done by non-campers as the utilities are located in a manner for ease of installation not ease of use. Some of the sites with “sewer” hook-ups are actually dumping to a holding tank at the site so be mindful not to overfill it. We pulled in with our 30’ class A pulling a 24’ enclosed motorcycle trailer and we didn’t have to unhook during our stay. The deer, foxes and turkey are plentiful so be careful driving.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
29-31 August 2010
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Overall a nice place to camp and close to DC as well as the Quantico Marine Base and the new National Marine Corps Museum. Campsites are large, the one I was on had concrete and was level, Pine 1. The problem with campsite is that they are set up in an odd way to take advantage of the utilities. Make sure you bring extra hose and power cable, some of the utilities may be hard to reach with normal length cords & hoses. The beautiful deck overlooking the lake at our site was at the wrong side of the camper. The roads are fairly level and have few potholes but into the campground is dirt and gravel, dry conditions made it very dusty. Deer were plentiful, especially in the evening and the horseflys were large enough to carry a small dog away. No shower facilities and vault toilets only. We had a good stay here and would stay here again if in this area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
22-25 May 2009 ( Memorial Weekend)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Our first trip to Lunga. The staff was very friendly and receptive. We were in Oak which provided the most shade, privacy and unfortunately the most ticks. Other campers (regulars) said it was the worst they'd seen. The lake is beautiful and the watercraft rental rates were reasonable. Fishing was poor. Hiking was very good. The roads around the area were quiet and good for cycling. We saw lots of cyclist out riding. Our camp site was quiet and peaceful and we certainly had the feeling of being "out in the woods". On The down side our site had a street light over the 50 amp hook-up. When I asked the staff if it could be turned off, they said it could but I couldn't find any way to shut it off. On two occasions they offered to come out and help, but no one ever arrived. It was a bit annoying. Also, none of the camp areas have bath houses, only "out houses". We have a large motorhome so this didn't really affect us. The camp store has very limited supplies. But a well stocked commissary and exchange are about 10 miles away. We’ll definitely go back, take our bikes and hope for better fishing and less ticks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
3-11 April 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice campground, but BOOM - BOOM - BOOM from 0730 until dark and I'm not talking about small arms fire. Big artillery or bomb detonations nearly every all day every day we were there. Of course it is a USMC base, but the blasts were so loud it shook the ground and our motorhome. Even the gents in the camp store (had just opened up on 10 April) commented how bad it was and that the blasts had even knocked pictures off their walls. We did see a lot of deer, several geese and a few small snakes and the kids even got a couple ticks to visit. Not much else animal-wise to look at since I'm sure the bomb blasts were far too frequent and loud and we didn't catch or see one fish caught all week. We were in Cedar 5 and it was a pretty nice site, but the configuration of most of the spots weren't very user friendly. We couldn't face the lake because the only way to get level put us too far from the utilities and we ended up using 60 feet of electrical cable and 30 feet of sewer hose. The electricity and water was on one side of the spot and the sewer was on the other side and required running the sewer hose under our MH to the other side of our spot quite a ways away. Also, the sewer is actually a septic tank and it overflowed our last day there. They check them every Monday, but by Saturday it was FULL! Other sites in the Cedar loop had electrical problems so I'm glad we just had a full septic tank. My recommendation would be to stay at Cedar 9 or 6 if available or to go to the Pine area that had a little flatter and paved spots. Cedar 9 had more privacy, Cedar 6 was pretty large and flat and other than noted above, the other downside of Cedar 5 was the access to the water is red mud. The campground and recreation areas were well maintained and very neat. We saw very little trash in the area, but some of the day visitors didn't clean up after their dogs. Not that it matters to my family, but FYI, there are no showers and all the toilets are out-houses. All-in-all a very nice campground and without the constant BOOOOOOMs we would have enjoyed it a lot more. A little different scenario from the previous post that got to wake up to the sounds of birds... I'm jealous.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Nov. 13 to Nov.23, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have stayed here before and would stay again...however a warning for Pine area- we had electric problems and ended up on 20 amp the whole stay vs 50 amp!! When we arrived the kids in the office did not make us aware of problems in the pine area...The next day when I went to pay the manager Judy asked me if we had problems with electric as she had been gone for a few days. We hadn't been around enuff the evening before to know about all the power surges we must have had-by Friday night we were on 20 amp! Someone that came in that night had been there last month and said a camper had blown his AC and someone else the microwave. We never saw a truck/repair person or any attempt to fix. We told others as they came in before a surprise. There was a planned power outage on Saturday before we left but we found out it was to fix the FBI academy problem not campground. I will definitely ask and double check three times before plugging into 50 amp again. Other than that it is beautiful and peaceful and we were sorry no FBI practice water rescues or exercises going on!! Spacious sites, no recycling and no diesel on base. If you are there in winter get the boys on guard duty a hot chocolate from Starbucks-it was cold!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 12-17, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
What a pleasant surprise to find a military campground in such a beautiful spot! We had #10 on Cedar Area and loved the shade and privacy we found there. #5 had a better view of the lake and sunset, but was less private. We had a good view of the lake both front and back and the site was level enough to deal with. We had just W/E and knew we would have to use the dump station on the way out. What we DIDN'T know was that they close up at night and LOCK the Dump Station! I found out the hard way in a pouring down rain storm!! My Bad . . . Another issue that we were OK with, but could be a problem, is that each of the camping areas are also Recreation areas for picnics and parties. So it could get NOISY. But that is mainly on the weekends. Weekdays there was the occasional "popping" from the rifle range and helicopters in training. Overall we would love to go back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
May 7, 8, and 9, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We camped in the Cedar area (spot # 2) and enjoyed the heavy wooded area with short access to the reservoir. It is a nice quiet area with hiking trails and wildlife. The only negative was that the spot was not level and presented a problem when setting up. The hookups were somewhat poorly arranged, but that has been addressed by another reviewer. The restaurant mentioned by a reviewer - Tim's Rivershore - is a nice quaint, marina on the Potomac. Half the fun is getting there, so don't go without a map and directions. The food is pricey and the portions small, but the experience is worth it. The wait staff was excellent. All utensils and dinnerware were plastic or styrofoam, even drink glasses, so if you are looking for a "dining" experience, forget it. All in all, we would return to both the campground and the restaurant knowing what to expect.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 23-Nov 3, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Judy in the park office is great. Very helpful. We're in the Oak area. Normally 20 amp only but seeing how we're the only ones here, we're getting 30 amps. No bathhouse but the RV park is beautiful, as all others have attested to. The base in nearby & full of what a RV'er needs. We're trying the metro to DC tomorrow. Lots to see & do. 10 days might not be enough.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
6 June 07 - 16 June 07
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great place to camp and use as your base of operations for the Northern Virginia visit. Campground is clean and the spaces are large. There is a camp store with a few items on the shelf, daily or seasonal fishing licences, bait, gear and boat rentals and the staff is GREAT. There are playgrounds and picknic pavillions. Use the Virginia Railway Express in Quantico Town on main base to visit D.C. as I wouldnt recomend driving into D.C., the train is covenient and inexpensive and connects you to the metro train system that can literally get you anywhere you need to be. Fredricksburg and Manassas battlegrounds are nearby, Kings Dominion is a short drive, PX, Commisary, shoppettes and other post services a short drive on main post. There are no public showers and many clean outhouses in the grounds for those who camp in small units or tents, but water and electric at most every site. Careful when foraging for wood, the chiggers (red bugs) are very agresive, I know, I look like I have the chicken pox from all the bites! Still an outstanding experience that I WILL definately do again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
16-19 February 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
During the winter months they only open 2 of the 3 camping sections. This past weekend, our sites were in "Pine", which is the furthest away from the office. This past week, Virginia was hit by a major storm which left thick sheet of frozen sleet/ice/snow thru the area. The staff worked real hard to chip away at the ice to make our sites accessible. Lunga has only a few Full hookup sites, but if you can get one, this place is awesome for a nice relaxing weekend. New electric boxes, and sewer connections since our last visit. NO BATHROOMS! There are pit toilets located in the camping area for the tenters. A dump station is located by the main office. In the off-season the office is only open M-F. Full hookup rate was 20.00 per night for Active Duty. Easily accessible from Main post, located next to the FBI academy, so you always see someone out running!.... Just far enough off I-95 to be nice, and not hear the traffic. Go Right out the main entrance to Lunga, and in a few short miles you are back in main civilization with every store/restaurant you would need. Summer time these sites are hard to come by...Book early! Listing says 10 Day limit, but exceptions are made. Receptionist (Judy) is always helpful. Also, as mentioned, there is a girl scout/boy scout area too, so you may want to ask if they know the schedule before booking?. Oak area only open in summer, and is NOT recommended for large units.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
February 05
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Being stationed just up the road at Ft Myer, we have found Lunga to be agreat place for a quiet escape. For larger trailers/motorhomes the optimal sites are few and far between, but during warmer climates when the off site dump station is open, more sites are available. Our visits here usually occur in February. We have gone other times, and know what sites to ask for when making the reservations. One thing this place offers most campogrounds lack these days is privacy. You are so close to 95 and a major shopping area, but the only noise you will hear comes from the nearby M16 Ranges or a helicopter flying overhead. A fitness trail runs thru the area and during the spring and summer months boat rentals are also available. This is a nice place, but rustic. Come self contained. Judy (handles the reservations) is very friendly as is the rest of the staff. One must explore to find the best sites for future stays....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
December 2006
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a tough one to rate. We have stayed here twice and never saw anyone from the campground staff. That being said our site was always reserved for us. The campground is so close to I-95 but you would never know it. Washington DC is only a few miles away and a Metro station is available so you do not have to drive into downtown DC. Lots of shopping opportunties abound. The sunset over the lake was one of the most beautiful sights I have ever experienced in my 58 years. Deer, wild turkey, beaver, geese and ducks make this just a great experience. If you want peace and quiet close to a major tourist area this is the place.
CH
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
---
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I have noticed that several people had some reservations about this campground. We found it to be really a nice place. If you are looking for a lot of amenities then you will be disappointed. The only restrooms are pit toilets and there are no camp showers. However, for scenic beauty and wide open spaces in the woods this is the place. The campsites are quite spread out around the Lunga Resevoir. Many of them are on little peninsulas sticking out into the lake. Wildlife abounds (deer, wild turkey, squirrels, water fowl and beaver are all there. The sunset yesterday afternoon was beautiful. We had reservations but the office was closed when we arrived (USMC Birthday). Never saw a campground manager, but did not need one. The campground is patrolled by military and FBI police (FBI Academy beside the campground). You feel like you are in the deep woods but I-95 is only seven miles away. If you go out the Garrisonville gate and turn left on Garrisonville Road, you will find yourself in a huge shopping area. The new USMC museum opens tomorrow at the next exit north on I-95. If want peace and quiet and close proximity to Washington, DC, Lunga Campground really fits the bill. If you need a lot of hand holding go north of DC to the Fort Meade campground. If your unit is self contained, stay at Quantico.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jun 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Campground was set up years ago before large motorhomes. Water, sewer, electric may be distant or wrong side. Some maneuvering may be required for proper positioning. We stayed in Pine which is probably best for large motorhomes. We reserved way in advance and got 50 amp. My husband says I must mention campground was inundated with boy/girl scouts on weekend. Nearest/best food and shopping was out back gate, not mainside as in provided info. Very scenic and quiet area (except for girl scouts):)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jun 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Sites are large and well spaced in a beautiful lakeside setting. May need long water hose, electric cord and/or sewer hose to take full advantage of hookups. Pit toilets provided, but no shower house or laundry. FBI Academy firing range nearby.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
16 results - showing 1 - 16